Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Plot!
The author made a magnificent job on this thriller novel that we read on the edge of the chair. His ability to describe the situations get us involved from the beginning.
A N.Y. surgeon gets a partnership in a racing horse, as a diversion from his medical practice, as he loves horses. But his diversion got seriously dangerous when an unwanted partner ends up buying...
Published on October 19, 2010 by Roberto Mattos

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A promising debut
A promising thoroughbred dies under suspicious circumstances in this densely plotted thriller by Dean De De Luke, a medical doctor and horse racing afficionado. Packed with characters effectively drawn with just a few strokes, this thriller is an auspicious debut. The medical aspects are not overdone, but rather, they strengthen the credibility of the central character,...
Published on August 12, 2010 by St Choice Signsampson Presstko


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A promising debut, August 12, 2010
This review is from: Shedrow (Hardcover)
A promising thoroughbred dies under suspicious circumstances in this densely plotted thriller by Dean De De Luke, a medical doctor and horse racing afficionado. Packed with characters effectively drawn with just a few strokes, this thriller is an auspicious debut. The medical aspects are not overdone, but rather, they strengthen the credibility of the central character, Dr. Anthony Gianni, an unhappily married surgeon who loves the thrill of the race, but who loves the horses more. Gianni is in over his head after a mob figure joins him in ownership of the young and talented Chiefly Endeavor. The pacing is a hard, fast race to the finish as astonishing plot twists explode on the landscape. De Luke's work is reminiscent of Jeff Abbott whose protagonists are flawed though decent men tossed into a world of unexpected and shocking evil. The last few pages are particularly notable as two middle-aged men evaluate their past priorities and their hopes to turn things around. The author strongly hints that there will be a series emerging from Shedrow, and that's good news, but it is hoped the author will take book two from a breakneck pace to a pleasing canter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Plot!, October 19, 2010
By 
Roberto Mattos (Morganville, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shedrow (Hardcover)
The author made a magnificent job on this thriller novel that we read on the edge of the chair. His ability to describe the situations get us involved from the beginning.
A N.Y. surgeon gets a partnership in a racing horse, as a diversion from his medical practice, as he loves horses. But his diversion got seriously dangerous when an unwanted partner ends up buying fifty percent of his horse. This new partner owns big money to the mob and he is in desperate situation...
The plot is amazing. Mr. DeLuke is an excellent storyteller. This is the type of mystery/thriller book that will keep you awake till you finish the book. If you like novels by Dan Brown, mystery books by Agatha Christie etc., you will love this book. It is excellent in terms of style, as the author is a real passionate on horses and horse racing, so his personal touch and knowledge on the subject makes all the difference in the atmosphere he creates for his book.
Now we only have to hope that Mr. DeLuke will be willing to write another novel. It really does not matter at all if it is a sequel from this one or a completely new theme. He has already proven he is capable of entertaining even the most picky readers as myself.
By the way, the author chose a very beautiful cover for his book.
This book was written by Dean DeLuke and it was published in 2010 by Grey Swan Press. Pump Up Your Book was kind enough to provide me a copy for reviewing through their Virtual Book Tour Program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT DEBUT NOVEL, October 15, 2010
By 
Melissa (Long Island NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shedrow (Hardcover)
I have always loved horses and I really enjoyed Shedrow. My mom also read th novel and she enjoyed it as well. Let me give you her perspective of the book. When she was going to college she worked for OTB and got to know the racing world quite well. She said that the information in the book was very accurate. She read some novels by Dick Francis and Robin Cook and she felt that Shedrow was just as good. The author has a passion for horses and the racing world and that is evident in his novel. There were twists and turns and I never expected .... to be the villain. What a great debut novel and I hope that the author continues to write in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first-rate thriller, September 26, 2010
By 
James Thayer (Seattle, Washington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shedrow (Hardcover)
I think I've read every Dick Francis novel, and I've been waiting for his successor. Dean DeLuke steps into the role with Shedrow. Horse racing and horse raising are the fascinating milieus for the novel. The protagonist, a surgeon, is swatted out of his normal life by inexplicable events. He (and the reader) can't guess what is happening to him, until the doctor finds the resources within himself to fight back. Add a beautiful and double crossing (or maybe triple-crossing)agent, and life becomes a nightmare for the doctor, and a great pleasure for the reader. This is a fast-moving and fun novel with terrific insights into the horse world and the operating room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shedrow: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed it enough that I am looking for more books by the same author. It is an active mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced, November 26, 2013
This review is from: Shedrow: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
With horse racing, you can never be sure. I, as an animal activist, am against any type of animal racing, so I wasn't sure if this book was going to be something I could enjoy. Once I got over the horse stuff I was OK.

This is a fast paced thriller. There is a horse, he win and wins and then ends up dead. There's a wide range of characters with different backgrounds that are explained. Many have motives slightly different from the other to want the horse dead. This makes for an interesting read as there's just not one or two possibilities as to who would be guilty.

This was a well written change of pace from most crime and suspense novels out there. I'd say it's a must add to your shelf.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read for horse lovers., August 9, 2013
This review is from: Shedrow: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable read, quite accurate. Liked it, not really simplistic but a good story. Would read more from this writer for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shedrow, June 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shedrow: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced book with interesting characters. Learned lots about thoroughbred horses. Figured out who done it long before the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read!, May 1, 2013
This review is from: Shedrow: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
I am a racetracker, so that part of the story was very interesting. I liked the basic plot. I think the pace could have been slowed down a little, no pun intended. It's hard to keep up with that much intensity from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quest, April 24, 2013
By 
R. Hamilton (Anaconda, MT. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shedrow: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the descriptive writing. The plot was strong. I can't help comparing it to a Dick Francis novel. The hero was likable but I stayed pretty detached from his dilemma. The author talked about his gun collection but it never came to anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shedrow
Shedrow by Dean DeLuke (Hardcover - August 1, 2010)
$28.95 $2.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.