Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, to be exiled to this Siberia!
Once one gets past the required Marxist dialectic ("rich people bad, poor people good"), there is nothing less than splendid about this Soviet film. The cinematography alone is breathtaking, and the irony of the more adventuresome characters' constant refrain, "They can't exile you any further than Siberia!" is not lost.
The "underdog"...
Published on October 9, 2003 by Kelly L. Norman

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confusing and disjointed
As a classic it really does not cut it.
The movie had its moments but was poorly edited and directed. Would not call it a classic.
Published 9 months ago by G Holleran


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, to be exiled to this Siberia!, October 9, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Siberiade [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Once one gets past the required Marxist dialectic ("rich people bad, poor people good"), there is nothing less than splendid about this Soviet film. The cinematography alone is breathtaking, and the irony of the more adventuresome characters' constant refrain, "They can't exile you any further than Siberia!" is not lost.
The "underdog" family in the film produces men in each generation who shake their fist at their village, rhetorically, and try to get away, but they are always pulled back somehow. As the revolutionary Nikolai says to his young son Alexei, "It's not a good place, but it's the best place for us."
The acting is first rate. Grief, loss, hope, and faith are equally represented throughout the film. Most of the actors are more low-key than in Hollywood films (a fact that allows the Siberian woodlands and scenes of village life, as well as stock film of national events, to play out much of the story). But they do not lack passion. Especially touching is a scene of a youngster grieving for his father. The young actor gives a performance beyond his years.
The recurrent themes and beautiful scenery and music (folk during the rural scenes, electronic during the sped-up, sepia- tinted stock footage) make the six hours of film very easy to digest. Konchalovsky's Siberiade suggests a cinematic Tchaikovsky symphony, with its alternating poignant romance, pathos, and an ending of hopefulness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies ever made., August 12, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Siberiade [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Not only does this cover historical context but also the cyclical nature of life and the various effects of cultural changes that dramatically change the environment we live and function in. The film manages to address self-discovery, revolution, the fact that things do not truly ever change as well as the incredibly damaging effect of some people's motives and ensuing actions on our environment, both physically and mentally. It does all this without forcing situations and uses the natural pace of the story line to accentuate the points it wishes to express. Truly amazing and despite its length one feels like it came and went like an hour and a half film. Once the film grips you it has the ability to change lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A historical epic film not to be missed, January 5, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Siberiade [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film takes place in a very remote corner of Siberia, and covers several generations of families living there. There is so much to this historical epic that it is hard to focus on any one point in the movie. Beginning with the remote village and the conflict between two families who have never seen the outside world, it goes on to cover the revolution and two world wars. It also shows the discovery of the great oil and gas fields of western Siberia, but never loses the theme of the interaction between the two main families in the movie and how each event affects their relationships. The movie has a dreamlike and symbolic quality in the style of Tarkovsky, without as much of a dizzying effect, and is never dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, February 10, 2003
This review is from: Siberiade [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I saw this film in Madrid, in 1979... in Russian with Spanish sub-titles and at the time I spoke no Russian and hardly any Spanish. But no matter, it instantly became my all time favorite movie. I saw the original 6 hour version in two evenings... and it wasn't a minute too long. The main "character" is really the natural splendor of Siberia.... it is a visual jewel. I have since seen cut versions... at various film festivals... the 4 hour version, and the 3 hour version. I long to see the full 6 hour version again. Worth every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I saw it when I was 7 and have sought to share it since....., April 25, 2000
By 
"streamwalker" (Port Townsend, WA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Siberiade [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I first saw this film when I was 7 years old, in a funky theatre in SF. My parents took me and my best friend and we had no idea what we were about to experience. I am now 30 and can say that certain imagery from this film is as indelibly imprinted on my memory as events that have occurred in my own life. In college I studied film and can trace my earliest desires to make films of my own to the emotions and sensory intoxication of seeing this film. It captures the amazing history of a continent in a very personal and real sense. It terrifies and triumphs and most of all makes the cinematic experience one that you will carry with you for a long time. After 15 years of searching for a copy of this film a friend of mine suggested Amazon.... If only I could get my local artsy-fartsy theatre to screen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the last great Russian historical dramas., August 23, 2003
By 
Vlad (russianwriter.net) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Siberiade [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Category: Historical drama
Director: Andrei Konchalovsky ("My Name is Ivan" '63, "Tango and Cash" '89, "The Inner Circle" '91,
"The Odyssey" '97, "House of Fools" '03)
Year: 1979
Running time: 206 min (2 tapes)
Rating: R (violence, sexual content)
Grade: A
Starring: Vitaly Solomin, Sergei Shakurov, Nikita Mikhalkov, Ludmila Gurchenko
Winner of 1979 Cannes Film Festival (Special Jury Prize)
My point: One of the last great Russian historical dramas
Over 6 decades of the history of the great Russian land and the country USSR through the lives of two families in a small Siberian village. Two opposite families: Ustuganins, the pure ones; and Solomins, the rich ones. The story of life, love, betrayal, happiness and pain.
This film is very long and very slow. Cinematography is excellent, but it doesn't bother you... it is only helping you to get into the story and the beauty of the Russian land.
If you love good films, if you are interested in history and Russia? A must se.
"Vlad"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, tragic, and haunting, January 16, 2001
By 
Chapulina R (Tovarischi Imports, USA/RUS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Siberiade [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Siberiade" is an epic Russian film which spans three generations and chronicles the lives of two rival Siberian families. It is also a deeply spiritual film which depicts the breathtaking beauty and power of the Siberian land. We see how the people's lifestyle has always adapted to the environment of the taiga, and had remained little affected by the changes wrought by revolution, politics, or war. That is, until the lure of oil brings greed and devastation to their remote village. There is a defining scene early on in the film, in which a lynx has been captured. Hanging upside down, paws trussed to a horizontal pole, jaws wedged apart and muzzled, the cat thrashes and moans in torment. Nearby, in callous oblivion to the suffering of the magnificent animal, the two human protagonists envision their future fortune. The scene is to me profoundly disturbing, first because it is obvious that a real lynx was tortured in the filming of the scene -- not many international productions in 1979 gave thought to cruelty to animals. But the abuse of the beautiful wild cat is symbolic of the theme of the film -- how the wild Siberian land itself will soon be exploited and despoiled. Nature must be dominated in the name of progress. And ultimately the people's ties to their land and the spirits of their ancestors are violently severed. This is how the film affected me; the imagery of its haunting climax remains with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, June 28, 2007
By 
This review is from: Siberiade (Complete and Uncut Version) (DVD)
If only 9 reviews is an indication of how many get to see this film it is a real shame and roll over dr shivago if that's all people think of in terms of a russian epic.Initially a slow start but the film keep rolling and getting bigger and deeper the more it went on.Mind-blowing,moving-Its really great and you got to see it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Siberiade, February 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Siberiade (Complete and Uncut Version) (DVD)
A brilliant 4 part epic spanning 60 years in the life a Siberian village and its inhabitants, some wealthy and influential others orphaned and impoverished, some true-believers in the Revolution, others just wanting to survive 'til tomorrow..

A mix of 'real life' and the spirit world that influences much of the way Siberians and Russians in general think.

The use of historical newsreel footage is a bonus for anyone interested in Russian history.

At the current offer price this is a tele-series not to be missed. Russian dialogue with fairly accurate sub-titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Russian Soul captured on film?, October 5, 2009
This review is from: Siberiade (Complete and Uncut Version) (DVD)
I like this movie for many reasons. I will list just a few most obvious ones.

1) Soundtrack by Edward Artemyev. Has been keeping me emotionally charged since the first time I heard it (1986?)

2) Depiction of Nature and people as an integral part of it. The first part of the movie magnificently shows an interplay of Nature, and its inhabitants in the depths of Siberia. The author implies that as a part of Nature, a man can never forcefully overcome her.

3) A whole plethora of actors that were and since have grown to be the monoliths of Russian (Soviet and post-) cinematic art such as Nikita Mikhalkov (at his best), Ljudmila Gurchenko (same), Solomin, Andreichenko and a few more whose names I don't remember right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e839630)

This product

Siberiade (Complete and Uncut Version)
Siberiade (Complete and Uncut Version) by Andrey Konchalovskiy (DVD - 2007)
$29.98 $17.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.