Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Disney Could Ask For
I personally am a huge KK fan so the release of this installment was much anticipated and rewarded greatly. I'm not going to spoil the book, but I will tell you that this book is fast paced, funny, puzzling, and worth it's weight in gold. Most defenitely buy it (unless you havent read the rest of the series. Then start from the 1st book which is just as incredibly...
Published on March 24, 2012 by A. Bottoni

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice edition to the series with some editing flaws
The Kingdom Keepers are back, this time set to join the launch of the Disney Dream, the newest edition of their cruise line. But all is not right: a journal that belonged to the Disney Imagineers has been stolen by the Overtakers, and more and more teens have joined the ranks of the villains. Finn and the others know that the Dream is the perfect place for the Overtakers...
Published on April 21, 2012 by Merin


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice edition to the series with some editing flaws, April 21, 2012
By 
Merin (St. Louis, MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shell Game: Kindom Keepers V (Hardcover)
The Kingdom Keepers are back, this time set to join the launch of the Disney Dream, the newest edition of their cruise line. But all is not right: a journal that belonged to the Disney Imagineers has been stolen by the Overtakers, and more and more teens have joined the ranks of the villains. Finn and the others know that the Dream is the perfect place for the Overtakers to spring a trap, and know that they are sitting ducks. It's a shell game: who can you trust when no one seems trustworthy?

First of all, I have loved this series from the very first book, but felt like the last two (including this one) have been a bit of an editing disaster. This book is very long for the age range it's targeted at, and I feel like it's turning Harry Potter-esque in that respect: each book is getting longer and longer and the story seems less tight and concise. Truthfully this book was a bit of a mess; there were typos, lines of dialogue that didn't match up with the speaker, and occurrences where the Kingdom Keepers were in DHI form when they weren't supposed to be, rendering their actions impossible since they were actually in human form. Add to that the addition of new characters, points of view shifting from paragraph to paragraph, and the whole thing was a bit difficult to read and follow at times.

That being said, this definitely continues the overarching story line of these five Kingdom Keepers - only freshman in high school - trying to save the Parks from the Disney villains. The stakes keep getting higher and higher, the risks they're taking more dangerous, and the problems they're facing more difficult to manage. This book also has a definite "cannot stop reading" feel to it, even if it does suffer at times from Non-Stop Action Syndrome, which I'm not always a fan of.

As for the characters, we're definitely starting to see sides of them that aren't so great; each of them is dealing with changes in their lives, and their feelings for each other. You have watered-down versions of love triangles all over the place, which gets sort of tedious but also fits with the age of the characters. I still really love Finn, but the others have grown on me throughout this book, although I am as annoyed with Philby in this installment as the characters in the book are. I also had qualms with two new editions to the villains: Jack Sparrow and Tia Dalma. I didn't view them as "villains" in the Pirates movie at all, so to see them in that role in the book was a little eyebrow-raising for me personally.

This is the fifth of a planned seven books, and it ends with a cliffhanger which won't be resolved until January of next year when book six is released. While I was disappointed with parts of this one, you can bet that I'll be reading the next installment; I just hope more attention is paid to the editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Disney Could Ask For, March 24, 2012
By 
A. Bottoni (Sparta, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom Keepers V (Kindle Edition)
I personally am a huge KK fan so the release of this installment was much anticipated and rewarded greatly. I'm not going to spoil the book, but I will tell you that this book is fast paced, funny, puzzling, and worth it's weight in gold. Most defenitely buy it (unless you havent read the rest of the series. Then start from the 1st book which is just as incredibly engaging as this one.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LOVE the series, but this volume just don't add up, May 17, 2012
This review is from: Shell Game: Kindom Keepers V (Hardcover)
well first off know that i love the kingdom keepers, have since the first book came out i have loved all of them so far. the disney the villains the technology, how the author blends fantasy with facts and accurate details of all the parks. Honestly my favorite book series out there by far, the first book I've read over 60 times and i still enjoy it.
sadly i hate to admit that this volume honestly didn't add up to all the hype. it focuses mainly on the disney cruise ship so i enjoyed all the details about that, but it never went anywhere. plus it ends in a cliff hanger, that would be good if the book hadn't started to just get good maybe the last two chapters. basically its like this book was cut in half and we only got to see the first half, all the disney characters were good including a few new ones, however i don't know what the "dough boys" were all about and I'm a really true disney fan.
so all in all i love the series but this book was kinda a dud hopefully the next one will be better, but either way still a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choppy but amazing, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Keepers V (Kindle Edition)
This book was amazing and thrilling . It twisted and turned all over the place but it still kept it lively near the end. The way it ended was a real money maker. It real wants to make want to by the next book. I mean jumping of a boat into the dark sea. That is totally awesome. I recommend this to all readers, but you must read the first four before reading number five and six. I hope I get to get number six soon. And can't for wait for the title of number seven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I agree, June 7, 2012
This review is from: Kingdom Keepers V (Kindle Edition)
Yea im ten years old but I love the book I was thinking about that last thing he did to the voodoo lady so yea I agree with A kid lol my fav. book series of ALL time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bridge novel...on a ship...who knew, June 1, 2012
This review is from: Shell Game: Kindom Keepers V (Hardcover)
Fifth in the Kingdom Keepers fantasy series for kids set in Disney World in Florida and revolving around a core group of five middle schoolers whose images are being used in three-dimensional holograms, DHIs, to serve as guides at the Disney Parks. In this installment, the majority of the action takes place aboard the Dream, a Disney cruise ship sailing through the Panama Canal on a two-week cruise.

My Take
Pearson is working at creating drama with the new fears he's given Finn about being replaced. I'm thinking Shell Game is more of a bridge novel. Finn is worrying about retirement and being replaced in Wayne's esteem. Then there's the horrifying theory the Keepers come up with as to the real purpose of the Overtakers being aboard.

The biggest aspect of the "bridge" is the first and last chapters...arghhh, so irritating!! And Pearson just leaves us wondering just what has happened to Finn!

It seems rather odd that Pearson only mentions Philby's mother as one of the chaperons and nothing but a reference about guardians for the others. I suppose it was only Finn's situation that caused Pearson to mention it at all. I don't understand why Philby refuses to show the other Keepers how to go all clear? Nor why the Keepers all flee from the sight of Chernabog; they all know what he looks like and they just skip this opportunity to take him prisoner?

It's all cloak-and-dagger for Keepers and Overtakers alike with lots and lots of action and adventure. All within the relatively small confines of the ship with Pearson attempting to work up some romances. Rather clumsily.

Other than the above whining, I enjoyed the story. It had nice bits of tension and drama even if Pearson did leave lots of questions unanswered.

The Story
The Kingdom Keepers' current task is to prevent a theft from the private Imagineers' library and hold off an Overtaker-siege at Engineering Base Camp. The notebook in question revolves around Fantasia and one of its primary evil characters, Chernabog.

The action has hotted up outside the parks as well when Finn finds himself under attack in his own house. And it's not just Finn who is suffering!

A side trip to the Typhoon Lagoon at Wayne's request is both good and bad: on the one hand, the Keepers gain a powerful ally, on the other hand, they lose one as well. This will certainly complicate matters when the Kingdom Keepers board the Disney Dream for the trip to be the first ship through the new Panama Canal! Losing his mother makes Finn's being able to join the cruise much more difficult.

As an inaugural cruise generating great publicity for Disney, the Magic Kingdom has changed up a lot of the usual activities, making it so much easier for the bad guys to slip aboard. Certainly Maleficent has smoothed out OTKs joining the cruise.

The Kingdom Keepers will have certainly their hands full on this voyage!

The Characters
It's this new beta version of the DHI 2.0 and Dill Philby`s increasingly superior airs, a.k.a., Professor Philby, that find Finn Whitman questioning his role as the Kingdom Keepers' leader. Charlene Turner is their physically-fit member. Isabella "Willa" Angelo. Terry "Donnie" Maybeck is an artist and has found his niche within the group--his patience is indeed a virtue. Amanda Lockhart and Jezebel "Jess" are Fairlies, something more than human. Amanda has some magical ability and she and Finn love each other while Jess dreams the future. Both girls are still in fostercare with Mrs. Nash. All seven have a DHI, although Amanda and Jess' are not official. Six DHIs have been created from Cast Members to augment the original Keepers including Kelly Carlson, Bart, Alex Wright, and Megan Fuchs.

Wayne Kresky is one of the original Imagineers and is the reason the Kingdom Keepers can project themselves back into the Park at night. He directs their objectives. Wanda Alcott, Wayne's daughter, has a very small part in this installment. Cast Members and characters of the Disney theme parks have begun to take sides. Gladis Philby is Philby's worried mother--she's very anti-Keepers--and their chaperone on the trip.

Mattie Weaver is a Fairly and a friend of Amanda and Jess. She's still "imprisoned", but when she gets the message from Amanda, nothing will hold her back. Dillard Cole is Finn's closest friend outside the Keepers and he keeps popping up.

Captain Cederberg is in charge of the Dream; Robert "Uncle Bob" Heinemann is the security officer with a difficult job; Christian is the director of entertainment; and, Storey Ming is a member of the crew, I think, and is helping the Keepers.

Maleficent, the nasty witch from Sleeping Beauty, is the chief villainess and she's teamed up with Cruella De Vil and the Evil Queen at the Magic Kingdom. For the cruise, she's working with Jafar and Tia Dalma. Somehow Maleficent has spelled other middleschoolers to do their dirty work--recognizable by their green eyes. Greg "Lousy" Luowski is Finn's nemesis at school and one of the chief OTKs. Others include Robbie Barry and Sally Ringwald, a conspirator who gets turned. Triton is the King of the Sea and is a powerful backup.

Chernabog seems to be the mastermind behind the Overtakers, a group of Disney characters who want to take over the parks and create their own version of Wonderland.

The Cover
The cover is all-metaphor and finds a close-up of the evil Maleficient's eyes forming the background, the Miss Tilly is a ship caught in the rocks while a squid-like arm reaches out for Finn and Amanda riding a bright lime-green inner tube on a rushing wave of water at Typhoon Lagoon.

The title refers to the carny game in which a peanut is hidden beneath one of three cups and the mark must choose under which cup the peanut is hidden as the carny moves the cups around to confuse his target. In this Shell Game, the Overtakers have hidden the server they are using to project their own holograms and the Kingdom Keepers keep trying to guess where it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Okay... may have some spoilers, not too much, April 25, 2012
By 
K. Pratt (Orlando, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shell Game: Kindom Keepers V (Hardcover)
I have read all the Kingdom Keepers, and enjoy them a lot. I love the characters and the scene and just the overall plot. But for this installment, I have more criticism than normal. I don't know if this can relate to lots of you guys, but I enjoy when there is a little bit of pain, as bad as that sounds. The book had lots of moments that could have turned into something fun, but nothing ever happens, except with Charlene, and she doesn't show up the rest of the book. The DHI state allows them to be a hologram, which is really interesting, but now there is no fear involved so they are basically invincible, which is not as fun as it should be. Another thing, I think that there was lots of details, which was really helpful, until it got to the parts of action, where I felt like the words were just jumbled and I couldn't really picture in my head the scene and what was going on, which I think is essential when you want to enjoy a book. Finally, and this could go both ways on the spectrum, the character development was kind of confusing, but left so much room there had to be a follow up book, which there is. There are so many questions to be asked and things answered, like why is Philby acting this way and what is up with these relationships, what happens to Finn's mom and who is the girl with the pink/red hair that just randomly shows up.
Anyways, it left me with a lot of questions and was good enough that I have to get the next book, but it is not my favorite one of the series or books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read, April 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shell Game: Kindom Keepers V (Hardcover)
My son has loved all the Kingdom Keeper books and is enjoying this book too. This is a good series for any Disney fan and any age. Would highly recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Keepers V (Kindle Edition)
Kept you in suspense at just the right times and mind twisting writing! Wow just that was amazing and unpredictable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Took a sharp turn down a dark road, July 2, 2014
By 
Musicalmagic (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
I loved the first four books they were among my favorite books, but I couldn't even finish this one. What I loved about the first four is that they were pretty fun but not relatively dark; but this last book took too much of a dark turn for me. I understand that Ridley Pearson had to keep up with his audience but for those of us reading it later it's too much. If I had known how much darker the books would get I wouldn't have gotten this one. I said dark a lot because it really is a dark book taking a Harry Potter road. Depending on you or your kid it might be too dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shell Game: Kindom Keepers V
Shell Game: Kindom Keepers V by Ridley Pearson (Hardcover - April 3, 2012)
$17.99 $14.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.