Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say NO to Shark fin soup !
This is one thing you will certainly come away with after watching the film.

As a scuba diver, sharks are what you want to see, especially the whale shark, but they are generally so shy they will certainly keep their distance.

The film sees Rob Stewart explore the `Darwin's theory of evolution' Galapagos islands and Costa Rica. Rob is a professional...
Published on September 4, 2008 by Guy Rogers

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Blah. I am passionate about sharks but felt this ...
Blah. I am passionate about sharks but felt this film was lacking. Maybe it was the narration or the people involved who seemed to be pushing how they are passionate about sharks (but not doing much about it though). It was lacking.
Published 5 months ago by J. Gordon


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say NO to Shark fin soup !, September 4, 2008
By 
Guy Rogers (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sharkwater (2006) (DVD)
This is one thing you will certainly come away with after watching the film.

As a scuba diver, sharks are what you want to see, especially the whale shark, but they are generally so shy they will certainly keep their distance.

The film sees Rob Stewart explore the `Darwin's theory of evolution' Galapagos islands and Costa Rica. Rob is a professional underwater photographer and videographer so the images he captures while gliding through the depths are stunning. That is until they turn to the finning operations, the corruption and images of sharks caught in a long lines where you can but ponder `what is humanity doing'.

This film really gives you a wake up call to the importance of the oceans and the sharks place at top of the food chain to keep everything balanced.

The books emphasis goes more on the role of the Sea Shepherd, the ocean's eco systems and gives you a chance to look again at the gracefulness of the shark.

A must watch/read.

Sharkwater: The Photographs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Essential Viewing!, March 31, 2008
By 
Simon P (Cittŕgazze) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sharkwater (2006) (DVD)
I was fortunate enough to be in Canada last year when this amazing film was being shown at a university theatre. Having won over twenty international film awards and garnered much critical acclaim, it's shocking how little exposure and theatrical play this film has had in the US. Regardless, this is easily one of the very best documentaries I've seen.

I was taken off-guard by how little I really knew about sharks aside from the terrible misconceptions so many of us have been fed since childhood. Rob Stewart does a magnificent job of thoroughly dismantling the caricature of sharks as ferocious monsters deserving of our fear and hatred, instead capturing the gentle beauty and vital importance of these creatures to life as we know it. The frightening ordeal Stewart finds himself in while filming is worthwhile viewing in itself. You don't need to be an environmentalist to appreciate Stewart's courageous documentation of the heart-wrenching barbarity imposed upon sharks (and other aquatic life).

Watch this film with as many friends and relatives as you can. We all need to be more aware of the impact humans are having on the environment. Sharkwater is a milestone effort in raising this awareness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharkwater, November 28, 2010
By 
Lam Hoon Leong (Singapore, Singapore) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sharkwater [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I like to eat shark fin soup until I read reports and watch this title.. This show speak a loud for Sharks.
It is a wake up call for humans. I am not only concerning about sharks but all other animals too. Eg Tigers hunted for the skin and other product, Fur creatures skinned for their furs.(Just to name a few.) This young man risk his life to produce this show to warn all of us, The message is simple. Do not upset of food chain of the ocean as Sharks has live in the ocean longer than any of us. It is maintained the food chain of the ocean well until man started to hunt them for their fins. If the world comes to an end, it is not God's ideal but we end this mother world by ourselves.
Be kind to animals as we are all created by God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, February 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sharkwater [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A stunning and remarkable documentary film about the illegal fishing of sharks for the Asian food market that is both riveting and beautiful to watch. The film documents director Rob Stewart's discovery and determination in letting the public know about the plight of sharks being killed off. The High Def imagery/cinematography is simply incredible and I'm sure the Bluray disc will look equally impressive as when I saw it on the AFI' Silver Theatre DLP system in March of 2006. The film is essential in educating all about the misconceptions and slaughter of sharks, it is both enlightening and ultimately heartbreaking - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent dramatized documentary, August 19, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sharkwater [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie should be watched by everybody! It shows how we are allowing the killing of millions of sharks for just obtaining their fins! It is unbelievable. I hope that with more and more people aware of this fact, if they know who are paying lots of money to eat shark fin soup, will stop them doing it. As soon as we stop paying for shark finning, there will be nobody willing to do it. I sincerely hope this is easier than stopping people to pay for drugs.
Even if you are not militant on the conservationism troops, this movie will entertain and leave a strong feeling about the importance of sharks in Nature, before we discover it the hard way.
The bluray transfer quality is very good. I just hope a new version with multilingual subtitles is made available soon to increase its effect around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars compelling truth-is-stranger-than-fiction documentary, July 9, 2011
By 
This review is from: Sharkwater (2006) (DVD)
The documentary, "Sharkwater," by filmmaker and naturalist Rob Stewart, has, essentially, a twofold purpose: to rehabilitate the reputation of the shark by countering many of the myths and misconceptions that, over the millennia, have grown up around the creature, and to raise awareness in the general public that the shark is basically being hunted out of existence by poachers eager to sell its high-priced fin - shark-fin soup being one of the priciest delicacies in Asian cooking. Compounding the tragedy is the fact that the fin is largely inedible and used mainly for ornamentation. According to Stewart, 100 million sharks are killed each year to support this billion dollar industry, resulting in the world's shark population declining by an estimated 90%. Yet, because they are not cute and cuddly creatures, there is no real constituency fighting for sharks as there is for dolphins and seals. Stewart's film is a small-step attempt to rectify that situation.

Stewart begins by demonstrating that sharks and humans can exist in harmony together. This he does by donning scuba gear and plunging into shark-infested waters where he proceeds to pet, cuddle and play with the animals, all without incident. He also cites a number of statistics to back up his assertion, the prime one being that only five people per year on average are killed by sharks while a hundred or so are killed annually by elephants.

Then he moves on to the more political aspects of the issue. The movie sets up an interesting dichotomy between two realms of existence, juxtaposing the beauty of nature with the ugliness of the human world. For while we're being shown eye-popping, multi-colored images of life under water - all in gorgeous hi-def, I might add - there's plenty of drama taking place on the high seas, as Stewart joins up with Paul Watson, a "direct action" conservationist who has devoted his entire adult life to roaming the oceans, trying to put a halt to the wholesale slaughter of the creatures who reside therein. We see Watson and his crew getting into tense confrontations with poachers, only to find THEMSELVES the object of pursuit by Costa Rican authorities. Stewart points out how corrupt governments like the one in Costa Rica outlaw shark hunting on an official level - in order to maintain their appeal to eco-conscious tourists - then secretly profit from it by looking the other way as poachers illegally operate off their coasts.

And it isn't just out of compassion for the shark that Stewart and his buddies have mounted a crusade against this mass poaching. It's out of concern for the ecosystem itself, as the diminution or, heaven forbid, the elimination of one of the world's great predators could upset the delicate natural balance in ways we can not yet fully comprehend - including potentially increasing the amount of carbon dioxide pumped into the atmosphere if plankton-eating creatures that are current shark prey are allowed to flourish in ever-greater numbers.

But there is hope. At the time this film was released (2007), sixteen countries had already banned shark-finning (hopefully more effectively than Costa Rica), and the general public had begun to fight back, as evidenced by mass street protests that began springing up in places like Costa Rica to help raise awareness of the issue - much as this film itself does.

Stewart - who wrote, directed, produced and served as cinematographer for this amazing and inspiring film - can be justifiably proud of both his mission and his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical documentary to see, March 30, 2008
By 
This review is from: Sharkwater (2006) (DVD)
I saw this documentary today and it is more than just a documentary because Rob Stewart is trying to spur you into action to help save sharks. Shark populations have declined by 90% and as an apex predator they are key for the health of marine ecosystems. The practice of finning is brutal and the demand in Asia for shark fins for shark fin soup as a status symbol is driving their extinction. Please boycott shark fin soup. Definitely watch this film to get an accurate view of sharks--they are not brutal animals but rather humans are the brutal animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharkwater doesn't bite, August 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sharkwater (2006) (DVD)
This movie is along the same lines as The Cove. If you've seen The Cove and liked it you'll like this one as well. If you haven't seen The Cove I would reccomend seeing that one first. The only reason I only gave Sharkwater 4 stars is because the narration can be a bit mono tone and can be boring at times. Still Rob Stewart is passionate about Sharks and it shows through out the movie. The photography is beautiful. Well worth the price. Give ot a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremist C`rap But Good Film, April 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sharkwater [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The filmmaker is an extremist in the likes of pAUL wATSON (who actually makes a cameo appearance!) but the film is well made. It is entertaining to the end and has a great soundtrack - plus how can you go wrong with a film about sharks? I love the theme, with shark finning being demonized and explained to audiences, and it leaves viewers with a sense of urgency about saving Jaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real understanding of the world around us., March 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sharkwater [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Protecting the natural world around us is critical. Rob Stewart has put together a great film that will make you appreciate the planet - and make you want to reach out to protect it. I've been with sharks around the world - and when you're in the water with these creatures , fear is replaced by wonder. Thank you Rob and your team for this great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sharkwater (2006)
Sharkwater (2006) by Rob Stewart (DVD - 2008)
$19.98 $5.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.