Customer Reviews


251 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sky's The Limit
Shut Up and Kiss Me centers on the small town of Precious Texas - but for many of the characters in this largely Native American/Hispanic town - it was anything but "precious". This book started out hilarious and within the first 6 pages had me grinning from ear to ear like a mad fool at some of the antics the characters had to endure especially poor Jose, who was one of...
Published on June 3, 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So-So Read at Best
With many story lines going at one time, this ends up being a confusing read. Yes it is light and fluffy, but a reader shouldn't need a score card to keep straight what story belongs to whom.

When we meet the protagonists it is just after Shala who is trying to help the mayor of the city of Precious Texas encourage more tourism. Shala has gone to a Pow-wow...
Published on April 10, 2012 by Dianne E. Socci-Tetro


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sky's The Limit, June 3, 2010
By 
Shut Up and Kiss Me centers on the small town of Precious Texas - but for many of the characters in this largely Native American/Hispanic town - it was anything but "precious". This book started out hilarious and within the first 6 pages had me grinning from ear to ear like a mad fool at some of the antics the characters had to endure especially poor Jose, who was one of many memorable secondary characters. He seemed to be on the receiving end of the funny (or not) torture dished out by the author upon her poor unsuspecting characters. Rushing home to Precious after his father Redfoot sustains a nasty head injury, poor Jose had a car crash, fire ants making a picnic out of his family jewels and then being sprayed by a skunk and that wasn't even half of what he had to endure on his first night back in his not so precious home town (his character must have seriously pissed Craig off while she was writing this book LOL!). Hopefully Jose merits his own story in a future installment about the citizens of Precious because I can't wait to see what additional torture Craig cooks up for him.

Shala Winters just wanted to do the job she was hired to do by the Mayor of Precious; take pictures that showcase the town and prepare a marketing campaign to turn this little town into a Texas tourist attraction. She hasn't been in town a day when her very expensive Nikon camera gets confiscated at the local Indian Pow-Wow by a headdress-wearing, loincloth sporting, hard-bodied, oiled-up bare-chested Adonis who makes her girl parts tingle. So Shala may have broken the strict "NO Picture" policy by not handing over her camera (heeelllo? it's worth $8,000) before attending the ceremony, but she didn't take the flash picture she's been accused of taking. And she certainly can't do her job if the pig-headed, hotter-than-a-firecracker thief won't give her back her camera for a week.

Sky Gomez *sigh*. Yes you may be surprised to learn that Sky is the name of the MALE lead character in Shut up and Kiss Me. Even though it's an unusual name for a man, it actually fits him and don't let his name fool you or deter you from picking up this book to read because he's all man. Sky doesn't believe all the mumbo-jumbo soul-mate crap his foster father Redfoot saw in a dream and has been spewing lately (mmmm wonder who that soul-mate might be?), but when he spies the blond in the crowd at the Pow-Wow, her camera in hand and then an incriminating flash, he senses that trouble is just beginning with the newest addition in Precious. And taking her camera hostage (even if he does believe she may not have been the culprit snapping a photo), he can't help getting a rise out of Shala because teasing her is just too damn much fun.

Who knew one little camera and it's potentially incriminating contents could cause so much havoc in this Precious town. A chain reaction of events puts Shala's life in danger and working together, Sky and Shala attempt to uncover why someone is so hot-to-trot to get their hands on Shala's camera bad enough that they are willing to kill for it.

Sky and Shala had such a fun, sexy relationship and sizzle-worthy hot romance. These two are by far the stars of the show, but the supporting characters are really well developed and contribute greatly to the overall story. You can't help but be captivated by Redfoot, Jose and Maria as well as the secretive best friend Lucas (who I hope gets his own story too!).

Shut up and Kiss Me is the perfect blend of a highly entertaining, funny yet suspenseful romance and if this book isn't on your TBR pile than you are missing out. Shut Up...and go buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So-So Read at Best, April 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shut Up and Kiss Me (Kindle Edition)
With many story lines going at one time, this ends up being a confusing read. Yes it is light and fluffy, but a reader shouldn't need a score card to keep straight what story belongs to whom.

When we meet the protagonists it is just after Shala who is trying to help the mayor of the city of Precious Texas encourage more tourism. Shala has gone to a Pow-wow and instead of leaving her extremely expensive camera at the door to possibly get stolen, she takes it with her but does NOT take any pictures. That is against the rules. At the end of the Pow-Wow someone near her takes a picture and Shala is blamed and her camera is taken by Sky, the police Chief and a member of the Pow-Wow. There is a lot of stupid innuendo as to how if she pretty much begs at the end of the week (that is how long they confiscate the camera) and offers to shine Sky's boots she may get her camera back.

Right her is where I would have normally stopped reading and just trashed this book. But I had loved some of Ms Craig's other books and decided to keep going. I'm sorry I did as it wasted hours of my time that I could have spent reading something that didn't make my blood boil. I never realized that I could get so incensed by a man belittling (even in jest) a woman like that. I pout up with it in my historical romance because it is expected that they aren't writing about the 21st century. But upset I was. Yes it is fiction and just a story, but I had expected better from this author.

There is an ongoing joke about mustard and how it is good for b urns...it wasn't cute or funny.

And of course there has to be an ongoing investigation that forces Sky and Shala into closeness. The relationship felt forced and false, the adding of danger, was at best confusing at worst silly. The secondary and tertiary stories were actually more interesting than the main plot. The narrative was OK and the characterizations were just so-so. The best thing about this book was the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Romp With a Bit of a Bite, June 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Shala Winters was hired by the mayor of the small town of Precious, Texas to create and launch a PR campaign to draw some tourism to his struggling town, but there's no way she would've guessed that there was so little precious about Precious. Within the first twenty-four hours of being within the town's limits, Shala has had her lunch stolen and her leg amorously assaulted by a stray dog, her expensive camera stolen right out of her hands, been followed by a strange vehicle, had a whole town stonewall her, been accused of breaking the rules of a Native American ceremony, forced to dance disco in a disreputable establishment with a lecherous bar owner, pushed into a contentious disagreement with the sheriff of the town...who was the one who stole her camera and refused to give it back to her, almost assaulted by a man carrying a gun, cut her hand badly enough to need stitches, and was forced to go to a hospital, a place that had given her panic attacks since having watched her parents die in one when she was eight years old.

Shala is not having a good day.

Neither is the sheriff of the town, Sky Gomez. Everyone in town knows that his foster father had a spirit dream that pegged Shala as his soul mate even before she reached town, so Sky did what any dedicated bachelor who doesn't believe in love (let alone soul mates) would do (no matter how sexy Shala is). He avoided her like the plague. Sure, he followed her around town...no, not stalking...to keep an eye on her...that's really not stalking...because half the town was quite vocal about not wanting her there...so that definitely means it's not stalking! Then she gets eyeball to groin with him during a powwow and seems pretty enthusiastic about it with that camera of hers. That's against all sorts of his rules. So he confiscated it. Then the entire town starts calling his house to let him know that Blue Eyes is looking for both him and her camera before the spitfire herself shows up on his porch in all her gorgeous...if blathering...glory. Then his foster father is attacked during a break in at the lodge and his own house is almost broken into while he's at the hospital with him. And for some reason, Blue Eyes' camera seems to be the motivation behind all of it. Whatever Shala took a picture of has targeted her for danger and the assaults and danger keep coming. Sky's determined to keep the sexy woman safe and Shala just wants to leave. That's unacceptable to Sky and not just because he's the one who wanted her there to save the town.

With a fast and funny plot that provides a seemingly endless sequence of increasingly threatening events that include some not so funny situations, like a good friend being shot and almost killed and a man murdered, Shut Up and Kiss Me rockets out of the gate and doesn't slow down until the last page turns. The searing heat of a Texas summer pales in comparison to the fiery chemistry that sparks between the prickly and strong willed Shala and the protective and steady Sky. This particular unstoppable force and immovable object relationship provides a surprisingly wide variety of meaty exchanges that are at times sweet and other times sexy as hell as they start to fall for one another.

Around them, relationships of all sorts are also put to the test as the miles between an estranged father and son need to be breached and hearts have to be won for more than one couple. I have to admit, there's a lot that goes on in Shut Up and Kiss Me, and I really enjoyed all of it. I loved Sky and Shala and their relationship as it developed, but I wasn't as happy with the plot threads of his foster father's romance problems or those of Sky's foster sister. I didn't mind them for what they were, exactly, and they certainly added depth to the story as it was happening...not to mention I don't think I've ever read a character be as helplessly beat up as Jose was throughout this book, poor guy...but the resolution of all of those other issues felt, to me, to be a distraction to the conclusion of the suspenseful part of this story and a detriment to the romantic conclusion between Sky and Shala.

Still, the narrative is a fast, flowing, and surprisingly complex piece of work and the plot was built and developed with a lot of meat on its bones, not to mention a lot of really funny moments that made me laugh out loud (sorry, Jose, but mostly at your expense), and the relationship between Sky and Shala was sweet, at times endearingly bumbling, and sexy. I was surprised, actually, that the conclusion to the suspense was as dark as it was, given the tone of the rest of the book, and while I don't think it blended so well, it didn't detract from this charming and fun read.

Shut Up and Kiss Me was my first experience with Christie Craig's books but I can guarantee it won't be my last. This was a solid (if lighter than some) romantic suspense read that had many more comedic moments than I was anticipating. Very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shut Up and Kiss Me, July 11, 2010
It's photojournalist Shala Winters's job to make the small town of Precious, Texas look appealing to tourists. Too bad her camera has been confiscated by the stubborn, infuriating, all-too-tempting chief of police, Sky Gomez. The sexy lawman refuses to hand over the Nikon, especially when it becomes clear someone's after whatever pictures Shala has stored on her camera.

A series of break-ins turn into attacks that lead to murder and Sky isn't about to let Shala out of his sight until the killer is caught. Danger's almost as powerful an aphrodisiac as love, but is there a future for a small-town cop and a motor-mouthed photojournalist? Maybe there is.... if Sky can get Shala to shut up and kiss him.

Nobody can mix romance, action, and humor quite like Christie Craig. Shut Up and Kiss Me is the latest gem from this wonderfully talented author and, like all of Ms. Craig's books, it shines. Both Shala and Sky are hard-working, generous souls with a lot of love to give. It was so much fun to watch them butt heads in the beginning, but it was even more of a pleasure to see them fall in love.

A cast of endearing secondary characters add another layer of charm to Shut Up and Kiss Me. I confess, I adored Sky's family and friends every bit as much as I did him and I sincerely hope Ms. Craig has a book planned for Sky's sexy, Scrabble-loving friend Lucas. All in all, I adored Shut Up and Kiss Me. There's a comfort in curling up with a book that you know will make you laugh, smile, and sigh and I plan on enjoying that bit of comfort with Shut Up and Kiss Me many times over.

Shayna
Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but..., November 17, 2010
It was entertaining but definitely not in the same category as Evanovich. It had its humorous parts but mostly I felt that some of the characters were one dimensional. I didn't get a lot of the "whys" characters felt the way they did. Okay, she told us but it wasn't discussed amongst the hero and heroine and you never really felt it. I would read another but probably from the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, September 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shut Up and Kiss Me (Kindle Edition)
Maybe I expected more since the book starts off pretty good but about half way through I couldn't wait to finish. The story is not the worst I ever read but I prefer something with more "meat" to it. If you're young (20's, maybe 30's) you might enjoy this book with the love, attraction, flirting, etc. But for someone like me, age 50-something, it's way below my enjoyment level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, July 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shut Up and Kiss Me (Kindle Edition)
SHUT UP AND KISS ME carries on Christie Craig's marvelous sense of humor and astounding sense of pace. Her characters fall in love and trip over danger at a right good clip that keeps the reader engrossed. This time the town is aptly named Precious as it's precious enough to its residents for them to want to promote it by hiring Shala Winters to work up a publicity campaign. Little does she know she's set off a murderer intent on grabbing her camera because she's somehow taken an incriminating photo among the innocuous photos of Precious. Shala's life takes a turn for the worse when she runs afoul of the hot town sheriff Sky, who first snatches her camera because he believes she's broken a rule against photographing the tribe's sacred ceremony. While Shala and Sky dance around their attraction to each other, supporting characters are alternately interfering or causing comic mayhem of their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a page-turner!, June 17, 2010
Shala Winters is a photojournalist hired by the town of Precious. The town is made up predominately of Native Americans from the Chitiwa tribe. Her job is to capture the highlights of the town to increase tourism. Trouble is some of the town doesn't want her there.

When Shala's camera is confiscated, the real trouble begins. Someone is after her camera and it didn't matter if they killed in order to get it. Now that Shala's life is in danger, it's up to the Sheriff Sky Gomez to protect her. Little does he know how much this simple task will cost him.

SHUT UP AND KISS ME is my first experience with author Christie Craig and it won't be my last. There is so much going on in this book, but not so much that the story became lost or bogged down. Not only is there a love interest between Shala and Sky, but between Maria, Sky's foster sister, and Matt as well as Redfoot, Sky's foster father and Veronica. Normally I like the story to just focus on one couple, but this was done so well and I dearly loved all the characters.

It's my hope there will be another book with Lucas as the main character. He didn't find love in SHUT UP AND KISS ME and I was so hoping he would too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and funny book, August 17, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved this book! The story was great and I laughed SO many times! My kids kept looking at me strange and asking what was so funny. I won't spoil any of the funny moments, but I will say the author did a great job and I could really picture in my mind all of the hilarious things happening in detail. I normally only "order" the free books for my kindle. I bought this one and it was so worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT, September 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shut Up and Kiss Me (Kindle Edition)
Could NOT stop reading it!! Wonderful read. I wish it was a series so I could keep reading more. Written very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Shut Up and Kiss Me
Shut Up and Kiss Me by Christie Craig
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.