Start reading Sharper Security: A Sovereign Security Company Novel on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Sharper Security: A Sovereign Security Company Novel [Kindle Edition]

Thomas Sewell
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $12.97
Kindle Price: $4.99
You Save: $7.98 (62%)
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 600,000 titles. Start your 30-day free trial

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for FREE. Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $4.99  
Paperback $11.67  
Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 600,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for $9.99 a month, including this one. Learn more

Book Description

In a near future alternate history, America has split. Sovereign security companies compete in the booming Arizona Zone.

Evie retired as an anti-terrorist detective sergeant and emigrated to escape from Britain. Who is hunting her for revenge?
Evie hires Sam Harper, from Sharper Security, to protect her. Who is her mysterious attacker, plotting from a distance?

How will Sam defeat the soldiers, intrigue and legal maneuvers of his competitors to capture Evie's nemesis and deliver justice for what really happened in Paris 18 years ago?

Answers involving forgiveness and redemption are revealed during a week of mystery, intrigue, technology, heroes, villains, action and adventure in the Sonoran desert.

Oh, and humor. The book definitely has humor.
Also some interesting characters. I especially like.... well, just go read the book.


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Thomas Sewell grew up in southern California. He plays, coaches and referees soccer. When he was 13 years old, he graduated from high school and started taking computer electronics courses in college. He was already 6 ft. tall, so no one seemed to notice he was a little young. He had to bum rides to school because he was too young for a driver's license.

Thomas has always been an autodidact with a variety of hobbies and interests, especially economics, military history and the law. He spent some time working in Reston and McLean, Virginia, but only officially worked for the government as a security contractor. Thomas has performed technology and security work for several fortune 500 companies, most recently Wells Fargo Bank.

Along the way, he's founded a private security company, an Internet Service Provider and a K-8 Charter School. He's served as the National Secretary and been a multi-state founder for the Republican Liberty Caucus. He's read over ten thousand books. He currently resides south of Phoenix, Arizona, just past the Reservation. Look for the place with the autocab wreckage.

Product Details

  • File Size: 355 KB
  • Print Length: 197 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0615730078
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Catallaxy Media; 1 edition (November 17, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00A9CI3GM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #266,193 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced futuristic thriller November 26, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a fast-paced, futuristic thriller. It's a little cyberpunk, but more positive and in some ways utopian instead of dystopian. Human wave style. The level of technology used is a cool extrapolation from current technology. The suspense keeps you wanting to know what's going to happen next.

Pros
Unique setting, hasn't been done before, which is rare. Sort of like Italy back when it was just city-states. The book has the feel of an international thriller, but done at a very local level with competing local governments and small groups instead of large countries and armies. A post-secession United States, although this book doesn't really get into how that happened. Hopefully more will be explained in later books.

The characters most important to the plot are well developed and change over time. One of the main villains changes a lot in the book, although another one, mostly in the background, is a little cliche. My view of one of the other main characters shifted heavily during the book. I'd name names, but that would give a spoiler. I did especially like John's character and how he recovers from his past in the Marine Corps. Sam seems a little too invincible during the first part of the book, but that changes during the resolution to the La Raza Plot. The maturity change of one of the main characters in the final scene was cool.

Very quick shifts between viewpoints. Most of the scenes are only a few pages. It's a little confusing the first time the character whose head you're in shifts, but you get used to it after the first couple of times and the author does a good job of identifying who's perspective you're seeing. It keeps the plot moving very quickly.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
This was a futuristic cowboy novel. Neat high tech police weapons, in a new political landscape. Interesting concept that the USA has been broken up into separate city states, since there are several states right now that are looking to secede from the Union. The characters were well developed and interesting and the plot was also well developed. Good action too. I hope
Thomas writes a sequel.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intelligent, Fast-paced, Irresistible Thriller December 25, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It all starts with a huge botched job: Evie's supposed first field assignment ends in a heartbreaking disaster, and it's something that effectively sets the tone for the rest of the novel. If that does not rend you into the book's increasingly complex and deeply engaging plot, then I don't know what will. Then merely a few pages into the book, you'll immediately find yourself in the middle of a brewing international intrigue--although "international" in this sense consists largely of the newly founded city states. But still. And the deeper you get into reading the book, the more your sense of intrigue grows until it begins to hurt: who has been making Evie's life hell, and what is the worst he's willing to do? I'll stop right here before I give out spoilers.

I love how Sam Harper's competencies and personal strengths are presented in a balanced way here--he's someone you will root for, and somehow Sam keeps reminding me of Clint Eastwood's most famous movie character, the lone invincible gunslinger against massive, albeit invisible, evil. He is, in a word, "awesome."

And perhaps most importantly, the entire edge-of-your-seat action takes place in more or less a week--the limited time frame adds more gravitas to the story's conflicts and resolution as you also feel it in your guts that a solution must be found or it's all or nothing. You will not be able to put the book down, especially in those parts where Evie is being attacked and everyone's wondering who's doing what.

`Sharper Security' is a hugely enjoyable read. It is set in the near future, and as such, you'll find gadgets and technologies representing reasonable extrapolations of what we currently have. But these are just trappings to the book's deeper vitality.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sci-Fi Thriller! December 17, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Set mainly in Maricopa, Arizona Zone, this is a book that combines traces of the old world and the new world. In Maricopa, there lays a well established security company firm owned and operated by Sam Harper. Here is where Evie's character is stalked and terrorized by an unknown assailant. Evie hires Sam to protect her and help her find out why she is being stalked. This science fiction thriller is jammed packed with action, cool technological gadgets, danger, and suspense.

This book is fast paced, and there are quick shifts in character viewpoints that will keep you guessing where the book is headed. You'll find yourself enjoying the bits of humor and the various characters. This is a good book to read if you are in the mood for a quick moving science fiction thriller.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starts a bit slow, but keep reading... April 6, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
An excellent depiction in fictional form of a privately protected society with no need for government.

Highly recommended, especially for fans of L. Neil Smith and James Hogan.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Thomas Sewell grew up in southern California. He plays, coaches and referees soccer. When he was 13 years old, he graduated from high school and started taking computer electronics courses in college. He was already 6 ft. tall, so no one seemed to notice he was a little young. He had to bum rides to school because he was too young for a driver's license.

Thomas has always been an autodidact with a variety of hobbies and interests, especially economics, military history and the law. He spent some time working in Reston and McLean, Virginia, but only officially worked for the government as a security contractor. Thomas has performed technology and security work for several fortune 500 companies, most recently Wells Fargo Bank.

Along the way, he's founded a private security company, an Internet Service Provider and a K-8 Charter School. He's served as the National Secretary and been a multi-state founder for the Republican Liberty Caucus. He's read over ten thousand books. He currently resides south of Phoenix, Arizona, just past the Reservation. Look for the place with the autocab wreckage.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category