Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out Loud Funny!
Everyone gets caught up from time to time on those parts of our life we 'think' need improvement, this story is a great testimony to the fact that the grass isn't always greener on the other side and sometimes people get way too hung up on little things (Erm... no pun intended). It's an awesome look into a man's mind and somehow comforting to know they have just as many...
Published on December 6, 2010 by R. L. Merryman

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn
So an ugly, fat balding guy has a hot girlfriend and a small package. Girlfriend leaves him for that small problem, rather than his other faults. So he decides to add some pills to the other dubious supplements he's taking, which gives him a horse sized trouser snake, more hair and lots of muscles in the space of a week. This of course leads to multiple sexual...
Published on July 10, 2011 by Park Ave


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out Loud Funny!, December 6, 2010
By 
R. L. Merryman (Westminster, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shrinkage (Kindle Edition)
Everyone gets caught up from time to time on those parts of our life we 'think' need improvement, this story is a great testimony to the fact that the grass isn't always greener on the other side and sometimes people get way too hung up on little things (Erm... no pun intended). It's an awesome look into a man's mind and somehow comforting to know they have just as many hang-ups as we women do. Nothing heavy or life-altering here just a devilishly fun read that will make you laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no shrinkage of laughs, December 8, 2010
By 
This review is from: Shrinkage (Kindle Edition)
never heard of Luke Young, but he writes a pretty funny debut novel. Twistedly funny and entertaining. If you are male or have a penis or know someone who has a penis, you'll get a kick out of it. And at $5 you really can't complain about the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, December 20, 2010
By 
Shannon Thompson (Cockeysville, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: shrinkage (Paperback)
After numerous rants on the late night Postivac infomercials, and that Medicare will fund a fix for the broken male I just had to take a second look when I saw this book. I found it very humorous and entertaining. It brings a comic twist to the topic of male enhancement. Proves the old saying bigger is not always better!! :) Also a reminder that No, you might not want to know what is going on behind that closed door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, July 10, 2011
By 
Park Ave (Near Boardwalk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrinkage (Kindle Edition)
So an ugly, fat balding guy has a hot girlfriend and a small package. Girlfriend leaves him for that small problem, rather than his other faults. So he decides to add some pills to the other dubious supplements he's taking, which gives him a horse sized trouser snake, more hair and lots of muscles in the space of a week. This of course leads to multiple sexual encounters because all women instantly know and MUST sleep with the loser they used to ignore when they find out he's packing. Comedy follows.

After awhile, I just got bored. Yeah, it's a funny book, but there are only so many schlong jokes out there. If anyone made porn films with plot anymore, this would be a good script. So, I'm giving 2 stars to the script for a porno.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raunchy and funny, like a good R-rated movie in novel form, December 23, 2010
This review is from: Shrinkage (Kindle Edition)
Men who like a good Judd Apatow movie like 40 YEAR-OLD VIRGIN and women who appreciated the racy humor in SEX AND THE CITY should enjoy this book. Don't let the super-raunchy prologue fool you, this book is crude, but super funny and has a little bit of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun reading!, June 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrinkage (Kindle Edition)
I picked this one up as a freebie filler--faced with 3 highly anticipated books all getting published on one day I couldn't decide which to read, so I read this instead. It was a good choice.

The book is relatively short--3200 'kindle locations' worth of reading for the story, plus the intro to the author's next published book. The focus is on an average guy with somewhat less than average endowments and a series of life events that lets him live on the other side for awhile. The conflicts are mild, the spiciness is R-rated (mostly), and the humor is definitely present--more than one 'he did not just go there' moments! I think the only obvious joke missing was the 'it's not the size of the ship, but the motion of the ocean' one.

I do believe this is the author's first book...and it does show a tad, but thankfully he had the help of an editor and this makes the book a lot better than a lot of the other indie stuff out there. This was good enough I now have his next title on my 'to buy list' (I still have those other three books to read still...).

I do recommend downloading a sample, but I'm pretty sure the title, book description and cover do a great job of letting you know what you are getting into. I very much enjoyed this read!

Recommended!

JTG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars refreshing., December 29, 2010
By 
This review is from: Shrinkage (Kindle Edition)
excellent book. the author stays in the subject and never loses the reader. laugh out funny, remarkably clever. read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, November 15, 2013
By 
Ms M (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrinkage (Kindle Edition)
If you're a fan of Christopher Moore, you'll like Luke Young, and seriously, that's just about the best compliment any writer could ever ask for :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Starts out mediocre and gets bad...really bad, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrinkage (Kindle Edition)
I follow the rule that you should give a book 100-(your age) number of pages before giving up. Well, I was somewhat hooked early on and I was still reading after the required number of pages. However, about 75% of the way through it and I am putting it down. I am sick of the constant same joke, the idiotic, clueless, and downright ignorant characters, not to mention the poor writing. The prose of this "novel" reminds me of what I would expect from a 8th grade C- student.

I really wanted to push myself to finish it since I don't like putting a book down half way, but this book just isn't worth my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good start, doesn't hold up, February 25, 2012
This review is from: Shrinkage (Kindle Edition)
The author has a good sense of humor, and that is apparent from the first few chapters. A few good laughs and an interesting beginning. But then the book devolves into a bit of a whinefest...Truth be told, I actually didn't even finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shrinkage
Shrinkage by Luke Young
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.