Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Quicker than Taking a Class
This graphic novel provided accurate methods for doing research as well as the theories that help guide those methods in a manner that is applied by Shane in a comical and amusing way.

-Easy to read
-Helpful
-Remember more from this book than from my Theories of Anthropology and Research Methods class combined
Published 10 months ago by Mig

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars As another reviewer mentioned, the book has a duplicate ...
As another reviewer mentioned, the book has a duplicate page (page 64 and 65 are the same), and there is clearly a page missing. It seems to go against principle for an academic book to continue being sold with such a noticeable defect. Other than the missing page the book is entertaining and informative, if a bit unstructured.
Published 1 month ago by Nathan Miller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Quicker than Taking a Class, February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography (Paperback)
This graphic novel provided accurate methods for doing research as well as the theories that help guide those methods in a manner that is applied by Shane in a comical and amusing way.

-Easy to read
-Helpful
-Remember more from this book than from my Theories of Anthropology and Research Methods class combined
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Adorable, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography (Paperback)
This was a required text for a class I am taking on fieldwork, so I didn't even bother to read the description when I bought it. When I saw it was in comic form I didn't have high expectations. I know that comics are used as an informational medium in other parts of the world, but this kind of literature in English is still rare. Even as someone who reads comics, I had this bias. However, I was pleasantly surprised by this volume. It defined ethnography and gave a brief historical background of it. The description of how to conduct ethnography was a little vague, but it was cute and funny. I didn't learn much more than I already knew about ethnography, but it was an entertaining and intelligent review of the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! Required text for my qualitative methods course, March 4, 2012
This review is from: Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography (Paperback)
absolutely love this book! A humorous, fun yet substantive introduction to ethnographic methods. I required it for my qualitative methods course and it was much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ethnography made fun!, February 12, 2012
This review is from: Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography (Paperback)
This book is a fun way of reviewing what steps are necessary to complete a successful ethnographic study. As another person mentioned, my copy of the book ALSO printed page 64 two times, which is strange. Other than that, I really recommend this parsimonious and enjoyable book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars As another reviewer mentioned, the book has a duplicate ..., November 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography (Paperback)
As another reviewer mentioned, the book has a duplicate page (page 64 and 65 are the same), and there is clearly a page missing. It seems to go against principle for an academic book to continue being sold with such a noticeable defect. Other than the missing page the book is entertaining and informative, if a bit unstructured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ethnography Starter!, December 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography (Paperback)
Used this for a college presentation. This was a great book to learn the basics of ethnography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Left Out, October 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography (Paperback)
I thought it was a great book, but there is a misprint where a page is printed twice and a "mystery" page is left out. I even called the publisher and they told me it was Amazon's problem because I bought the book from them. I even had a friend of mine purchase the same book from Amazon and the same misprint occurred. I think the author has a great idea here, but perhaps should consider switching publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you!, September 1, 2011
This review is from: Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography (Paperback)
The book arrived right on time. It was accurate to the description and is in great condition. Thanks for sending it so promptly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good bang for your buck, September 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography (Paperback)
Was reasonably priced, in great condition, and best of all the seller sent shipped the item right away (I had it within the within the week!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography
Shane, The Lone Ethnographer: A Beginner's Guide to Ethnography by Sally Campbell Galman (Paperback - February 9, 2007)
$22.95 $16.49
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.