Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better version of karate kid?
Although a serious rip-off of Karate Kid, Showdown is really a very good B movie, perhaps one of the best I have ever seen that is enjoyable from all standpoints.

Unlike the Karate Kid, which is rated PG, Showdown is PG-13 (info says its R, but its really PG-13), resulting in a darker and tougher movie with much better fighting. The story is very similar to...
Published on April 21, 2007 by dominion_ruler

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You're the new kid, huh?"
It's my opinion that director Robert Radler's first film, the aptly named Best of the Best, was a fluke. Following that rather classy production, he's kept himself estranged from respectable drama and successfully strove for a career in martial arts B-movies and "Power Rangers" episodes. To differentiate himself from the filmmakers of similar credentials, he directed one...
Published on January 29, 2010 by Michael Sehorn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better version of karate kid?, April 21, 2007
This review is from: Showdown (VHS Tape)
Although a serious rip-off of Karate Kid, Showdown is really a very good B movie, perhaps one of the best I have ever seen that is enjoyable from all standpoints.

Unlike the Karate Kid, which is rated PG, Showdown is PG-13 (info says its R, but its really PG-13), resulting in a darker and tougher movie with much better fighting. The story is very similar to that of Karate Kid, right down to a janitor (Billy Blanks) teaching a new kid at school (Ken Scott) how to defend himself from a much more skilled bully (Ken Mcleod). Sound familiar? Patrick Kilpatrick does quite the overacting job playing the bad guy Sensai and Christine Taylor (one of the more famous actors) plays the bully's girl. Good acting from most of these people, even Billy Blanks does a better job than his usual self. The script is good and the story keeps you engaged, and there is even some comic relief filled in.

The action is well done, and used in all the right places throughout the story. The best scenes are near the end. The first very good fight scene is between Billy Blanks and James Lew (Balance of Power, Perfect Weapon) in the school theatre. Awesome fight that compares itself in quality to most martial art movie final fight scenes. As for Showdown's final fight, there are actually 2 back-to-back. The first is Ken (Ken Scott) against Tom (Ken Mcleod) in Sensai Lee's dojo. An illegal fight setup in front of screaming fans and lasts a good 5 minutes. Finally, though not as good as a fight, is Lee vs Billy (Billy Blanks) in a 2 minute Showdown.

Great movie, though Karate Kid is written all over this, so it had help. Nevertheless, this version is a bit harder and darker, so if you want a good karate Kid film with more of an edge, Showdown is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You're the new kid, huh?", January 29, 2010
This review is from: Showdown (VHS Tape)
It's my opinion that director Robert Radler's first film, the aptly named Best of the Best, was a fluke. Following that rather classy production, he's kept himself estranged from respectable drama and successfully strove for a career in martial arts B-movies and "Power Rangers" episodes. To differentiate himself from the filmmakers of similar credentials, he directed one of the most blatant knock-offs of The Karate Kid I've ever seen and therein created a mini-classic for fans of Billy Blanks and a sturdy vehicle for ex-Ninja Turtle Kenn Scott. It's a little light on actual hand-to-hand action, but for what it's worth, interest in either of the two aforementioned stars is reason enough to try and find this one at a reasonable price.

Replacing Ralph Macchio is Kenn Scott (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II) as Ken Marx, a high school senior transferring to the west coast from Kansas. Replacing William Zabka is Ken McLeod (Deadly Target) as Tom, the karate-practicing school bully who beats on Ken for getting the hots for his girlfriend Julie (Christine Taylor of The Wedding Singer, replacing Elisabeth Shue). Coming to his aid as the butt-kicking janitor/ex-cop is Billy Blanks (Tough and Deadly), replacing Pat Morita, who trains him in self-defense - opposite of Martin Kove-wannabe Patrick Kilpatrick (Minority Report) as Tom's sadistic Sensei Lee, whose vendetta against Billy could turn a matter of schoolyard pride into a deadly confrontation.

True to its roots, "Showdown" is less of a fight movie than a coming-age-tale with liberal amounts of karate tossed in. There are only about three actual matches amongst a peppering of one-sided beatings, form-striking, and training scenes. While personally disappointed at the inabundance of genuine fisticuffs, I have to admit that most of what you see is pretty pleasing: with the exception of Kilpatrick, the entire kicking cast - also including Nicholas Hill (Bloodsport 2) and James Lew (Balance of Power) - is composed of real-life martial artists whose competence shows through the choreography. While it's not the best stuff that Billy Blanks ever did, it makes a strong argument for Kenn Scott deserving action hero status of his own, since he's more than capable of kicking butt and looking good while he does it.

The entire high school setting comes alive effectively, with the exception that several of the students look/are several seasons beyond their senior year. The acting is fairly hammy but within the acceptable range for a movie like this, with the only lackluster performance coming from Blanks himself. Though this one had to endure a direct-to-video release, its production values aren't lacking at all and, yes, the mandatory '80s pop/rock song is in place during the training scenes. The "like-'Karate Kid'-but-more-intense" premise is pushed to the brink, but it pales in comparison to its inspirational material in getting its message across: the original film was corny but relevant to issues kids go through, whereas this one's attempt to kick its life lesson into overdrive resulted in a movie that has ties to modern life but more so seems to exist in a world of its own. This makes for an arguably cooler movie but nullifies the emotional impact I wish it could have retained.

It'd be great if I could judge "Showdown" as its own adventure, but when almost every scene is practically testifying to what it's ripping off, it's impossible not to make the comparison. Really know yourself before you spend the extra dough that copies of the film go for these days: does a reduced amount of fighting bother you, do corny B-movies bug you, and are you a fanboy of "The Karate Kid"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of chezzy, but kind of enjoyable., July 29, 2002
By 
Jason Williams (Nixa, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Showdown [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I'll start by saying that this is basically a knock off of the successful 80's smash "Karate Kid" (Pat Morita, Ralph Machio). However I found myself having a little more sympathy for the main actor (kid) in this one. Billy blanks is no Harrison Ford but, considering his backround, doesn't do all that bad. The main dissapointments(or hillariously funny aspects, depending on your perspective) were the supporting characters. The girlfriend was shallow, the antogonist kid - totally unthreatening, and the main villain-Lee so hastily put togather you'd swear only half his makeup was on. Most of the supporting characters have about the same artistic license and depth as the cast of any of Troma productions' films. Rent before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Blanks - Showdown, November 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Showdown (DVD)
I bought this from Amazon a few weeks ago, and it is perfect! Brand new, sealed and in mint condition! I recorded this on VHS when it came out on TV. I have watched it so many times since then, that the sound eventually gave out. I have looked for years trying to find this and I finally got it! I couldn't be happier! It's a great movie with a great message. :)

From IMDB:

Ken has just moved from Kansas with his mother. He talks to a girl named Julie, not knowing that her boyfriend Tom is very possessive of her. Tom is learning karate from Lee, a sensei whose brother was killed by a rookie cop named Billy. Billy has since then become the janitor of the school that Ken, Julie and Tom go to.

When Ken gets beaten up by Tom for talking to Julie again, Billy helps Ken by teaching him how to defend himself, which eventually leads to a battle between student vs. student, and sensei vs. sensei. Written by JoshForman@aol.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IT IS WORTH A WATCH, March 26, 2004
This review is from: Showdown [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A HIGH SCHOOL JANITOR [BILLY BLANKS] TEACHES A BULLIED HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT MARTIAL ARTS LESSONS. YET ANOTHER KARATE KID RIP-OFF. THIS ONE, AIN'T REALLY THAT BAD. IT GETS A LITTLE CORNY FROM TIME TO TIME, BUT THE FIGHTS MAKE UP FOR THE BORING MOMENTS OF THE MOVIE. I SERIOUSLY WONDER WHY BILLY BLANKS OFTEN DOESN'T DO ANYTHING OTHER THAN TAE BO TAPES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Showdown A Movie Worth Watching, September 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Showdown (DVD)
Showdown is a movie that everyone should see. The DVD is not in the America's region so you would have to get a compatible pal DVD machine to see it. It looks good, considering this. I watched it to see if there were any irregularities and couldn't find any. I have nothing negative to say about it, except remember about the compatible DVD player. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cant watch this!, August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Showdown (DVD)
I bought this intending to obviously pop in the dvd player and watch, but we cant watch it on dvd player because it is made for a different country, so I am disappointed. I should have read the description better I guess, but I was so excited that it had billy blanks in it that I wanted it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It doesnt work, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Showdown (DVD)
I tried to watch it and it says "wrong regional disk" because it wasn't made in the US, I cant even watch it. It was nothing but a WASTE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I love the movie, if only i could watch it, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Showdown (DVD)
I did not like this product because it is recorded for region 2, therefor I am unable to watch it. If you have the capability to watch region 2 videos, then this product is for u, but if not, then maybe you can get lucky and catch this movie on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good movie, June 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Showdown (DVD)
Billy is a good actor in this movie,it showed me moves I could do if I need to take up for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Showdown
Showdown by Robert Radler (DVD)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.