Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now HTL

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: In very good condition, no marks in text. Ships immediately from an amazon warehouse!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Shut Up and Eat!: Mangia with the Stories and Recipes from Your Favorite Italian-American Stars Paperback – October 3, 2006

4 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Paperback, October 3, 2006
"Please retry"
$1.98 $0.01

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

The title notwithstanding, there's lots of talk in this compilation and relatively few recipes. Thirty-nine Italian-American actors discuss their childhoods, their careers and their big, happy families, emphasizing the importance of food for their sense of identity. The recipes are all home style and unpretentious; a few come from the actors' favorite restaurants like Da Silvano in Manhattan, but many were handed down through the generations. Accordingly, at times the instructions are a little vague and simplistic for novice cooks, who may struggle with the lack of detail in recipes such as Talia Shire's Thanksgiving Gnocchi and Michael Rispoli's Mussels and Clams Campania Style. In general, though, the dishes are easy, quintessential Italian comfort foods, like Michael Imperioli's Spaghetti Carbonara and Edie Falco's Fettucine Alfredo. The bulk of the recipes are for entrees of pasta, fish and meat, though there are a few soups and vegetable sides and a smattering of desserts. Many cooks will already have mastered most of the items; the book is really for fans of The Godfather and The Sopranos, who will love the actors' endearing anecdotes about washing dishes, adored relatives and eating on set, and who might be inspired to try one of the dishes they recommend so enthusiastically. Photos.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Tony Lip originates from the Bronx, New York. He worked for twelve years at the world-famous Copacabana Nightclub in New York City. At the Copa, he played host to the most famous personalities of the era, including Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett and Bobby Darin. Lip then went on to a career in acting. He got his first big break when he was cast in the hit film, The Godfather. Since then he has appeared in several major motion pictures including Crazy Joe, The Pope of Greenwich Village, The Year of the Dragon, Honor Thy Fathers, Goodfellas, and Donnie Brasco. He was most recently featured as the New York mob boss Carmine Lupertazzi on the hit HBO series, The Sopranos.
Steven Priggé has written three previous books. He is the co-author of the Italian-American celebrity cookbook Shut Up and Eat!, and the author of Movie Moguls Speak and Created By. Priggé also writes freelance articles for one of the most widely read food magazines in the world, Bon Appetit, as well as for other top publications such as Written By and MovieMaker. He lives in New York City.

Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley (October 3, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425211770
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425211779
  • Product Dimensions: 7.5 x 0.8 x 9.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,922,657 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Larry Gold on March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase
A fun cook book dealing with all meals Italian - or at least, Italian American. Some fun stories to go with it. Nicely packaged in its shipping to me...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By T. Tommy Tucker on May 18, 2013
Verified Purchase
Enjoyed the book very much. I am of Italian ancestry and found the comments about Italian / American stars particularly interesting.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By C. Dunn on December 2, 2014
Verified Purchase
Book was delivered with no problem or delay.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Michelle Vallelonga on August 12, 2007
Tony Lip is my fathers cousin so you think that I am just saying that this is the best cookbook ever.... Please read on. This book has many great stories surrounded by great recipes. You need to try each and everyone in the book. I so love his wife's meatballs. MMMMMMM Yummy! Along with others Tony has worked with, including their stories and recipes that are out of this world. I would love to see more cookbooks like this.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?