Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 18, 2009
The cup is well constructed, provides excellent protection, and is comfortable. The problem is with the jock strap. While the jock strap is much superior to a traditional one, after two months of use, primarily in grappling for roughly 5-7 hours a week, the seam that connects the cup holder to the jock strap started tearing. After one more month (three total), the cup completely tore off from the jock strap. What is frustrating is I can't find any "shock doctor" jock straps for sale individually; they only come with a cup, which means I have to pay full price for cup and strap even though the cup is in great condition. To improve the product, they should double or triple stitch the connecting seam or just sell jock straps separately.
55 comments|78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2008
Good quality, but be careful about sizes: I have a 30" waist and ordered a size medium, which usually fits me with other brands. But this was WAY too small (maybe good for a 27" waist).
22 comments|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2009
This cup is very comfortable. As someone who has played baseball for over 17 years this is the first cup I can stand to wear while on the field. Worth the money. The jock that comes with it is your standard jock nothing too fancy.

Edit: The jock does seem a bit small, ordering one size larger than you are would be a good idea.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2014
Piece of junk. Mesh panel in front tore after only 6 uses. Used for Jiu-Jitsu and kickboxing classes, this came highly recommended but I was obviously very disappointed in the quality of this product.
review image
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2009
I am a pretty big guy using it in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. The most important thing is it stays in place. It is comfortable. And it can take a hit without feeling it. I would and have recommend to other competitors.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2008
This is the best groin protector I have used so far. I barely notice it is there. It doesn't dig in or causes any discomfort. I highly recommend this protector for martial art use.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon November 29, 2010
I use this cup during Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu practice every week, and it's worked out great. It's comfortable, stays in place, fits well, and protects me from errant knees to the groin. While training, I honestly forget that I have this supporter on - which is a great sign, and has definitely not been the case for me in the past.

I usually wear a 32 waist, bought the medium size, and was a little surprised at how tight the waistband was. I would definitely say that this product seems to run tight, so if you're on the fence about which size to order definitely keep this in mind.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2009
I have been using this for the past couple of weeks during BJJ class and it works great. It is comfortable and stays in place when drilling or rolling. I barely even realize I am wearing it. I have already taken quite a few knees to the groin with no pain or discomfort. I will probably buy another one (minus the cup) very shortly.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I ordered this for our teen son, who plays sports all year round. He's 5'11" and about 165 lbs. He usually wears a men's medium in clothing, but after reading the reviews for this item, I ordered a large. Our sons have worn Shock Doctor supporters for years, and like the quality and that the elastic lasts a long time. This one was just as good as far as the fit, the cup, and the comfort level while wearing it. I found a sizing chart that may help decide which one to order.

Men’s Small 26 – 30
Men’s Medium 30 – 34
Men’s Large 34 – 37
Men’s X Large 37 – 40
Men’s XXL 40 – 45
Men’s XXXL 46 – 50

Thanks to all those who take the time to review products, because you've often saved me from ordering something that wouldn't fit, or would be a waste of money!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
The cup itself is great quality. The edges are flexible enough to prevent chafing but rigid enough to keep you well protected. The carbon shield in the front is strong and durable. I play hockey and feel much safer getting in front of a shot with this thing on.

I do agree with some other reviews that the strap itself is a bit tight. While it does keep the cup in place, I can only wear this thing for an hour or two before it starts to get uncomfortable. It has stretched out a little bit, but I think it would have been worth it to maybe go up a size.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.