Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Independent Film!!!!!!
This was Cess Silva's 1st film and it was a very good movie, it explores the life of two Jamaican childhood best friends who grew up dirt poor & raggedy in the slums of Kingston, Jamaica. The friends (Biggs & Wayne)shared common goals, and each wanted to be rich with money, power & respect and wouldn't stop until they got to the top and had the best life possible. The...
Published on July 17, 2007 by America's Next Pulitzer Prize ...

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless
this movie is BEYOND POINTLESS! I don't want you to go through what I did, which is sitting through this violent and disgraceful story thinking that in the end there is going to be some sort of statement made. If you don't know that dealing drugs and threatening people with guns and shooting people will eventually get you and your associates in prison or killed, than...
Published on May 21, 2011 by Paco Castro


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Independent Film!!!!!!, July 17, 2007
This review is from: Shottas (DVD)
This was Cess Silva's 1st film and it was a very good movie, it explores the life of two Jamaican childhood best friends who grew up dirt poor & raggedy in the slums of Kingston, Jamaica. The friends (Biggs & Wayne)shared common goals, and each wanted to be rich with money, power & respect and wouldn't stop until they got to the top and had the best life possible. The movie takes you on a roller coaster ride while it explores friendship, loyalty, ambition, crime, pain, love, deceit/betrayal and teaches you a lessons. The loyalty, love and respect Wayne, Biggs & Mad Max have for one another as friends is almost farfetched nowadays, no one got jealous of the other one, no hating or backstabbing, just true brotherly love. They were down for each other and fearless. At the end Biggs learned a painful lesson when his demons finally catch up to him and he has to pay in many ways that money nor fine luxuries can't buy. I'll admit it was an underground movie and leaves alot to be desired which may come if there's a sequel, but being this is the director's first movie, I give him 5 stars for effort and for the delectable eye candy (Kymani Marley & Spragga Benz). In his next effort I'm sure he'll have a plot and other essentials in a good movie.
This is a good movie and anyone from the hood, the Caribbean and born African American can definately relate, I feel as though this movie is just as good as Scarface, The Godfather and Belly for that much, these rappers and artists that have no formal acting coaching did a superb job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shottas, January 6, 2008
This review is from: Shottas (DVD)
This is the best Jamaican movies ever. I can watch this movie a million times and never get bored. A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisely Good, August 9, 2007
By 
ChocolateQT (La Vergne, Tennessee) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shottas (DVD)
I wasnt expecting to much of this movie but it turned out to be really good. Ky-Mani and Spragga did a great job imo. Its kind of like a Jamaicanized Belly. Everyone has already told you what its about so I'll skip all that but I really enjoyed this movie and ended up buying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta Get It If You Dont!!!!, December 18, 2007
By 
This review is from: Shottas (DVD)
If you like Belly, State Property, Blue Hill Av, Scarface or any of them then YOU GOTTA GET DIS!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hot fi-yah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1, April 12, 2007
By 
Alexander Benton (N Las Vegas NV by way of ARKANSAS)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shottas (DVD)
this movie was HOTT. i bought this movie on bootleg and never watched it until i got bored one day. WOW what i had been missing. head bussing and wig splittin all throughout the movie. i don't know what was funnier wyclef himself or the clothes that he was wearing. BIG UP to the cast and musch respect to dem shotta mad max
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!!, November 22, 2007
By 
Monica Pryce (Norcross, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shottas (DVD)
I love this movie! The soundtrack is wonderful, the storyline is great! A must see for all yardies!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, September 29, 2007
This review is from: Shottas (DVD)
I love this movie. Ladies be prepared to fall in love with Kymani Marley. It's a good movie & it's crazy because things like this do occur in the world today maybe even worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars de greatest, May 12, 2007
This review is from: Shottas (DVD)
This is de truest shotta business. One to watch! Better than any movie mi ever see bout shotta business. This a jamaican affair about top shottas and if there is a second part mi will buy it any day. It's intense,tough and hotta than fire. Kymani Marley,Spragga Benz(de real thuggie),Louie Rankin and the real mad,tough&wickedest actor Paul Campbell should be awarded for best actors fi di year. The plot was remarkable and one to remember!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE ISLAND SCARFACE, November 7, 2006
This review is from: Shottas (DVD)
This movie is much better than i though it would be especially if your from the islands Worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very violent, August 24, 2010
By 
Paka Paka (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shottas (DVD)
Sorry to be the only negative review but personally, I thought the movie was gratuitously violent. Yes I know that this movie is as close to the real world of shottas as you can get. I am Jamaican and everything in this movie seems to be based on fact. It gives you a very good idea of shotta life-style from their point of view. All I'm saying that there was a lot of needless violence; violence put in to make the movie more gritty. A lot of people got shot in the head. Is this shotta life? Yes it is! It is important that we see the blood and brain matter to understand that he got shot in the head, no it isn't.

Someone else mentioned that there should be a part 2 to this movie. I agree, make a part 2, but based on the underground success of this movie, how about a part 2 that shows more points of view? It would it interesting to explore how the shotta life affects his family. Does anyone remember the famous shotta who had a brother who was an English professor? Or how one gave his mother unlimited credit cards for Neiman Marcus in the States?

I wanted to give this movie three stars but I have to give it four just for the yardies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd88efc40)

This product

Shottas
Shottas by Cess Silvera (DVD - 2007)
$14.99 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.