Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RICK “SHAQ” GOLDSTEIN SAYS: “WHEN YOU HAVE SOMEONE LIKE MAGIC… YOU RUN EVERY CHANCE & UNDER EVERY POSSIBLE SITUATION”
If you have had the opportunity to visit the NBA Hall of Fame… one of the things you’ll see are displays dedicated to teams during specific times that were considered *DYNASTIES*… One of those dynasties was the 1980’s Showtime Lakers. Before I ordered this book… let alone before I read it… I looked at my personal library and counted...
Published 5 months ago by Rick Shaq Goldstein

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not how I want to remember it.
I believe this to be an accurate and revealing documentation of "Showtime" but in its accuracy it diminishes many of the heroes I remember and paints an ugly ego on many of the superstars. This takes much of the "fun" out of "Showtime" and and reveals how the media, money and an organization controls public opinion and image.
Published 2 months ago by Paul H Hatanaka


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RICK “SHAQ” GOLDSTEIN SAYS: “WHEN YOU HAVE SOMEONE LIKE MAGIC… YOU RUN EVERY CHANCE & UNDER EVERY POSSIBLE SITUATION”, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s (Hardcover)
If you have had the opportunity to visit the NBA Hall of Fame… one of the things you’ll see are displays dedicated to teams during specific times that were considered *DYNASTIES*… One of those dynasties was the 1980’s Showtime Lakers. Before I ordered this book… let alone before I read it… I looked at my personal library and counted over twenty books regarding the Lakers. I at first said… how much more can there be on a team from over thirty years ago… and then I reminisced about how I had enjoyed three other books I read by the author Jeff Pearlman on… the Dallas Cowboys… Walter Payton… and the steroid cheat… Roger Clemens. I ordered the book… and as this review will confirm… I am thrilled that I did.

What makes this book so worthwhile… even with the knowledge of what I read in all the prior books I owned… and in addition to attending many of the Showtime Lakers games in person at the Fabulous Forum… and the fact that I had even played in numerous pickup games against a number of the Laker players… were three main facts… first… Jeff Pearlman invested his time and energy in an exhausting amount of piercing… in depth interviews… secondly… his writing style is smooth yet exhilarating… the reader never gets the feeling as with many other authors… that they’re just trying to fill additional pages… and the third reason… is the fact that “time” itself… over thirty plus years… over a quarter of a century has passed… and that means literary morals have changed… and what is considered acceptable in everyday journalism has changed. So thirty years ago when a written word was published… there were moral limits as to what could be written. Some examples are… in the past an author might write that Kareem was not a friendly guy… but today you can quote someone like CBS reporter Pat O’Brien as saying: “Once you accepted that Kareem was a “P”… you could get past it.” (Note: there are no abbreviations in the book… but it has been my experience that Amazon won’t publish my reviews if I spell out what is in the book… some things never change!) The author can also state unequivocally that “Kareem Abdul-Jabbar hated white people.” You can also have quotes regarding Jack Kent Cooke the man who owned the Lakers-The Forum-The Hockey Kings-and-The Washington Redskins… and who sold the Lakers to Jerry Buss… from Hot Rod Hundley… who said of Cooke… “The number one “A-H” who ever lived!”

This additional literary freedom is why even if you have over twenty Laker books… many covering this time frame and period… written by everyone from Magic… to Riley… to Kareem… to writers who spent their whole careers covering the Lakers… this book is almost like reading about the same fantastic dynasty with societies blinders removed. It’s all here… from the sale of the Lakers… to Magic’s megawatt nineteen year old smile… to Kareem… snarling… moping… and growing old… to Riley wearing out his welcome… to the women… the drugs… and with the author leading the “story-telling-fast-break”… the reader will feel like he’s James Worthy… filling the lane… out on the wing… as the author passes you one gem after another… at full speed… and like “Big-Game-James”… you will never break stride… as you score a great championship read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fabulous Showtime Lakers--Warts And All, March 18, 2014
By 
This review is from: Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s (Hardcover)
"Showtime" is an engrossingly entertaining retrospective look at the Showtime Lakers of the 1980s. It is an astonishingly compelling book relating everything you thought you knew and much that you never knew about one of the most exciting professional basketball teams of all time. This is a book not to be missed by anyone who was a basketball fan during the 80's and, in particular, a Lakers fan of that fabulous era. Kareem, Magic, Wilkes, Michael Cooper, Spencer Haywood, Bob McAdoo, Mitch Kupchak, Norm Nixon, and so many others who transform a lethargic Laker franchise into perhaps the most entertaining, fast breaking, and dysfunctional professional team of all time.

Jeff Pearlman has clearly done his homework. There are references to interviews over a three year period with all the major characters who were part of the Laker magic and interviews with many who were involved in the league but watching from afar. We learn that Showtime was the brainchild of Jack McKinney, an innovative yet doomed head coach, who saw his fling at fame destroyed by a terrible bicycle accident. The lamentable Paul Westhead era that followed was controversial and certainly ugly at times, including the feeling that Magic Johnson was the real force who got him fired. The Pat Riley era began somewhat inauspiciously and ultimately blossomed into one of the most exciting and entertaining basketball teams in the history of the NBA.

Showtime really began when Dr. Jerry Buss purchased the Lakers from Jack Kent Cooke, an owner content to be the overlord of a professional team that really didn't know its own identity or its potential. Buss changed that with his own personal desire to see a faster more entertaining game and his devotion to acquiring the young Earvin "Magic" Johnson to run his team and transform it into what quickly became known as Showtime.

"Showtime" chronicles the entire history of this era including flashbacks and behind the scenes looks at the interpersonal dynamics of the team, the coaches, and the owner. Having lived through this era and being a Laker and Celtic fan, a lot of what is represented in the book was known or at least assumed by the media but "Showtime" details the animosities, the friendships, the drug use, the wild sex, and the jealousies and pettiness of individual competitors. Norm Nixon versus Magic Johnson, the recalcitrant Kareem Abdul Jabbar, the drug addled Spencer Haywood, the front office mistakes of drafting the wrong individual, or making trades that alienated players. So much of what we saw (and didn't see) is revealed in "Showtime" to have been destructive beneath the surface.

Pearlman's book can be deeply satisfying at times, depressing and sad at times, and sometimes simply infuriating when reading of the people and the times of the Showtime Lakers. But, it all happened, and it is exhaustively chronicled in this can't-put-down look at the team that changed the face of modern-day professional basketball. If you were a fan of professional basketball and/or of the Lakers during this astonishing era of the ascendant Laker dynasty and you think you know its history, you need to read "Showtime". Pearlman's book examines this transcendent team not only on its entertaining surface, but with all the dysfunction that occurred behind closed doors revealed warts and all. I cannot recommend this book highly enough for sports fans in general and Laker fans in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not how I want to remember it., June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I believe this to be an accurate and revealing documentation of "Showtime" but in its accuracy it diminishes many of the heroes I remember and paints an ugly ego on many of the superstars. This takes much of the "fun" out of "Showtime" and and reveals how the media, money and an organization controls public opinion and image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An in-depth look at one of the best runs in sports history, May 28, 2014
By 
Guyzen (Salt Lake City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s (Hardcover)
This is a fascinating book about a great team in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Of all of the things that stand out, one that keeps coming up throughout this book is how many of these guys ruined their careers by getting lost in drugs or women (and sometimes both). It's sad to see the talent that some of these guys wasted by pursuing these other vices.

This book is incredibly well researched and very interesting. I love how Jeff Pearlman spends ample time on each of the main components of the Showtime Lakers, the coaches, owners, and most of all the players. It's interesting the change that happens to Pat Riley as he becomes more controlling and unapproachable as the years carry on. The reader has to consider what could have been if a few more balls would have bounced the Lakers' way, they very well could have swept the decade with championships, or at the very least picked up a few more titles. The stars are startlingly human and emotions and pride play a much bigger role than the casual observer would ever have realized.

As a basketball fan, I very much enjoyed the stories of one of the most storied teams in the history of the game. You don't have to be a Lakers fan to enjoy this book. The womanizers, drug addicts, and God fearing Christians all came together to play an exciting and fast paced style of basketball. What's interesting is how the players clicked and how much the role players contributed to the success of the team. I especially enjoyed the stories about Kurt Rambis and his somewhat odd behavior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, April 11, 2014
Jeff Pearlman captures the Lakers so well. His writing is fantastic. I liked his writing so much that while hunting for my next book, I decided to read his book on the Dallas Cowboys of the 90s, even though I'm not a huge football fan. I just appreciate good writing, and it really feels like I'm an insider to all the behind the scenes happenings of the Showtime era Lakers. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for a Lakers fan, March 19, 2014
This review is from: Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s (Hardcover)
The history, background and dirt on how the Lakers Showtime came about and died. Totally amazing read....couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, March 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not just facts and stats. It is not the old tired Bird/Magic rivalry yarn of 80s basketball. This book tells realistic stories and strings them together to put together a smooth way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Few Errors, But Still a Great Retrospective, March 9, 2014
By 
This review is from: Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s (Hardcover)
As longtime fans of the NBA know, the league was revitalized in the 1980s by the arrival of Magic Johnson and Larry Bird and the rekindling of the rivalry between the Los Angeles Lakers and the Boston Celtics. The Lakers won five NBA championships during the Eighties and were one of the most legendary teams ever. Author Jeff Pearlman already had one great retrospective on a larger-than-life team to his credit in Boys Will Be Boys, and with his new book on the Eighties Lakers now has another with "Showtime."

1979 was the year that the new-look Lakers took shape--the author recalls the acquisition of the franchise by Jerry Buss, the drafting of point guard Magic Johnson, and the new culture of enthusiasm and joy that Johnson's addition brought to a team that had been lethargic in its recent history.

Pearlman conducted numerous interviews with key personnel to provide the backstory on Magic, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and all of the other key members of the Showtime Lakers, and traces the history of the club from 1979 through 1991, when Johnson retired after contracting HIV. The Lakers made nine NBA Finals appearances during that span, and "Showtime" recalls all of the rivalries the team was in and the playoff runs, those that resulted in titles as well as those that ended in disappointment.

The chemistry on those L.A. squads was usually good, but over the span of a decade issues inevitably come up, and the book describes the incidents that led to the departure of some of the players as well as to the firings of coaches Paul Westhead and Pat Riley. Laker legend Jerry West was at the helm as general manager, and the book recalls the moves that he made (and trades he didn't make) that kept the team at or near the top.

As well as remembering what happened on the court, Pearlman describes the parties and lifestyle the players lived off of it--during those years even visiting players looked forward to their trips to The Forum and the post-game trips to the Forum Club in the arena.

"Showtime" isn't perfect--there are several factual errors with regard to statistics, dates, and scores. But even longtime fans will learn things they didn't know, including which famous coach almost was hired by the team in the summer of 1979. Younger fans would enjoy reading about one of the most important teams in league history, and Gen Xers (even Celtics fans like me) for whom the NBA meant too much (well, OK, way too much) during stretches of high school and college will learn a lot by reading "Showtime."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only a great sports story that will delight fans of basketball, but a story of another type of show, March 6, 2014
This review is from: Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s (Hardcover)
‘Showtime’ by Jeff Pearlman is the story of one special generation of basketball players that those years , back in eighties, every fan of this sport knew starting lineup, while still this Lakers team in addition to the Jordan’s Bulls is taken as perhaps the best one of all times.

Jeff Pearlman on 500 pages of his book that brings back memories, speaks about the times when the NBA league was maybe the most interesting ever, when the best basketball was played, and the whole spectacle was still not about the money, but based on the excellence of players whose athletic skills fans of this sport enjoyed all around the world.

And although the length of the book may seem rather large, the book is read easily because each page offers a myriad of interesting details for the most part less known to the public that the author has collected over 300 interviews conducted with all the major ‘actors’ of that exciting time of basketball sport.

The book begins in an unusual way, with an interview the author conducted with Jack McKinney, or as he introduced him “…the greatest NB coach 999 of 1,000 basketball fans have never heard of” due to his short time spent in Lakers before he suffered a very dangerous head injury after falling while bicycling, replaced by his assistant, Paul Westhead, and never been able to made it back to Lakers bench not even after next year he received NBA Coach of the Year Award while leading the Indiana Pacers.

In the book remainder, author chronologically deals with the rule of Lakers team dividing it into three major parts – Development of a Dream, Dominance and Demise of a Dynasty - bringing a comprehensive overview of the events that marked not only this team from L.A., but the world of basketball in those years. In this sense, this book is not just for Lakers fans, for those who enjoyed the mastership of Magic Johnson or Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, their legendary coach Pat Riley or the rest of the team that ruled for 12 years, but also about the world and show business these years that from this perspective seems so far away.

‘Showtime’ by Jeff Pearlman Showtime is therefore not only a great sports story that will delight fans of basketball, but a story about a time when people with pleasure went into the halls or sat in front of the TVs enjoying another type of show than today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Skip Bayless level writing, May 12, 2014
This review is from: Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s (Hardcover)
ESPN and talk radio gave us a generation of sports commentators who rely on extreme opinions rather than facts and yelling rather than analysis. This book is that sort of writing.

How many times do you want to read that Magic loved sex, Kareem was standoffish and other Lakers loved cocaine? This book would be much better if it were 70% shorter--unless you don't remember that the Lakers played the 76ers,Celtics, Pistons and Bulls in the finals. Sadly, there are also numerous factual errors.

Like so many authors, Pearlman is much harder on those who gave him extensive interviews than those who did not. He is brutal to Jabbar, but, astonishingly, having repeatedly written of Magic having had sex with thousands of women, does not bother to even mention the impact on those women of the revelation that Magic contracted HIV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s
$30.00 $22.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.