Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which DVD's? ( Volume 4 Coming 7-25-06)
This set will contain "The Little Colonel", "The Littliest Rebel" and "Dimples."

Volume 4 will be released on July 25, 2006. It will include:

Captain January
Just Around The Corner
Susannah of the Mounties
Published on January 9, 2006 by Denise

versus
53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality not what it should be
I own all 3 of these Shirley Temple sets that have been released so far. The sound quality seems to be going downhill...

All 3 of the DVDs in Volume One were okay. I was very pleased with that set. In Volume Two, I noticed that the sound quality in Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm was not that great (quiet voices and comparatively loud music). In this last...
Published on June 7, 2006 by La Coccinelle


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which DVD's? ( Volume 4 Coming 7-25-06), January 9, 2006
By 
Denise (Mary Esther, Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This set will contain "The Little Colonel", "The Littliest Rebel" and "Dimples."

Volume 4 will be released on July 25, 2006. It will include:

Captain January
Just Around The Corner
Susannah of the Mounties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality not what it should be, June 7, 2006
This review is from: Shirley Temple: America's Sweetheart Collection, Vol. 3 (Dimples / The Little Colonel / The Littlest Rebel) (DVD)
I own all 3 of these Shirley Temple sets that have been released so far. The sound quality seems to be going downhill...

All 3 of the DVDs in Volume One were okay. I was very pleased with that set. In Volume Two, I noticed that the sound quality in Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm was not that great (quiet voices and comparatively loud music). In this last volume, the sound was questionable in The Littlest Rebel... but it was atrocious in Dimples. It sounded as if all the actors were talking into pillows. I have watched these films on VHS and the sound is fine... perhaps something went wrong when they were put onto DVD.

I will say, however, that I absolutely love The Littlest Rebel and The Little Colonel. They're probably my favourite Shirley Temple movies, so to find them both in Volume Three was great. I was worried about The Little Colonel, though. The last scene was originally shot in Technicolor; however, in Fox's last VHS release of the movie (colourized), they cut the scene! I was so glad to see that the lovely "pink party" scene was included in this version... it's wonderful to see such an early example of colour in the movies.

As with the other two sets, the colourization of the black and white films is good (much better than previous attempts). However, the sound quality really annoyed me. Had I known it would be so bad, I would have just skipped Dimples and purchased the other two DVDs separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Only The Greatest Child Actress. But The Greatest Actress Ever., December 29, 2006
By 
D. Finlay (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shirley Temple: America's Sweetheart Collection, Vol. 3 (Dimples / The Little Colonel / The Littlest Rebel) (DVD)
I just finished watching this volume 3 collection and want to wholeheartedly endorse it.

I had read some reviews that the picture quality and sound was not so good and was doubtful if I should buy it, but bought it all the same as I had enjoyed the other two volumes so much.

Well I was not disappointed at all. The sound quality was very good. Try listning to it on the stereo option on the on-screen menu.

These are three of her very best films and you will laugh and enjoy them so much.

My wife never ever heard of Shirley Temple till 2006 when I introduced her to Shirley's films and now we both are big fans and look forward to these re-releases.

'The Little Colonel' and 'The littlest Rebel' both have the excellent Bill 'Bojangles' Robinson acting and dancing in fine form with Shirley.

Bill worked out the dance routines in all these three pictures but only stars in the above mentioned two.

No one grabs my attention like Shirley. It's a whole combination of things like her smile and laughter, her dancing and mannerisms and she cry's so realistic that you would think she is really upset (but no it's just our Shirley doing her stuff, excellent as useual).

Shirlet Temple is a gale of fresh air in a very stale and cynical world and her films will restore hope and confidence to you in the human race.

Why not check out her official web site and send her an e-mail. She's still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great one for Shirley fans to enjoy!, January 2, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Colonel [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I loved this movie, as it showcases Shirley's seemingly unending talent, even at such a tender age. However, I resent it when people review this story and rail about how offensive the treatment of African Americans is in it. It makes me angry when people would seek to rewrite history, or worse yet, omit it altogether just because it isn't, in their opinion, "politically correct" for current times. What is depicted in this motion picture simply represents what was going on THEN. Yes, it is sad. But only by exposing our children to representation of historical events such as these and then making the comparison to how far we have come socially and politically now can we hope to ensure that they learn the lesson that this story seeks to convey--that prejudice and racism are always wrong and, if you lead the kind of life you should, you can help to overcome these wrongs. And who better to convey such a lesson than Shirley Temple?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Little Colonel", January 10, 2000
This review is from: Little Colonel [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Charming Shirley Temple vehicle, with Lionel Barrymore as the irrascible grandfather, gruff and blustering but with a soft spot for Granddaughter, Shirley. Bill Robinson is at his best, or should I say, wonderful as usual as the old faithful family retainer and the dance rountines between him and Shirley are alone worth watching the movie for. Great family fare, touching in spots and easy on the eye as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cool Shirley Temple Movie!, February 3, 2003
A Kid's Review
I am a very devoted Shirley Temple fan.When I was in a video store one day, my dad picked out Our Little Girl(Shirley Temple) out for me...and I loved it,( black and white). My seacond Shirley Temple Movie was The Little Colonel. It is a touching warm hearting film that should be treasured in a Shirley Temple fan's video collection.The movie is about a little girl who is be coming friends with her grandfather. Her grandfather has a bad mood to Shirley's mother because she married her true love.Besides it also about two robers who want Shirley's dad's money, then Shirley leads her dad to the scene and those robers go to jail. This is a very clean movie, no stuff of today's world. You should buy this movie- you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! Shirley temple on dvd, April 14, 2006
By 
Star1821 "night" (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
there are two shirley temple movies i consider the best. The little Colonel and the littlest rebel. These show her best acting ability. It's about time they put her films on dvd.Shirley will make you laugh and cry. The little colonel is about shirley and her grandfather and this one shows the famous tap dance with mr. Bo Jangles. Then, in the littlest rebel, she and her father have to hide from the yankees. Hope you enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shirley as a pint-sized Southern belle, May 11, 2007
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Little Colonel (DVD)
THE LITTLE COLONEL was the first of two movies, released in 1935, that featured Shirley Temple in a Civil War storyline.

Based on a story by Annie Fellows Johnston, Shirley Temple plays the strong-willed Miss Lloyd Sherman, trying to reconcile her mother (Evelyn Venable) with her embittered grandfather (Lionel Barrymore). Temple is especially appealing in this film, where she gets to wear some beautiful hoopskirt costumes.

It's also in this film where Temple performs the legendary "Staircase Dance" with Bill 'Bojangles' Robinson, who would go on to appear in several more films with Temple based solely on his success here. This is one of the rare films where Shirley Temple doesn't sing; the only musical moment is provided with "Love's Young Dream", sung by a dubbed Evelyn Venable.

One of the all-time Temple greats, THE LITTLE COLONEL also features good work from Hattie McDaniel, John Lodge and Sidney Blackmer. The DVD inclues both B&W and computer-coloured versions of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "America's Sweetheart Collection Vol. 3 ... Shirley Temple ... 20th Century Fox", August 12, 2007
This review is from: Shirley Temple: America's Sweetheart Collection, Vol. 3 (Dimples / The Little Colonel / The Littlest Rebel) (DVD)
20th Century Fox present "THE SHIRLEY TEMPLE: AMERICA'S SWEETHEART COLLECTION VOL. 3" (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) --- now in COLOR and Glorious Black and White --- In 2004, Shirley Temple teamed with Legend Films to restore, colorize and release her earliest black and white films, as well as episodes of her 1960 television series, The Shirley Temple Storybook Collection --- a patented coloring and remastering process makes her picture perfect charm more vivd than ever --- no one can resist Shirley's charm in all her heart warming films.

"THE LITTLE COLONEL" (released: 22 February 1935) (80 mins) (B&W/Color Versions) - Under David Butler (Director), Buddy G. DeSylva (Producer), William Conselman (Screenwriter), Annie Fellows Johnston (Book Author), Arthur C. Miller (Cinematographer), William Skall (Cinematographer), Art Lange (Musical Direction/Supervision), Thomas Moore (Composer (Music Score), Irene Morra (Editor) - - - - - - our story line opens with crusty old Colonel Lloyd (Lionel Barrymore) is used to having his ornery way so when he finds out his daughter Elizabeth (Evelyn Venable) who is determined to run off with Yankee Jack Shermon (John Lodge) to be married, he confronts her in a heated exchange and vows never to see her again if she does, and then she leaves --- years later Elizabeth, with her husband and their young daughter Miss Lloyd (Shirley Temple), decides to return to a small house that belonged to her mother and which happens to be next door to her stubborn father's home --- they soon have an accidental meeting, with a few clashes of granddaughter and the elderly Colonel just to see who is the most stubborn! --- Troubles descend on the Sherman family through some persuasive dishonest men who are out to rob them of their legal rights, and things start to get serious but grandpa comes to the rescue --- some highlights with Becky (Hattie McDaniel) and Walker (Bill 'Bojangles' Robinson) certainly add some amusing dialog and Robinson's tap dancing is superb --- Not surprisingly, little Shirley is right in there keeping pace with him as they both tap dance up the stairs --- There will never be a child star to match Shirley Temple: A born actress, dancer, and entertainer --- but if you need a feel good moment checkout a Shirley Temple film.

the cast includes:
Shirley Temple ... Miss Lloyd Sherman
Lionel Barrymore ... Col. Lloyd
Evelyn Venable ... Elizabeth Lloyd Sherman
John Lodge ... Jack Sherman
Bill 'Bojangles' Robinson ... Walker
Sidney Blackmer ... Swazey
Alden 'Stephen' Chase ... Hull
William Burress ... Dr. Scott
Frank Darien ... Nebler
Robert Warwick ... Col. Gray
Hattie McDaniel ... Becky ('Mom Beck') Porter
Geneva Williams ... Maria
Avonnie Jackson ... May Lily
Nyanza Potts ... Henry Clay
Bill Robinson ... Walker

"THE LITTLEST REBEL" (released: 22 November 1935) (80mins) (B&W/Color Versions) - Under David Butler (Director), Buddy G. DeSylva (Producer), Edwin H. Burke (Screenwriter), Edward H. Peple (Play Author), Harry Tugend (Screenwriter), John F. Seitz -(Cinematographer), Cyril Mockridge (Musical Direction/Supervision), Irene Morra (Editor), William S. Darling (Art Director), Thomas K. Little (Set Designer), Gwen Wakeling (Costume Designer) - - - - our plot line takes place during the Civil War. Shirley Temple plays Virginia Cary, a young girl who lives in the south with her parents --- Her father is called to the Confederate Army, and tries to sneak back to visit his family --- He's arrested, and a Yankee arranges an escape, but it doesn't work, and they are both arrested and sentenced to death --- But Virginia and Uncle Billy (Bill 'Bojangles' Robinson) a friend of Virginia's, goes to visit President Lincoln and begs him to intervene --- gotta love it when Shirley and Robinson sing "Polly Wolly Doodle" --- take all of in when they do that dance during the scene to make money to see President Lincoln, steps were in sync --- as always another happy ending with Shirley leading the way.

the cast includes:
Shirley Temple ... Ms. Virginia 'Virgie' Cary
John Boles ... Capt. Herbert Cary
Jack Holt ... Col. Morrison
Karen Morley ... Mrs. Cary
Bill Robinson ... Uncle Billy
Guinn 'Big Boy' Williams ... Sgt. Dudley
Willie Best ... James Henry
Frank McGlynn Sr. ... President Abraham Lincoln
Bessie Lyle ... Mammy Rosabelle
Hannah Washington ... Sally Ann

"DIMPLES" (released: 16 October 1936) (79 mins) (B&W/Color Versions) - Under William Seiter (Director), Nunnally Johnson (Producer), Darryl F. Zanuck (Producer), Nat Perrin (Screenwriter), Arthur Sheekman (Screenwriter), Bert Glennon (Cinematographer), Ted Koehler (Songwriter), Jimmy McHugh (Songwriter), Louis Silvers (Musical Direction/Supervision / Composer (Music Score), Herbert Levy (Editor), William S. Darling (Art Director), Thomas K. Little (Set Designer), Bill "Bojangles" Robinson (Choreography) - - - - - - our story line has a precocious little tot (Shirley Temple) in the New York City of 1850, must decide between life with her penniless but charming rogue of a grandfather & a wealthy old lady who loves her --- Frank Morgan, who had honed his scene stealing techniques for decades before Shirley was born, plays her grandfather, he was the rare actor who could dominate the dialogue even at the mighty tyke's expense. He is constantly entertaining to watch and adds greatly to the enjoyment of the film --- Movie trivia collectors will recognize Stepin Fetchit, unbilled as Morgan's servant --- as usual in most Shirley Temple films, she performs`What Did The Bluebird Say,' `He Was A Dandy,' and, with The Hall Johnson Choir, `Get On Board, Little Children' --- Although he does not appear in the film, the legendary Bill 'Bojangles' Robinson choreographed Shirley's tap routines; his influence is readily apparent --- -Shirley Temple is quite glorious and the musical numbers are lively and fun.

the cast includes:
Shirley Temple ... Sylvia 'Dimples' Dolores Appleby
Frank Morgan ... Prof. Eustace Appleby
Robert Kent ... Allen Drew
Helen Westley ... Mrs. Caroline Drew
Astrid Allwyn ... Cleo Marsh
Delma Byron ... Betty Loring
Berton Churchill ... Col. Jasper Loring
Paul Stanton ... Mr. St. Clair
Julius Tannen ... Emery T. Hawkins
John Carradine ... Richards, Swindler
Billy McClain ... Rufus, Drew's Butler
Jack Clifford ... Uncle Tom
Betty Jean Hainey ... Topsy
Arthur Aylesworth ... Pawnbroker
Leonard Kibrick ... Children's Band Member (as Leonard Kibrick Warner)

Hats off and thanks to Barry B. Sandrew Ph.D. (Founder, COO & CTO) and his Legend Films Staff --- looking forward to more high quality releases from the vintage era of the '20s, '30s & '40s --- order your copy now from Amazon where there are plenty of copies available on DVD --- if you enjoyed this title, why not check out Legend Films where they are experts in releasing long forgotten films and treasures to the collector --- all my heroes have been cowboys!

Total Time: 232 mins on DVD ~ 20th Century Fox. ~ (3/21/2006)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Shirley Temple Classic Comes To DVD in Restored Versions !, June 23, 2006
This review is from: The Little Colonel (DVD)
1935's "The Little Colonel" is one of four feature films Shirley Temple made for Fox Studios and is also one of my favorites of her films ! Set in the Civil War,Temple plays a young girl to her already gruff,but lovable grandfather colonel (played well by Lionel Barrymore) as they try to patch up their troubled family,but things get in the way with Temple's father in a bad loan deal with his so-called 'friends'.This is the film that features the classic and much-imitated dancing on the stairs routine with Temple and co-star Bill Robinson,the first of four films they would do together."Gone With The Wind" it isn't,but with a stellar cast,good solid direction by David Butler,and the classic dance sequence,this is a very good and well-made film with careful pace,hilarious scenes,and serious moments that will appeal to any member of the family old or new ! Recommended !

ABOUT THE DVD:

This is the very first time that Fox has released this very good film on DVD as part of the Volume 3 Collection of Temple's films which contains both a restored black & white version of the film (with the original Technicolor ending) and a brand-new digitally remastered colorized version as well. The restored black & white print used here on this disc is superb,if not very very good with a few instances of film grain and scratches.Speaking of the Technicolor ending,previous video releases of this film inexplicably edit out the ending of the film,notably in the original 1994 colorized VHS version,but here its been beautifully restored and shows signs of grain and very seldom contrast.As for the new colorized version,it completely blows away the horrendously bad original colorized version from a few decades before as Legend Films always does an excellent job restoring and remastering their colorized films to DVD,it too retains the original Technicolor ending from the original release,but the Legend colorized version is more saturated and well-balanced and carefully recolorized as the original version.The extras (hence the four star rating) include the two same unrestored trailers for both "Heidi" and "Little Miss Broadway" that also appear on other recent Fox Temple DVD's,but it also has a rare Fox Movietone Newsreel excerpt that celebrates the star's 7th birthday and runs one whole minute.Purists will definitely stick to the original b&w,but this film's colorized appeal will bring back a dejavu dream to "Gone With The Wind" in terms of the Civil War backdrop and oh,of course that too co-starred Hattie MacDaniel who plays the maid in "Colonel".Well recommended by film buffs and classic family film fans alike !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.