Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOLMES!.....exclaims Dr Watson., January 31, 2010
By 
Doc Savage "Don" (Champaign, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw (DVD)
I just ran into these double features at our local SAM'S CLUB and wanted to see how many more they had of these. So I have about 3 double features now. TCM just ran a marathon of these considered "B" movies with Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce series and I learned some interesting facts. Back in the 40's Basil Rathbone didn't enjoy performing these movies, but he was under contract through the studio to do it, And yes they were considered "B" movies back then. Basil Rathbone was a serious actor and I guess didn't like doing these type of movies. Personally I love this series and remember watching these movies when I was a kid. Plus Basil Rathbone to me will always be the one and only Sherlock Holmes. To this day these movies are classic thrillers and classic "whodunit" style movies.

I purchased a "Sherlock Holmes" series and majority of the films had poor sound or even clarity issues, and it was a waste of money!

NOT THIS series...IT'S really REMASTERED!! This series is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED by me to the serious Sherlock Holmes (Basil Rathbone) fan!! Film quality and sound are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great double feature!, October 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw (DVD)
I have always loved Sherlock Holmes books and movies. This set will not disappoint. I personally love black and white movies except in the case of musicals where color is the way to go. In my opinion, the team of Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce is the very best! The quality of this DVD is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Double trouble, September 5, 2009
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw (DVD)
There have been only two long-running Sherlock Holmes actors who were really memorable: Jeremy Brett, and Basil Rathbone. And Rathbone is showcased at his best in "Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw," featuring the first two atmospheric, twisting movies made about the legendary detective. The one downside: Nigel Bruce's goofy Watson.

It opens with "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes," which introduces us to the main characters, including Holmes' nemesis. Sherlock Holmes (Rathbone) arrives at the courthouse a minute too late, and angrily watches his nemesis Professor Moriarty (George Zucco) go free because of a lack of evidence. Sick of Holmes' investigations, Moriarty decides to utterly ruin Holmes with the most notorious and memorable crime in English history -- by distracting him with a bizarre threat to a young woman.

Specifically, a wealthy young lady arrives at his office, distraught because of a threatening picture that she got in the mail -- and in short order, her brother is murdered, even as her lawyer/suitor tries to convince her not to depend on the detective. Holmes becomes wrapped up in the potential murder, as the stressed-out police try to get him to pay attention to a threat to the Crown Jewels. Will he realize what's truly going on in time, or will Moriarty pull off the crime of the century?

Then "The Scarlet Claw" strikes in Canada, while Holmes is there as the resident wetblanket at an occult conference -- Lord Penrose learns that his wife has been murdered in the appropriately-named rural village of La Mort Rouge. To make matters even weirder, the mysterious Lady Penrose had also sent a telegram to Holmes shortly before her death, asking for his help. That's all the excuse Holmes needs.

Unfortunately the people of La Mort Rouge are convinced that the death is the doing of a local bogeyman, and Watson's own experience doesn't seem to dismiss the possibility. But then Holmes discovers the true identity of Lady Penrose, which may hold the key to her murderer's identity -- the problem is that apparently he's a master of disguise. And there's someone else in the town who knows who he is.

"Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw" were two of the movies that cemented Basil Rathbone as THE Sherlock Holmes, at least until Jeremy Brett entered the scene. While the latter movie is a merely tolerable Holmes story -- the plot is a pretty straightforward affair -- "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" is a brilliant double-whammy of intertwined cases. And a brilliantly weird Moriarty to boot ("You've murdered a FLOWER!").

And in both movies, they cultivated a misty murky atmosphere, whether it's in London or in a little French-Canadian village. And the stories are fast-paced and energetic, even when there's been a murder or theft, and there are still moments of eerie weirdness woven in -- such as the haunting presence stalking the young woman, or the glowing figure that runs through the forest.

Rathbone's Holmes is the cerebral side of the Great Detective -- cool and slightly languid, as if he's always lying back to ponder the mystery, but he shows a warm side when confronted with a victim or a mystery. He even fits Doyle's descriptions of Holmes -- tall, skinny, big nose. Nigel Bruce does a good enough job, but the portrayal of Watson is seriously flawed. He's basically literate comic relief (falling into the bog over and over), and we don't need Watson to act like an idiot to make Holmes look like a genius.

"Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw" brings together two classic mysteries (one great, one merely good) in one, and it's definitely worth watching despite the goofy Watson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9 bucks at Wal-Mart, October 28, 2009
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw (DVD)
These are classic Sherlock Holmes movies and they have never looked better. I purchased both "Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw" and "Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Hound of the baskervilles/Pursuit to Algiers" at my local Wal-Mart for [...] each. More of these restored Sherlock Holmes double features are scheduled to be released 12/15/09.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Does It Again, March 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw (DVD)
This double feature is well worth the money if you are a Sherlock Holmes fan. the Scarlet Claw was a real nail-biter and the "Adventures" feature was a great depiction of the nemesis Professor Moriarity. These were almost as good as the TV movie: "1994 Baker Street-Sherlock Holmes Returns" which I have on DVD, but is not available for purchase on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Holmes, February 23, 2012
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw (DVD)
Two standout Basil Rathbone-Nigel Bruce entries grace this high-quality DVD release. Fox's memorable 1939 Victorian-era adventure is paired with Universal's "The Scarlet Claw" (1944) - one of the finest Sherlock Holmes mysteries directed by Roy William Neill. An inspired double feature and terrific value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basil Rathbone's Sherlock Holmes, April 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw (DVD)
Two of my favorite Holmes movies on one disc.
Very good quality and price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 shylocks outta 10++++++++++, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw (DVD)
WOW!! If you are looking for episodes of Sherlock Holmes with Basil, no impostors need apply, these redone issues are unbelievably flawless. For years and years, years and years ago, I watched these movies late at night no matter what condition they were in, or how bad the transmission quality. Not any more, I got 'em in pristine condition, and retouched by the UCLA film dept.. The movies are incredibly sharp and clear. The blacks look black, and the whites look white, like they should. Any Basil fan of Sherlock should be gobbling these up fast. I'm going to get the final two discs also.

I'm not going to review the movies at all. What is the point? You are either a Sherlock fan or not. I grew up with these movies from the 30s-40s and they are flat out fun. NO, I didn't watch them in the 30s or 40s, but 50s to 60s and beyond. These movies will always entertain. If you are not from that era, give them a try anyway. Watch these along with the new king of Sherlocks, the Cumberbatch PBS series, and compare notes. The new PBS series is possibly the best show on TV now. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chronologically, My Dear Watson, October 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw (DVD)
When a pre-existing series like this is released to DVD I often find it puzzling how they decide to package it. In this particular case a person potentially interested in viewing these films cannot tell from the Product Description what order they were originally released.

Obviously there are dates are microscopically printed at the lower back insert. But what would be so hard to sequentially number them in there proper chronological order. As is the case with everything I am sure there is some financial motive to their approach. These are the films and their original date of release:

The Hound of the Baskervilles - March 31, 1939
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes - September 01, 1939 [1]
Sherlock Holmes and the Voice of Terror - September 18, 1942
Sherlock Holmes and the Secret Weapon - February 12, 1943 [2]
Sherlock Holmes in Washington - April 30 1943
Sherlock Holmes Faces Death - September 17, 1943
The Spider Woman - January 21, 1944
The Scarlet Claw - May 26, 1944
The Pearl of Death - September 22, 1944
Sherlock Holmes and the House of Fear - March 16, 1945
The Woman in Green - June 15, 1945 [2]
Pursuit to Algiers - October 26, 1945
Terror by Night - February 01, 1946 [2]
Dressed to Kill - June 07, 1946 [2]

[1] - These first two movies were produced by 20th Century Fox and set in their original Victorian era of the late 1800's. The remaining 12 movies were produced by Universal Studious and relocated to the then present day 1940's.

[2] - These 4 films are not available in this "Double Feature" release. In 2006 they became part of the public domain which allowed them to be digitally restored and computer colorized. They were then released as a 4-pack (ASIN: B00370I5VQ), and as much as I detest the desecration of B&W movies, they are actually pretty sharp viewing. I hope this helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holmes and Watson are at it again., July 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw (DVD)
More of the Sherlock Holmes adventures put on the silver screen by the only real Holmes actor, Basil Rathbone. In these episodes, one is of the earlier period, the other, a later example of the Holmes intrigue. Grab the popcorn and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes/The Scarlet Claw
$19.98 $14.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.