Customer Reviews


1,564 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,110)
4 star:
 (216)
3 star:
 (89)
2 star:
 (59)
1 star:
 (90)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And It's Not Even Disney's
Shrek has grossed over 260 million in the theaters (as of Aug. 14, 2001). That's within .05% of the top grossing animation of all times, Toy Story (@ 262 million). Shrek is a great 3D movie. The 3D computer animation is second, only to Final Fantasy. The story is more involving than what I expected. The voices were well cast and performed. The whole film awsome. I'm sure...
Published on August 14, 2001 by Mark Jerome Ferreri

versus
32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Feature Film & 3-D Short, both sold short
First, there's the Shrek film, which is not only an Academy Award winning Animated film...It's one of the best Films I've ever seen. I HIGHLY recommend that you buy the ASIN=B00003CXXJ version of Shrek which is both Widescreen and Fullscreen DVD, with great extras. The Shrek in this DVD pack is just Full Screen, which is an insult to this amazing film.
Then, there's...
Published on May 12, 2004 by The Other Eye


‹ Previous | 1 2157 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And It's Not Even Disney's, August 14, 2001
By 
Mark Jerome Ferreri (Oceanside, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Shrek has grossed over 260 million in the theaters (as of Aug. 14, 2001). That's within .05% of the top grossing animation of all times, Toy Story (@ 262 million). Shrek is a great 3D movie. The 3D computer animation is second, only to Final Fantasy. The story is more involving than what I expected. The voices were well cast and performed. The whole film awsome. I'm sure you're aware of that or you wouldn't be reading this now. It has both adult (clean adult) and kids humor. The writers plagerized just about everyone and it was hilarious. Okay, now for the DVD. This DVD is created as 2 parts. One disc is aimed for the kids and the format is "full Screen" (pan & scan) and includes 17 DVD-ROM games. The other disc is geared more for adults and is letterbox formatted. Both discs have 3 minutes of extended ending that was never scene in the theatrical release. There's 'Making Of' and 'Behind The Scenes'. It encludes 11 hours of extras. There are also running commentaries. This DVD will actually allow you to replace a charector's voice with you own with "Sherk's Revoice Studio" effects. There are 15 minutes of newly animated footage specifically for the DVD interactive menues.. . . . . Shall I go on? . . . There is a sticker on EVERY box saying it's a winner. Each box has eligebility to win a prize, from a Kia car to X-Box game consoles to Baskin Robins Ice cream. So, we have a fantastic movie, the most massive extras features ever on a DVD, and free give-aways. And yould be nuts not to take advantage of this offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Feature Film & 3-D Short, both sold short, May 12, 2004
By 
The Other Eye (Glendale, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shrek/Shrek 3D Double Bill (DVD)
First, there's the Shrek film, which is not only an Academy Award winning Animated film...It's one of the best Films I've ever seen. I HIGHLY recommend that you buy the ASIN=B00003CXXJ version of Shrek which is both Widescreen and Fullscreen DVD, with great extras. The Shrek in this DVD pack is just Full Screen, which is an insult to this amazing film.
Then, there's Shrek 3-D, which is a great "4-D" theme park attraction at Universal Studios. It looses some of it's funniness going from 4-D to 3-D...so see it at the theme park, in all it's glory. Here, it is only presented in Anaglyph (Latin for "annoying"). The 15 minute short is presented in 2 formats, 2-D (why?!?) and Anaglyph (Red/Cyan glasses). Very bad move not to have included a Field Sequential 3-D version, which is what all the 3-D film lovers were readying their wallets for. Anaglyph looks like bad 3-D on all TVs, while Field Sequential looks great, but only works some TVs. Including both would've sold very well.
Lastly...there's NO "Making Of Shrek 3-D" on the 3-D DVD...just 2 versions of a 15 minute short, and an interesting ad/trailer for Shrek 2.
Skip this 2 pack. Buy the Widescreen DVD of Shrek. And hope they re-release Shrek 3-D in Field Sequential 3-D, with a Making Of, as a single DVD, later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shrek is dirty fun, August 26, 2001
If you're looking for something a little less wholesome then Disney, but still well within the limits of 'Family values', then may I recommend Shrek. I have not had this much fun watching a movie in a long time. A fantastically fractured fairy tale that prods fun at every childhood story character and plot line that ever existed. No one is left unscathed, including Disney. There are a few major shameless blasts made at the mouse house enterprise but when it's all over, it's mostly harmless. In fact, you may think it was done out of jealousy. Shrek is incredibly animated, with textures and motions that surpass the famed Toy Story series. Every year computer animation gets better and better and this movie uses it to the fullest extent. There is no better format for this movie either. The number and diversity of the characters is well played out and well displayed in computer generation. Standard animation would not have cut it in this movie. The story line is simple; a large imposing Ogre (voiced by Mike Myers in his perfected Scottish brogue) who only wants to be left alone in his swamp, is suddenly imposed upon by every fairy tale character as they are thrown out of the kingdom. They have nowhere else to go. Out of selfishness, Shrek goes to see Lord Farquaad and ends up striking a deal to rescue a princess in order to get his swamp back. Followed menacingly by a Donkey (Eddie Murphy, in his second and even funnier voiceover roll), Shrek ventures off to a dark Castle to rescue the Princess. Upon doing this, in a spectacular battle scene no less, the three head back to Farquaad. Along the way, Shrek finds more to the princess then he thought he ever would, strangely there is something of a soul mate in this beautiful fairy tale lady. Well played also by Cameron Diaz, she is not your typical royalty. She can very well take care of herself, fighting off bandits in Matrix style kung fu precision and keeping up with Shrek in a display of bodily functions. This all leads up to a nice morality play ending that doesn't push the issue and lends to nice surprise as well. All the actors do a splendid job of voicing their characters. Everyone is alive and flowing. Murphy is especially hilarious, topping his performance as the mini-dragon in Mulan, mainly because he doesn't seem to have to hold back as much. The movie is so well paced that there are no lags, it flows right to the end. Funny, satirical, playful and beautifully animated, this movie holds all the right cards for entertainment. Even if you haven't seen it, I would recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this movie., May 21, 2001
My husband and I wanted to take our 2 year old son to his first movie, and this is the one we chose. We loved it and it kept his attention. We thought it was hilarious and we hope it's out on video by Christmas so we can buy it. Great story, great animation. The soundtrack is AWESOME! I've just ordered it. This movie is a MUST for this summer! I was very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shrek causes shrieks of glee, May 22, 2001
By 
Sitting in the theater, I watched my 6 1/2 year old nephew eat up the bright colors and classic sight gags, while I watched my 25 year old fiancee almost spill his popcorn laughing at the exact same joke. What I really liked about this movies was that duality-that one set of lines can be almost making me wet my pants while the more innocent version is keeping the little guys and gals glued to the screen. I found it to be reminiscent of the first Toy Story and the underlying message is easy for kids of all shapes and sizes to understand without being so cookie cutter sweet and sappy. Score for the big green guy. I'd take him home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instant classic for everyone., November 21, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Go buy this movie. Trust everyone on this. This movie is one of those instant classics that appeal to people of all ages. For the kids you have the amazing animation and fairy tail characters. For adults there is a wonderful story, fantastic characters, and of course those wonderful allusions (made famous in the Simpsons and Toy Story 1+2) that just go right over kids heads but will have you rolling with laughter.
Then animation and attention to detail in this film are nothing short of breathtaking. There are many times you will forget you are watching a computer-animated movie. The characters are all brilliant but the Gingerbread Man and Eddie Murphy as the talking Donkey absolutely steal every scene they are in. If you loved the Toy Stories, or you are breathing, or you even have an ounce of a sense of humor then this movie is absolutely a must have.
The DVD version comes with 2 Disks. Disk one is a Standard TV width. Disk 2 is the real treasure for those with HDTV and surround sound system as it sports anamorphic widescreen (put your TV on full mode and if fills the entire screen without any sort of distortion) and a wonderful DTS soundtrack in addition to the Dolby 5.1. There is also the usual assortment of DVD goodies spread over both disks. One of the more interesting goodies is a Magic Mirror version of The Magic 8 ball. Should you buy this DVD? It is decidedly so.
Why are you still reading this? Click the button to buy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAHAHA this one's a good one!, June 22, 2001
By 
Agent Sonica (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
From the opening scene with the song "All Star," you know you're not in for a normal, predictable animated fairy tale movie. Besides the catchy pop soundtrack, many other scripted fairy-tale rules are thrown out the tower. Shrek the ogre isn't your conventional knght in shining armor- he didn't even want to be. But to make the short, not-so-intimidating villain Lord Farquaad get the fairy-tale animals off his property, he has to rescue the rather typical fairy tale princess Fiona from a tower guarded by a dragon and bring her back to Farquaad. His donkey sidekick, hilariously played by Eddie Murphy, tags along with Shrek. The trip back to the castle makes for many comical adventures. But a fat ugly ogre couldn't possibly get together with a beautiful perfect princess...or maybe...
When I first saw the previews I thought it would be just another dumb kiddie cartoon but when I saw it at the theater, it was hilarious. My fav scene, which had me laughing so hard I almost cried, was the one when Princess Fiona started singing with a bird, and then... Just proves, as the film preaches, you can't judge somrthing until you really get to know it. Finally, we the less-than-perfect-figured-people get our representation in the movies. Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly fun movie, May 20, 2001
By 
David (Kodiak, AK) - See all my reviews
I highly recommend this movie. It's funny and fun to watch. The quality of digital graphics is simply stunning and makes the movie worthwhile just for that; it really is superior to the Toy Story movies. Fortunately, it's not just a special effects wonder. The movie's story stands up on its own too.
It's about Shrek, who's a gruff on the outside but soft inside ogre played my Mike Meyers, who sets off on a quest to rid his swamp of all the fairy tale creatures that have been exiled there, and as his companion for his adventures he has a donkey, voiced by Eddie Murphy.
I would not exactly call this a kid's movie. It is rated PG and they will love it, but most of the humor is actually aimed at adults, and it hits the mark. I laughed all the way through it - something I haven't done at the movies in some time. There are a lot of clever physical gags (pretty much anything that's bodily and gross) centered around Shrek and then there's Murphy's character of the donkey. Murphy's performance here equals anything else he has done. If you are a fan of Eddie Murphy, you won't be disappointed with his character.
This movie is not just one long comedy though. Remember, this is a fairy tale, so there is a romance story going on as well, but it never takes itself too seriously, keeping the movie's light atmosphere from bogging down.
Cameron Diaz as Princess Fiona and John Lithgow as the rotten Farquaad are simply superb. All the actors were well picked for their characters.
You won't regret going to see this show. In fact, you may consider going a second time. I know I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully original animated film for adults as well as kids, May 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrek (Fullscreen) (DVD)
Utterly original, terrific animated film, with great voice performances by Mike Meyers and Eddie Murphy,
written with lots of adult wit and humor. Word play and visual puns abound. You don't have to be a kid to love it,
or have kids to rent or buy it. Charming, sweet, funny and romantic.

Amazing, hip use of music (including John Cale's version of Leonard Cohen's 'Hallelujah'- how's that for obscure?).

On DVD, make sure you get the re-released (or out of pint original) widescreen version, so you don't lose chunks
of the lovely visuals on the sides of the frame.

The new blu-ray/DVD combo is quite strong. I always thought the DVD (the widescreen, not the 'full frame'
version) was really good looking, but the blu-ray still adds some extra, sharpness, depth, and color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational Shrek, May 30, 2001
Shrek is sensational! It is a hilarious and happy family movie; a moral tale for small fry (although it is rated Parental Guidance for mild language and some crude humor) and a laugh-a-thon treat for adults. The animation is more realistic than cartoon. Special tools called "Shapers" (see shrek.com) enabled the animators to imitate actual movement of bone, muscle, fat and skin with a layer of clothing for the human characters and a layer of fur for the animal characters. The result is astounding. Landscapes are especially real as evidenced by water flowing over river rocks in a small creek and a flowing lava moat surrounding the castle. Then there are smoking campfires and dissipating dusty footfalls as the ogre, Shrek, and his wise cracking donkey walk the mountain. Disney defector and now Dream Works partner pokes fun at Main Street Disneyland, Small World and a myriad of "Disneymania". The fairy tales are fractured and innuendoes abound in this hysterical comedy.
My husband and I laughed till we cried and must see Shrek again in order to catch all the humorous tidbits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2157 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shrek (Full Screen Single Disc Edition)
Shrek (Full Screen Single Disc Edition) by Voice of Mike Meyers (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: $1.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.