Prime Music
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Shannon Wright & Yann Tiersen
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Shannon Wright & Yann Tiersen

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, March 15, 2005

Black Friday in Music Black Friday in Music

Amazon Artist Stores

All the music, full streaming songs, photos, videos, biographies, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 15, 2005)
  • Label: Ici D'ailleurs
  • ASIN: B0007M22PC
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,460,927 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. No Mercy for She
2. Dragon Fly
3. Sound the Bells
4. Something to Live For
5. Dried Sea
6. While You Sleep
7. Ode to a Friend
8. Ways to Make You See
9. Callous Sun
10. Pale White

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

There should be no need to introduce Yann Tiersen, well known for his soundtracks to the films Amelie and Goodbye Lenin. Shannon Wright has a devout and ever-growing fanbase, enchanted by her highly emotional albums (four released by Touch & Go/Quarterstick, all produced by Steve Albini) as well as her hard-nosed live performances.

Written, composed and recorded in a mere 20 days and produced by Fabrice Loureau (sound technician for L’absente & producer of Françoiz Breut, Dirty 3, NIF Trio etc), this collaborative album is a marvel of pure wonderment. On one side of the spectrum we have Yann Tiersen, whose compositions are immediately recognizable by virtue of its cinematic and evocative power. Coupled with a timeless black romanticism, his music requires no translation to reach the heart and soul. On the other side we have Shannon Wright, who has conquered the hearts of rock lovers in search of total genuineness. By clawing the air with her electric guitar, backed by a sparse accompaniment of simply a drumkit, her raw sincerity and emotive delivery leaves a mark that lingers long in the memory. Together, the two weave spellbinding and absolutely moving music. With a shared sensibility and sense of propriety, Yann Tiersen and Shannon Wright offer ten luminous and fragile tracks. This is music at its most pristine, enchanting, and heart-wrenchingly beautiful.


"...Tiersen displays an impressive command of idiom and melodic subtlety that's rightfully drawn comparisons to the great Nino Rota." --

"Jacksonville native Shannon Wright cements her reputation as indie rock's goddess of Southern Gothic..." -- SF Weekly

"Shannon Wright built her rep on despairing lo-fi folk so unadorned it made Cat Powers sound like Mandy Moore..." -- Spin

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Carl9675 on March 17, 2005
Format: Audio CD
This is nothing short of a beatuiful album. The combination of Yann Tiersen's awe inspiring instrumentation and Shannon Wright's gut wrenchingly emotional lyrics is a one of a kind masterpiece. It helps if you're already a fan of either one's work, but that certainly isn't a prerequisite to enjoy this album. There are 10 songs here and none of them disappoint in the least bit. They take turns with the instruments, but because they work so well together, it's often hard to tell who is responsible for which parts of the songs. The moods range from somber, to hopeful, to lashing out at the world, and then back to peacefulness again. There are streaming versions of all the songs on the wonderfully designed website [...] as well as lots of photos and a short movie. I hope this album gets as much exposure as i think it deserves, because whoever doesn't hear this is really missing out.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Pen Name? VINE VOICE on October 6, 2005
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Shannon Wright's recorded output has grown more and more interesting since her solo debut Flight Safety. From Maps of Tacit up through Over the Sun, her lyrics and music have just gotten more powerful. But I was very surprised to hear about this project and intrigued to get it when it came out. What we have is at least up there with the best of Shannon's solo work. The album is softer than Wright's recent releases, but very interesting. Tiersen's musical arrangements are at the forefront, but Wright also contributes to the instrumentation. I find track 6, right now anyhow, "While You Sleep" to be the best intertwining of their separate styles, both come across strongly and the result is very interesting. This is not Tiersen's more upbeat style that some may remember from what was compiled for the Amelie score. Still, those who were introduced to his work through that may still find much to like here as well.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Stephen F. Spera on September 5, 2006
Format: Audio CD
some would consider this an unlikely combination. but not if you actually listen

to either artist. yann's excellent 'le phare' is quite close to this collaboration....

i had to pick up my copy in paris, not being able to snag one in store- i like to support stores that go this exrta length. but back to the music. i dont think a

piece of work has given me such joy in afew years, and believe me, i listen to almost

everything. i cant even single out fave tracks- it becomes one lovely opera to me.

if you liked pj harvey's last (uh-huh-her) or marianne faithfull's latest, youll love this.

cant recommend it highly enough. stephen spera
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category