Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Ship that Rocked the World: How Radio Caroline Defied the Establishment, Launched the British Invasion, and Made the Planet Safe for Rock and Roll
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 12, 2011
I received this book from my father for Christmas (I'm in my early 20's), and I was captivated by the story. It's extremely apparent upon reading that the author, Tom Lodge, was influential in the developing British Invasion. His encounters with rock stars (especially his interview with The Beatles, which he was given little to no time to prepare for) are fascinating stories that add to an amazing book. I found the list of tracks included in the book to be helpful in providing reference for those who weren't alive at the time like myself, or those who needed a refreshing on what tracks exactly were topping pirate radio charts in those days. Not only does the book educate the reader in important rock and roll history, it also provides tons of entertaining anecdotes and personal encounters. Whether you're a fan of rock and roll or looking to learn about origins of American pop music, this book will exceed expectations, all the while serving as a great source of entertainment. Before I read the book, I was able to find this video on youtube which previewed it pretty well: [...]
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
This books gives major insight to the classic rock we know today. Without the "pirates" and Radio Caroline the world may not know many of the major musicians and bands we listen to today. This book is truly inspiring, and let's you know never quit. Always stand up for yourself even in the face of obstacles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
A very interesting read. I loved the music history lesson! What a great life Mr. Lodge has led, great stories about some of the greatest groups of the 60's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
Having been a long time fan of radio caroline it was interesting to get a more inside story of the start of the endevour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2013
worthwhile summary of the events in the UK during the birth or rock and roll.
Good amount of detail and explanation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2012
The author may have been onboard Radio caroline briefly in the 1960's. Sadly his account seems to be stuck in some other world that he imagined rather than genuine reality for much of the time. Maybe it's the sea mists of time that make him believe that he and the station are more important than thay actually were. He may believe in what he writes but sadly very misguided. Not very well written either in an English technical sense. It's amazing how many are misguided in the belief that they can write good English worthy of publication. Hard to read nonsense in a large part. Not recommended unless you can find it very cheaply in some discount bin.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2010
Far from many insights into life on board, or indeed, in general of that time, this book basically chronicles the authors hazy recollections of a couple of incidents, including the "interview" with the Beatles? Twenty five pages of sycophantic rubbish! I mean come on, simply recording inanities to pad the book out is bad enough, but when the tome is filled with information that i could find just about anywhere on the net or in the library? Another thing that really annoys, is that the author, if he did write this book, seems to take a gargantuan amount of time telling us all about what music he or his shipmates used to play at any particular time.Not only that, but we then have a full chapter of lists of the music that was supposedly played on the ship? Tommy Babe! i was there, from Simon Dees first words, to Lazer 558 and on to Satellite. I do not need to know that at 5pm you played one of YOUR favourites. The book is badly written and researched, so much so that i found interviews, in particular with The Rolling Stones, hard to believe at all. Its all about how great and well known a personality Tom Lodge was, i have to tell you Tom, you weren't as big as you think you were. There appears to be nothing that anyone who takes any interest in the subject of offshore radio could not find elsewhere.Finally, what on earth has your subsequent business in Canada got to do with anything? Life on the ships North and South, and any so called insights are all marginalised! It's Bilge matey!If you think i am being cynical for the sake of it, please buy this book, and if you know absolutely anything about Radio Caroline, you will not recognise much at all! I am however donating this book to the library here in Vancouver, if of course they will take it on it's literary value!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
Okay, obviously Mr. Lodge Isn't a novelist. As a memoir, the book is a good look into the history of the pirates. The scenes where he chose to try to recreate conversations or tell stories in a more novel-like fashion, however, are awkward and unnatural. On the whole, a worthwhile read for the rock history enthusiast interested in this seminal period, though probably not the best one on the subject matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2011
Tom Lodge is an authentic, modern-day 'adventurer'. Throughout his life he has never failed to pick up and make-use-of new, "forward-moving" opportunities which were presented to him, regardless of the "oblique angle" changes these may have caused in his life.
In retrospect, it does seem that he was the perfect choice to be the Head Program Director for the original staff of Radio Caroline (circa 1964-'68).
This book (and its 'setting') gives the reader a sense of the more 'quaint' innocence of that time, as compared to our modern world.
The BBC had total control over the radio programming on land in Britain at that time, and refused to play anything but the most boring, staid music. Without the 'young upstart' rebelliousness of Radio Caroline, 'surpassing' the laws of the land and introducing untold numbers of newly-recording British bands - I think it's fair to estimate that probably 80% of the British Invasion would not have 'been allowed' to formulate in England(!), let alone ever being spread across the world. (The BBC would definitely, at that time, never have played the Stones. the Who, Kinks, Yardbirds, Animals, Cream, Zeppelin, etc. - The "cutting edge" of modern musical innovation from that time period of Tom Lodge's tenure as head program director/deejay with Radio Caroline, 1964-'68).
In regard to the British government's 'stranglehold' on the creativity of their own populace - it is reasonable to bear in mind that Britain's last war with Germany had had disastrous effects upon London itself (physically), and had left England economically 'constrained' and restricted (food rationing imposed, etc.) for a lengthy time period after the war. From this factor we can conclude two things: -a- The British government could have been still perceiving their "airwaves"/radio as needing to be stiffly controlled, (partly as "habit" from war-times, but also due to the important role that radio had played in the outcome of the war). -b- The British youth would have become focused upon using their own creative wiles to free their own lives from those extremely drab, boring and financially fruitless times, after the war, (through the 50's) in England.
Tha repression of after-war life in England had virtually caused a "pot-boiler" of pent-up creativity among its youth. Without Radio Caroline there to 'give voice' to all their dreams, not only would the world have missed this creative musical outpouring - but there's no telling what those poor blokes themselves (young musicians) would have had to suffer through (living 'unfulfilled lives', working away at their 'endless' day-jobs, etc.)
In reading this book one gets a glimpse at 'the workings' of a massively successful Music/Art Freedom Rebellion waged against an unreasonably restrictive 'Authority Figure'. In these present times, as the masses are 'converging' into technology (as per the "global village" effect), a little upgrading of each of our own (Individual) justified-rebellion willingness and rationale -"know-how"- couldn't hurt.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.14

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.