Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sherlock Holmes Double Feature: The House of Fear/The Pearl of Death
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars52
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 17, 2013
For many Holmes fans, the best Sherlock was Basil Rathbone and while his Watson, Nigel Bruce, was something of a bumbling fool at times, you have to admire the way Sherlock never condescended to Watson. Holmes (Rathbone) always treated him with respect and amusement and that made their relationship work. Both of these movies are filled to overflowing with atmosphere and for me, that's half the fun of watching these oldies but goodies. THE HOUSE OF FEAR is particularly creepy and quite unsettling at times. A fantastic double-feature worth every penny. Excellent DVD quality and very attractive packaging.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
I'm not going to delve into these movies as likely anyone considering this is already familiar with the Holmes movies starring Rathbone and Bruce. As far as I am concerned there isn't a dud among them. What I was really pleased with was the picture and sound quality which is the best I have seen for these movies. Much better than anything I have seen on TV. Probably the only way it will get better is if at some point they go Blu Ray. The second point is the price. When I got them and still as of this writing they were $5 on Amazon. I found four other double features in this series also all $5 each. So for $25 10 Holmes movies and while I haven't watched the rest yet I am going to assume they are of the same video and audio quality. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
WOW!! If you are looking for episodes of Sherlock Holmes with Basil, no impostors need apply, these redone issues are unbelievably flawless. For years and years, years and years ago, I watched these movies late at night no matter what condition they were in, or how bad the transmission quality. Not any more, I got 'em in pristine condition, and retouched by the UCLA film dept.. The movies are incredibly sharp and clear. The blacks look black, and the whites look white, like they should. Any Basil fan of Sherlock should be gobbling these up fast. I'm going to get the final two discs also.

I'm not going to review the movies at all. What is the point? You are either a Sherlock fan or not. I grew up with these movies from the 30s-40s and they are flat out fun. NO, I didn't watch them in the 30s or 40s, but 50s to 60s and beyond. These movies will always entertain. If you are not from that era, give them a try anyway. Watch these along with the new king of Sherlocks, the Cumberbatch PBS series, and compare notes. The new PBS series is possibly the best show on TV now. Check it out.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2011
I enjoyed both movies very much. The black and white was clear, and the sound was good.
I very much enjoy the Sherlock Holmes series.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon April 10, 2015
Before Robert Downey Jr / Jude Law and Benedict Cumberbatch / Martin Freeman, there was Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce.

Basil Rathbone portrayed Sherlock Holmes in fourteen films from 1939 to 1946 and to many his iconic characterization of the Baker Street detective remains the best and is certainly the role Rathbone is best remembered for. I also want to give a shout out to Nigel Bruce’s rather unorthodox but excellent portrayal of Dr. Watson. In the novels, Dr Watson was nearly as intelligent as Holmes and a capable assistant but in these films, Nigel Bruce’s Watson acts buffoonish and seems to get more buffoonish with each film. Despite or perhaps because of his controversial stooging, Nigel Bruce was the perfect foil to Basil Rathbone. They played off each other wonderfully and truly are a dynamic duo.

Speaking of dynamic duos, MPI Home Video has released digitally restored double feature sets for all but four (Sherlock Holmes and the Secret Weapon, The Woman in Green, Terror by Night, and Dressed to Kill) of Rathbone’s fourteen films. I find it odd MPI didn’t choose to pair the films together in chronological order but that gripe aside this set features the excellent pairing of The House of Fear (1945) and The Pearl of Death (1944). The Pearl of Death is one of my top five favorite Sherlock Holmes films and The House of Fear is close behind in my top seven.

Video: Both movies are presented in a solid 1:37 full frame transfer. Even though both films are together on one single-sided dual layered dvd the image looks fine. The films are in black and white and overall look relatively clean for their age. I think UCLA really did a commendable job of restoring the films.

Audio: The only audio track is English Dolby Digital 2.0 mono. It is clear sounding and I have no complaints.

Subtitles: English

Extras: None
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
Here in these two new adventures Holmes faces a real mystery. In The House of Fear Holmes is called to Drearcliff House to solve a series of mysterious deaths to members of a secret society. This society called the Good Comrades meet at Drearcliff House in Scotland. Every time they meet at dinner the housekeeper comes with a letter for one of the members. The letter is fillled with orange pips or seeds. Days later the person dies! Holmes and Watson journey to Scotland to solve this strange mystery. Drearcliff House is owned by a man named Alistair one of the members. Every time one of the Good Comrades dies the insurance policies are paid to the surviving member. Who could be the killer? Will all the members of the Good Comrades die before Holmes can solve the mystery? The next mystery is The Pearl of Death. The famous pearl of Borgias has been the cause of mysterious deaths over the past. The pearl is placed in a museum but is stolen! Holmes has his ideas. Then a series of mysterious murders occur with broken plates and china found around the bodies. Were these plates and china smashed in anger? Holmes suspects two criminals are involved. One ingenious theif and a monster of a man called the creeper! In order to capture the culprits Holmes must set himself up as a decoy! Holmes will soon come face to face with the cold blooded murderer!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
The double feature the house of fear and the pearl of Death are great movies. If you like old mysteries and into Sherlock Holmes then this is just right for you. I sit and quilt watching these and other Sherlock Holmes features that I have.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
Everyone has a opinion about whose the best Holmes and Watson team. Because they are clear and also understand what they are saying. The timing for each team to appear on screen is key. I have watched each teams of Holmes and Watson and by far my opinion is these two. I have all their Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson team of Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce is my best team.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2013
Lots of nostalgia when viewing any, and all, of the "Sherlock Holmes" dvds featuring Basil Rathbone. Not only nostalgic, but well done mysteries. Would suggest any of the collection to those who like movie nostalgia that will pretty much keep you guessing at times.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
IF you like old black & white Sherlock, then you'll love these. The only problem is back then the movies were not as long as they are now but they are very entertaining. I particularly enjoy British movies - they have brilliant actors and make wonderful films. Everything is NOT based on sex, beauty, but ACTING. You will enjoy these tremendously! Check out the Agatha Christie hero Hercule Poirot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse