Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!
I love this book. The show is great and so I bought the book thinking it's got to be just as good... I am very happy with the purchase and anyone can find wisdom and advice in each of the scenarios he lays out in the book.

This is a must read!
Published on April 4, 2007 by Erin Caldwell

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shalom in the Home
It was an OK book but I did not think it would be a total recall of the show. My fault! I would like to read another of his books.
Published on October 4, 2007 by Kenneth R. Shipp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!, April 4, 2007
By 
Erin Caldwell (Toledo, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life (Paperback)
I love this book. The show is great and so I bought the book thinking it's got to be just as good... I am very happy with the purchase and anyone can find wisdom and advice in each of the scenarios he lays out in the book.

This is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words of wisdom, July 2, 2007
This review is from: Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life (Paperback)
I just finished the book Shalom in the home, after watching the shows on TV. I loved the book, which intensified the stories. I don't even have kids, but it showed a lot of the interactions of families and relationships, everybody can learn from. I find Rabbi Shmuley's way of addressing things refreshing, honest and outspoken - especially for a man of religion. His passion for people and families as well as his enthusiasm are inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Parenting Book, August 10, 2007
This review is from: Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life (Paperback)
Shalom in the Home is one of the best parenting books out there. And I've read a lot of them. Rabbi Shmuley uses examples from his TLC tv show and then adds information on what they or you should do. In every example, I found myself taking certain truths away that could help me with my kids. Also, the ideas are very easy to implement and work! Shalom in the Home should be a must read for every parent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the show, you'll love the book., June 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life (Paperback)
About a year ago my wife and I were traveling through St. Louis where we stopped over night at a hotel. (((I refuse to have cable TV in our home, cause it is such a waste of time and full of idealogy that I do not want taught in my home. If you can control what your family watches 24/7, my hats off to you. Not having it is the only way I can.))) yeah, that was probably too much info, but as I was saying, it was while watching TLC that I was first introduced to rabbi Shmuley. My first reaction was, "this guy is a jerk!" But by the end of the show he became a man after my own heart! I told my wife, "If I could, I'd watch that over and over. We need to get all his DVD's." Which are, sadly, over priced. Save some money and buy the book. Far more insightful. TLC edits the program, but the book is all Rabbi Shmuley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, January 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life (Paperback)
I really enjoyed how this book was laid out. You could pretty much pick up anywhere you wanted to. It was a great way to get insight to 10 different families/situations and I think it's pretty helpful with pretty much any kind of relationship you may have (with your spouse, your kids, your neighbors). If you enjoyed the show, you'll enjoy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Shalom in the home, January 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life (Paperback)
I like shalom in the home. I also have another book by this author called facing your fears. I am glad they are available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was looking for Shalom, December 6, 2009
By 
Mommy of 2 (Patchogue, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life (Paperback)
I loved this book! I am a new mother and want only the best for my child, however, coming from a broken home I am deathly afraid of making mistakes with my little guy. There were so many lessons in here that I really could relate to and needed to examine in my own marriage. Now I am working at changing the things in my life that I see could harm my son, especially since I didn't realize they would be damaging before reading this book. I loved the show as well and it gives you a behind the scenes look into the families that were featured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm glad this book is in my home, October 25, 2011
By 
S. F. Semeniuk (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life (Paperback)
His practical and useful advice and comments are down to earth and very interesting. A Great Read. I can use his words in my daily life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best self-help boo kI've ever read, February 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life (Paperback)
I can't say enough about this book-- I accidentally came upon Shmuley while watching a television show in which he was ranting about parenting and I thought he was absoutely hilarious and thus checked him out.

I don't even have kids and I found so many places in his examples where I could identify with the parenting styles. More importantly, the root of every "parenting" issue is the relationship with the parents, the hands-down cause of all problems in the home.

He illustrates his stories with commmon-sense hilarity that is easy to follow. I want to get this book for everyone I know. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shalom in the Home, August 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life (Paperback)
Loved the TV series so I got the book. It was good but read like the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life
Shalom in the Home: Smart Advice for a Peaceful Life by Shmuel Boteach (Paperback - March 6, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.