Customer Reviews


414 Reviews
5 star:
 (250)
4 star:
 (111)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


208 of 220 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding entry in Sandford's Virgil Flowers series !
We are big fans of Sandford, having read every single one of his Kidd, Lucas Davenport, and Virgil Flowers novels. These latter stories are similar to, but usually less violent than, the "Prey" novels, as Virgil is inclined to let the "regular" cops do most of the dirty work while he contemplates things quietly and often draws clever conclusions from just talking to...
Published on October 5, 2011 by Jerry Bull

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars half speed
Virgil should be more fun. This seemed in slo-mo. The laughs weren't there. Maybe his domestic situation put a damper on the whole thing. But the fact that he's badly conned, and it costs lives, adds a dimension to this character, we haven't seen before. Sandford is still a pro. This just doesn't measure up to his high standards.
Published on October 10, 2011 by John Bowes


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

208 of 220 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding entry in Sandford's Virgil Flowers series !, October 5, 2011
By 
Jerry Bull "Gerald M. Bull" (Fairview, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shock Wave (A Virgil Flowers Novel) (Hardcover)
We are big fans of Sandford, having read every single one of his Kidd, Lucas Davenport, and Virgil Flowers novels. These latter stories are similar to, but usually less violent than, the "Prey" novels, as Virgil is inclined to let the "regular" cops do most of the dirty work while he contemplates things quietly and often draws clever conclusions from just talking to people.

"Shock Wave" is aptly named, as it involves a plot about a very busy bomber who has it in for "Pye-Mart", obviously a Walmart knockoff, that is in the early construction phase in Butternut Falls (MN), and expected to destroy the local merchants and pollute the river with runoff, etc., etc. While that's not exactly an original premise, the one or two bombings per day keep everyone hopping to an insane degree, with a similar increase in suspense to the reader. Not surprisingly, there appears to have been illegal payoffs to local politicos to make the approval for the new megastore a reality; and while he's trying to discover the identity of the bomber, Virgil uncovers those crimes as well, nicely cleaning up the local scene. Meanwhile, Virgil seems to be telephonically breaking up with his new sheriff sweetheart, which slows down his tendency to womanize key characters, but that only added to the "off-screen" fun.

We don't award many books all five stars, but this one seems quite deserving -- a terrific protagonist in an exciting and suspenseful plot combine for a thrill-charged entertaining novel -- highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explosively good, October 11, 2011
This review is from: Shock Wave (A Virgil Flowers Novel) (Hardcover)
As I say in my Amazon.ca review, unlike many authors of roughly his generation, John Sanford isn't experimenting with new--and usually unsuccessful--formats, characters, or styles. Shock Wave is another Virgil Flowers success that I couldn't put down. Waited weeks for the book and finished it in a day. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Good plot, credible characters, nice touches of humor, and a satisfying ending you don't quite see coming. Very much Sandford at his reliable best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandford keeps rolling, October 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
By the time they get to their 25th book in a setting (these are in the same world as his Prey books), most authors are just mailing it in (see Griffin, Clancy). Sandford continues to put out exciting, well-plotted books that make you laugh out loud at times ("I have varied interests. And insomnia."). Definitely worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like spending time with an old friend, October 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shock Wave (A Virgil Flowers Novel) (Hardcover)
On my dining room table are about 3 or 4 books that I was planning on reading, but when this came in I dropped everything including the book I was reading to read this one. There are about 3 or 4 authors who I read whatever they write immediately. Sandford is my number one. No matter whether it is Davenport, Kidd,or Flowers you get quality. While Davenport is edgy and violent, Flowers is the layed back good ole boy next door that makes you feel comfortable. Sandford uses his two track story line here, as he does in his other novels. One track is Flowers working to solve the crime and the other track is the criminal thinking how to outwit Flowers. The reader gets to see both tracks move along till they merge into one final and violent confrontation. Against the rural Minnesota back ground Flowers chases a serial bomber, common man vs. big business or so it seems. Throw in corupt city officals and Flowers has his hands full. This Flowers' novel is like wading into a country creek and the current picks you up and you begin to float,slowly at first,twisting, winding, and finally hitting rapids. Nothing seems slow and before you know it you are at the end. That is how you know your are in the hands of professional. This time Sandford changes things at the end by teasing the reader with the next story in the Flowers series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shock and a little awe!, October 4, 2011
This review is from: Shock Wave (A Virgil Flowers Novel) (Hardcover)
I like this series and I like the protagonist. If you enjoyed Sanford's other stuff like Buried Prey or my new favorite Chaos and Kingdom you will love "Shock Wave".

Just when other authors start to wallow in their success-driven mediocrity, John Sanford is producing his best work yet. This latest edition to the Virgil Flowers series (the spin off of the Prey series) is one of his best. This series is clever where other writers' stuff can be commercial; compelling when other books can be gratuitous; and entertaining when others can be cheesy.

In this novel, the cerebral cop Flowers tackles a dastardly bomber who has it out for Pye-Mart stores (big box retailers that are clearly modeled after the Waltons' gift to the world). But is that corporate terrorist just your typical tree-hugger mad about the pollutants in his pristine Minnesota wilderness or is do the bombings have to do with dirty politicians?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner from Sandford, November 5, 2011
By 
mike (Hillsborough, NC, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shock Wave (A Virgil Flowers Novel) (Hardcover)
I know of no other mystery/thriller author who has written more consistently excellent books than John Sandford. Shock Wave is yet another winner. Sandford created one of my favorite characters in the genre, Lucas Davenport, and the star of this book, Virgil Flowers, is rapidly moving up the list.

As in all Sandford's books, the plot is excellent, the police investigative work rings true, the dialogue is great, and the characters are very believable. The plot was a real head-scratcher, but the conclusion worked and made sense.

All-in-all, this is another fine addition to the roster of excellent novels by Sandford. If you're already a fan or new to this author, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another worthy crime novel from John Sandford, November 27, 2011
By 
Mal Warwick (Berkeley, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Virgil Flowers considers himself a "shitkicker" and tends to dress, talk, and act like one, favoring T-shirts from rock bands, cowboy boots, fly fishing, fast motorboats, and, shall we say, casual language. Here he is in conversation with one of his suspects in Shock Wave, a trade school instructor:

Virgil: "So, where you at?"

Suspect: "You don't need the `at' at the end of that sentence. If you'd asked, `Where are you?' that would have been fine."

Virgil: "I'm colloquial."

Virgil sometimes uses words like "colloquial" because, in reality, he has a college degree (in ecological science) and a scary-high IQ, and, though everyone seems to comment that he looks nothing like a cop, he is the most successful detective in the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprensioin (BCA).

In Shock Wave, the fifth in John Sanders' Virgil Flowers series, Virgil is sent to investigate a fatal bombing at the site of a future big-box store that is carefully positioned not to be a Wal-Mart even though it clearly is. There, he encounters the founder of the Wal-Mart-like chain, an irascible old man with a million-dollar secretary and $32 billion net work, along with the mayor and members of the city council of a small town in the far reaches of Minnesota. As the novel's first bombing is followed by a second and then, in quick succession, another, Virgil and the local sherrif race to identify the bomber -- and, along the way, come to grips with the corruption on the city council that gave the green light for the store to be built.

John Sandford is a master of novels like this. In addition to the Virgil Flowers series, he has published 21 entries in the "Prey" series featuring Virgil's boss, Lucas Davenport, 4 more in another short-lived crime series, plus two unrelated novels and a couple of nonfiction books as well -- starting in 1988. If your skills run more to language than to mathematics, please note that Sandford (a pseudonym for a former Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist) has been writing an average of about 1-1/2 books per year. Others are more prolific, but Sandford's plots are invariably inventive, his characters three-dimensional, and his prose eminently readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite authors!, November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shock Wave (A Virgil Flowers Novel) (Hardcover)
I have read every book John Sandford has written and am yet to be disappointed. It is hard to put one of his books down once you start reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars half speed, October 10, 2011
By 
John Bowes (Oxford, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shock Wave (A Virgil Flowers Novel) (Hardcover)
Virgil should be more fun. This seemed in slo-mo. The laughs weren't there. Maybe his domestic situation put a damper on the whole thing. But the fact that he's badly conned, and it costs lives, adds a dimension to this character, we haven't seen before. Sandford is still a pro. This just doesn't measure up to his high standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly disappointed, October 10, 2011
This review is from: Shock Wave (A Virgil Flowers Novel) (Hardcover)
I picked up this book with much anticipation. I am a fan of all the Prey novels and the Virgil Flower novels, but this one left me... well, a bit bored. I agree with the last two reviews of John Bones and Manofsixties. But I still look forward to the next Sandford novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shock Wave (A Virgil Flowers Novel)
Shock Wave (A Virgil Flowers Novel) by John Sandford (Hardcover - October 4, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.