Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique but Not Extraordinary
I bought this gadget a few years ago for a camping trip and have used it sparingly since. The spike hammer worked "ok" , the few ounces the head weighs is ineffective for driving anything larger than a small nail. The hatchet side isn't very useful for any kind of real work except maybe butchering rabbit, lopping off fish tails or splitting a tiny log. The extra features...
Published 16 months ago by Mike Del Modesto

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality tool, but........................
I already have a few of these multi-tools, several Leatherman, Gerber and the Classic Swiss Army knives etc.

But I have yet seen one with an axe and hammer function, so I ordered this.

I found it to be of excellent quality and workmanship, but limited in use. Functionally speaking, its not that useful at all.

Its too large and too limited...
Published on June 19, 2011 by Collectorque


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality tool, but........................, June 19, 2011
By 
Collectorque (People's Republic of California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
I already have a few of these multi-tools, several Leatherman, Gerber and the Classic Swiss Army knives etc.

But I have yet seen one with an axe and hammer function, so I ordered this.

I found it to be of excellent quality and workmanship, but limited in use. Functionally speaking, its not that useful at all.

Its too large and too limited in functions when compared to a decent Swiss Army Knives.

But its too small and light to be of any use in any chores that requires some chopping and pounding.

Its a "better than nothing" tool.

You can do so much better with a proper camping axe/hammer combo plus a nice little Swiss Army job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique but Not Extraordinary, May 4, 2013
By 
This review is from: Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought this gadget a few years ago for a camping trip and have used it sparingly since. The spike hammer worked "ok" , the few ounces the head weighs is ineffective for driving anything larger than a small nail. The hatchet side isn't very useful for any kind of real work except maybe butchering rabbit, lopping off fish tails or splitting a tiny log. The extra features like knife, saw etc. aren't bad in a pinch but w/o a locking mechanism they're not suitable in a self-defense scenario, (then again w/ a tiny hatchet in hand one still has an option). A serious woodsman or camper may find this indespensible but for a professonal handyman/ average joe like me, carrying this around serves little purpose. I'm happy w/ the tool because it appears & feels solid and hasn't rusted like other multi function tools I own and it's a neat tool. From a design/engineering standpoint (two things which I am not btw) the two riveted pins that hold the head to the body seem like a real weak point considering the twisting/shearing force they encounter w/ every blow of the ax, hammer or built in hex nut driver opening. An overall novelty that's unique and well made enough that I'm content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars work of art and function, February 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
I purchase these multi tools as a collector, the prices charged barely cover the cost of the steel they are made from, the genius is in the design and construction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deceitful, June 23, 2014
By 
Gary Guddy (Los Angeles, Ca.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
I ordered this model because out of all similarly constructed units this very specifically described itself as being 9.8 inches long. They also described a 6 inch dimension. I assumed the 9.8 was the unfolded length.., wrong. It is the length when utensils are extended. The 4 inch handle will barely fit my closed fist. The hammer or hatchet will come down and I'll crack my knuckles. I'm sending this back. Will purchase a regular hammer/hatchet combo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what was expected, May 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
It was everything that the details said it would be, which is exactly what I wanted! Got to me in less than 5 days so was very nice as it was a father's day gift. He loves it by the way if anyone wants an idea for next year. It is very sturdy and had pretty sharp blades right out of the package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
Very we'll built
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars does the job, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
it is not high quality, but for the money my son used it camping. he did well. The safety cover for the hatchet is really not good, it will not stay on! That is why I gave a 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I reccomend it, March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
I was very pleased with this product! One thing I noticed was that this is very small! But it still makes a great multi tool. Would definitely reccomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All in one Camping Tool, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
I collect vintage and unique pocket knives and this is truly unique. It is also surprisingly functional. You're not going to split any logs with the hatchet head, but it was useful for other functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
A handy and compact camping tool, or just to have in your car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sheffield 12301 Camper 12-in-1 Multi Tool
$19.95 $18.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.