Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven huge additions to an already excellent game make Overclocked a must-buy
In this review I'll list some of the major improvements Atlus made to the original Devil Survivor in Overclocked:

EIGHTH DAY

Overclocked includes four new eighth day scenarios, which means nearly four new days of battles and plotline!

FULL VOICE ACTING

Every single line in the game has been voiced, and the acting is mostly...
Published on September 5, 2011 by forweg

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Play on easy mode for your first game!
First of all I played this directly after beating Shin Megami Tensei: Soul Hackers and while I LOVED Soul Hackers this game has some issues. Lets start off with the positives. The story and characters are excellent and memorable, they each seem realistic and like people you might know so you can easily relate to them. The voice acting is top notch and I rarely skipped...
Published 9 months ago by Travis


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven huge additions to an already excellent game make Overclocked a must-buy, September 5, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS (Video Game)
In this review I'll list some of the major improvements Atlus made to the original Devil Survivor in Overclocked:

EIGHTH DAY

Overclocked includes four new eighth day scenarios, which means nearly four new days of battles and plotline!

FULL VOICE ACTING

Every single line in the game has been voiced, and the acting is mostly excellent (with the unfortunate exception of Midori).

NEW DEMONS

Loads of news demons have been added, including:

Ishtar
Black Maria
Susano-o
Baphomet
Yurlungur
Fafnir
Sraosha
Rukh
Huoniao
Mithras
Cabracan
Catoblepas
Tschaggatta
Spriggan
Troll
Lucifuge
Tokebi
Ongyo-ki
Macabre
Jahi

NEW SKILLS

To go with the new demons, loads of new skills were added as well. Some of them, like Vigilant and Shield All+, prove exceedingly beneficial.

TITLES

Essentially, you can earn titles by achieving certain tasks in Overclocked (such as clearing a certain ending or defeating optional bosses), and you can spend the points you earn from your titles on rewards for your next playthrough. This is a fantastic addition and makes you want to keep playing to earn them all.

DEMON COMPENDIUM

One of the most disappointing aspects of Devil Survivor was the lack of a compendium. Atlus thankfully rectified this issue in Overclocked. No more tediously hoping to get lucky with auctions; now you can simply summon any demons you've previously owned.

In addition, you can read about each demon's profile and history. As a mythology buff, I always find reading about a plethora of mythological beings from such diverse cultures fascinating.

And the best improvement of all...

THREE SAVE SLOTS

Thank god Atlus added two more save files! I hated having to overwrite my old game every time I started a new one, and now other people in my family can play too. Seriously, I'm so relieved the developers used the extra storage capacity on things like this rather than pointless 3D effects.

In conclusion, I bought the 3DS for this game, and it was worth every penny. If you enjoy strategy RPGs whatsoever, whether you played the original or not, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live To See A Brand New Day, August 26, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS (Video Game)
Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked is a unique beast (at least when compared to more contemporary rpgs). This was my first exposure to the expansive Shin Megami franchise, and I'm hooked. What appealed to me right away was the well-accomplished anime aesthetic and a story that, while it isn't completely removed from conventional rpg story-telling (defeat the evil!), it has really cool twists (like being able to see how many days a person has left to live). The setting is within a specific area of Japan that's been quarantined by the government as demons start to emerge (and the weird things don't stop there). Travel is all done through a menu, You only get to move your characters around when you're fighting. It's a little jarring at first to navigate through a menu, but due to plot elements it isn't detrimental to the game.

To elaborate more on the combat system, you move your characters around the level Final Fantasy Tactics-style until you initiate an attack with an opponent, once you do it goes into turn-based combat that's comparable to old-style Dragon Quest in which your character attacks and is counter-attacked. You usually have a goal to complete the level; something like 'defeat all the demons' or 'help this person escape'. Your characters don't fight alone, however, in Devil Survivor OC each character can have two demons to help them in combat. You acquire demons by purchasing them, winning them in auctions, or fusing two exhisting demons into a new creation. You could compare it to Pokemon, but I feel that it's drastically different. It's more complicated, and you constantly change the demons you're using (otherwise you'll be overpowered by the enemy).

For those of us that enjoy wordy rpgs with heavy japanese influence and turn-based combat, look no further. However, I can't recommend this to everyone, because you may have already played this game before. Devil Survivor was originally released on the DS, and the main differences between the two versions are: the 3DS version includes voice acting (which I really enjoyed), and an all new "8th Day" (think of this as a new chapter to the story). It doesn't really include 3D at all (with the exception of the intro trailer, and the fusion sequence in game), so unless you're a die-hard fan of the game and want the "8th Day" then you may want to pass. However, I feel that this is the definitive version of the game and I am very excited for the sequel due out in February (and, oddly, for the regular DS).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great all-round tactics RPG! Rent-at least!, August 26, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS (Video Game)
Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked is a remake of the DS game. Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor. It's part of a series where a lot of elements are borrowed from past games, but do no necessarily mean that it is a prequel, sequel, or spinoff.

If you have never played SMT: Devil Survivor for the DS, I recommend playing this game. One of its major pluses is the story line. The story line is mature and unique. Facing a lock-down in Tokyo, the protagonist and his friends discover secrets hidden from the population while carrying out very difficult decisions. There are a number of unique endings for this game as well, depending on your interactions with individuals as well as some of your decisions. The characters you meet through the adventure are unique and believable. Some of the undergo through some developments through the harshness of the situation as well. The eighth day additions expands the plot and content by 25% (if I had to estimate) and also continue the developments of the characters. Though some of the eighth day character interactions leave you feeling satisfied, most are less convincing.

The "battle" portion of the game is turn-based. It is a tactical style (think Final Fantasy Tactics), where each character has a party of two demons and themselves fighting an opponent, or achieving a goal. You move around a map, where a variety of obstacles or enemies may be strewn in the chaotic backdrop. When you "attack" an opponent character, you don't just choose a skill or whack them. Instead, you go into another screen where you take turns skirmishing with the opponent. It is turn based (think Pokemon style) when engaging an opponent. Missions and goals vary, but are generally the same thing, ie. defeat all enemies, but don't let character x die.

The graphics are solid. Though not much of an upgrade from its DS version, it is still nice on the eyes. Unfortunately, the extent of 3D-graphics is very lacking. For most of the part, you'll only notice it on the title-screen, or if your doing certain out-of battle actions or cut-scenes. It does make use of the full upper screen however. The sprites could have been upgraded a little better. For most part, you will leave your 3D function off though for this game. If you are looking for a great game to test your 3DS's 3D-capabilities, this is not it.

In terms of sound, the shining factor here is the excellent voice acting. For most part, the voice acting is solid, though not the best out there. For a hand-held game, it hits the target though, and you will be listening to the dialogue through the entire ordeal. Unfortunately, you have to press a button to continue their dialogue, so when they speak longer sentences, there may be a awkward pause in speech, and ruins the flow of the dialogue. The sound effects are decent, but not mind-blowing.

Now if you own or played the original Devil Survivor, I still urge you to at least rent the game. They've added enough content to at least warrant a rental. They've extend most of the story endings with the eighth day, so now you can find out what the protagonist and his friends did after each ending. The voice acting isn't the major pulling point, but that extended plot, as well as increased range of demons to discover (150 in total versus 130.) There are is also an accomplishment/challenge rewarder they call "Titles" which are only revealed after you clear the game. They titles are necessary for making each consecutive save game+ easier, as they allow you to acquire "points" in which you can use towards certain buffs in the New Game+. There are a few small new missions, but that's about it.

(---Edit History---)
I recently created a saved game + (Cleared Data) after completing one of the eighth days, and added or updated almost the entire review. 8/29/2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review From a Non-RPG Gamer, September 27, 2011
By 
Colleen (Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS (Video Game)
This review is coming from a 32 year old woman who prefers simple side-scrollers like Mario. I usually don't like RPG's, but this game had such great reviews I decided to give it a try. Plus there were a limited number of 3DS games out there at the time and I wanted to expand my library.

Firstly, you should know that this game barely utilizes the 3D function of the 3DS. It is only used in the opening scene and when you fuse demons. I found this very disappointing at first, but the sheer awesomeness of the game soon made me forget about the 3D.

I don't play video games much now that I'm an adult and don't have a ton of free time, but this game has me ADDICTED! I haven't been this addicted since Pokemon first came out. The story is fantastic and keeps you engaged, they teach you the controls gradually so it's not too complicated to learn, and the demon auction and fusion keeps the 'addictive collector' in me satiated. The voice acting is terrific; usually you don't get this much dialogue in a game. I like that you don't have to read all of the dialogue if you don't want to; just sit back and let the characters talk.

I will say there is a learning curve as with most games. After having to re-start 2 times already, I've learned to save my progress multiple times just in case I make a stupid decision when fusing demons or bought the wrong demons or something. It's a pain to start over after putting in 8 hours of gameplay. It can be easy to 'paint yourself into a corner' so to speak if you don't know what you're doing at first.

So I hope my review helps you decide if you want to purchase this game. Really, I don't think you can go wrong with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game, but not the best remake., September 18, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS (Video Game)
The original game on DS is fantastic, and so is this one. Amazing plot, awesome music, awesome gameplay. But the 3DS remake isn't as good as I thought it would be. The top screen (the bigger one) is hardly ever used, and apart from a brief anime OP (which is worse than the DS original), there's no 3D...

I'm fine with no 3D, but they should have optimized it more, so it used the top screen for the main graphics display instead of the smaller bottom one.

If you haven't played the original, GET THIS GAME RIGHT NOW! If you have, only get it if you have a fair bit of extra money. The updates to it hardly justify you purchasing the game twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest SRPGs ever made, bar none, April 25, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS (Video Game)
When Devil Survivor was released for the 3DS it was hailed for having an innovative and fun battle system, its mature themes, and its story of literally biblical proportions. Overclocked brings all the best qualities of this amazing RPG in even greater force with its expanded content, and adds much needed difficulty balancing in a game where only the most dedicated and careful players could ever hope to complete.

Devil Survivor is truly a triumph in RPG development and one of the best Turn Based Strategy RPGs in history. Utilizing grid based tactics and turn based RPG conventions the hybrid is highly unique and engaging, turning every move both on the battlefield and in battle into one that has a major impact. There's no doubt that the gameplay here is absolutely solid and would be more than enough to make this game a must play, however, the game's story manages to shine even brighter.

It's very rare that a game really gives you a truly authentic feeling of choice and presents legitimate ethical dilemmas, but Devil Survivor delivers that feeling in a genre which typically isn't known for a player driven experience. Choices in the game are important and will lead the player to one of several different endgame "routes" which are all incredibly well written and compelling.

The story in and of itself is absolutely spectacular addressing some serious themes about governmental corruption, religion, and the nature of good and evil in uncontrived and legitimate ways.

The Overclocked additions round out what was already an amazing package with fantastic voice acting and an 8th Day segment that offers a greater sense of closure for each route.

Devil Survivor Overclocked is an absolute must have for RPG loving 3DS owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive and Fun, January 31, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS (Video Game)
I purchased this game for my daughter. She had seen it in the video game store and I looked it up for her on Amazon. I was a little afraid she wouldn't like it since she'd never played a RPG before. But she loved it, now she can't wait to get the second one. She really bought it since the cover art reminded her of an anime series she liked, but she wound up really enjoying it. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for RPG and Atlus Fans, September 19, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS (Video Game)
This game is definitely a must buy for fans of tactical RPGs even if you own the original. It has an addictive battle system that can require a lot of planning and skill at times. It was a challenge, but I was never really overwhelmed. Fully voiced dialogue and redrawn higher resolution character portraits from the original sounds and looks great. Although some may find some character voices slightly annoying, I eventually grew to like them and they sounded natural by the end. The first play through will be lengthy and the multiple endings will keep you around for many more hours. The subsequent times through the game will be faster with the new game+ system enabling a quicker trip to the endings. Honestly I was disappointed at the lack of full 3D throughout, but that should not really stop you from playing this game. (Plus the lack of 3D is less of a drain on the 3DS's poor battery life anyway) Whether you played the original or this game is new to you, it deserves a chance. Buying this supports Atlus and allows them to create/localize more awesome games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this game, August 30, 2011
By 
Hi Desert Dean (Victorville, CA USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS (Video Game)
I have to admit, when I first picked up this game, I was disappointed with the lack of 3D. Still, I stuck with it for a couple of days and now I am hooked!!! Once you learn the game play (all of it - auctions, fusions, etc...), you will find yourself saying, "...just five more minutes....". Then the five becomes ten, then thirty, etc....

If you have never played one of these type of games, you will find it slow during you first couple of game sessions. Hang in there and give you self the opportunity to learn how to play. This is a game that is fun during both short play sessions or extended play.

From what I have experienced, the 3D is only used at the title and during the fusion process. The use of the 3D during the fusion process is very cool and adds visual flare that only the 3D can add. Here is the thing, these programmers only added the 3D here and it still enhances the game.

Two reasons to buy this game
1) It is very fun if you put the time into it.
2) With success, I would like to see a sequel, giving these guys an opportunity to make more use of 3D (maybe next time during battles, or on the overhead maps).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shin Megami Tensei: A Great Fighting RPG, December 19, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS (Video Game)
My 14 year old daughter, who bought the game, wrote this:

Okay, so first of all, I want to address most of the complaints with the game. The 3D is minimal to none, which is pretty disappointing. Also, it is EXACTLY THE SAME as the DS port, except for the added "8th Day" title and voice acting. However, this title has many good selling points. As a first time Shin Megami Tensei player, this exceeded my expectations. The gameplay is simple and becomes more complex (which is a good thing) as you get better. The story is captivating and has several outcomes (certain characters die or live, etc.). I am towards the end of my first runthrough, and I have spotted at least 10 choices you make that affect the storyline. The graphics aren't stunning, but are similar to The World Ends With You and Ace Attorney Investigations (both are also awesome titles). So, in summary:

PROS:
+Great Storyline
+Great Replay Value (multiple outcomes)
+Good Graphics
+Good Voice Actors (Vic Mignogna! *fangirl squeal*)
+Content (very long game)

CONS:
-Little to no 3D
-Same as original Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor

*NOTE If you are bugged by occultish themes, you may want to reconsider this purchase. It bugs me quite a bit, but remember: THIS IS JUST A GAME. In no way are these events real or plausible.
**This is just a mini side fact, but a sequel will be coming out in February 2012. So, if you're looking to get hooked on a new series, this might be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked - Nintendo 3DS
$29.99 $25.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.