Buy Used
$4.00
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: In very good condition, no marks in text. Ships immediately from an amazon warehouse!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Shut Up and Eat!: Mangia with the Stories and Recipes from Your Favorite Italian-American Stars Paperback – October 3, 2006


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$2.98 $0.01

Three Many Cooks
Three Many Cooks ladles out the highs and lows, the kitchen disasters and culinary triumphs, the bitter fights and lasting love. Learn more | See more cooking memoirs
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Today Only: Up to 80% Off Books from Best-Selling Series on Kindle
Discover a new series or continue reading your favorite. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley (October 3, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425211770
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425211779
  • Product Dimensions: 7.5 x 0.8 x 9.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,503,177 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

The title notwithstanding, there's lots of talk in this compilation and relatively few recipes. Thirty-nine Italian-American actors discuss their childhoods, their careers and their big, happy families, emphasizing the importance of food for their sense of identity. The recipes are all home style and unpretentious; a few come from the actors' favorite restaurants like Da Silvano in Manhattan, but many were handed down through the generations. Accordingly, at times the instructions are a little vague and simplistic for novice cooks, who may struggle with the lack of detail in recipes such as Talia Shire's Thanksgiving Gnocchi and Michael Rispoli's Mussels and Clams Campania Style. In general, though, the dishes are easy, quintessential Italian comfort foods, like Michael Imperioli's Spaghetti Carbonara and Edie Falco's Fettucine Alfredo. The bulk of the recipes are for entrees of pasta, fish and meat, though there are a few soups and vegetable sides and a smattering of desserts. Many cooks will already have mastered most of the items; the book is really for fans of The Godfather and The Sopranos, who will love the actors' endearing anecdotes about washing dishes, adored relatives and eating on set, and who might be inspired to try one of the dishes they recommend so enthusiastically. Photos.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Tony Lip originates from the Bronx, New York. He worked for twelve years at the world-famous Copacabana Nightclub in New York City. At the Copa, he played host to the most famous personalities of the era, including Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett and Bobby Darin. Lip then went on to a career in acting. He got his first big break when he was cast in the hit film, The Godfather. Since then he has appeared in several major motion pictures including Crazy Joe, The Pope of Greenwich Village, The Year of the Dragon, Honor Thy Fathers, Goodfellas, and Donnie Brasco. He was most recently featured as the New York mob boss Carmine Lupertazzi on the hit HBO series, The Sopranos.
Steven Priggé has written three previous books. He is the co-author of the Italian-American celebrity cookbook Shut Up and Eat!, and the author of Movie Moguls Speak and Created By. Priggé also writes freelance articles for one of the most widely read food magazines in the world, Bon Appetit, as well as for other top publications such as Written By and MovieMaker. He lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
67%
4 star
28%
3 star
6%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 18 customer reviews
The stories and recipes are great and yummy!
Teri Loucks
The smells that permeate the neighborhood are the same that eminate from the pages of this wonderful work of art.
J. Folino
You get hungry just reading the recipes in this book.
Ellen Zulka

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Ronald H. Bard on October 5, 2005
Format: Hardcover
What can I say beside Madone!! I grew up in the bronx and have traveled the world. Now, I live in upstate NY I have been married for 20 years and love my wife but she can't cook...until now, she bought "Shut Up And Eat" and thats what I do I shut Up Eat and read all of my favorite stars stories..wow I feel like I grew up with them....... I just ordered 11 more for christmas presents!!! ho ho ho
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By J. Folino on October 19, 2005
Format: Hardcover
I am a proud Italian-American and this book "Shut Up and Eat" is as good as it gets. Ironically, I was born and raised in a town in western Penna. ( Ambridge) .. just a few miles from the birthplace of "The Lip" (Beaver Falls) In my family, Grandparents included, the term "Statta ziti, e Mangia" ( Shut up and Eat) was the watchword throughout my childhood. Not in the harsh tone one may think, but with love and tenderness, simply stating to not talk at the table and enjoy the food prepared for you.
Each version in the book brought back memories of my childhood and remembering the '30's and the depression and the hard times that followed. But as in the book, my mother had a knack for taking the simplest of ingriedients and turning them into a fantastic "feast".Dad always provided a small garden and even with the short summer of PA we were able to have some fresh produce to enhance our meals. A window box "garden" as well provided the pungent herbs that made each meal an experience.The one item that was always necessary to be added while cooking was... Love. Love in the preparation and Love in the sharing of the food.
The recipes contained in the book could very well have come from my mothers kitchen.My Mothers parents were from Naples and my Father came from Catanzaro, Reggio Calabria and the diversity of styles gave me the best of both worlds.
After service in WWII and Korea I moved to Calif. and after 45 years in the Food Service business I utilized all I had learned from friends and relatives. Friends and family have enjoyed my cooking for years and I am proud to say ... no one has ever left my home hungry! My kitchen is my "palace" and my wife of 28 years teases me by stating .." the stove never cools off in our home".
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Evan Levine on October 10, 2005
Format: Hardcover
As a kid who grew up in Brooklyn, NY, I always enjoyed running over to our Italian friends for dinner - our family is Jewish. These recipes remind me of the old style Italian cooking I used to enjoy at our neighbors and its great knowing what these big stars enjoy. If your kind of Italian food is a can of Ragu then this might not be for you but if you love to sautee garlic in olive and enjoy a real sauce then this is the source for your next meal.

Evan S. Levine, MD

Author of "What Your Doctor Won't (or Can't) Tell You "
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By seymour sherm on October 12, 2005
Format: Hardcover
My partner and I love to watch the sopranos but we cannot cook as good as those guys do. So my buddy said to me, hey Sherm lets buy this book about all the Italian stars and see if we can make the same food. It's hard getting some of the ingedients up where we live but we made do and we are enjoying the food. We read the pages and fantasize about sitting down with some of the actors .

Sincerely, Seymour Sherm
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Arthur Avenue Guy on January 24, 2006
Format: Hardcover
I can't really put into words how perfect this cookbook is. Every story and every recipe brings back so many memories. If you are Italian American and love Italian American actors and Italian American food, this is THE BOOK to buy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Michael A. Coluccio on November 10, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A light, pleasant read, which I finished at one sitting. What I found even more entertaining than the cooking formulas provided were the anecdotes and personal recollections of those who furnished the recipes, just one great story after another. Tony Lip (who I'm sure many of you would recognize on the big screen even if you don't know the name) coauthored this collection with Steven Prigge. This book is packed with simple, mouth-watering dishes (many of which, while popular in today's health-oriented culture, were considered inexpensive "peasant food" back then) furnished by such celebrated Italian-American personalities as Danny Aiello, Robert Loggia, Chazz Palminteri, Frank "Frankie No" Pellegrino (who co-owns and manages Rao's in East Harlem), Sonny Grosso (one of the real-life detectives involved in the infamous "French Connection" case on which both the book and movie were based), James Gandolfini, Michael Imperioli and Dominic Chianese, to mention only a few. As an Italian-American myself, I can relate to the happy, boisterous family gatherings which took place on Sundays and holidays when I was growing up, a tradition that, unfortunately, seems to be waning. But even if you're not Italian, and would simply like to know what life was like among many immigrants and first-generation Americans not too many years ago, I think it's a good bet that you'll enjoy "Shut Up and Eat" as much as I did.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By The Answer Grape on October 13, 2005
Format: Hardcover
The book is just one great story after another, a great insight into the personal lives of some great actors. Many times we think of these master actors as the characters they play, because of there talent, we forget that they lived a life much like you and me. We learn about there roots and how food influenced there lives and in the process I am reminded of my childhood and the influence foods had on me. Great recipes that have been in there families for years.Great tips on places to get just some real good food to eat. All in All just Great Reading
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?