Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know to start a business
Well, maybe not everything, but the Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible puts a lot of information you want and need right at your fingertips. If you've never started or run a business before the whole process can seem daunting, even overwhelming. I've known people who have always wanted to start a business but they never do, the whole process seems so complicated...
Published on May 9, 2010 by Steven Chambers

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KINDLE version needs some help
Let me just say, that first and formost, this book is great book. It has tons of information and shares lots of great resources.
However, the Kindle version just isn't cutting it. In the introduction, it suggests that you use the book as a reference, going to any chapter as you need it in your business creation. The problem is that there is no functional Table of...
Published on April 8, 2011 by Andrew Boehm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know to start a business, May 9, 2010
By 
Steven Chambers (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible (Paperback)
Well, maybe not everything, but the Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible puts a lot of information you want and need right at your fingertips. If you've never started or run a business before the whole process can seem daunting, even overwhelming. I've known people who have always wanted to start a business but they never do, the whole process seems so complicated. What they want is someone who can show them the ropes and guide them through the business building process well, now they have this book.

My copy of the book is dogeared, or would be if I didn't have an electronic copy, because I have used it extensively to rethink and remodel how I run my existing business. I want my business to have a small footprint, be profitable and efficient, these are the goals of the book as well. The author advocates focusing on your core competency - what you do best, and outsourcing those things best done by others. He also shows you how to do it and tells you where to look and gives an idea of how much it will cost.

The book covers everything involved in starting a business, soup-to-nuts and provides you with the resources to find whatever it is you need. Best of all, because the books focus in on small, home-based businesses with little start-up capital, this is a book everyone can use.

At first I thought this would be a boring read. I mean, show really likes reading about accounting, legal structures and business plans (okay, some people do), but it's not. The author's writing style made even subjects like accounting fun to read and easy to understand.

The author points out that this is the century for small business and I agree with him. The old model of working for a large corporate entity that takes care of our economic security and needs is broken and is not coming back. Everyone needs to start their own business, even if only on a part time basis, because taking control and responsibility for our own financial security gives us both freedom and security. Here are the resources to do just that.

Highly recommended for anyone looking to start a business or who is in business already and who wants to be more productive and profitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KINDLE version needs some help, April 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Let me just say, that first and formost, this book is great book. It has tons of information and shares lots of great resources.
However, the Kindle version just isn't cutting it. In the introduction, it suggests that you use the book as a reference, going to any chapter as you need it in your business creation. The problem is that there is no functional Table of Contents or Index, making it very difficult to find the information at a moments notice. If those were added, I would be much happier with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have Resource, December 22, 2008
The Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible is well developed, well thought out, well organized. It provides a wealth of information for those looking start their own small, medium, or large business venture.

Hooker and Monas provide websites appropriate for learning about incorporation, choosing a domain name, marketing strategies, finances, taxes and anything else anyone ever wanted to know about starting their own business.

This is an invaluable resource that has opened my eyes to all the resources available. Hooker and Monas have also established a website where all the links they mention in the book are listed and accessible by a click of the mouse, without having to retype all the links in a browser to find the information wanted. What a great idea!

This is certainly one resource I am glad to have on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nearly useless information, May 25, 2012
Just to give you an idea of what this book is about --- from the chapter "Hardware and Software": "the desktop computer is a personal computer made for use on a desk... it is not very portable... unlike a PDA such as a PalmPilot or Treo..." !!! it also informs you that the desktop computer can lie vertical or horizontal with the monitor on top. Wow. Also, the processor is the "brains of your computer... your attention should instantly focus on it." What??? The entire chapter is like this, going on to describe how many pounds a typical laptop weighs, and how to check your screen resolution on the monitor.

The chapter about marketing basically offers the helpful suggestion that you should do market research in order to bring your product to market. The phrase "market research" is helpfully bolded and the chapter is dedicated to explaining what it is. It includes many links to marketing and small business websites on the internet, and helpfully summarizes in bullet lists what you'll find on each site. For example, on one internet site, you will find information about Time Management, Stress Management, and Communication Skills, and something called "Information Skills" ???

And would you be interested in learning how to properly price your service or product? Here is what the book has to say: "pricing is the single greatest challenge in marketing and can involve immensely complex and difficult tactics." That's it. The rest of the chapter then consists of bullet points that list types of advertising. The bullet points are helpfully separated between indoor/outdoor categories so that "billboards, benches and bus stop ads" are easily distinguised from "theatre and TV/print ads". Then the chapter contains links to internet sites such as the American Marketing Association website, and helpfully summarizes in bullet point form what you'll find on each site: information about Media, Internet Marketing, Sales, etc. Gee thanks.

This book seems like it was assembled from pieces that were outsourced to freelance offshore writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for any Internet Business Owner, December 9, 2008
This review is from: Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible (Paperback)
This is a must have book for those who want to create an internet business. There is a steep learning curve and this book provides the steps to climb that curve. It is highly recommended for novices and experts alike as a handy reference book for doing business on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in one, December 17, 2008
This review is from: Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible (Paperback)
If I got a chance to choose a name for this book, I would have called it "The Cheat Sheet of business". It has everything a person needs to start a small business, or needs a handy reference to do things the right way in his business.
It is very well structured and you can readily jump chapters, to get the information that you are specifically looking for.
This is not a "Who wants to be a millionaire" or a "Get Rich Quick" kind of a propaganda type of book, which we so often come across, but is actual a handy book for all those entrepreneurs looking for all the resources and technicalities of a successful business.
This book deals with serious topics in a lucid fashion. It has everything from naming a business to outsourcing and data mining and HR policy. As I read the book, I was amazed at the amount of research which went behind this book, it has the links of all the resources that you will ever need, and all the urls are consolidated under one easy clickable link.
I do freelancing myself, and being computer savvy I did not have to spend much time of the chapters dealing with hardware/software or even the back office stuff, but if the latest computer terms bother you, you should definitely read this book, and get in sync with the rest of the world in what's going on. It might be a steep learning curve for a non internet or non computer savvy business man to digest the chapters, but you will be thankful that you did, and help your business by using the resources mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like looking at a history book the info is so outdated, November 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The info in this book is so outdated it is better suited as a history lesson than a business resource. If you want to know how to use Windows Vista to run your business then this is the book for you. The description should make note of the fact that this is an outdated resource so people don't waste their money on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated Material, July 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible (Paperback)
The information is dated and for 2012 it is irrelevant. I returned it. You can find much more useful information elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read and very comprehensive!, December 14, 2008
This review is from: Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible (Paperback)
This book is an incredibly comprehensive guide to the landscape that is starting up an entrepreneurial venture in the 21st century, using the Internet as your primary toolset.

I phrase it in that way, to make sure you- the reader- completely understand who this book is aimed at. If you're new to being an entrepreneur, the information is priceless. If you're an existing entrepreneur, the book still contains a lot of valuable info that might make you stop and really think of things you might not have known (or as Donald Rumsfeld put it: what we don't know we don't know). Either way, you cannot go wrong with picking this resource up and referring to it over and over again.

The book is clearly laid out, and takes you through each step of the way- chronologically in the logical order you would plan and execute a new business venture. It contains a LOT of useful advice and wisdom, and can be quite overwhelming, but as other reviewers have pointed out, the book doesn't have to be read end-to-end to be appreciated or used. HOWEVER, if you're brand new to entrepreneurial thinking, you had best read cover to cover before making your first move--you'll really benefit from thinking over the whole process and what is truly required to get the endeavor moving in a successful direction!

Before you dismiss this review as all gushing and paid advertisement, let me tell you- I'm an entrepreneur myself, and I actually run a few businesses right now on a shoestring budget. I originally thought I wouldn't get a lot out of this manual, especially considering the price of it--but after having read this, I really wish I had something like it back when I was starting out--I would've avoided a LOT of COSTLY mistakes had I read this book FIRST!! And even though I'm not `brand new' to the process, and had to learn a lot of things in this book the hard way, I still found tremendous value. All the RESOURCES this catalogs [including mini-reviews on the value/services each provides!] for EACH step of the way is itself well worth the $ spent.

There is one issue I had- I don't think the book detailed much regarding how to approach techniques to get your business out of `shoestring budget' mode--although, I suspect a few of the business planning resources it points to would have articles on that..

BOTTOM LNE:
PLUS: Excellent resource outlining the steps you need to take to lay a well planned foundation for a new 21st century business.
MINUS: Highly focused on using Internet as a tool--if you don't think you need the internet to be part of your business plan and aren't open to using it as a tool - this book isn't for you.

This is a road map to creating successful 21st century entrepreneurial businesses- as such, it won't tell you everything about HOW to do it, but it does show you WHERE you can go to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, December 7, 2008
By 
Honestly Put (Somewhere in a warm and sunny clime) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible (Paperback)
I think this book is great. Right now, in this economy, people can use all the information they can get on making their own wealth and I think this book is an excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac4c7048)

This product

Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible
Shoestring Venture: The Startup Bible by Richard Hooker (Paperback - November 18, 2008)
$34.95 $31.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.