Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Shrek (Two-Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo)
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 12, 2010
Utterly original, terrific animated film, with great voice performances by Mike Meyers and Eddie Murphy,
written with lots of adult wit and humor. Word play and visual puns abound. You don't have to be a kid to love it,
or have kids to rent or buy it. Charming, sweet, funny and romantic.

Amazing, hip use of music (including John Cale's version of Leonard Cohen's 'Hallelujah'- how's that for obscure?).

On DVD, make sure you get the re-released (or out of pint original) widescreen version, so you don't lose chunks
of the lovely visuals on the sides of the frame.

The new blu-ray/DVD combo is quite strong. I always thought the DVD (the widescreen, not the 'full frame'
version) was really good looking, but the blu-ray still adds some extra, sharpness, depth, and color.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2001
Shrek has grossed over 260 million in the theaters (as of Aug. 14, 2001). That's within .05% of the top grossing animation of all times, Toy Story (@ 262 million). Shrek is a great 3D movie. The 3D computer animation is second, only to Final Fantasy. The story is more involving than what I expected. The voices were well cast and performed. The whole film awsome. I'm sure you're aware of that or you wouldn't be reading this now. It has both adult (clean adult) and kids humor. The writers plagerized just about everyone and it was hilarious. Okay, now for the DVD. This DVD is created as 2 parts. One disc is aimed for the kids and the format is "full Screen" (pan & scan) and includes 17 DVD-ROM games. The other disc is geared more for adults and is letterbox formatted. Both discs have 3 minutes of extended ending that was never scene in the theatrical release. There's 'Making Of' and 'Behind The Scenes'. It encludes 11 hours of extras. There are also running commentaries. This DVD will actually allow you to replace a charector's voice with you own with "Sherk's Revoice Studio" effects. There are 15 minutes of newly animated footage specifically for the DVD interactive menues.. . . . . Shall I go on? . . . There is a sticker on EVERY box saying it's a winner. Each box has eligebility to win a prize, from a Kia car to X-Box game consoles to Baskin Robins Ice cream. So, we have a fantastic movie, the most massive extras features ever on a DVD, and free give-aways. And yould be nuts not to take advantage of this offer.
11 comment|71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2001
If you're looking for something a little less wholesome then Disney, but still well within the limits of 'Family values', then may I recommend Shrek. I have not had this much fun watching a movie in a long time. A fantastically fractured fairy tale that prods fun at every childhood story character and plot line that ever existed. No one is left unscathed, including Disney. There are a few major shameless blasts made at the mouse house enterprise but when it's all over, it's mostly harmless. In fact, you may think it was done out of jealousy. Shrek is incredibly animated, with textures and motions that surpass the famed Toy Story series. Every year computer animation gets better and better and this movie uses it to the fullest extent. There is no better format for this movie either. The number and diversity of the characters is well played out and well displayed in computer generation. Standard animation would not have cut it in this movie. The story line is simple; a large imposing Ogre (voiced by Mike Myers in his perfected Scottish brogue) who only wants to be left alone in his swamp, is suddenly imposed upon by every fairy tale character as they are thrown out of the kingdom. They have nowhere else to go. Out of selfishness, Shrek goes to see Lord Farquaad and ends up striking a deal to rescue a princess in order to get his swamp back. Followed menacingly by a Donkey (Eddie Murphy, in his second and even funnier voiceover roll), Shrek ventures off to a dark Castle to rescue the Princess. Upon doing this, in a spectacular battle scene no less, the three head back to Farquaad. Along the way, Shrek finds more to the princess then he thought he ever would, strangely there is something of a soul mate in this beautiful fairy tale lady. Well played also by Cameron Diaz, she is not your typical royalty. She can very well take care of herself, fighting off bandits in Matrix style kung fu precision and keeping up with Shrek in a display of bodily functions. This all leads up to a nice morality play ending that doesn't push the issue and lends to nice surprise as well. All the actors do a splendid job of voicing their characters. Everyone is alive and flowing. Murphy is especially hilarious, topping his performance as the mini-dragon in Mulan, mainly because he doesn't seem to have to hold back as much. The movie is so well paced that there are no lags, it flows right to the end. Funny, satirical, playful and beautifully animated, this movie holds all the right cards for entertainment. Even if you haven't seen it, I would recommend buying it.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2001
Sitting in the theater, I watched my 6 1/2 year old nephew eat up the bright colors and classic sight gags, while I watched my 25 year old fiancee almost spill his popcorn laughing at the exact same joke. What I really liked about this movies was that duality-that one set of lines can be almost making me wet my pants while the more innocent version is keeping the little guys and gals glued to the screen. I found it to be reminiscent of the first Toy Story and the underlying message is easy for kids of all shapes and sizes to understand without being so cookie cutter sweet and sappy. Score for the big green guy. I'd take him home.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Not unlike "Beauty and the Beast," "Shrek" engages the viewer to know beauty is what is beyond the skin.
The DVD is loaded with extras, but frankly, you might not bother with them. Your kid will play with them, exploring them once or twice, but the movie is the real treat. The mock interviews with the characters are intriguing, and worth watching. The re-voice studio is a hoot, and you'll dig showing it off to your friends, but it loses its novelty soon enough. Because it is a DVD, your kids can watch it into eternity without worry of it wearing out.
Lithgow is very Lithgow, much the same personality as he was on "Third Rock from the Sun."
Cameron Diaz's princess character looks remarkably like her.
Eddie Murphy makes a great sidekick. I was skeptical that he might be too over-the-top, but found his voicings to hit the tone perfectly, with great comedic skill. In short, he's hilarious.
The movie is packed wirth allusions to old great movies and cartoons, mostly Disney, and adults will smile everytime they discover a new line or sequence from a movie they grew up with. Watch for "The Princess Bride," "Robin Hood," "The Sound of Music" and a bevy of other homages.
The ending surprised me, but I'll not spoil it for you.
I fully recommend "Shrek."
Anthony Trendl
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2001
Go buy this movie. Trust everyone on this. This movie is one of those instant classics that appeal to people of all ages. For the kids you have the amazing animation and fairy tail characters. For adults there is a wonderful story, fantastic characters, and of course those wonderful allusions (made famous in the Simpsons and Toy Story 1+2) that just go right over kids heads but will have you rolling with laughter.
Then animation and attention to detail in this film are nothing short of breathtaking. There are many times you will forget you are watching a computer-animated movie. The characters are all brilliant but the Gingerbread Man and Eddie Murphy as the talking Donkey absolutely steal every scene they are in. If you loved the Toy Stories, or you are breathing, or you even have an ounce of a sense of humor then this movie is absolutely a must have.
The DVD version comes with 2 Disks. Disk one is a Standard TV width. Disk 2 is the real treasure for those with HDTV and surround sound system as it sports anamorphic widescreen (put your TV on full mode and if fills the entire screen without any sort of distortion) and a wonderful DTS soundtrack in addition to the Dolby 5.1. There is also the usual assortment of DVD goodies spread over both disks. One of the more interesting goodies is a Magic Mirror version of The Magic 8 ball. Should you buy this DVD? It is decidedly so.
Why are you still reading this? Click the button to buy this movie.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2001
Poor Shrek... all he wants is to be left alone, sadly for shrek the evil king has other ideas. With an abhorrence for any fairy tale creature the evil king has banished them all to another region... this region just happens to be Shrek's backyard. On a mission to clear his swamp of the excess baggage Shrek encounters a talking donkey (masterfully played by Eddie Murphy) an over romantic princess (played well by Cameron Diaz, even if her accent does tend to dissapear and reappear at the strangest moments) and a huge manage of other delightful characters.
This movie is fabulous. The computer graphics are so real that they jump off the screen. The characters emotions, expressions and mannerisms are so real that you can't help but get involved and find them endearing and loveable. The cast it perfect, from Mike Myers to John Lithgow and the script is genius. This is a movie that you and your children will LOVE, your children will love the fairy tale characters and the animations and any adult will find the "grown up" humor to be hilarious. My only warning is that this isn't a movie (even though animated) for small children, they just won't get it. The dialogue is very adult and sometimes raunchy and even the animation won't make the story clear for small children. This movie had my family and I in stitches I guarantee it'll do the same for you, it is a total keeper and a great film for your collection.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2001
Shrek is sensational! It is a hilarious and happy family movie; a moral tale for small fry (although it is rated Parental Guidance for mild language and some crude humor) and a laugh-a-thon treat for adults. The animation is more realistic than cartoon. Special tools called "Shapers" (see shrek.com) enabled the animators to imitate actual movement of bone, muscle, fat and skin with a layer of clothing for the human characters and a layer of fur for the animal characters. The result is astounding. Landscapes are especially real as evidenced by water flowing over river rocks in a small creek and a flowing lava moat surrounding the castle. Then there are smoking campfires and dissipating dusty footfalls as the ogre, Shrek, and his wise cracking donkey walk the mountain. Disney defector and now Dream Works partner pokes fun at Main Street Disneyland, Small World and a myriad of "Disneymania". The fairy tales are fractured and innuendoes abound in this hysterical comedy.
My husband and I laughed till we cried and must see Shrek again in order to catch all the humorous tidbits.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2001
Forget exploding battleships, cheesey love stories and mummies, SHREK is going to be the movie of the summer! It is the most hilarious romp I've seen for ages with what is probably Eddie Murphy's greatest performance to date. It's a great send-up of every fairy tale you've ever loved including quite a few pokes at Disney! It looks fabulous too, even better animation than Pixar's latest movies. This is going to be a SHREK summer.
0Comment|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2001
I highly recommend this movie. It's funny and fun to watch. The quality of digital graphics is simply stunning and makes the movie worthwhile just for that; it really is superior to the Toy Story movies. Fortunately, it's not just a special effects wonder. The movie's story stands up on its own too.
It's about Shrek, who's a gruff on the outside but soft inside ogre played my Mike Meyers, who sets off on a quest to rid his swamp of all the fairy tale creatures that have been exiled there, and as his companion for his adventures he has a donkey, voiced by Eddie Murphy.
I would not exactly call this a kid's movie. It is rated PG and they will love it, but most of the humor is actually aimed at adults, and it hits the mark. I laughed all the way through it - something I haven't done at the movies in some time. There are a lot of clever physical gags (pretty much anything that's bodily and gross) centered around Shrek and then there's Murphy's character of the donkey. Murphy's performance here equals anything else he has done. If you are a fan of Eddie Murphy, you won't be disappointed with his character.
This movie is not just one long comedy though. Remember, this is a fairy tale, so there is a romance story going on as well, but it never takes itself too seriously, keeping the movie's light atmosphere from bogging down.
Cameron Diaz as Princess Fiona and John Lithgow as the rotten Farquaad are simply superb. All the actors were well picked for their characters.
You won't regret going to see this show. In fact, you may consider going a second time. I know I am.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse