Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful, Charming little movie!
I just happened to catch this movie on Cinemax one night while randomly flipping thru the channels. I was immediately struck not only by the cinemetography, which lends a gritty realism to the film, but just by the sheer HONESTY of the movie.. The shy akwardness of falling in love and being with a lover...the catty banter between sisters,dealing with parents, the angst...
Published on June 15, 2001 by Anaisnine

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.
It was OK, but I felt that more could have been done with it. It spent too much time showing the lovers at odds with each other, when perhaps they should have been depicted being more close.
Published 5 months ago by gary13136


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful, Charming little movie!, June 15, 2001
By 
This review is from: Show Me Love (DVD)
I just happened to catch this movie on Cinemax one night while randomly flipping thru the channels. I was immediately struck not only by the cinemetography, which lends a gritty realism to the film, but just by the sheer HONESTY of the movie.. The shy akwardness of falling in love and being with a lover...the catty banter between sisters,dealing with parents, the angst of high school and of being an outcast, going to parties, and of course, dealing with boys who have yet to mature...Everyhing about this movie is THE TRUTH, the characters' emotions, the dialogue...when u watch this movie, you realize these kids could be from NJ , or Paris or anywhere..kids are kids. I was also struck by the performances of the cast in general, but also of the two leads who played Elin and Agnes...I dont know how the director got such honest and nuanced performances from actresses so young, but he did a good job of it..Maybe, its because their teen years arent so far behind , lol...but I think its more to do with sheet talent. Of course, the fact that the two leads are female and fall in love leads to the movie being automatically labled a a lesbian film, but I dont think thats the case. The movie is purely and simply, a love story that anyone, man or woman can relate to. In fact, I challenge anyone to watch this movie and not fall madly in love with it itself! Definitely a must see for all the hopeless romantics out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foreign Import - Worth The Watch. Good Movie !, May 7, 2001
This review is from: Show Me Love (DVD)
If you were ever a teenager, then this movie is for you....
Okay, so I'm being a bit broad based here, but this is a great film - and it touches so perfectly on what it's like to be a teenager, the feelings - confusions and emotions - that it's worth it's weight in gold.
The story follows a small group of Swedish youth, including an akward young girl "outsider" named Agnes who has fallen in love with her schools "it" girl: the very popular, especially with the boys, Elin.
The Elin/Agnes relationship is painful and beautiful at the same time. It's an excellent recollection of what it is to be a teenager in love, regardless of the sexuality. These are honest and true emotions, the kids portrayed could be any in any city, regardless of the country.
The film is full of angst and humor and a precious kiss.
The subtitles are done well and are easy to read.
If I had to pick a complimentary American film - get yourself a copy of "All Over Me" starring the wonderful Alison Folland.
Take a chance on this film - You won't regret it.
Best Regards, turtlex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seriously excellent film, November 16, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Show Me Love (DVD)
Show me Love (nee "F****** Amal) is perhaps the most realistic portrayal of early teenage life other than Todd Solondz's Welcome to the Dollhouse, except with more tenderness and heart. I would not categorize this film as a "lesbian" movie because the story could have been about a heterosexual couple and it still would have maintained its emotional grab on the viewer.
The two leads' acting was very naturalistic. It was almost like watching a documentary; that's how brutally and unsparingly this film and its team of talented young actors capture the realities of the teenage social scene and the pain and contradiction of being in love and being a teenager. The two leads actually looked 15, unlike movies in which 26 year olds play high school students.
I was very impressed by the tenderness between Agnes and Elin. When they kiss, emotional fireworks go off. The setup and payoff of that single kiss is so well-earned and glorious that it was worthy of applause.
the story may seem cliche, but the execution is far from it. Agnes is a dark-haired, depressed, brooding youth. She knows she's gay. Elin, on the other hand, is popular and blonde, and jokingly says "I'm going to be a lesbian when I grow up." It's not long before we realize that that statement holds more power than we thought.
During Agnes's disastrously painful birthday party (complete with Solondz'esque teenage cruelty) she gets to know Elin in a sort of ironic, yet ultimately realistic way. Elin does a cruel homophobic thing to Agnes after being pressured by her "friend." Just as Agnes is slitting her wrists as a result of the mean joke, Elin comes back to give a heartfelt apology. The two strike up a chemistry together and it is because of this chemistry that their relationship so brilliant and full and wonderful.

I really like this movie, and am usually pretty critical of dialogue-heavy movies shot on DV. But the heart and intelligence of the script and acting make this movie very powerful; the oversaturated ugliness of the DV give the documentary feel and is perfectly appropriate for a story about people in a town and environment (Amal, Sweden) that they find hideous in every way.
Show me Love is a movie that might be overlooked. If you have an opportunity to see it, don't pass it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chillingly poignant, December 26, 2001
This review is from: Show Me Love (DVD)
Yes, I admit now that I rented this movie for its depiction of a lesbian couple. What can I say - I'm a desperate teenager. I expected to see something of the dramatic worth of, 'But I'm a Cheerleader' - something nice, but corny if it were a standard heterosexual film. How wrong I was.
If anything, the relationship and love of the film's title play second fiddle to its exposure of human inadequacy and the clumsiness of youth. From those first few shots of Agnes' very teenage diary writings, to the good intentions of her family as they lovingly yet ineptly profess acceptance of her unpopularity, this is starkly insightful stuff. Lingering shots of characters' silences and solitary moments allow the direction to be reminiscent of Lars von Trier's work in 'Dancer in the Dark'/'The Idiots'.
Particularly powerful are the scenes at an adolescent party. Those awkward, teenage encounters, fuelled by furtive first experiences with alcohol and made so hellish by teenage isolation, are depicted with painful accuracy. Of a similar vein are the scenes in which Agnes' family realise that no one is coming to her party ... and those awful scenes with the girl in the wheelchair. Those are so ridiculously painful and awkward that you don't know whether to laugh or be appalled.
If there is one thing that detracts from any of this, it is the intrusiveness of parts of the soundtrack, particularly in the scene where the girls first kiss. While blaring guitars are kind of teenage, tacky music always detracts from the delicacy of intimate scenes. Still, this is a small gripe - the film isn't driven by cheap romance, so a small deficiency in this area is negligible.
In summary, if you're looking for chicks having sex, rent "If These Walls Could Talk 2". If you're looking for something a little more sophisticated, hire this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was moved...again and again..., February 10, 2004
This review is from: Show Me Love (DVD)
Having watched a lot of lesbian themed film. The one film that truly touched me is "Show Me Love". There is no cliche storyline or dialogue in the film. It is a truly sincere piece of film making with wonderful acting talent all around.
The film revolves around Elin (played to perfection by Alexandra Dahlström who is 14 year old at the time of filming) and Agnes (Rebecca Liljeberg, 17 at the time of filming). It's a coming of age movie that explores the difficulties of being a teenager in a small town in Sweden and being a lesbian.
What amazes me most about the film is the dialogue is perfectly delivered by all the young actors, not feeling like they are acting. Filmed in almost Dogma style, the film had a wonderfully written script. It is a film that you can watch over and over again and discover something new and unique during each viewing.
It was great to see the actor's reaction and facial expression throughout the whole movie. My favourite moments:
- Elin's first realises that she could be in love with Agnes when confronted by her sister Jessica on the swing.
- Agnes reaction towards the teasing when she was exposed as a lesbian in school.
The supporting cast was equally wonderful. Jessica (Elin's popular sister) and Johan (Elin's fake boyfriend). This is a film that I will definately enjoy for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Show Me Love...and Honest and Funny Tale of Youth, October 9, 2001
By 
"girljen@hotmail.com" (San Francisco, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Show Me Love (DVD)
Show me Love is not just a movie about two young girls discovering their sexuallity, in fact, that is probably one of the smaller components of the film.
Show Me Love depicts, very honestly and with much humour, the day to day process of growing up. Siblings, Parents, peers and even the people you fall in love with.
Alexandra Dahlstrom and Rebecca Liljeberg give amazing performances and the film is not to be missed.
For those weary of subtitled movies, fear not, the film is easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achingly real, January 28, 2006
By 
Eddy (amazon.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Show Me Love (DVD)
'Show Me Love' is a truly beautiful and enchanting film. Despite it being based on the lives of teenagers in a small Swedish town, the subject matter is one that will strike an emotional chord with people from all age groups and all walks of life. Agnes' love for Elin is one that is bitterly familiar to everyone, however sadly, for most viewers, their tale will not end as happily as that of these two girls.

Of all the countless portrayals of teenage life that have been created by the world of cinema, none compare to 'Show Me Love' in terms of truth and realism. Within 'Show Me Love' Lucas Moodysson strikes a beautiful balance of emotion that will appeal to most viewers. He allows his characters to express passion and unrequited love, without ever slipping into overdone, Hollywood style shmaltz. Conversely he also allows his characters to undergo pain and suffering, without ever letting the tone become too bleak. It truly is a film that aches with realism.

Lucas Moodysson is an accomplished and intelligent director and one can only hope that he can reach as wide an audience as possible. He is capable of breathing fresh air into, not only the teenage movie genre, but cinema in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imminent classic, September 3, 2000
By 
mia (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Show Me Love (DVD)
I loved this film and I'll probably not be the first or last person to make such a statement. Despite the grim, dull setting in a typical boring small European town, the characters are anything but. I think anyone who's ever been young, confused and in love will identify immediately. This film is destined to become a cult classic, especially with young audiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, but without the sugar, February 20, 2004
By 
adriana "alisa" (Los Angeles,CA,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Show Me Love (DVD)
This movie is very simple, but its completely involving and totally realistic. The story revolves around two high school girls, and the people around them. Elin is the most popular girl in school, and is liked by all the guys. Agnes is the exact opposite of Elin. She is awkward, she is nerdy, and she just happens to be completely in love with Elin. What follows is a realistic and open look into the lives of these girls, and just teenage life in general.
What truly won me over about this film, was how natural it all seemed. Throughout the movie, it didn't even feel like these people were actors reciting dialogue. IT felt like these were people you actually knew being caught on tape. Also, most films that deal with lesbianism are trashy and gratituous. This movie was neither. It was heartwarming, and real, and truly made you see the relations and interactions beneath.
NO, this film isn't extraordinary. But it's refreshing to have a simple film, with a simple story, that depicted the pleasures and horrors of everday teenage life. And that's basically what this film is, a slice of everyday teenage life. The fact that its warm, enveloping, and pleasant is just a plus. It doesn't try to dumb things down, and make pain non-existent, as many shallow teenage films do.This film might be simple, but its not shallow or silly.Lukas Moodysson is masterful at showing life at its most realistic. I would whole heartedely reccomend that you see one of his other films, "lilya 4-ever" as well.Its very different from this movie, but will serve as more proof that this is a director with genuine feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Show Me Love, shows it in all the right ways!, September 14, 2000
By 
Amy Pacheco (Long Beach, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Show Me Love (DVD)
"Show Me Love" is a coming of age story for the new millennium. It shows the hardship of being different in a small town. Not only does it show how it's hard to be an outsider growing up in high school; it shows the further difficulty of loving someone perceived to be unobtainable. "Elin" and "Agnes" take us on a journey of being young, and being in love. In the end it shows how to be honest with your self and to persevere in a hard world. A true story of friendship and love in a new world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.