Customer Reviews


875 Reviews
5 star:
 (772)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Start to the Season
Neal and Mozzie are on the run with the money from the Nazi art theft (one assumes) and limited choices of places to hide that meet their demanding standards. Peter is looking for Neal to bring him back safely and to reinstate Neal as Peter's partner, but unfortunately a bounty hunter from within the system is also looking for Neal. Who finds Neal first and how as well as...
Published on July 17, 2012 by Anastasia McPherson

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jumped the shark
I've always enjoyed White Collar, as silly as it is, because of its stylish take on NYC. But in the last few episodes, it's lost some of the features that anchor at least my interest. If anyone's paying attention, then:
1. We don't need a psychobabble back story for Mozzie
2. What happened to the women? Elizabeth is sorely underused; Diana is barely present;...
Published on September 6, 2012 by David Turkheimer


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Start to the Season, July 17, 2012
Neal and Mozzie are on the run with the money from the Nazi art theft (one assumes) and limited choices of places to hide that meet their demanding standards. Peter is looking for Neal to bring him back safely and to reinstate Neal as Peter's partner, but unfortunately a bounty hunter from within the system is also looking for Neal. Who finds Neal first and how as well as the revelation of where he and Mozzie hid is the meat of the episode, along with a thwarted local romance for Neal, a cute kid as helper and another long-time fugitive as the boss of the island as spicy sub-plots.

White Collar reinvents itself with this episode after a somewhat lackluster third season, I only hope that the show can keep the pace if Neal reunites with Peter. All in all though recommended to fans of the show and the suggestion that newcomers should start with Season One dvds or streaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently five-star, September 13, 2012
By 
William C. Bryant (Katonah, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent writing, ever-inventive story lines, fine acting, characters who simultaneously amuse and make you care about them--in short, good old-fashioned storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to season five, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We have followed all four seasons and find that the characters remain consistent, the story lines are intriguing, and there is not an overemphasis on sex or violence. The inter-relationship between the three main characters is funny, poignant and suspenseful and each episode leaves you wanting to see the next one. We wish there were more shows like this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery Deepens in the Mid-Season Finale, September 20, 2012
Neal is a great character because he is both good guy and bad guy. He works with the FBI, but the viewer knows that he and Mozzy still hold all of the Nazi art - a fact Peter isn't aware of, but that strains credulity, especially after Neal and Mozzy were living large incognito in the season premiere so best that the viewer ignores that entirely.

In this episode, Neal and Peter host a panel at an FBI conference detailing why their partnership works and why Peter chose him. In a sweet scene, especially given the tension of late between Peter and Neal over the disappearance of Sam, Peter tells Neal that he chose him to be his partner because he liked him - hopefully making Neal feel at least a little guilty about all the ways he is deceiving Peter. The con of the week is fair this week. The real action centers on Sam, just who he is and what the truth is about Neal's father and the crimes that tore Neal's family apart when he was a child. Peter is convinced that Sam isn't who he says he is and tries to convince Neal to let him help. Instead, Neal and Mozzy con Peter. Peter is really very patient with all of Neal's shennanigans. In the final scene, it is revealed who Sam really is but the bigger questions about the past remain unanswered. A good episode of White Collar after a very solid season. I will be watching the next half of the season with interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Collar ~ You Just Can't Go Wrong!, October 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
White Collar is the best show on TV, I just wish they didn't take a break from filming so there would be more episodes and less wait! Great story line, awesome characters and flawless acting... it doesn't get much better. Neal Caffrey is the prime time James Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Season, March 24, 2013
By 
RR (Seattle, Wa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is mainly for those who are already familiar with the show-- if you're new, you may catch on but as is true with most shows some of the jokes, relationships, and plot reference earlier seasons. It might be best to start at season 1 or alternatively (if a rebel who dislikes chronology) find a popular episode and see if you connect with the general premise and characters then you can go back and start at season 1.

I will try to keep the details of what happens in a general and fairly non specific fashion.

This season focuses mostly on Neal and his search for the truth regarding his father (and family). The ole nature vs nurture question. The themes are thoughtfully done and not at all simply answered.

There are many ups but also downs for our favorite pals-- being a fugitive (1), murder, breakups, secrets, blackmail, demotions, a FBI workplace shake-up, lies, and trust.

Although at times it may seem as if they are repeating the same themes (especially the trust one) Neal and Peter seem in a much better place then in seasons past. Peter explores more grey area decision-making which creates some tension in storyline. Mozzie is well Mozzie. He is especially the focus in episode 6 "Identity Crisis" and is often around in other episodes . Alex is in episode 8 "Ancient History". Sarah is not in many episodes but pops up now and again-- "Parting Shots" (4); Compromising Positions (7); "Shoot the Moon" (14) "In the Wind" (16)-- I'm sure she pops up in a few other episodes, as well. Elizabeth also makes more of a presence in the storyline -- the second half. Episodes that come to mind are: 14 and "Empire City" (13).

I gave it 4 stars b/c White Collar is one of my faves and this season was still cohesive, fun, and had thoughtful character development.
However, if I were not a fan -- there are some problem areas (though largely forgivable ones)-- Elizabeth toward the end of the season makes a choice in a way that, is to me, out of character. The season does focus more on the Neal's family corruption storyline and less on case of the week. The case of the week is still there but has less of a presence. Some of the things happening are hard for our characters to go through. And of course the perilous cliffhanger end (16). But, overall I feel hopeful for the characters and think the show is still strong. Some shows you watch for just for the characters -- but this show still has interesting coherent stories. That said, there are some instances of the writer's clearly trying to create drama-- that is implausible. The best stories are the more down-to-earth ones-- after all the show's premise is already big enough.

My top 3 favorite episodes (right now), in no particular order, are: "Parting Shots" (4), "Empire City" (13); "The Original "15"
(judged based on repeated viewing not brilliance)

I'm sure I missed a few things-- the season was split into two parts so the first half is a bit vague. I tried not to give any real spoilers--most of this can be found on a brief detailed synopsis.

Overall, I enjoyed the season and humbly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, March 14, 2013
White Collar is one of the best shows I have watched in a while. I actually just started watching it but I bought all of the previous 3 seasons and am now caught up. Can't wait for season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the show, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Best show on television. Funny, entertaining Great cast. Every episode is good always consistent. Peter and Neil characters are fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch for true entertainment., May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lighthearted and fun. Little violence or sex. I'd recommend this to anyone that would just like to be entertained. Watch the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Collar - Great series!, September 21, 2012
By 
Kathy (Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
White Collar has all the aspects of a good "cop show": mystery and humor. The character development is fun to watch between Peter and Neil as well. Adding in Peter's wife, Neil's best friend, and the couple other FBI agents makes the show even more believable and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.