Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Share or Die: Voices of the Get Lost Generation in the Age of Crisis
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
5 star
89%
4 star
0%
3 star
11%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 2, 2012
This is not easy reading, nor could it be. But it is essential reading. The "Lost Generation", the young folks who should be setting about creating a bright future, tell how it is for them here and now. The stories are all different; this book isn't about pushing an agenda. Rather, it is loaded with ideas that can actually inspire action, offered by those who are living them. The theme is plain: if we do not learn to share this small, damaged, planet with each other, we will die, both physically and spiritually. Simple as that. If having a life worth living, not just surviving, matters to you, you need to read this book. Like it said on the sign at the end of Neville Shute's film about the last days, On the Beach, "There is still time, brother." And sister. But not much.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
Make no mistake, this book is dark and foul mouthed, but it is a must-read for high school graduates, college students, and anyone thinking of making a career change. The essays accurately reflect how the job market has changed in the last decade and how it is possible to adapt, overcome, and maybe even make the world a better place along the way.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2012
Many Americans will agree that the old idea that if you work hard you'll get a good job no longer applies to this new generation. As a high school teacher specializing in alternative education for at risk youth, I have struggled to inspire youth in a time when our failing economy poses little to no hope for a prosperous future. It's hard to talk about a future where anything is possible when the status quo paradigm does not work.

Share or Die is a gem because it solves this problem for me. It explains through analysis and personal narrative why the old story doesn't work any more, and paints a picture of an even better tomorrow if we do things together instead of alone. Share or Die reframes what we need to teach our youth about how to create their own prosperous future by sharing.

Beth Buczynski sums this notion up perfectly in her essay, "The Gen Y Guide to Collaborative Consumption". She describes the old formula of get college degree, get a good job as the "old way" and offers an eye-opening array of resources to help people meet their needs through sharing.

Share or Die is brilliant in many ways. In reading this book, I discovered a new way to inspire the youth I teach. I learned about many resources that make living one's dream a true possibility. Most importantly, I learned that we can evolve if we create a new economic paradigm based on sharing. If you're an educator, a student, a parent, or a human being living in these challenging times, Share or Die is a must read as it holds a practical and inspiring new formula for the good life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
Young people are now faced with living in a world that has been ravaged by decades of thoughtless greed without a concern about those who would inherit the mess. To make their way in the world successfully they will need to live more simply, consume less, and learn to share with others for a richer, more sustainable future. Share or Die: Voices of the Get Lost Generation in the Age of Crisis is a diverse and thought-provoking collection of writings and cartoons that looks at a new approach to living and working. It touches on everything from how to approach finding a job with a meaningful work-life balance to collective living arrangements for a nomadic lifestyle; establishing resilient communities that require owning less stuff to eating economically with purpose as a DIY adventure. Although aimed at young people, we all can learn a great deal from the stories that are shared in this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2012
Forget the traditional Dr. Seuss "Oh the Places you will go". Whether for those heading off to college, grad school, or the real world, Share or Die provides a much hipper graduation gift. Created by young people for young people, the volume provides a series of well-written essays describing a shared experience of entering a world much different from their parents. It's a book new grads will want to, and should, read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
Share or Die: Voices of the Get Lost Generation in the Age of Crisis, a compilation of the stories and ideas of some brilliant young people navigating the recession, is a powerful reminder that we don't have to be victims of this economy. In fact, it can make us stronger if we work together and innovate. The importance of learning to share during a precarious economic time seems like a no-brainer but it hasn't been a common practice. That is, until now. Share or Die is a testament to the hope that out of a bad situation can come something even better than what we had before. A generation of young graduates are leading the way to a future of collaboration, innovation, and exceptionally creative career design.
The topics covered are extensive. There are stories about how to build a brand from scratch by creating a flourishing online community, set up a worker's co-op, organize a union strike, and navigate family life while developing a professional life. And there's no shortage of optimism and inspiration in the pages.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2012
Share or Die is a great compilation of sharing stories from the Y Generation.
With a great diversity of experiences told directly by young people it gives a real insight on how sharing becomes more and more a way of life, and indeed of survival, for them. Very useful reading if ou are working on a sharing project.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
good book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.