Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 8, 2007
This is a great film about an Asian American coming to terms with his heritage and his American upbringing, as well as reconciling his romantic lives. It touches upon Asian American alientation that many Asian Americans can relate with.

A MUST BUY in my opinion.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2007
Heartfelt and wonderful performances by the leads. Shanghai Kiss is an underated film that warms the heart. Hayden Panettiere steals your heart and Ken Leung provides emotional depth and a complex, flawed lead.

Leung's chemistry with his pal is priceless.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2007
Don't just Netflix it. Buy it! The plot was so original and unique in so many different ways. The dialogue of Ken Leung was downright spotless. Hayden Panettiee's is growing and I don't mean her age. She hones into the character of Adelaide. If your an Asian-American and you're reading this review, I suggest you to chase this DVD and study it like a f**king text book. The film deals with lost identity, something every Asian-American (male) goes through in life. It's a reflection of Hollywood, romance, miscommunication, social association and reality. Most importantly...finally a Chinese leading male actor gets its!!
The only flaw with the DVD features that there is no subtitles and the behind the scenes were 'ehh'.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2008
I got this movie as part of the Amazon Vine program in the UK, it was one of those moments where you simply just select an item because it's free and you know that you only have to write a review for it afterwards. I chose this movie as it starred Hayden Panettiere and I've become a fan of her acting from her role as Clare in the hit TV series Heroes. I have to admit that I didn't expect much, I expected a low budget movie with very little acting talent (with the exception of Hayden & Leung of course.) I was extremely surprised as I was given much, much more than I had expected. I was given a love movie that set the standard for which all other movies should try to aim for, it was intelligent, funny and heartwarming. The characters were believable and portrayed those who faced a genuine struggle, not only with their heart but with their identity; at least that's the struggle that faces Ken Leungs character, Liam Liu.

The story revolves around a struggling American Asian actor called Liam Liu, one day after being rejected from an audition for a toothpaste commercial he's forced to ride the bus home as his car was towed due to unpaid parking tickets. While on the bus he meets a flirty, sweet and intelligent teenager called Adelaide and they quickly become friends but although "Addy" looks at Liam as her Boyfriend he doesn't feel that way, or at least he thinks he doesn't. One day he receives a call from his alcoholic Father to inform him that his grandmother has died and left him her $500,000 house in Shanghai. He goes over there with the intention of selling the house, but while there he falls in love with the house and a new girl called Micki Yang. While living in China he discovers more about his true culture and identity that he ever thought he would, but he can't help but feel that his heart is still in the USA with Addy.

I absolutely loved this movie and I'm glad I gave it a chance, if you've never heard of it before or you're not the type of person to check out a pretty unknown movie then please take my strong recommendation for this one as you wont be disappointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2008
It's a shame this movie wasn't given more exposure, especially with the rise in popularity of Hayden Panettiere. Hopefully a studio will pick up the film and release it in theatres. Wonderful chemistry between the two leads and the ending was as heartfelt as that in the movie "ONCE" (also an Indie film).
Loved the cinematography, the film sequences in Shanghai really brings out the beauty of the city, definitely had the feel and quality of a film on a much larger budget.
Excellent score, especially loved Hayden's song "Home" during the closing credits, wish they would release a soundtrack for the film, haven't been able to find the song anywhere, including Hayden's website or her fanclub's.

All in all, I was very pleasantly surprised with this film and believe it or not this was my first introduction to Hayden Panettiere (haven't watched Heroes, but will be checking it out now, and became an instant fan.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
loved this movie at first i was iffy because of the age difference and the huge case of the lady "man" protesting to much i found it was very sweet and humanizing the movie told the story well and and a believer out of me pleasantly surprised
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2007
This is one of the best movies about American Asian male stereotypes. Its about time. Ken and Hayden's performance are excellent throughout. For a direct to dvd movie, it is quite polished and has a great quality about it. Definitely one of the best non rated movies I have seen. I really recommend it. It is ironic that a movie promoting Asian Americans to break stereotypes features Hayden's pretty face on the cover, while Ken Leung is blurred in the background. Perhaps doing a karate kick. Just kidding.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2008
great movie, it encompasses a captivating story line and solid acting. At the end of the movie, you will really care about what happens to the characters. a really good coming of age film, too bad it wasn't shown in mainstream cinemas.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2012
I would recommend this movie. The relationship between Ken Leung and Hayden Panettiere is touching and disturbing at the same time. As the plot develops you see why they were drawn to each other. One of the other interesting parts of the movie was his trip back to China. I was not prepared for the way Ken was treated. That was surprising. He thought he would be accepted and he ends up feeling like an outcast the way he felt when he was in the U.S. All in all the movie was good and I enjoyed it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2011
There is much to like about this film and if you loved 'Lost in Translation' this is well worth a look. The scenes set in Shanghai are excellent and really give you a contrast to to the LA lifestyle. The Chinese actors also act the 'American' actors off the screen.
This film tries to pack a lot in and some scenes suffer as a result (like a 1 minute Triad boyfriend thrown into the mix) but is is full of quirky dialogue which makes these vignettes enjoyable. It does seem fast paced as the story moves around so much.
It is an intelligent 'love' film with a Chinese American man deciding between life in China with an older intelligent Chinese partner or a younger quirky all American girl. His U.S love interest is played by now famous for 'Heroes' Hayden Panettiere who is a cross between an all singing and dancing Minnie Mouse and an urber perky, quirky Elle from 'Legally Blonde'. Very peculiar role to act but she does it well.
Why only 3 stars? Mostly because I didn't find the main character at all likeable even when he did something extremely generous. Much of the early film points out what a serial one night stand mentality he has. Some of the situations and scenes seemed terribly contrived and unbelievable and because this film manages to pack so much in nothing is gone into for much time. Ideas are revisited - auditioning for commercials, selling houses to illustrate changes in the main character and everything turns full circle so it is a very complete and well constructed story. It just jumps around too much for my liking.
I think this film will appeal mainly to older teenagers who appreciate the teenage puppy love of Hayden Panettiere's character and the finding a place in the world angst of her older love interest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.