Shelf Monkey and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$16.63
Qty:1
  • List Price: $18.95
  • Save: $2.32 (12%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Shelf Monkey Paperback – April 1, 2007


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$16.63
$6.01 $0.01

Frequently Bought Together

Shelf Monkey + Husk
Price for both: $32.54

One of these items ships sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together
  • Husk $15.91

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
Discover an addictive, suspenseful debut thriller filled with twists and turns that will keep you engrossed from start to finish. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 300 pages
  • Publisher: ECW Press (April 1, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1550227661
  • ISBN-13: 978-1550227666
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,029,744 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"You'll probably enjoy this one, as I did. . . . Redekop has managed a credible debut."  —The Toronto Star



"Witty first novel."  —The Record


"Invigorating."  —Literary Review of Canada



"This will be the start of a very promising career for Redekop."  —Skullring.org



"Corey Redekop provided this year's gonzo fun with his Shelf Monkey, an utterly enjoyable novel about radical bookworms."  —Locus Online

About the Author

Corey Redekop is a librarian, freelance writer, and blogger at shelf-monkey.blogspot.com. He lives in London, Ontario.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Nathan on January 10, 2008
Format: Paperback
When I picked up Corey Redekop's SHELF MONKEY, I was going through a bit of a slump. Hadn't really read much in a week or two. Hadn't yet finished a book this year. I'm not sure what prompted me to pick this one up. Maybe the design similarities to Matt Ruff's manic BAD MONKEYS. In any event, it was a good move, because this odd little novel is great fun, engagingly written throughout, stoking my guttering enthusiasm into its usual bibliophilic blaze. It also quickly became clear that the author's taste in books is complementary to mine; while reading this novel my already daunting to-read pile grew alarmingly. So perhaps it wasn't such a great idea to read SHELF MONKEY after all.

Except it was! It was a blast, a page-turner. Unputdownable! Riveting! Amusing! Arousing! Inspiring!

Anyway.

Will this charming little novel still be remembered 50 years from now? I doubt it, but in the meantime, do the book-lover in you a favor and take a chance on it. I for one am eagerly awaiting whatever comes next from Mr. Redekop.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Who would believe terrorism could be this much fun?

Of course, in this case, the "terrorists" are a cadre of bibliophiles who are revolted by how the corporate mentality has infected the book trade like an insidious virus, contaminating the printed word with hype, money and the herd mentality. No sacred cows are left unskinned and Mr. Redekop has a terrific eye for snappy dialogue and witty turns of phrase. Fans of Chuck Palahniuk and Craig Clevenger will LOVE this guy. Much of Canadian fiction is a wasteland these days but every so often one encounters a book that gives you hope that this country is still capable of producing innovative, convention-busting artists. Corey Redekop...remember that name. He's going to be around, pricking sensibilities and tickling funny bones, for a long time to come.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Shelf Monkey is an entertaining and iconoclastic look at the world of books.

It's a little like Catch-22, but instead of bombers and Italian prostitutes there are big box book stores and people eating pizza. The role of Yossarian is played by a confirmed and inveterate book nerd (named Thomas).

Thomas has recently quit his career as a lawyer, and decided to work at a book store, because he loves book. At least, he THOUGHT he loved books. Turns out, he only likes good books. And working at a big-box-book store, Thomas discovers that not everyone has the same (good) taste. Especially when the execrable predilections of the wildly popular Munroe Purvis encourage the great unwashed to buy books of dubious value.

Unlike Yossarian, Redekop's protagonist is actually able to accomplish something. Something weird, a bit dangerous, and even anarchic -- burning books. Not all books, just the overhyped, the unredeemably bad, the dreck of the literary world.

Part Chuck Palahniuk, part readers guide to great literature, Shelf Monkey is a must for anyone with pretensions to being a bibliophile. You'll love it. For those of you who are okay with not reading every great book in the history of literature, you may find the continual literary references a bit tiring, but there's still lots to love.

Redekop's book is witty, and dare I say, aflame with excellent satire. (Yes, I dare.)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is a quirky story about an exlawyer who gets a job at a megabook store and hooks up with others who hate all the trash that people are reading. Their mission to rid the world of crappy books becomes focused on a sleazy talk show host whose book club promotes the worst of the worst books--and then things get a bit out of hand.

If there were half points, I would have given this a 4.5--points off only because I got pretty grossed out at the end. Otherwise, the writing is great, the humor is clever, and the story is completely engrossing. Can't to see what Redekop comes out with next.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Kelly H on August 10, 2008
Format: Paperback
Witty at every turn. I liked all the book and author references, although I wasn't familiar with a lot of them. (And I thought *I* was a bookworm!) I didn't really believe the main characters' actions at the climax, but it was still an enjoyable enough read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search