Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riley Takes You Inside, February 23, 2001
Pat Riley is the legendary NBA coach who lead the Los angeles Lakers to four NBA titles in the 80's. In 1984-85, the Lakers won their third title of the decade (second under Riley) over their hated rivals the Boston Celtics. There were high expectations for the 85-86 season, but they were knocked out of the playoffs by the underdog Houston Rockets and failed to defend their title. The book takes us through the 86-87 season in which Mr. Riley strives to get his team back on top. We get to see how an NBA season underfolds from the point of view of arguably the best coach in history. He gives an insider's thoughts on all-time greats like Magic Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and James Worthy. Mr. Riley has a wry sense of humor and his take on things makes this book a highly entertaining and insightful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How the Lakers Regained the Title, December 19, 2008
By 
This review is from: Show Time: Inside the Lakers' Breakthrough Season (Hardcover)
"Show Time" by Pat Riley is a comprehensive look at the 1986-87 season of the Los Angeles Lakers, chronicling the franchise's march to its fourth title of the 1980s.

Riley incorporates a brief history of the Eighties Lakers leading up to the '86-'87 season. He recounts how Laker management held the core of the team together following the team's loss to Houston in the 1986 Western Conference Finals. Wisely, they made no trades that would have given them a Twin Towers lineup that was de rigueur at the time, but instead returned to their core philosophy of fast break basketball that ultimately won them the championship. As for L.A.'s heated rivalry with the Boston Celtics, whom they defeated in the Finals that year, Riley pulls no punches in airing his opinion of the Boston franchise and its management.

The author reveals some of the inner workings of the team that led them back to the top, including the Career Best program that measured effort as well as hard statistical data. He discusses motivation and asserts that having a stable family situation is an important factor in one's professional performance. This book has application beyond sports, as it discusses principles that can be applied in the business world.

To my knowledge, this was the first game-by-game, "journal" style look back at an NBA season put out in the 1980s (in the years after this book appeared, it seems that several others were released). Riley has an engaging writing style, and this book would be appreciated by anyone, regardless of rooting preference, who followed the NBA in the 1980s or is interested in the history of the league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book on The Greatest NBA Team Eva!!!!, April 27, 2006
The 1987 Lakers IMO were without a doubt the greatest nba team ever assembled. Yes better than the 96 Bulls, 67 Sixers, or the 86 Celtics. The book describes the teams journey to the nba finals. And it states some intresting facts of how James Worthy almost got traded to Dallas. The Lakers finished the season with a 65-17 record. The went 15-3 in thr playoffs. Defeating the Nuggetes 3-0, the Warriors 4-1, the Sonics 4-0, and finally defeating the Boston Celtics 4-2.

Must Have book for Showtime Laker Fans!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Managing 701, February 5, 2005
By 
William Barrett "stareagyl" (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Other reviews miss the point. This is my most recommended book on the art of Management. How do you manage such a diverse group of world class atheletes! That is the problem! Look at what happened with Phil Jackson and Kobe and Shaq. Disaster. Pat Riley's book is a clear set of instructions on how to manage a small group of high-power folks - like a high-power software team. This belongs well dog-eared on the shelves of the quality manager along with the Foundation Trilogy and Harold Geneen's Managing. IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lakers fans and coaches will love this detailed book on strategy and team building, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Show Time: Inside the Lakers' Breakthrough Season (Hardcover)
Pat Riley does a great job describing a championship season with the Lakers in a new way. Instead of talking about games and getting specific about players he spends more time describing how he gets the team to believe in themselves and work together to achieve their goal. Pat spends time talking about how his coaches prep for upcoming games and gives great motivational speeches describing in exact detail what mindset he wants his guys in. Loved every minute of it and as a Lakers fan It is very respectful and a detailed look at a championship organization
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Contains concepts I will never forget!, April 27, 2009
By 
SonicMan "Sassonic" (Orange County, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Show Time: Inside the Lakers' Breakthrough Season (Hardcover)
Pat Riley is such an effective communicator. In this book, there are great examples of what it takes to reach the top of any profession, and find success in life. He talks a great deal about "attitude" and how it can change everything, just like flipping a switch, a person can turn everything into something positive just by having the right attitude. He also discusses effort a lot, and molds into the reader how effort can even hide a lack of talent. It's a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fascinating account of the greatest NBA team ever, April 24, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Show Time: Inside the Lakers' Breakthrough Season (Hardcover)
Coach Riley provides basketball fans of all ages with a game-by-game chronicle of the Los Angeles Lakers' glorious 1986-87 season. Riles explains why complacency drove the previous year's team to an early exit in the Western Conference Finals and tells how he reversed their attitudes. He takes you inside the locker rooms and profiles the club's stars. Peter May's book, The Last Banner, claims that the 1985-86 Boston Celtics are the best team ever. Even though I haven't read this publication, I'd have to disagree with that statement. The Lakers were a very special team in '86-'87 that were on a mission. I would highly recommend for anyone to obtain a copy of this book. It certainly is a collector's item that I will forever treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lakers showtime, July 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Show Time: Inside the Lakers' Breakthrough Season (Hardcover)
On of the best NBA books that i have read. You are geting the coach of the champions talking about the season and playoffs right efter the season is over, so it is fresh and a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The coach can coach far better than he can write, October 18, 2006
This review is from: Show Time: Inside the Lakers' Breakthrough Season (Hardcover)
Pat Riley is one of the most successful basketball coaches the sport has known. In this book he tells the story of how he made it happen for the Lakers during the 86-87 season.The book is filled with anecdotal material showing how a coach motivates his players. Fans will also enjoy his stories of the big stars, and the inside insights of the relations in a team fighting for the championship.

However I thought I would enjoy this book more than I did. It is choppily written. The supposed humor is not really there. Perhaps this is because the world of sports no longer fascinates me as it did when I was a child, but I found a lot of this slow- going indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, November 27, 2014
By 
DrTaras (LA, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got this for my 16 yo son and he enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Show Time: Inside the Lakers' Breakthrough Season
Show Time: Inside the Lakers' Breakthrough Season by Pat Riley (Hardcover - July 1990)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.