Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two for the price of ONE--and FANTASTIC movies
I loved the original Short Circuit--then found the sequel--both are fantastic movies that have you laughing from start to finish. The only drawback--if you can call it that, is that it's a double-sided DVD which is not my favorite format--I prefer separate discs; but I've used both sides a couple of times now--showed them to my grandkids who are old enough to handle the...
Published 8 months ago by Mark Myword

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No CC: on Short Circuit!
I loved Short Circuit 2, but on this DVD, since I'm deaf, Short Circuit was a -- short circuit: There're no subtitles OR closed captioning for the movie, so for me it was a waste. I'll keep my old VHS tape for that. Why is there cc: on the tape, but not on the DVD? -- Not even ANALOG cc:, much less a menu with subtitles. CHEAP!
Published on August 10, 2012 by Helge Skjeveland


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No CC: on Short Circuit!, August 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved Short Circuit 2, but on this DVD, since I'm deaf, Short Circuit was a -- short circuit: There're no subtitles OR closed captioning for the movie, so for me it was a waste. I'll keep my old VHS tape for that. Why is there cc: on the tape, but not on the DVD? -- Not even ANALOG cc:, much less a menu with subtitles. CHEAP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Number 5 lives on in DVD format, May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These films were by no means masterpieces, but they were fun and pleasant, and this set was well worth the price. All you get is one 2-sided disc, meaning the only label is near the center hole and almost needs a magnifying glass to read. Mine was mislabeled (the side with Short Circuit 1 was labeled Short Circuit 2, and vice versa) but that's a minor problem. I once bought a Cyndi Lauper 45 that was the same way. The movies themselves were as cute and funny as I remembered. Fisher Stevens (Early Edition) appears in both as Ben, the Indian scientist who carries on a hilarious, ongoing struggle with American slang. Steve Guttenberg was miscast as Number 5's inventor in the first film; he just didn't seem to need to even be there, and he was not missed at all in the sequel. In SC 2, Cynthia Gibb made a much more interesting female lead than Ally Sheedy did in the first. And I'm sure a lot of viewers will be relieved that Number 5 (later called Johnny) didn't spend nearly as much time watching TV in SC 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two for the price of ONE--and FANTASTIC movies, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the original Short Circuit--then found the sequel--both are fantastic movies that have you laughing from start to finish. The only drawback--if you can call it that, is that it's a double-sided DVD which is not my favorite format--I prefer separate discs; but I've used both sides a couple of times now--showed them to my grandkids who are old enough to handle the material (I think it's PG-13), and they positively loved the movies. A certain *other* movie came out which seems to have taken a LOT of material (most particularly the actual design of the robot) and produced a fairly well known motion picture much later--this one (Short Circuit) was made before all the computer generated hocus pocus--and still beats that one like a drum. Get this and treat yourself to some really great laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still great, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
my hubby & I saw these in the theater when they were first released. My son saw them on TV & just loved them so I had to get the DVD. They are not dated & I enjoyed them just as much today as when I first saw them, my 2 & 7 yr olds love them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Movie, January 31, 2014
By 
J. Reulet (Baton Rouge, LA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My active grandson enjoyed these two movies. I feel Short Circuit is a little more entertaining and better than Short Circuit 2. The main reason for the 4 star rating is I was disappointed the movies are not on individual discs. Short Circuit in on one side and Short Circuit 2 is on the other side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good clean comedy for the whole family, July 12, 2014
By 
Cuzilla47 (Greenfield, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good clean comedy for the whole family. Perker Stevens is a scream. If this is the future of robotics, I'm all for it. Go Johnny 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 9, 2014
Excellent for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the kid loves it, June 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this movie for a 7 yo coz his mom wanted to get it for him, he watches it frequently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the times where the sequel is as good if not better than the original. And such a good deal in this combo pack. Input, input, input
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic movies, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My seven year old daughter caught the first one on tv and asked for it on dvd so I bought both of them for her and she loves them. The condition was new and the delivery was swift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Short Circuit/Short Circuit 2 [Blu-ray]
Short Circuit/Short Circuit 2 [Blu-ray] by Kenneth Johnson (Blu-ray)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.