Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the Board Games Editor at BellaOnline.com
Everyone loves a New York Sunday crossword puzzle, for many people who can't get the New York Times on a daily basis because of geography or finances, the Sunday puzzles are the only ones they ever do. They're truly the most finely-crafted large crosswords available.

The puzzles are bigger than the Times daily puzzles, and although they are only the same...
Published on December 5, 2005 by Megan Romer

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lazy editing
I love New York Times puzzles and puzzle collections, but this one is a big disappointment. Of the first 37, I had done fully a dozen of them in the last such book I bought. There's really no excuse for such excessive repetition.
Published on July 4, 2010 by R. K. Crispin HindeRuchell


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the Board Games Editor at BellaOnline.com, December 5, 2005
By 
This review is from: The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times (Spiral-bound)
Everyone loves a New York Sunday crossword puzzle, for many people who can't get the New York Times on a daily basis because of geography or finances, the Sunday puzzles are the only ones they ever do. They're truly the most finely-crafted large crosswords available.

The puzzles are bigger than the Times daily puzzles, and although they are only the same difficulty level as your average Thursday puzzle, they take much longer to solve because of their mammoth size.

This is a great collection of puzzles that any crossword puzzle fan should have in their just-in-case arsenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for the addicted., January 9, 2007
By 
BosGav (CA in my heart) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times (Spiral-bound)
After seeing the movie "Wordplay," my wife became interested in solving the NY Times crossword puzzle and is now addicted. This book was the perfect gift for a vacation to a place where getting the newspaper is not so easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mhvmike, February 10, 2007
By 
Mike G (Mentone, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times (Spiral-bound)
I'm down to the last puzzle and need to order another book of crosswords. I hope I can find one as good as this one. I've really enjoyed working these unique crosswords. If you like hard but clever puzzles, there's 50 in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lazy editing, July 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times (Spiral-bound)
I love New York Times puzzles and puzzle collections, but this one is a big disappointment. Of the first 37, I had done fully a dozen of them in the last such book I bought. There's really no excuse for such excessive repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, August 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times (Spiral-bound)
I thought crossword puzzles were doomed when Eugene Maleska died - but
Will Shortz does a great job editing and this edition is one of the best yet -
great themes and a little harder than usual. I've been doing crosswords since I
was 8 years old (I'm 68) and only do the New York Sunday Times. Buy this edition - very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard, Challenging, Love/Hate Thing, November 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times (Spiral-bound)
I love this crossword puzzle book. I like to work on crossword puzzles for days and even weeks. I think this one will take a year!
Don't get me wrong... I am enjoying the challenge.
I specifically like the larger Sunday puzzles that are themed with hidden clues. They are puzzles within puzzles.
My Mom always did crossword puzzles when I was growing up. I'd say that's where I picked up the bug. If you like a challenge buy this book! And - use a pencil!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one, March 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times (Spiral-bound)
Will Shortz always provides good "think out of the box" puzzles. This book has puzzles rated one, two or three trees. Several of the the three tree puzzles have defeated me, mainly because the clues refered to a subject I knew absoutely nothing about....didn't have a clue. The three trees I solved were highly satisfying. Nice page size, hard cover and spiral bound. A bit on the heavy side due to the quantity of puzzles, so it did not work out as a good book to travel with, but is great to keep on my breakfast table for kickstarting my brain in the morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Puzzles Difficult and Type Print Too Small, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times (Spiral-bound)
The type is much too small to be comfortably read. Don't even consider working with someone else as a "team" unless you plan to continually pick up the book to read the type.

Also, beware. The difficulty level is fairly high on these puzzles. (We purchased this book only because it was rated an Amazon #Best Seller.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Type set too small, January 2, 2013
By 
Heather (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times (Spiral-bound)
I bought this for my Dad's birthday as he loves crossword puzzles. Unfortunately because he is older, his eyesight isn't the best.
The puzzle size and typeset is really small and I fear he will struggle to read the clues and insert the letters into the boxes. Too bad as I'm sure the puzzles themselves are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the print is too small, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times (Spiral-bound)
These are very challenging which is okay. I had to photo copy the one I'm working on to make it larger. My eyes aren't what they used to be, and if I'd seen it in the real world I probably wouldn't have purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New York Times Will Shortz's Favorite Sunday Crossword Puzzles: From the Pages of The New York Times
Used & New from: $12.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.