Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Rending
I gave this cd 5 stars. It is not well recorded or preserved. It is ridiculously uneven with several weak tracks. BUT THE GEMS! Absolutely nothing I've ever heard from Peter Green or anyone else beats "Need Your Love So Bad". His playing and singing have opened my heart and sent streams of tears down my face countless times. This performance ALONE would rate...
Published on October 4, 2003 by Meho Midjich

versus
39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars got dem blues?
Most Fleetwood Mac discs from the Peter Green era feature a wide divergence of musical genres, given the varying interests of Green, Danny Kirwin and Jeremy Spencer, but this January, 1969 performance at the 4,000 person capacity Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles is deeply rooted in the blues. The band was playing a warm-up set for Frank Zappa that evening, from...
Published on March 12, 2006 by Don Schmittdiel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars got dem blues?, March 12, 2006
This review is from: Shrine 69 (Audio CD)
Most Fleetwood Mac discs from the Peter Green era feature a wide divergence of musical genres, given the varying interests of Green, Danny Kirwin and Jeremy Spencer, but this January, 1969 performance at the 4,000 person capacity Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles is deeply rooted in the blues. The band was playing a warm-up set for Frank Zappa that evening, from which sound engineer Stuart "Dinky" Dawson has culled nine tracks totaling just over forty minutes. I don't consider the opening "track", 'Tune Up', to be a legitimate number as it is, literally, the band tuning up before being introduced.

Fleetwood Mac's 'Shrine '69' can be divided into three segments. In the opening trio of songs, each of the band's guitarists takes a turn performing a traditional blues track. Peter Green opens with the classic, slow-tempo, slightly funky blues sounds of 'If You Be My Baby'. Danny Kirwin, not generally known for his blues compositions, offers up 'Something Inside of Me', and third guitarist Jeremy Spencer follows that with a rendition of James Williamson's 'My Baby Sweet'. Green delivers some guitar leads straight from the gut on the first two tracks, while Spencer's smooth slide guitar graces the third.

The middle segment features three Peter Green compositions, beginning with the familiar, rich and lofty 'Albatross', which Green introduces as "our latest single". Track six, 'Before the Beginning' indulges us in more of Green's blues, with lead guitar runs that seem to make welling tears audible. The final song in this trio is 'Rollin' Man' a jumpin' blues-rock number with a fat, fuzzy lead guitar from Green and a great foundational bass hook from John McVie that drives the tune. It's a five and one-half minute workout that breaks into a raging blues guitar fest for the last two minutes or so.

The closing segment features three covers, the first being James Lane's salacious 'Lemon Squeezer'. It's a bit comical that Amazon reviewer Steven Stolder finds 'Great Balls of Fire' to be the provocative song here, when Green is offering up lyrics like "I'm gonna ride you on the floor, ride you on the bed, ride you lovely Mama, till this thing turns cherry red" on 'Lemon Squeezer', while Jeremy Spencer only uses the word "screw" on 'Great Balls of Fire'. Spencer adds a decent (but uncredited) mouth harp to 'Lemon Squeezer'. Squeezed between the squeezer and the balls of fire is a fantastic seven minute rendition of Willie John's 'Need Your Love So Bad', rendered fantastic by Green's towering lead guitar runs and heartfelt vocals.

A number of people reviewing this disc cite the weak fidelity of the recording as a significant problem. I don't believe the acoustics of the exposition hall, the low-key nature of many of these songs, or the 2-track Ampex recorder being used to document the show could ever add up to a crisp recording. Also, since the recording is decades old, there are a few noticable drop-outs scattered among the selections. But all-in-all the recording quality is certainly not a reason to avoid this release. If you enjoy traditional electric blues, you should find 'Shrine '69' an interesting performance to hear. The artwork is a little strange, but certainly not out of character for the late 1960's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Rending, October 4, 2003
By 
This review is from: Shrine 69 (Audio CD)
I gave this cd 5 stars. It is not well recorded or preserved. It is ridiculously uneven with several weak tracks. BUT THE GEMS! Absolutely nothing I've ever heard from Peter Green or anyone else beats "Need Your Love So Bad". His playing and singing have opened my heart and sent streams of tears down my face countless times. This performance ALONE would rate this cd 5 stars. But, there's the haunting beauty of "Before the Beginning". Out from the muffled recording comes Green's soaring guitar reminding me of how much he influenced Santana. Just beautiful. Also, there's a scalding version of "If You Be My Baby" that has a brief "dropout".
All three of these tracks are "flawed" in some way. Yet they are among the best things I've heard in almost 40 years of listening to music. The power of Green's playing overcomes all, much as is the case with the blues in general. Who complains about the "quality" of Robert Johnson's recordings? This is the BLUES. Its music that MOVES people. If you want slick, pass on this. If you want to experience the most incredible combination of intensity and tenderness, GET THIS CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of the artist, November 26, 2004
By 
J KRUZ (BKLYN NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shrine 69 (Audio CD)
The quality of this recording, while a bit weathered and lackluster in spots, does not overshadow the greatness of the performance.This was my first experience with Peter Green's Mac, and when I first heard this, I realized what all the fuss was about. This performance is at times, scary. Makes me wonder what might have been had the three ill-fated guitarists on this disc not lost their marbles. This disc is stronger than the Tea Party discs, although those are essential too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long-buried Treasure, May 18, 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "rroe22" (Taylor, Mi. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shrine 69 (Audio CD)
This is the live Fleetwood Mac album that you have to have! Some of the others are diluted by the drunken Vince Vance and the Valiants Alter-Ego of the Mac. Here, thankfully, only Great Balls of Fire is a waste of space. The rest is absolutely smoken'
Peter Green just burns, absolutely feroscous playing. Before the Beginning is much better than the final studio version. Listen to the solo and you will understand why B.B. King said Greeny was the only one who made him sweat. The worst thing about the CD is it ends way too soon. This was a warm-up show for The Mothers of Invention and they were time limited that night,too bad because P.G. definetly was ON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mac, July 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrine 69 (Audio CD)
The popular trend today is to rerelease old material from bands long gone or long dead. Some are best left where they rest. But, this recording is supurb. Peter Green shows the stuff that made B.B.King sweat. For those with an aversion to Jeremy Spencer heavey albums, relax, this is Peter Green heavy with only one real Spencer showing. "Shrine" is a cd of what a blues band does best; playing the blues! And, this was the best blues band of the '60s, and maybe ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Fleetwood Mac Blues album currently available, October 27, 2001
This review is from: Shrine 69 (Audio CD)
Peter Green's playing is outstanding on this album, particularly on the poignant "Need Your Love so Bad" and the "achingly beautiful "Before the Beginning". For sheer feel, his playing cannot be bettered. It's a close call but I prefer it to the 3CD Boston set, which although containing some superb guitar work, principally on "Let me Love You", the two versions of "Jumping at Shadows" and "Black Magic Woman", is over-long, and rather uneven because it suffers from too much Jeremy Spencer, whose Elmore James impersonations on slide guitar were far too repetitive, (I also find the rock and roll tracks somewhat tedious). By comparison, this set is taut, pertinent and I believe, showcases the band at their fluent best.
I just wish there were more tracks gathering dust in a vault somewhere...
Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A FLAT MAC, July 20, 1999
This review is from: Shrine 69 (Audio CD)
This is a beautifully recorded, nicely packaged, thoughtfully performed, live, archive set from the Greatest White Blues Band ever... and it's as lifeless as hell. Featuring as it does the awesomely able and entertaining late sixties lineup of Peter Green, Danny Kirwan and the supremely loony Jeremy Spencer and some rare songs, this is more than a little disappointing. The problems of this disc have nothing to do with performance, Green in particular plays with his usual fire and verve and on "need your love so bad" surpasses the studio version and there are many great individual moments throughout. No, the problems of this disc lie in the the sequencing and mix, both of which drain the life out of this live recording. First, the sequencing, credited to one Mick Fleetwood: Due to the limitations of the single disc format the concert has been edited. While this has been done in the past with memorable results, here it just sounds disjointed and, due to the mid-tempo pace of most of the selections, one dimensional and plodding. Fleetwood has nobly picked some rare and/or under appreciated numbers but there is just no flow or dynamic to these "live" proceedings. Secondly, while the sound is immaculate,the mix is wildly unbalanced. The vocals and lead guitars are as clean and clear as can be yet for some reason the powerhouse team of Fleetwood and McVie sound like they're grooving from somewhere in the distance. Same with the other "backing instruments". On "lemon squeezer" this fault is emphasized to it's fullest when, if you listen real close, there is evidence of Jeremy Spencer's funky piano way in the back. Turn him up! As a result there is none of the cohesion and interplay within the band that was so well documented on the Live at the BBC set even though this is technically a "better recording". Perhaps there were some bum notes or other glitches that needed to be covered or removed. One just wishes they had just put this stuff out in it's original squence, warts-and-all, extending it to two discs if neccessary. This comes to you from a true fan and who will probably play this often out of true love for this special band but I would certainly recommend Live at the BBC or any one of the Boston Tea Party discs over this set to the uninitiated who want to experience the power, beauty and humor of the original Mac. By the way folks..THERE IS NO BLUE SUEDE SHOES ON THIS ALBUM!(too dirty mick?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb archive recording by the blues-era Fleetwood Mac, June 4, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrine 69 (Audio CD)
Anyone that doubts that the Peter Green-era Fleetwood Mac was one of the '60s finest white blues bands should listen to this exquisite disc. The ten-cut album dates from a show at the Shrine in L.A. in 1969. It features superb fidelity given the age and captures the Mac at its blues peak. From the passionate opener "If You'll Be My Baby" it is evident that this is a band with potent mix of power and sensitivity. The three guitar players, Peter Green, Jeremy Spencer and Danny Kirwan, don't opt for excess but make every note count. This is best exemplified in a great take of B.B. King's "Need Your Love So Bad" and a wonderful version of their own instrumental "Albatross." The latter shows Green's delicate and intricate phrasing. Green's playing is also exceptional in "Before the Beginning" where his fluid leads soar with majestic qualities. Spencer also shines with some precise slide work in "My Baby Sweet." Other highlights are a guttural take of "Lemon Squeezer" and a buoyant rendition of Jerry Lee Lewis's "Great Balls of Fire" which finds Spencer clunking away at the piano and singing like a man possessed. Ultimately this is a must for fans, even though they have been swamped with archive Fleetwood Mac material of late. This is one of the best. It also serves as a great place for uninitiated to start discovering one of the great British blues bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful blues guitar solos, September 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrine 69 (Audio CD)
I recently learned that Fleetwood Mac started as a blues band with an amazing guitar player named Peter Green. Wow, am I glad I bought this album! It is full of hauntingly beautiful guitar solos, where every note fits perfectly, where the whole is infinitely greater than the sum of its parts. Highly recommended to people who like blues guitar, but the vocals are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the anti-hype, the sound quality is pretty good!, September 7, 2007
By 
J. Mutch "Some Guy" (Cambridge, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shrine 69 (Audio CD)
Apart from the superb sound quality of the Live in Boston series, recorded in 1970, this is the next one to get. Recorded in 1969, the live version of 'Albatross' (this is reason enough to get it). The live recordings from '68 and '67 are sadly, too murky to really appreciate. I put off buying this for years 'cause so many Green era FM live recordings were of poor quality but this is actually pretty good. If you can't get enough Green, this will be a nice addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shrine '69
Shrine '69 by Fleetwood Mac
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.