Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding guidebook for real estate agents/Realtors!
Any agent, new or experienced, independent or franchised, big broker or little broker, can benefit from this book!

Shift is truly a guidebook for real estate agents/Realtors old or new, IN ANY MARKET even though it's marketed as (see the title) helping agents through the current "buyer's market". Many agents - with experience limited to the booming "seller's...
Published on March 23, 2010 by Kent R. Dills

versus
24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
I am glad I bought this book. I bought and enjoyed the Millionaire RE Agent and RE Investor.

That being said, I don't think it is a great book and that's why I gave it 3 stars. I think the author is a little too dependent on scripts and formulas to work your way out of a slump. If he would update it a tad to account for the fact that most consumers are...
Published on November 30, 2008 by John Coley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding guidebook for real estate agents/Realtors!, March 23, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times (Paperback)
Any agent, new or experienced, independent or franchised, big broker or little broker, can benefit from this book!

Shift is truly a guidebook for real estate agents/Realtors old or new, IN ANY MARKET even though it's marketed as (see the title) helping agents through the current "buyer's market". Many agents - with experience limited to the booming "seller's market" we experienced in the US between between 2001 and 2007 - were (and some still are) SHOCKED by the shift in the market and what that did to their business, income, lifestyle, etc. Gary Keller explains what happened (and how it's happened before and will happen again) and what the options are for real estate agents. Those that choose to tough it out and stay in real estate, can learn viable strategies to get leads, convert the leads to contracts, and close and get paid in the current market. In fact, the strategies can (and will) be aptly applied in any market.

Tip/hint: Gary recommends taking the book to a local office supply store and having them spiral bound it so it can be used as a field guide of sorts. VERY GOOD IDEA. Thanks for awesome book-delivered coaching/mentoring Gary!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindset is key, May 11, 2009
This review is from: Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times (Paperback)
In the beginning of the book, Keller outlines his history in real estate and the challenges he had going through recessions. He brings that point to the current marketplace and how we all have to "shift" our thinking in order to cope with current conditions.

Like his Millionaire book, the ideas in the book are not rocket science, but the foundation is great and I believe the way he lays out the book is better than anything else on the market.

One of the keys that too many agents and brokers miss is mindset. You have to be looking at every situation the correct way. There are opportunities in every market, even this one.

Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, November 30, 2008
By 
John Coley (Lake Martin, AL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times (Paperback)
I am glad I bought this book. I bought and enjoyed the Millionaire RE Agent and RE Investor.

That being said, I don't think it is a great book and that's why I gave it 3 stars. I think the author is a little too dependent on scripts and formulas to work your way out of a slump. If he would update it a tad to account for the fact that most consumers are extremely averse to script heavy agents, it would have been better.

But I do like the fact that he is inspiring, and stresses the can-do attitude that hey, no one's coming to help, you have got to do it yourself. I appreciate that inspiration. I wish he would have written more on that.

On the other hand, if you are a less tech heavy agent, you will like his very detailed and practical methods. It is not my cup of tea (yet, maybe the shift will change my mind!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Best Business Book of 2008, September 11, 2008
By 
John E. Roberts (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times (Paperback)
Another home run. A very thoughtful, entertaining read. Shift offers specific and insightful methods for growing your business in good or challenging times. Put these techniques in to play in your business and success will be the only by-product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative for all R/E agents in all markets., February 20, 2009
By 
This review is from: Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times (Paperback)
"Shift" was a worthwhile read. As a new agent, it's scary to think your new license won't take you anywhere because the market is so bleak, but this book offers a lot of hope and, more important, direction, as to how to get through any market. The Gary Keller books I have read, so far, have been awesome, just as joining the Keller Williams team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic to any real estate agent's library!, October 5, 2008
This review is from: Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times (Paperback)
This book is POWERFUL and exactly what every agents needs that is trying to survive in this real estate market. It is the plan of attack to become an agent who doesn't just survive but thrive and builds market share that will impact and shape their future real estate business. Gary and his team create a road map on what an agent needs to do to turn this real estate market into an real estate opportunity. Every agent should have this and all of Gary Keller's book in their library. Shift knocks it out of the park!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Keller has done it again!, October 4, 2008
This review is from: Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times (Paperback)
Gary Keller is an exceptionally clear and insightful thinker. He does a brilliant job of organizing and presenting material in such a way that his reader can more easily understand it and, of greater importance, then put it to effective use. If you want great information about how to implement proven ideas, this is the book for you! 'Shift' is a road map which could guide and inform the development of real estate agents' careers during trying times. Agents can now push aside fear and transform their businesses!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for ANYONE in business, October 4, 2008
By 
Susan H. Kraemer (Glendale, Arizona) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times (Paperback)
Although SHIFT is intended for those in the real estate profession, the 12 tactics and strategies presented are just as applicable to anyone who is in business. The market will always shift, and this book clearly identifies why and then goes the extra mile by providing strategies for real estate professionals to get through this market instead of waiting for the market to change. This should be a must read for anyone even thinking of getting into real estate ... and a must read for those who already are! In a time when just about everyone is nervous about what has happened, this provides some "sense and sensibility" for us to share with the consumer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read!, October 5, 2008
By 
Arlis "GRI, SME, CDPE, Broker" (Temecula, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times (Paperback)
I've been teaching, training and coaching real estate professionals for over 15 years and this is the first time I've seen a market shift explained as well as Gary, Dave & Jay have in this book. Additionally they've given simple and excellent tips and techniques that if followed faithfully will guarantee success for ANY real estate agent who wants to "recession-proof" their business. --Arlis W. Travis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Success is as easy as reading this book!, October 5, 2008
This review is from: Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times (Paperback)
SHIFT was fantastic! If you are a real estate agent I'm sure your business has shifted to some degree. If you don't implement these 12 tactics, you may find yourself working in another field, or maybe you already are. It was so refreshing to read a real estate book that is accurate with what is going on! Sounds easy? Well it is. The truth is everyone can do, but not everyone will (quoted from the book). Agents in my office that have implemented these 12 tactics are pulling unbelievable numbers. Our entire training system is now revolving around these 12 tactics and by the way, it's not a spend money book. You can implement these tactics in your business without spending anything. If you are an agent, do yourself a favor, get the book and master it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times
Shift: How Top Real Estate Agents Tackle Tough Times by Dave Jenks (Paperback - August 12, 2008)
$21.95 $15.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.