Shatter Me and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.99
  • Save: $3.95 (22%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by JGS74
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Ships From Amazon and FAST. Eligible for FREE Super Saver Shipping! Next Day Shipping also available. Tracking number provided with every order.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Shatter Me Hardcover – November 15, 2011


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$14.04
$4.69 $2.95


Frequently Bought Together

Shatter Me + Unravel Me (Shatter Me) + Ignite Me (Shatter Me)
Price for all three: $42.96

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Series: Shatter Me (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins; 1 edition (November 15, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062085484
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062085481
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.9 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (898 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #243,027 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

PRAISE FOR SHATTER ME:“Addictive, intense, and oozing with romance. I’m envious. I couldn’t put it down.” (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN)

“Rip-roaring adventure and steamy romance scenes, with a relationship teens will root for as much as they did for Bella and Edward. Inventive touches propel the story, such as strikeouts that reveal Juliette’s inner thoughts. The final chapters leave Juliette, Adam, and Warner well poised for round two.” (Booklist)

“Mafi combines a psychological opener with an action-adventure denouement in her YA debut. This is a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Fans of Cashore’s Fire, Oliver’s Delirium, and, yes, Twilight will find this addictive.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“Teens will feel satisfied yet wait impatiently for more.” (School Library Journal)

EARLY PRAISE FOR UNRAVEL ME:“Unravel Me is dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense. I dare you to stop reading.” (Kami Garcia, New York Times bestselling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures novels)

About the Author

Tahereh Mafi is a girl. She was born in a small city somewhere in Connecticut and currently resides in Orange County, California, where the weather is just a little too perfect for her taste. When unable to find a book, she can be found reading candy wrappers, coupons, and old receipts. Ignite Me is the final novel in a trilogy about Juliette.


More About the Author

Tahereh Mafi is the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling SHATTER ME series. She was born and raised in a small city somewhere in Connecticut and currently resides in Orange County, California, where the weather is just a little too perfect for her taste. When unable to find a book, she can be found reading candy wrappers, coupons, and old receipts. SHATTER ME is her first novel. You can visit her online at www.taherehbooks.com or follow her on twitter at @TaherehMafi.

Amazon Author Rankbeta 

(What's this?)
#74 in Books > Teens
#74 in Books > Teens

Related Media


Customer Reviews

This is a very fast paced book.
Ann Dragonpride
Juliette is caring and good and just wants to be normal...which is something she can never be. so if she can't be normal, what else is there?
Lisa Schensted
I loved the author's unique style of writing which really helped you feel the emotions of the main character, Juliette.
Amazon Customer

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

278 of 316 people found the following review helpful By Christie VINE VOICE on November 19, 2011
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I was among the many who couldn't wait for the day Shatter Me finally released. Then I was lucky enough to score an early copy of this highly anticipated and greatly hyped dystopian novel. Heck yeah! So I started reading and was a little put off by the author's writing style. Yes, I just might be the only person on the face of the earth who didn't find the author's prose beautifully unique. The lack of punctuation (commas are your friend), overuse of metaphors (& the word butter), and the author's apparent addiction to the strike through tool seriously distracted from a novel I could have probably found a way to like a bit more. Some of the metaphors didn't even make sense or fit with the scene. It felt like I was stuck in an insane character's stream of consciousness that just refused to end (when I desperately needed it to). I didn't find the premise unique. I felt like a premise we've seen in books, movies, television, and even comic books was used with the hope readers would find it fresh and new because of the author's disjointed writing style. Maybe for some, but I'm not falling for it.

Did I hate this book? Nope. I just feel like it could have been so much more, but got seriously weighed down by the writing. Metaphors are cool, but I needed less of the pretty and more action and character development. I did really like Adam. He is a perfect male lead. Not quite sure how I feel about Juliette. She seemed to have badass potential, but as the novel progressed she started to become a little codependent (and horny) for my taste. After a life of exclusion, lack of human touch, and then being imprisoned in isolation you'd think she'd maintain her guarded persona (she didn't). She quickly rolled over and put all her faith in a boy (a cute boy, but still).
Read more ›
11 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
562 of 647 people found the following review helpful By Jennifer L. Rinehart TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on February 6, 2012
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This review will take the form of prose, in the style of Elizabeth Barrett Browning, but with examples taken from the story itself.

How do I hate thee? Let me count the ways.

I hate thee for thine bizarro, unpunctuated, over-the-top prose that peppers this story from page one on.

'I hate the lackadaisical ennui of a sun too preoccupied with itself to notice the infinite hours we spend in its presence.' P. 26

I hate thee for talking about a bird, every couple of pages, thereby adding a mysterious, crazy-girl ambiance when the reader already knows Juliette is a tinfoil hat away from crazytown.

'There will be a bird today.' P. 9

'There will be a bird.' P. 11

'Maybe a bird will fly today.' P. 28

'Birds used to fly.' P. 36

I've dreamt about the same bird flying through the same sky for exactly 10 years.' P. 36

'I don't know how to find the white bird.' P. 113

'I glance at the window and wonder if I'll ever see a bird fly by.' P. 115

'A white bird with streaks of gold like a crown atop its head. It's flying.' P. 120

'I'm the bird and I'm flying away.' P. 121

'I need to see the bird.' P. 176

I hate thee to the level of shoving this book into a composter, after finishing a particularly silly part about Adam's manly chest and Juliette's need to snuggle.

'My face is pressed against his chest and the world is suddenly bigger, beautiful - -the entire universe stops in place and spins the other direction and I'm the bird.' (Gah, that darned bird again!).
Read more ›
45 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
85 of 104 people found the following review helpful By titania86 VINE VOICE on November 16, 2011
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Juliette is seventeen years old hasn't spoken to or touched anyone in 264 days. Whenever she touches someone, they suffer and eventually die if she holds on long enough. She was imprisoned for murder by the Re-establishment, an organization who is dedicated to rebuilding the polluted, barren Earth on the surface. Food and animals are scarce, the sky is incredibly polluted, and diseases run rampant. No one knows why Juliette's touch is so harmful, but she is small compared to the larger problems of the world. Everything changes when after months and months of isolation, a boy is put into her cell with her. She has no idea what her jailers' angle is, but she is determined to keep to herself and keep him safe. He isn't what he appears to be and she has to choose whether she will be a weapon for someone else to wield or a self sufficient warrior.

Shatter Me is a mixed bag for me. On one hand, I was engaged by the interesting writing style and the main character, Juliette. The narrative is written in a kind of stream of consciousness style, giving the work the feeling of reading her journal or her innermost thoughts. It's punctuated with occasional strike outs that reveal Juliette's true feelings, usually followed by what she thinks she should feel. At the beginning of the story, she is practically catatonic, having been isolated for the better part of a year in an insane asylum. The strike outs provide glimpses into Juliette's character that she doesn't reveal outwardly. They lessen as the story goes along and as Juliette becomes stronger and more expressive. Juliette is the most compelling character by far and undergoes the most development. Underneath all the abuse she has experienced, she's very strong and her sensitivity is sometimes mistaken for weakness.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?