Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diabolical, But Fair, December 10, 2003
This review is from: Will Shortz's Favorite Crossword Puzzles from the Pages of The New York Times (Paperback)
Six months ago I would have called every one of these puzzles unfair. The gimmicks and tricks are too hard! But that was before I became a crossword puzzle fan.
These are mostly challenging crosswords, all from the New York Times. There are a few Monday and Tuesday puzzles, but most are from Thursday-Saturday, the tough part of the week. And they are clever. It really makes you wonder (and admire) the kind of minds that can come up with such diabolical puzzles.
And now with almost half a year of New York Times crossword experience under my belt, I can say that all these puzzles are scrupulously fair. Will Shortz wouldn't have it any other way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of 75 gifts., October 29, 2003
By 
Tinmanic (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Will Shortz's Favorite Crossword Puzzles from the Pages of The New York Times (Paperback)
Each crossword puzzle in this book is a treat. For the most part, they're not typical crosswords -- most of them contain a gimmick or some other characteristic that makes it unusual. As a bonus, Will Shortz introduces each puzzle with a few sentences explaining what's so great about it, so you almost feel like he's right there with you as you're working your way through the book. It must be difficult enough to create a crossword good enough to be published in the New York Times, so to go the extra step and construct a crossword extraordinary enough to be included in this book -- well, that's just an amazing feat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenging Diversion, August 6, 2005
This review is from: Will Shortz's Favorite Crossword Puzzles from the Pages of The New York Times (Paperback)
From easy to hard, these puzzles should keep you entertained. Some are funny, all are clever. Will Shortz's comments provide a behind-the-scenes glimpse of the world of puzzle making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Elementary, My Dear Will, March 9, 2005
By 
A. Braun (St Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Will Shortz's Favorite Crossword Puzzles from the Pages of The New York Times (Paperback)
These puzzles are lots of fun, but they aren't especially challenging. However, that's not to discourage anyone from buying the book. I loved doing it, and I came back to buy a copy for someone else. But, if you're really hard-core--Saturday's puzzle in ink, that sort of thing--you might want to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Collection of Crossword Puzzles I've Seen, June 13, 2008
By 
This review is from: Will Shortz's Favorite Crossword Puzzles from the Pages of The New York Times (Paperback)
If you prefer cleverness and novelty in your crossword puzzles, this is the perfect book. The puzzles are of varying difficulties (Monday through Saturday), but the dates and days of the week are given for each puzzle, so you know roughly how much of a challenge you're in for with each puzzle (watch out for the sneaky April 1st crosswords). Will Shortz's brief non-spoiler commentary before each puzzle is interesting, but I wish there was follow-up commentary after each puzzle, going into just a little more depth.

The only serious downside to the book is the fact that it is not spiral bound. But the puzzles inside are just way too good for that to make much of a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best First Crossword Book for NY Times Lovers, January 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Will Shortz's Favorite Crossword Puzzles from the Pages of The New York Times (Paperback)
I don't know if Will Shortz has released a more recent collection of his favorites, and if he hasn't he should! Here is an amazing collection of some of the best wordplay Shortz and his constructors had to offer in the '90's. All levels of difficulty are here, from Moday through Saturday. No Sunday editions, and I have to assume there is a book devoted to Sunday's puzzles. In my opinions, Shortz should do an annual editions featuring his favorites from the past year. And if he reads this, I hope he gives me some credit for the idea :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little too challenging, May 12, 2007
This review is from: Will Shortz's Favorite Crossword Puzzles from the Pages of The New York Times (Paperback)
Many (most) of the puzzles are Thursday/Friday puzzles, with only a few Mon/Tues, which can be a little difficult for some solvers who haven't mastered the late week puzzles yet! But still fun, and clever :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Will Shortz's Favorite Crossword Puzzles from the Pages of The New York Times
Will Shortz's Favorite Crossword Puzzles from the Pages of The New York Times by The New York Times (Paperback - November 1, 2002)
Used & New from: $1.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.