Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lube your Pedals, don't buy new
This tool makes it easy to get your Shimano pedals apart for lubing. Many of my friends replace their pedals when they develop a "click", but if you pop them apart and relube them, they are like new! (Perhaps I should offer a buck or two for my friend's old pedals). Anyway, if you try to get them apart without this tool (been there, done that) you'll only tear up the...
Published on August 8, 2011 by phillyhouse

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cheap, necessary, and plastic.
Shimano pedals require a LOT of bearing maintenance if you ride in all weather. This tool is what you need to do that work. Pity it's made of plastic. Figure you can overhaul a dozen or so pedals before the plastic starts to look a bit rough.
Published 9 months ago by castiron


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lube your Pedals, don't buy new, August 8, 2011
By 
This review is from: Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool (Sports)
This tool makes it easy to get your Shimano pedals apart for lubing. Many of my friends replace their pedals when they develop a "click", but if you pop them apart and relube them, they are like new! (Perhaps I should offer a buck or two for my friend's old pedals). Anyway, if you try to get them apart without this tool (been there, done that) you'll only tear up the little nubs on the pedal shaft, which will make it harder to get it apart once you've bought the tool. The plastic construction of this tool is adequate I suppose, however I gave only 4 stars because I think a tool like this should be made of metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of those must have but rarely used tools, July 29, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool (Sports)
This tool is one of those things that rumbles around the bottom of your toolbox and hardly ever gets used. And then, the stars align, free time magically appears, and you need to re-grease your SPD pedals. Taking off the spindle of an SPD pedal is just too dang hard without one of these. Boo Shimano... But, you risk damaging the plastic spindle housing if you go at it with a wrench. With this, it's easy to remove the spindle correctly, and very easy to put back on without getting your fingers gnarled up.

Do you really need this? No, but this is the right tool for the job and makes rebuilding SPD pedals a lot easier and faster. It even comes with nice arrows telling you which way to turn the tool depending on what pedal you're working with. Some may say, just drill a grease port into the pedal! Well, yeah that works for some but not all SPD pedals. My ancient Ultra SPD pedals do not have a place for a well aimed drill. And if you want to rebuild the pedal, you still need one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great, February 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool (Sports)
Like the title says, it works great! You have to have this to remove your pedal axles the correct way. If you do a lot of bike maintenance, you need this tool.

Jeff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to grip, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool (Sports)
This tool is made of plastic but is fairly solid. You must use a large wrench to grip this and it slips off the edges if you add a little bit of force in the wrong direction. I would recommend using a vice for the pedal while you service it, because it takes a decent amount of effort to start unthreading the pedal (M520 in my case).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it is supposed to do., January 7, 2013
By 
SAPA Director (Columbia, TN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool (Sports)
I have a pair of Shimano SPD 520 pedals that developed an extremely irritating click after 100 miles or so. This tool allowed me to remove the pedal axle and re-grease the bearings. It was easy and very effective. The click is gone.

The tool itself is made of plastic so it gets scarred up with use but since it is only used for one purpose it should last for years.

The price is right and it helps get rid of annoying noises in the pedals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars right tool for the job., June 20, 2013
By 
T. Jacobs (Cedar Rapids, IA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool (Sports)
don't even think of trying to service your shimano M520 pedals without this tool.
you will regret it.
just clamp this into your vise and it will make the job easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool (Sports)
Exactly what you expect out to be. What else can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, fast shipping!, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool (Sports)
I have yet to use this, but it is what it is. All i need now is time to go buy the bearings to service the pedals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed to service my pedals, March 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool (Sports)
I ride in a lot of dusty, sandy conditions, so I need to be able to overhaul/regrease my pedals at least once a year. Couldn't find a bike shop in the area with this in stock for customers to purchase, so I ordered this one. Works like a champ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It works., January 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool (Sports)
I wanted to remove my pedal shafts to grease them. This tool allowed me to do this.
If you have shimano pedals and you want to remove the shafts, this will work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shimano TL-PD40 Pedal Axle Removal Tool
$4.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.