Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Thai Horror
Sick Nurses is a story about a neglected hospital and 7 young nurses and a doctor who work there. It turns out the nurses and doctor are selling body parts of their dead patients on the black market. Soon one of the nurses threatens to blow the whistle and ends up murdered. The ghost of the woman then comes back and uses the nurses and doctors obsessions and fears to...
Published on August 28, 2008 by Amy Lynn

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Viewer Beware
I so rarely give one or five stars, but this movie really earned it. I struggled to finish it. The plot is reasonable enough. A nurse is murdered by a doctor and other nurses after threatening to reveal they were selling body parts from the deceased. When her own body parts are not claimed, she begins exacting revenge from those who killed her. Unfortunately, the tale is...
Published on May 4, 2008 by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Thai Horror, August 28, 2008
By 
Amy Lynn (Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sick Nurses (DVD)
Sick Nurses is a story about a neglected hospital and 7 young nurses and a doctor who work there. It turns out the nurses and doctor are selling body parts of their dead patients on the black market. Soon one of the nurses threatens to blow the whistle and ends up murdered. The ghost of the woman then comes back and uses the nurses and doctors obsessions and fears to murder them with to exact revenge. The ghost is also forcing them to kill eachother to get revenge for her murder. The ghost can cause hallucinations, also manipulate their will.

What I really loved about this movie is the way it was directed. The use of colors is exquisite. The way a bar bell floats in the air, the way the fan winds blow, the way the rain drips on the windows, and the way a clock pours blood will strike you as something new. Very creative, It is beautifully directed.

This received lower ratings on some websites, Why? I don't know. It's a lot better than most of the Asian horror movies out today.

There were some very strange killings in this. Very inventive and unlike anything you most likely have ever seen.

Would I call it scary? Not really. Would I call it unique? Yes. It's a unique ghost story with inventive killings and haunts. Entertaining, Good looking actors, Great Use of Colors and a spooky yet slightly disturbing ghost story. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Viewer Beware, May 4, 2008
By 
Robert (Hickory, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sick Nurses (DVD)
I so rarely give one or five stars, but this movie really earned it. I struggled to finish it. The plot is reasonable enough. A nurse is murdered by a doctor and other nurses after threatening to reveal they were selling body parts from the deceased. When her own body parts are not claimed, she begins exacting revenge from those who killed her. Unfortunately, the tale is poorly executed, rambling from one unconnected scene to the next, with several hauntings leaving you to believe a nurse is dead, when her final moments are actually shown a half hour later. There are a few gory moments, but they often lack context or appear hurried. There is a feeling that the movie is a collection of random scenes, edited later to fit the plot. The cast of Asian nurses is an attractive one, but they present themselves like eye candy in a campy low budget American flick. The ghost, if you will, reminds one of the standard creepy Asian girl, with dark hair partially covering one eye, moving creepily. Unfortunately, this one is covered with dark grease paint, and has a habit of posing like a soap opera star waiting for the cheating boyfriend. This is particularly interesting because the ghost in the early part of the film is more vague and indistinct than what she becomes later in the second half. Just another example of a film that lacks any real coherence. It's as if it were directed by several different people, or at the very least, a few different personalities. There is a bit of a twist at the end, but it is by no means an adequate payoff for what you must suffer through to get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much more than it is., November 19, 2008
This review is from: Sick Nurses (DVD)
Suay Laak Sai (Piraphan Laoyont and Thodsapol Siriwiwat, 2005)

Suay Laak Sai (English translation: Sick Nurses) is yet another average-at-best slasher flick. What's surprising about this one is that it originates in Thailand, which for years has been cranking out decidedly above-average horror films. Well, I guess everything has to come to an end sometime, and Southeast Asia's decades-long dominance in every aspect of horror film is starting to wear at the edges.

Plot: underhanded dealings at a small hospital result in the ghost of one of the ill-treated patients coming back to haunt the staff responsible for her demise. Or so they think. Could there be a more mundane explanation for the killings?

Yeah, that's it. Really, that's about as much plot as most recent Southeast Asian horror films have had, but what has always set them apart from the pack has been atmosphere, atmosphere, atmosphere. Where Laoyont and Siriwiat seem to have gone wrong was in assuming that one could simply shroud the entire movie in darkness and use that as an acceptable substitute for atmosphere; what it actually does is make everything still mediocre, but a lot harder to see. Which makes it a kind of tough sell when the big thing about your movie is that almost your entire cast is hot babes in skimpy nurse outfits. (Well, that and badly-CGIed death scenes, but you've got a while to go before you get to any of those.)

It's silly, and it's not entirely terrible if you're in the mood for an Asian deathfest, but it's surprisingly tame. Really only worth it for the cheesecake factor and as the subject of a drinking game that has yet (as far as I know) to be invented. **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Title is Misleading, February 5, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "metalhead" (Lorain, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sick Nurses (DVD)
Somehow, with the title Sick Nurses, you're led to believe that it's some kind of soft-core porn. Even with the cover art, it's still titillating. It's anything but. It is a well-crafted horror movie, with a good bit of humor thrown in. It is the story of several nurses who are all enamored of one doctor (go figure!). He seems to make promises to each and every one. The one nurse he's supposed to be betrothed to is murdered because she caught him with her sister, and threatened to expose their side business of selling dead bodies. The rest of the film encompasses her revenge as she seeks out each and every nurse involved with her death, saving her pregnant sister and ex-fiance for last. The lead-up to the surprise ending is built around flashbacks the doctor indulges in as he continues to contemplate his upcoming nuptials. Just think Crying Game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars creepy, funny, sexy, weird., May 18, 2009
This review is from: Sick Nurses (DVD)
So I went to the flea market and found this movie on a table with others assorted movies. I though hey for $2 this might be good. Well I'm happy to say it was worth it in a way. It was just your average ghost story. Nurses kill other nurse because she is going to rat them out about the human body smuggling ring, said dead nurse comes back on 7th day to get revenge, hilarity ensues, big plot twist. It just ends up being weird at some points like this one scene with "hair zombies". Yes I said it, hair zombies, and the nurse fights them off with a pregnancy test stick. Oh it's a load of fun. Then comes the plot twist and then the funniest thing I've seen in a horror movie 6 seconds before the credits roll. If you want to see it, get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Film, May 26, 2009
By 
D. Sippel "Rocker" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sick Nurses (DVD)
Sick Nurses doesn't look to be accomplishing anything more than producing an eye-catching, bloody, fun bit of horror. The ghost is fairly standard asian fare (except in black face as opposed to the classic white), but the gore and blood get pushed up a notch and the eye candy factor is impressive enough to separate Sick Nurses from the average asian scare. It reminded me of Infection and Autopsy (non-asian) in setting: a fairly abandoned hospital, bereft of any presence other than the half-dozen or so main characters. It's hard to take too seriously or suspend much disbelief, yet the kills are fairly innovative and suitably gruesome in parts, and I was entertained from start to finish. I'll give it 3 1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a twist!, December 15, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sick Nurses (DVD)
I first found this movie while working at a video chain and loved it, and have wanted it for my own ever since. The plot was surprisingly deeper than I'd originally expected, and the twist will make you blink. The nurses are all very pretty, very vain, and each a little disturbed in her own way. The way the victim plays on each of their vanities was clever, if a bit obvious. Plenty of very fake blood and a few scenes that will make the empathetic wince, i.e. twins Orn and Am's mutual hacking and Yim's bloody end in the sample lab. Can be played in Thai or English, with English and Spanish subtitles. Dialogue is credible and easy to follow in either language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Strongly Disagree With the Other Reviewers Here, May 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sick Nurses (DVD)
After killing one of their own, a group of organ-stealing nurses pay the consequences. This is quite possibly the most entertaining Thai horror film ever made. The characters are hyperbolized to the point where they are intrinsically interesting to watch (not to mention the fact that all of them are gorgeous Thai girls in scantily clad nurse uniforms) and they also add an element of black humor. Even the ghost herself shatters genre cliches with her obvious sadism and enjoyment in reaping vengeance. The main attractions, however, are the spectacular death scenes that arrive during the latter half. These are highly imaginative with impressive quantities of blood, but are not very disturbing because they're so much fun to watch. The nurse named Nook is one tough bitch who won't go down without a fight, and the one-on-one duel to the death between her and the ghost is an instant classic. There are one or two scenes with poor CGI, but this is an extremely inventive horror film with frenetic pacing and excellent camerawork and lighting. This is a horror film that's meant to be fun first and foremost - and it works.

The other reviewers here seem to gloss over the fact that the ghost in this movie is NOT the cliched stereotype that pervades some of the Japanese and South Korean horror releases. After watching over 200 East Asian horror movies, I can tell you with 100% certainty that the ghost in Sick Nurses is instead a SATIRE of Japanese horror because she is unequivocally SADISTIC, reaping boatloads of pleasure with each and every kill. This is very different from the stereotype. The reviewers may be partially correct in pointing out that the antagonist is a woman ghost, but were completely wrong in asserting that the character is a cliche.

Another obvious misstatement by these reviewers is that Sick Nurses is a superficial movie. Sure, it's not as magnificent as A Tale of Two Sisters (2003) or as cerebral as Kairo (2001), but it does have quirky victims and good characterization in general because each obsession is exaggerated to the point where it becomes blackly comical. I know American moviegoers are typically too stupid to pick stuff like this up, but that doesn't change the fact that it's still there to be seen and enjoyed. Not every horror movie needs incredibly annoying, drug-addicted, sex-crazed teenagers as protagonists. For most viewers of mainstream Hollywood horror this little fact may be difficult to understand, I know, but there are other people that exist in this world.

I'm probably the last person who would highly enjoy a slasher film (and yes, Sick Nurses is a ghost film that plays out like a slasher) because I prefer horror movies that are more dense with content (nothing from Hollywood obviously), but this movie has all the goods for a fun evening of death and destruction if you have enough brains to pick up on the satire and hyperbolized character traits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some might hate it but others will love it...., May 4, 2013
This review is from: Sick Nurses (Amazon Instant Video)
I was really surpised that I ended up liking this movie as much as I did. The film starts out rather campy and is often kind of cheesy as others have stated. There is a clear and obvious rip-off of The Grudge with a ghostly woman with long black hair. And I wonder why they decided to do such a stupid thing, because they is a lot more originality in this movie that shows that the director and writer really know how to make a solidly atmospheric horror movie, so why try to spoil the fun by doing such a cheap rip-off of other movies? None the less there are some beautiful and visually stunning moments that reminded me of the work of Argento, but actually done even better. It takes a little time for the blood and gore to come into the mix but when it does its truly a very bloody event. Theres a serious amount of blood and gore and its all done very well. Many moments of the movie are absolutely astonishing and memorable. Despite the camp, despite the rip-offs, this movie has some haunting and unforgettable moments. Also if your a fan of Takashi Miike youll get all the wierdness and all the blood and gore you would expect in his movies. In short I am surpsied to say the least that I am considering this one of the best horror movies that I have seen in more than 20 years, and I have seen everything under the sun. The film often truly remarkable and chilling. While far from original or perfect something about the film seems special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sick nurses movie, July 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sick Nurses (DVD)
I first watched this movie online and loved it!! I've wanted to buy it for quite some time. Glad I did, and it's in perfect condition!! Thank you very much. ^^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sick Nurses
Sick Nurses by Thodsapol Siriwiwat
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.