Customer Reviews


306 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is it Finally Done and Ogre with?
"Shrek Forever After" (if that is its real title) achieves exactly what it wanted to achieve simply by being a fun animated comedy with characters we've come to love. Still, for something so heavily promoted as being the final chapter, I'm surprised at how small and ordinary it seemed. Movies like this should end with a bang, emotionally and physically; they should not go...
Published on May 21, 2010 by Chris Pandolfi

versus
52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shrek Forever After
In the fourth and last installment of the Shrek franchise, Shrek (Mike Myers) finds himself becoming tired of his "domesticated" life when the routines of married life and fatherhood meet with the constant bombardment of fame and somewhat annoying friends. After storming out of his son's first birthday party Shrek runs into Rumplestiltskin (Walt Dohrn), who learns of...
Published on June 6, 2010 by Jason C. Wilkerson


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shrek Forever After, June 6, 2010
In the fourth and last installment of the Shrek franchise, Shrek (Mike Myers) finds himself becoming tired of his "domesticated" life when the routines of married life and fatherhood meet with the constant bombardment of fame and somewhat annoying friends. After storming out of his son's first birthday party Shrek runs into Rumplestiltskin (Walt Dohrn), who learns of Shrek's desires to be the ogre he once was and offers him a magical contract that would allow him to be an true ogre for a day, in exchange for one thing. In that exchange, though, Shrek gets much more than he bargained for.

When the first Shrek came out it was a brilliant anti-fairy tale fairy tale. Openly lampooning Disney movies and theme parks, Shrek was a fresh take on the animated fairy tale where the main characters didn't live happily ever after as picture perfect prince and princess, but as ogres, typically the scourge of any fairy tale. Since then two other Shrek movies have come out, and rather than embracing the counter culture of the first film, the franchise bought into it's own hype and into pop culture and lost the spirit of the original. While not bad films, they were unnecessary and even sapped some of the brilliance of the original. Now with the finale of Shrek in theaters, how does it stand up?

More-so than it's predecessors Shrek Forever After tries to come back home to more of the feeling of the first film. Even the plot of the film of Shrek's desire to go back to being a lone ogre on the outskirts of society seems to echo what the filmmakers were desiring to accomplish in picking a premise that allowed them to nearly replicate some of the situations of the first movie. That's one of the strengths of the film is that you get to re-meet the characters in a new fashion and in slightly new characterizations than previous which amps up the fun of this film compared to the previous films.

Reaching into an alternate universe has allowed the writers, and the actors, to revision the characters adding to the freshness of this installment in the series. Fiona is now a warrior, leading an ogre rebellion against the king. Donkey, while still the over talkative, funny if slightly annoying sidekick he's a little more wary and a bit brighter than he was in Shrek's real world. Puss has let himself go, and won't even chase a mouse that's sharing his milk. The real surprise here is Walt Dohrn, a writer/storyboard artist who makes his vocal film debut as the voice of the film's baddie, Rumplestiltskin. Everyone does a great job with their vocal work, but Walt and his character steal the show.

But for all the good, you can't go home, and Shrek doesn't quite go home either. Compared to the first film this one feels a little tame, sterile. First off, the premise makes this almost seem like a remake of the first film, causing it to loose some of it's freshness. On top of that there's a moral that really stands out, which is something I don't recall being aware of while watching the first three Shrek films, even though it was there.

All in all, I would highly recommend this film. Easily it's the second best of the four Shrek films. Each of the three sequels were unnecessary, but this was definitely a higher note to go out on than the last two films. If they had to go through sequels, I'm not sure they could have asked for a better film to go out on. If you've watched the last couple of Shrek films and found yourself to be disappointed give this a try, it doesn't quite capture the magic of the first film but it gets closer than the other sequels.

3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is it Finally Done and Ogre with?, May 21, 2010
By 
"Shrek Forever After" (if that is its real title) achieves exactly what it wanted to achieve simply by being a fun animated comedy with characters we've come to love. Still, for something so heavily promoted as being the final chapter, I'm surprised at how small and ordinary it seemed. Movies like this should end with a bang, emotionally and physically; they should not go from beginning to end on a slow and steady burn. By the end, most will feel as if they've been entertained. I felt that way. At the same time, some may feel that, in all likelihood, this movie didn't have to be made. I felt that way, too. Perhaps it's no longer a good sign that we can be so easily amused by unnecessary films. Are they no stories left to stimulate our imaginations and broaden our horizons at the same time?

In this film, Shrek (voiced by Mike Myers) finds that he's dissatisfied with his new life as a domestic ogre. As a husband and father, he has absolutely no free time. Villagers no longer fear him. He can't take a mud bath without being invaded by swamp tourists. Knowing he's desperate for a change, the disgruntled Rumpelstiltskin (voiced by Walt Dohrn) offers Shrek a chance live one day as his old ogre self. The catch, as I understand it, is that one day out of his past will be erased from time - give a day to get a day, according to Rumpelstiltskin. Shrek agrees and signs a contract, although he fails to specify precisely which day he'll let Rumpelstiltskin have. Bad move; he's transported to an alternate Far Far Away that's ruled by Rumpelstiltskin and has fallen into ruin.

There are other changes. At Rumpelstiltskin's bidding, ogres are hunted by wicked witches and forced into slavery. Shrek's best friend, Donkey (voiced by Eddie Murphy), now a lowly cart puller, has never met Shrek and is afraid of him. Puss in Boots (voiced by Antonio Banderas) is now an obese housecat and owned by Fiona (voiced by Cameron Diaz), no longer Shrek's beloved wife and mother to his children but rather the iron-clad leader of an underground ogre resistance. Like Donkey, she has no idea who Shrek is. Stranger still, she's back under the curse that factored into the first film. In this new Far Far Away, it's as if Shrek had never been born. If he's to set everything right, he must turn to that most reliable of fairy-tale clichés: Receiving true love's kiss before the following sunrise.

What are Rumpelstiltskin's motives? I leave it to you to find out. I will say that his reasons are about as good as they can be for a fairy tale. I liked this character; big of ego and short of stature, he's villainous in a childish, sniveling sort of way, making for a great deal of fun when he loses his temper.

Many of the previous film's more memorable side characters are used far less frequently in "Shrek Forever After," making for a film that feels oddly condensed. The appearances of Pinocchio, the Three Little Pigs, and Gingy the Gingerbread Man, for example, are reduced to mere cameos, which is a missed opportunity for some great comedy. I'm especially fond of Gingy, with his iced legs and candy eyes and grating voice. In the alternate Far Far Away, he has become a battle-scarred gladiator who fights for the amusement of cheering crowds; the fact that his opponents are animal crackers and that he uses a broken lollipop as a weapon is, in my warped way of thinking, inherently funny. Maybe it's because foods of such childish innocence have become violent. Or maybe it has something to do Gingy being one tough cookie.

It seems that the film's biggest draw, aside from being the last in the series, is its release in 3-D. I've championed certain 3-D films (Disney's "A Christmas Carol," "How to Train Your Dragon," "Avatar"), but now that it's back in the mainstream, I'm coming to the realization that, generally speaking, it's an overrated marketing gimmick. For this particular film, I suggest you save your cash for a traditional (and less expensive) 2-D experience. I'm quite certain the overall quality will not be affected.

The bottom line: The story is funny and exciting and sweet, and I had a pleasant time watching it. But "Shrek Forever After" is not the grandiose finale the ads have claimed it to be, and I find that a little disappointing. My recommendation relates not to its worth as a successor to the previous "Shrek" films, or even to its status as the last in the series; it relates to the belief that audiences will enjoy it on its own terms. It's a light, good-hearted animated comedy, and as such films go, it gets the job done. I can only hope the filmmakers don't treat it like a horror franchise, some of which are known to produce sequels even after a "final chapter" has been released. At that point, I don't think there will anything good left to say about Shrek and his magical misadventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Going On, May 26, 2010
I have always enjoyed watching the Shrek movies with my family. The fourth movie was no exception. The problem is that the Shrek universe it getting rather stale. The same type of jokes just don't work as well the fourth time around. The Final Chapter finds Shrek unhappy with his friends and family and wishing to go back to being a scary ogre for just one day which can be supplied by an evil Rupelstiltskin. But if you are aware of the myth of Rupelstiltskin you know that every contract has a price. Shrek gives up one day of his life to get his one day of freedom. That one day though causes the entire world to change and Shrek is stuck in an alternate universe in which he never existed. The alternate characters are fun at first, especially the chubby Puss in Boots, but they all revert quickly to the characters you know so it doesn't work all that well. The best part of the movie is the introduction of the Rupelstiltskin character who is a fun bad guy. The movie's plot however is very similar to the Christmas Special in which Shrek doesn't appreciate what he has until it is gone. I like the series, but the story is best to end now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars for a familiar friend that is running out of steam, May 24, 2010
By 
RMurray847 (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
SHREK FOREVER AFTER feels like a really good episode of a much loved TV show. For me, the first SHREK movie was something really new, a pop-culture referring, smart-alecky spin on fairy tales, with delightfully new characters and an animation style we hadn't seen before. It was genuinely touching at times, but mostly hilarious and eye-popping. SHREK 2 turned up the hilarity quotient and introduced Puss, one of the finest supporting characters in animation since Sebastian the Crab grace THE LITTLE MERMAID. With SHREK 3, the series had settled into comfortable familiarity. I smiled more than I laughed...it was clever, but had no thrill of being NEW anymore. And in this latest film, it felt extremely familiar...like a TV series.

First , it's important to note that an enjoyment of SHREK FOREVER AFTER (hereafter called SHREK 4) pretty much requires having seen the other 3 movies. There is essentially no exposition. We see Shrek and his family a few days before the First Birthday party for his three children. While Shrek is enjoying a life of domestic bliss, he's also feeling a little trapped. He can't even enjoy a good dip in some hot mud without having to first work on the plumbing in the outhouse. His kids wake him up too early every morning. His friend Donkey is constantly dropping by with HIS kids and consuming Shrek's evenings. And when the day of the party arrives, Shrek realizes that he misses being a bachelor and a feared Ogre. Now little kids ASK him to do his Ogre-roar and sign autographs...instead of running in fear. I guess Shrek is having a mid-life crisis.

But this being a magical kingdom, when Shrek idly wishes he could have "just one day" back during his wilder days...the nasty, spiteful little Rumplestiltskin grants him his wish in a fairly one-side bargain. Shrek is instantly transported to his past, but finds that things have changed. Rumple now rules the kingdom, and is served by witches. The ogres are a hunted species and humans are destitute and living in fear. And none of Shrek's old friends recognize him. His beloved Fiona is now a resistance leader among the ogres, and she has little interest in Shrek. But it turns out, he must win her love again within a day, or this retelling of the past will become permanent, and Shrek will puff out of existence.

This is all well and good, and certainly the movie has sufficient laughs. The pop culture references HAVE been toned down some, which is probably good. They were leaning towards becoming too much of a good thing in SHREK 3, when a lengthy sequence was devoted to making fun of HARRY POTTER...the in-jokes were becoming the point rather than a side note. The changes in Donkey and particularly Puss in Boots are fun. The animation is as good as ever...but there's nothing new either. It's just a visit with some old, familiar friends having some serious trouble.

The voice-over work (Mike Myers, Cameron Diaz, Eddie Murphy, Antonio Banderas, etc. etc.) is perfectly fine. The soundtrack is perfectly in keeping with what we've had from these films before. (I will say, however, that I suspect this film may be less appealing to the little ones than the others. My youngest is 17, so I don't have a certainty about this...I just think that this film is more plot-driven than those in the past, and the time-travel stuff might confuse the littlest viewers.)

And the movie is in 3D, but never has 3D seemed more pointless. We're just becoming SO accustomed to the 3D experience now, and there were NO moments of "oooooh" popping out of the screen at the audience. Frankly, I mostly forgot the film WAS in 3D until it was time to take the glasses off and drop them in the recycle bin on the way out.

If you've seen the first film, do you remember how joyful the final scene was, when all the characters gathered and sang and partied to a variety of pop/rock hits? I remember wanting the scene to just keep going on, because I had experienced such a joyful and NEW movie, and didn't want it to end. SHREK 4 has a similar scene (as did all the other films), and when this one started, I was pretty much ready to head for the exits. There isn't anything actively wrong with the film...but there's nothing staggeringly RIGHT about it either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time to give the big green guy a break, June 18, 2010
By 
V. Berk (United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Shrek Forever After is the fourth and supposedly final entry in the series of films chronicling the comical adventures of a green ogre by the name of Shrek. The first film released in 2001 was an instant hit. In 2004 it was followed by Shrek 2 which was also a delightfully entertaining animated-comedy. Then in 2007 the series took a misstep with Shrek the Third which was forgettable to say the least. Now we have Shrek Forever After which, though not as bad as Shrek the Third, still doesn't measure up to the first two entries in the series.

There isn't much of a plot to Shrek Forever After. It follows the basic `It's a Wonderful Life' formula of trying to show how the world would be if Shrek was never born. To me this doesn't seem like a good idea for a Shrek film because it doesn't expand the story what-so-ever because you know by the end of the film things will go back to normal without any change except for Shrek having a better understanding of who he is. They could have still provided that message without such a generic plot. In fact, given the scenario they chose I felt incredibly disappointed that we didn't get to see other characters from the series. What about Lord Farquaad or the Fairy Godmother? How does Shrek never existing affect this? We'll never know because the script is so narrow-minded that it does little to expand on the concept of Shrek never being born.

Speaking of villains, Rumpelstiltskin (voice of Walt Dohrn) doesn't really measure up compared to the antagonists of the first two films. Okay, he's a step up from Prince Charming in Shrek the Third, but that doesn't take much.

On the bright side the film still keeps the primary voice-actors. Mike Myers and Eddie Murphy both get in some good lines as is expected from the two SNL veterans. Most of the other members of the cast aren't used enough to leave an impression so I have nothing much to say on them.

So: is Shrek Forever After a wreck? Well, to be honest it was a lot better than I thought it was going to be coming into the theater, but it still is a letdown. Some lines got a chuckle out of me, but for the most part Shrek Forever After pandered to younger members of the audience and robbed jokes from the previous entries in the franchise.

Is it a good note for the Shrek franchise to end on? No. If this were a perfect world Shrek would have ended on Shrek 2. Is this movie good for children? I'd imagine so. There's nothing in here that's bad for kids, and it does have its clever moments, just not at the same level of quality as the first two films.

7/10 stars. Worth seeing if you have children but don't expect the same quality as Shrek and Shrek 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My kids love every Shrek movie. This is no exception. They were able to keep it funny and entertaining, just like the first one. We actually like this one better than the 3rd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The whole family loved this movie including daughters ages 3 and 6. We really enjoy all of the Shrek movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a waste!, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this was a total waste of money--- I liked shrek so much that I thought I would love them all --NOT!! this was just plain SILLY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still not as good as the original, February 25, 2013
What I liked about it: The continuing story of Shrek and Donkey was told and it was fun to see the characters back in action. The same voices returned to play the main parts. The animation, as always was top dollar. I thought the story line was well written and the music was fun, just like the other movies.

The hmm: This movie wasn't as funny as the original, nor did I feel it had the same overall charm. Shrek starts the movie feeling sorry for himself and an ogre having pity party just isn't cool. The kids got bored half way through. I still like the original better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie of the series, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Usually a movie series tends to get worse as they typically mass produce junk and take advantage of people who enjoy the series. Shrek Forever After is not the usual. This movie is the best of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shrek Forever After (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo)
Shrek Forever After (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo) by Mike Mitchell (Blu-ray - 2010)
$39.99 $13.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.