Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lot Better Than The First 5 Minutes Might Have You Thinking
Not terribly original, quite predictable much of the time, and with various other little shortcomings popping up here and there, "Shredder" probably shouldn't be half as enjoyable as it is, but somehow it manages to be one of the better non-series 'slasher' type horror movies out there. Admittedly, it doesn't approach the level of the best chapters in the big ongoing...
Published on June 25, 2005 by Stephen B. O'Blenis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet another un-original boring slasher film
Its your typical "seen it before" type of horror movie. Its the typical slasher flick of a group of kids who go on a vacation toegther, and there told not to go, by the wise ol local yol-kells, but they go anyway....and they end up beeing killed off one by one! With such a minumal amount of cast memembers its no suprise to find out who the mystery killer is at the end of...
Published on April 1, 2004 by Micheal Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lot Better Than The First 5 Minutes Might Have You Thinking, June 25, 2005
By 
Stephen B. O'Blenis (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shredder (DVD)
Not terribly original, quite predictable much of the time, and with various other little shortcomings popping up here and there, "Shredder" probably shouldn't be half as enjoyable as it is, but somehow it manages to be one of the better non-series 'slasher' type horror movies out there. Admittedly, it doesn't approach the level of the best chapters in the big ongoing series ("Friday The 13th", "Nightmare On Elm Street", "Halloween", etc.) but on the other hand it's actually Better than a number of the weaker entries in the big series. Quite a bit better, in fact.

Centering on a group of teens/early twenties characters heading up to an abandoned ski/snowboard camp for a weekend of fun who instead end up being preyed upon by a masked assailant, it misses a couple of opportunities for some more innovative (and potentially awesome) pursuit-type scenes but makes up for it elsewhere. Does manage some actual suspense more than once, and certainly manages to set itself up as a tremendously sexy movie more than once. The characters are, for the most part, kind of blooming idiots, but they're Likable blooming idiots, the kind of characters comedies featuring casts this age try for but (in my opinion) usually fall short of. Some good performances in here too.

It's kind of a hard movie to rate. If going on a ten-point scale, I could take the cynical approach and count up all the flaws and unevenness of the movie and argue it down to a six or so in spite of how well it turned it out, but who wants to be cynical all the time? Part of me keeps thinking of the best parts and arguing for a nine or at least 8.5 On a five-star scale, I think a four is appropriate. I don't know why, but a lot of what would sound like 'filler' scenes on paper just clicked and came off really good, and help the show to be worthy of a good high rating.

A couple of random thoughts: I don't always watch the 'deleted' scenes on a disc (especially on a movie that's pretty much perfect the way it is, out of fear of diluting it) but there was a bit of leeway on "Shredder" so I checked them out and they actually added to the movie - entertaining 'extended' scenes from the movie with some entertaining, seemingly ad-libbed, lines. In the main movie scene itself, the skilift scene is a highlight, a quirky little classic, but gets one thinking "why oh why don't more movies use the 'multi-camera angles option" they said they were going to when DVD was coming out, and why couldn't this have been one of them?' (still immensely cool though).

Bottom line: don't expect it to terrify you out of your wits, but don't pass it up because of that. There's a sea of movies along these general lines within its particular subgenre of horror, and a lot of them are good, but "Shredder" is, in spite of some flaws, several notches above the average. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars death to snowboarders!, December 28, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Shredder (DVD)
flawless teen slasher flick,yep folks!a great movie,i rented this flick several weeks ago.don't worry it was'nt during christmas,so i picked it up when me and my dad went into movie gallery.i was looking through a few slasher flix,and i found this one,the reason i got this one is because i saw it on the internet and it looked awsome!the movie is about a few teens,they just inherited an abandoned ski lodge.a few snowboaders,only one skier.after hearing about a past acctident they are killed off 1 by 1.decent gore as well special effects,and a poor amount of special features.overall a good flick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet another un-original boring slasher film, April 1, 2004
By 
This review is from: Shredder (DVD)
Its your typical "seen it before" type of horror movie. Its the typical slasher flick of a group of kids who go on a vacation toegther, and there told not to go, by the wise ol local yol-kells, but they go anyway....and they end up beeing killed off one by one! With such a minumal amount of cast memembers its no suprise to find out who the mystery killer is at the end of this dull film. Its compeltly predicted way before it even happens!
There just happens to be this well preserved mountin range cabin, with a ski lift still in action, and these reckless kids fall victom to somebody who dosent like snow boarders!
Seeing as how im not into snow-boarding, the long boring clips of showing off on snow boards put me to sleep. Unless your into wanting to see the average teen group of reckless horney teenagers who go camping and get killed by someone in a mask, then dont bother with this dribble. The death scenes are not worth checking out for the gore fans. The plot takes dumb turns, and no intrests, or anything in this film is memorable to make it any diffrent from any other bad "annoying, doped up teens" who get killed in a "so called" horror movie.
Forget this, if your interested? I highly recomend you rent it, and you will probably agree its not worth looking at ever again!
You will also ask yourself "why the hell would this girl be walking around in the snow in pretty much nothing but her under-wear? Yeah...right...ok.....alot of us like to walk around in the freezing cold naked dont we?
Dont have high expectations. IMO its not even worth renting, but if it intrests you, rent it, dont buy it first, I wouldnt even want to watch this film if it was on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Horror - With the Right Expectations, July 25, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shredder (DVD)
I enjoyed this movie. In short, it is a somewhat comedic horror film of a group of college-age kids who break into a mountain cabin for a weekend of skiing fun, only to run into someone intent on killing them. Its important to understand that the movie is fairly low budget; not microbudget, but certainly not blockbuster funding. So expect hammy acting, not really compelling dialogue, a thin plot, etc. However, I can be fully satisfied by a movie if it meets certain attributes, such as having been filmed in a locale appealing to me. This movie was filmed in snowy winter and on a skiing mountain, one of my passions, so that let's me forgive the underwhelming aspects of the film and just sit back and enjoy a light hearted film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low On Originality and Scares, February 4, 2005
This review is from: Shredder (DVD)
Shredder may have been not quite a low budget movie. It had a high budget for a straight-to-video film. However, it was low on originality and scares. The movie's originality was so basic. When the ending came up I thought to myself "Of course I should of known." The ending was completely un-original. Also the movie wasn't quite scary. Although I did like one murder. But Bottom-Line is that it wasn't one of the worst straight-to-video horror movies I ever saw, but it wasn't one of the best either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blah, July 15, 2004
This review is from: Shredder (DVD)
I am continually amazed to discover movies like "Shredder." Just when I thought I saw it all, yet another film comes down the pipe ripping off the tired clichés of the slasher genre. I mean, how many masked killers can there possibly be roaming the highways and byways (and ski slopes) of America? There isn't a single place left where we can go without running into a psychopathic killer avenging some perceived wrong. Thinking of going to summer camp? Think again lest Jason Voorhees pops up to wreak mayhem. How about trick or treating on Halloween? Nope, Michael Myers. Feel like golfing this weekend? Look out for "The Greenskeeper." A nice trip to the beach sounds great until you remember "Jaws." Don't even think about going camping up in the mountains if "Wrong Turn" is any indication. And thanks to Leatherface and his cronies, the entire state of Texas is off limits. Skiing sounded like the only peaceful and safe activity left until "Shredder" emerged on the scene. Well, maybe it still is as long as you don't plan on using a snowboard since the maniac in this film focuses his or her grisly attentions on a batch of mouthy kids looking to "shred" the slopes during a short stay at an abandoned ski resort.
The plot of "Shredder" is, sadly, inanely simple. A rich, shrill gal by the name of Kimberly (Lindsey McKeon) wants to acquire a rundown ski resort for her wealthy father. Since a few unfortunate incidents occurred at the place in the past, Kimberly resorts to a bit of dishonesty to convince her boyfriend Cole (Scott Weinger) to go along. Her claim that the jaunt is a romantic getaway quickly collapses when Cole learns that his woman invited along a trio of obnoxious snowboarders. These three individuals, Kirk (Peter Riggs), Pike (Juleah Weikel), and Skyler (Billy O'), ultimately rank as the most annoying characters to ever populate a horror film. Also along for the ride is Robyn (Holly Towne), a woman whose promiscuity knows no bounds. Cole angry about the inclusion of so many strangers, and becomes even madder when the group agrees to let Christophe, a member of that much vaunted social category known as "Eurotrash," tag along after meeting him at a rest stop. Anyway, the kids get there, run into the obligatory hostile locals, slum around in the lodge playing drinking games, and finally hit the slopes. And that's when the trouble begins. A masked killer resembling the bad guy in "My Bloody Valentine" starts picking off the snowboarders one by one. The stalker's anger seems to stem from the string of fatalities caused by snowboarders over the preceding years. Too, the propensity for these kids to not follow rules sends this predator over the edge.
Aside from a few minor points, nothing in "Shredder" elevates the slasher canon in any way. In fact, the movie is simply one of the many horror pictures that have been heading to store shelves at the local video store for the last couple of years. Almost all of these films revel in their hideousness, which, while a boon for lovers of bad cinema, sends waves of nausea through all other viewers. Here's a list of pertinent points that should acquaint you with what monstrously idiotic things you'll see in this film:
1) A bumper sticker on a city snow removal truck that reads "Death to Snowboarders" in no way deters this group of kids from heading to the slopes. They never even comment on it, in fact.
2) You can answer the question "What country are you from?" by saying "Europe" and no one calls you on it.
3) Hanging by the neck on a ski lift won't get you noticed for hours.
4) Fatalities are a common occurrence at ski resorts.
5) Highly accomplished athletes in the field of snowboarding rely heavily on illicit substances. I'm sure real snowboarders can't say enough good things about this depiction.
Repeatedly, annoying things like these five points kept popping up throughout the film. The Skyler character is one of those annoying Jeff Spicoli wannabes who is always yelling things like "Dude!" at the top of his lungs. Kirk spends his screen time smoking and giggling. The requisite romance between the two young adults who will survive in the end hits you over the head with sledgehammer force early on, thus effectively removing any mystery about the movie. So does the identity of the masked maniac, which came as little surprise when the great moment of revelation arrived. What did work is of such minor importance that I hesitate to mention it, but might as well since I'll probably give the movie two stars instead of one. I found two of the gore effects, specifically the closet scene with Kimberly and the atrocity with the snow blowing machine, effective in theory. Regrettably, the technical aspects fail so miserably that they look cheesy rather than completely gruesome. But the two scenes are inventive and should merit a grudging nod or two.
Extras on the DVD include trailers for "Jeepers Creepers 2," "Jeremiah," "The Howling," and "Board Heads." The inclusion of several deleted scenes adds nothing relevant to the plot. I'm willing to recommend "Shredder" to lovers of low budget horror if for no other reason than to allow someone else to figure out whether the movie is a turkey or a cleverly disguised spoof of the slasher genre. After all, a few of the shenanigans unfolding onscreen are so hilarious that it's difficult to imagine the producers of the picture took their movie seriously. No matter what the case, "Shredder" is definitely a movie one should rent first before deciding whether to acquire a copy. Good luck; you'll need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok Slasher, December 28, 2003
This review is from: Shredder (DVD)
MGM put out this pretty good horror movie. The plot should have been a little deeper. The acting was ok. Average kill scenes. Pick up if My Bloody Valentine is out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "I think there's room for one more in the luggage rack.", May 21, 2013
This review is from: Shredder (DVD)
Eons ago, when I switched from VHS to DVD, this was one of the first movies I bought. It was cheap and from the cover art, had an ax to grind. As a proponent of slasher flicks, I took a chance and was not disappointed. Admittedly, I probably have a different criteria from most in that I automatically have low expectations where plot and originality are concerned. In fact, I look forward to the usual clichés afforded these types of films. That said, Shredder is not different from most slasher flicks, a group of kids crash a deserted ski resort and are picked off one at a time. Hey, it's a plot that even Agatha Christie employed once! It's how they're dispatched that counts. In this case, the first victim loses his head just after the opening credits sequence. (It's that old gambit, a wire stretched between trees. They liked it so well they used it twice, to the same effect.) There are no stars present. The characters fall to type. The humor was a little dim but I liked it (they're universally jovial until the bodies start stacking up). Naturally, they're all idiots, they pick up their first suspect along the road. He has a phony accent and when asked where is he from he responds, Europe (that covers a lot of ground!). Of course there's a small town filled with unfriendly folk (translated, more suspects). Add to that a recent urban legend of a child being killed by snowboarders and said snowboarders (AND) that child's body immediately go missing, and you have the shallow makings of a plot involving REVENGE. It was enough to keep me happy. I've watched it twice, years apart, and liked it well enough to keep for further viewing. If you like slasher flicks, this one is reliable enough to suit most tastes. If you're hoping for something less predictable, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shredder, October 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shredder (DVD)
We purchased this film for our son and friends as they have skied Silver Mountain (Jackass is what it was called 30 years ago), N Idaho where it was filmed. A film for boys over 16 or 50! The old lodge was torn down about three years ago....but the film brings back a lot of memories though I would rate it a C. It was shipped and was in very good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars it's death to snowboarders..., January 12, 2011
This review is from: Shredder (DVD)
Shredder (2003) is a slasher film, where a group of snowboarders, are threatened by a masked killer in a skiing outfit, at an abandoned ski lodge. The plot doesn't have a lot of substance, the storytelling is often sloppy, and the young snowboarders are mostly an annoying lot. The film features some nice scenes on the snowy slopes, a couple of messy kills, and perhaps a few minor surprises.

Kimberly Van Arx (Lindsey McKeon) is taking a group of friends up to Rocky Summit, a ski lodge that her affluent father is planning to acquire. The place has been closed since a little girl was killed in an accident involving some snowboarders, and most of the locals have no use for anyone that "shreds" on a snowboard. Arriving at the abandoned lodge, there is some romantic drama, as Kimberly ditches her supposed boyfriend Cole (Scott Weinger), for hunky Christophe (Brad Hawkins), a stranger who the group picks up on the trip. Flirty Robyn (Holly Towne) also has her eye on Christophe. Meanwhile, Cole turns his attentions to Debra (Juleah Weikel). While Skyler (Billy O'Sullivan), who is documenting the trip with his video camera, runs into a hot skier named Shelly (Candace Moon) on the slopes. It might be love, but before things can develop further, her father Bud (Ron Varela) shows up, and breaks things up.

When the killer acts, he moves fast, striking all over the place. He's often inept, taking an unexpected fall from a ski lift, then allowing several victims to escape his axe, before getting back on track, caving in a skull with a shovel. With their vehicle disabled, the survivors take refuge at the lodge, where parading around in a leopard bikini bottom, Kimberly finds herself under attack, while Skyler's camera gets busted. The killer usually runs into problems when his victims fight back, and while giving chase, the stress of the situation causes him to lose his head.

Directed and co-written by Greg Huson, Shredders often fails to connect plot points, and ends abruptly with an unexplained twist. Aimed at a younger audience, the characters aren't very likeable, the acting isn't the best, and the dialog is often annoying. The kills are the main attraction, and they are a mixed bag, with just a couple that are competently executed. Unless you are a die hard slasher fan, there's probably no pressing reason to see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaab20e88)

This product

Shredder
Shredder by Greg Huson (DVD - 2003)
$4.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.