Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars engaging 1920s investigative tale
Writing a book about the SHEER FOLLY of architectural design disasters, Daisy Dalrymple and her best friend photographer Lady Lucy Binscomb travel to see Appsworth Hall; owned by friendly Mr. Pritchard of Pritchard's Plumbing Products. Daisy's husband Scotland Yard Detective Chief Inspector Alex Fletcher reluctantly will baby-sit their twins while she is away for the...
Published on September 19, 2009 by Harriet Klausner

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best
I hate to think that Carola Dunn is running out of plot ideas for the Daisy Dalrymple series, but her latest entry. "Sheer Folly," makes me think it possible. I have read all of her books and found her enjoyable, but this time the characters are uninteresting, hard to tell apart at times, and really not worth our time.

It is interesting to compare Daisy,...
Published on October 11, 2009 by Marilyn Cobert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars engaging 1920s investigative tale, September 19, 2009
Writing a book about the SHEER FOLLY of architectural design disasters, Daisy Dalrymple and her best friend photographer Lady Lucy Binscomb travel to see Appsworth Hall; owned by friendly Mr. Pritchard of Pritchard's Plumbing Products. Daisy's husband Scotland Yard Detective Chief Inspector Alex Fletcher reluctantly will baby-sit their twins while she is away for the weekend.

Daisy and Lucy arrive at the estate only find their host Mr. Pritchard is throwing a garish party attended by Daisy's friend Julia Beaufort; Lord Rydal known as Rhino; his lover Lady Ottaline Wandersley and her husband Sir Desmond; and Canadian historian Charles Armitage who seems attracted to Julia and she in him. An explosion leaves Rhino dead, but his paramour and his chauffeur survive. The spouses of Daisy and Lucy arrive just in time for the DCI to investigate.

This is an engaging 1920s investigative tale that ironically feels fresh because the local cops are euphoric to have an experienced DCI to work the case. The story line as always in this wonderful long running series (see BLACK SHIP) provides the reader with a glimpse of the English upper class just before the depression. The support cast is solid and the whodunit cleverly devised to enable the reader and Daisy to compete with Alex. It would be SHEER FOLLY for historical mystery fans not to read this superb tale.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A British Cozy, October 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is light reading for those of us who enjoy the escapism of murder at a manor house. The plot is light weight, but this does not distract from the read. In the end, nasty people are routed, decent people get their reward, and the reader gets a few laughs. Daisy and Lucy are a delight. It's true,some of the other Daisy Dalrymple mysteries had a more involved plot line. The whole series is worth reading, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Folly--Pure Fun, April 21, 2010
By 
After an explosion at the mansion of the 'King of Plumbing Fixtures' kills one of the guests, Daisy Dalrymple and her pal Lucy Binsomb uncover secrets that cast suspicion on the remaining company. As with all the Daisy Dalrymple mysteries, 'Sheer Folly' is an enjoyable adventure, short on violence and bloodshed and long on fun and charm. Just the way I like my mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Style, classy execution, October 11, 2009
By 
Abbey (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Just enough sweetness, a neat soupçon of tart humor, a bit of sly commentary on the social classes, and a solid mystery plot, all mixed beautifully by Dunn, who exhibits perfect balance and pacing. Everything is just right for those of us who enjoy genteel historical murder with a side dish of satire. See my full review at reviewingtheevidence dot com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Yet!, January 18, 2014
By 
Pinkster (Northern rural CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been reading the Daisy Dalrymple series in order, using audible when available, and kindle when audible version is unavailable. Sheer Folly is my favorite book yet. I was very tired and on the verge of falling asleep when I began the book, and I was instantly awakened and captivated. I read into the wee hours and completed 60% of book before succumbing to sleep. Lady Lucy is back with camera and attitude. We meet a whole hodge lodge of new characters, gathered for a house party which chief attraction turns out to be a grotto folly recently restored by the host, a plumbing manufacturer! The book is very humorous, and Daisy and Alec both work, unofficially, to solve a murder and make sure the right suspect is arrested. Enjoy the book, which us sheer folly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, October 11, 2009
By 
Marilyn Cobert (Knoxville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I hate to think that Carola Dunn is running out of plot ideas for the Daisy Dalrymple series, but her latest entry. "Sheer Folly," makes me think it possible. I have read all of her books and found her enjoyable, but this time the characters are uninteresting, hard to tell apart at times, and really not worth our time.

It is interesting to compare Daisy, daughter of a viscount, to Maisy Dobbs, daughter of a costermonger (seller of vegetables from his horse-drawn dray), who is also a detective during the post-World-War-1 period in Britain. The contrast in their backgrounds as well as their investigative techniques makes a more rounded picture of the period. Daisy writes magazine articles while Maisy works an investigator and psychologist in a series by Jacqueline
Winspear.

Daisy is much more light-hearted and does her detecting more or less accidentally while Maisy is very serious-minded. I think the reader would enjoy Dunn's earlier Daisy books and might enjoy her enough to press on to read one of her less successful efforts. But I think I have read "Darling" as much as I care to for a year or two. Maybe that's how the British talked in the 1920's, but enough already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She hasn't changed one wit., January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've read all of the Daisy Dahlrumple series and I have enjoyed all of them. Carola Dunn has kept Daisy, Alec and even her secondary characters all the same, but has allowed them to grow. For anyone who hasn't read any from this series, you really don't need to read them in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Mystery, September 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this mystery which is one of the good ones of this genre. Carola Dunn creates like able chatacters in wh one can develop an interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars murder in a country house, July 11, 2012
This review is from: Sheer Folly: A Daisy Dalrymple Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries) (Hardcover)
When one of her fellow guests at Appsworth Hall is murdered, Daisy finds herself embroiled in yet another mystery. Almost all the guests at the Hall had a motive for killing the deceased, and nearly all of them had the opportunity. Daisy and her husband Alec give the local police a hand in solving the mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Follies and grottoes, April 4, 2012
Daisy Dalrymple and her friend Lucy, a photographer, are compiling a book on follies. They are invited to stay with a Mr Pritchard who has made his fortune in plumbing and spent some of it restoring a grotto in the grounds of his country house. There are several guests at the house all of whom are interested to see the grotto - especially at night when it and a neighbouring waterfall are lit by gas lamps.

The house guests are a pretty mixed bunch with some who appear to have secrets to hide and more than one man is in love with the same woman. I particularly liked some of the characters in this episode in the life of Daisy Dalrymple especially her house - the plumber made good. I also liked Julia Beaufort, who was at school with Lucy and Daisy.

Daisy's husband, Detective Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher of Scotland Yard is invited to spend the weekend and finds himself reluctantly dragged into a murder investigation when one of the guests is killed. Both he and Daisy had hoped for a relaxing weekend but their hopes seem likely to be dashed.

I enjoyed the plot and the dialogue in this story and there seemed more humour in this than in some episodes in this entertaining and well written series. This book could be read as a standalone story and would be a good one to try if you were not bothered about reading the series in order. The first book in the series is Death at Wentwater Court (Daisy Dalrymple Mystery 1)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sheer Folly: A Daisy Dalrymple Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries)
Sheer Folly: A Daisy Dalrymple Mystery (Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries) by Carola Dunn (Hardcover - September 15, 2009)
Used & New from: $6.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.