Customer Reviews


325 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (107)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Hiaasen Book Ever
I , as a Floridian, am a huge Hiaasen fan. I was quite disappointed by LUCKY YOU, it had none of that Hiassen flair I am used to. I bought SICK PUPPY the day it came out, and ended up staying up all night reading it for 6 hours straight. It is his best yet (even better than TOURIST SEASON and STORMY WEATHER, his best two if you ask me). It is great to have Skink and...
Published on January 6, 2000 by Daniel W Kurina

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fast read, but not up to speed
Carl Hiassen is a master of the quirky character. In his early novels, those characters were integral to the plot and breathed life into the fiction. Regrettably, in Sick Puppy, I often felt the tales of oddballs were devices used to expand a thin plotline in order to meet the page quota. While amusing, they did not provide strong subplots, and were occasionally...
Published on January 20, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regained Form for Hiaasen, November 6, 2000
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
After Hiaasen's last two novels "Stromy Weather" and "Lucky You" I wondered if my favorite author had slipped a notch or two. Hiaasen returns with "Sick Puppy" a dark but funny look at the seedy side of political lobbyists. Hiaasen goes too what he knows best in "Sick Puppy". Corruption, the destruction of Florida's great nature and good old boy ex-govenor Clinton Tyree or Skink to true Hiaasen fans.
In "Sick Puppy" Hiassen introduces us too Willy Spree, who is like a Skink Jr. On a highway Spree sees a literbug and decides he will teach this literbug a lesson. The literbug is Palmer Stoat a corrupt lobbyist who is the middle of getting the Shearwater Island Resort throught the capitol. After a few hilarous pranks, Spree finds out about the resort and is determined to stop the resort and save the small island from the bulldozer. He ends up dognapping Stoat's dog, a lovable black lab named Boodle. Boodle whose name gets changed too McGuinn is the star of this novel. The following events are funny involving great characters, both good and bad that only Hiaasen can create.
I did notice that this book is much more well rounded than the previous two. Hiassen uses his typical style and timeline to create another fantastic read. This one is a must for any Hiaasen fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fast read, but not up to speed, January 20, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
Carl Hiassen is a master of the quirky character. In his early novels, those characters were integral to the plot and breathed life into the fiction. Regrettably, in Sick Puppy, I often felt the tales of oddballs were devices used to expand a thin plotline in order to meet the page quota. While amusing, they did not provide strong subplots, and were occasionally annoying. Too many popular writers peter out when forced to meet publishers' tough contractual timeframes. I hope this doesn't happen to Hiassen because I enjoy his energy, his take on FL politics, and believe he has a message that can be delivered, convincingly & entertainingly, in a fictional format. As for SP, I wish I'd waited til it came out in paperback, or was available at the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sick Puppy Indeed, January 27, 2000
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
Ah, the joy of a new Hiaasen! Very few authors can make me laugh out loud while reading, but he can. This adventure into the absurd takes us into the world of lobbiests, illegal hunting, illegal construction practices, and of course, eco-terrorism.As unscrupulous politicians try to take a beautiful key and turn it into high dollar homes it is up to Twilly and Skink to prevent the dastardly deed from happening.One can only hope there will be further adventures of Skink and Twilly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's baaaack....and better than ever, January 27, 2000
By 
John R. Linnell (New Gloucester, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
It's been far too long since Carl Hiassen's last book, Lucky You, but Sick Puppy is definitely worth the wait. Hiassen may be an acquired taste to some, as you have to enjoy some very twisted people and situations, but "at the end of the day" as the popular saying goes everybody pretty much gets what they have coming to them. Twilly Spree, is Hiaasen's latest creation to try and save Florida from the people who are trying to pave it, defile it, sell it and replant it and I suspect we may be seeing more of him in another book, along with the original Savior, former Florida Governor, Clinton Tyree, otherwise known as Skink (or you can call him captain). A new tribe of antagonists are created in this book. They are often kinky, sometimes homocidal, always greedy and out to do their best to feather their nests and line their pockets at the expense of the environment and the unsuspecting. It's a great ride which will have you chuckling and smiling from beginning to end. I hope we don't have to wait so long for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiaasen's Best Yet!, January 15, 2000
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
From the younger-generation eco-terrorist, Twilly, to the evil cigar-addict/habitual litter bug/lobbyist, Stoat, and his wife, who's had enough of Stoat's use of his Polaroid in their bedroom, to our old friend, Hiaasen's original eco-terrorist, Skink, to the Barbie doll-obsessed former drug dealer turned land developer with his two 6 ft. Americanized artificial twin Eastern European Rhino-horn-crazed living Barbie sex dolls, and finally a rambunctious black lab named Boodles/McGuinn,who just wants to have fun and sniff, Hiaasen has put together the most wonderfully weird group of characters yet. The plots race toward assuring the safekeeping and seclusion of Skink's brother, the saving a small Florida island from greedy development, the liberation of Stoat's wife Desie from her horrible husband and Boodles/McGuinn serving as the inadvertant catylist in prompting a geriatric rhino to provide the main bad guys their just rewards, all in the midst of political wheeling and dealing. "Sick Puppy" is complicated and hilarious with all too true comments on human greed and our lack of concern for our planet and fellow man. This book should be required reading for all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy new addition to the Hiassen Cannon, January 7, 2000
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
It was great to visit Skink, Jim Tile, et all. I missed them...Carl is a national treasure. I can think of no other author as consistantly entertaining. We've seen these types of characters before, but they are so much fun it doesn't matter. There is a Kafkaesque reality to these people...no matter how absurd things get you can't help but believe it could really happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not GREAT, Hiaasen, February 29, 2000
By 
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
Carl Hiaasen is back thank God, and so is Skink. That's good news for those of us who will only visit Florida through these novels. True, the book isn't up to Lucky You or Strip Tease, but then there isn't much that is. Twilly Spree is another interesting addition to the Hiaasen gallery of weirdos, but he does seem to overreact to some of the relatively minor infractions of ecological civility he witnesses. This makes him seem unsympathetic at times. Palmer Stoat, however, is a great character, and just a little above the road kill Skink eats in social value. All in all a good read, but not as laugh out loud funny as some of Hiaasen's earlier books. I recommend it, with reservations. (For what it's worth, my partner, also a Hiaasen fan, liked it better than Lucky You.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, You Dawg!, December 8, 2000
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
Every time I read one of his novels, I get this crazed desire to open a Carl Hiassen fan club, with me, naturally, as the president and Number One admirer. I dream of cooking him a pot of home-cooked road-kill stew (using only the freshest ingredients, of course), then, smoking our Cuban cigars while kicking back as he rambles about anything that pops into his brilliant mind for the rest of the evening. That's how much I admire this man!
This book is laugh-out-loud hilarious. And, as usual with Hiassen, it is crammed with a slew of mangy, loathsome characters and impossible situations. You wonder how they can possibly connect. But never fear - by the time you get to the uproarious ending, everything makes sense (in Hiassen terms, that is). The assortment of characters includes ones you can love (like the flatulent black Labrador retriever named Boodle and/or McGuinn), to ones you want to throw tomatoes at (i.e., Mr. Gash, a professional killer who gets his jollies by listening to taped bootleg calls of people pouring their hearts out to 911 operators as they are being murdered). One thing is certain: the bad guys always get what's coming to them; one way or another, they pay for their crimes. Too bad real life can't be like that!
Even though this is a satirical novel -- and Mr. Hiassen is the King of Farce - I got the feeling that the author is really angry in this one. His satire is more thinly disguised than in any of his other novels I have read, and rightly so. I wouldn't doubt that the crooked politicians, lobbyists and businessmen he created as fictional actually have real-life counterparts on the Florida golf courses making deals to sell out what is left of the state's natural resources. (The "pregnant chad" Year 2000 Presidential election fiasco in Florida, in fact, could have been a novel penned by Hiassen!)
After reading SICK PUPPY, my sole mission has become to convince the dude, for the good of the country, to run for United States President in 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too short, February 9, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
With most books, I can't wait to see how they end. With Hiaasen's books, I just want them to keep on going. I laughed at the disclaimer in the beginning of the book, and didn't stop til the last page. Skink, Captain, governor, Clinton Tyree, whatever his name, is a great character and I was glad he and Jim Tile were back. Three cheers for the main human and canine characters, and I was certainly rooting for the Rhino. My main objection is the ending. I thought it was too abrupt, almost as if Hiaasen gave up. Otherwise, it was a 5 star effort. I hope Hiaasen does not give up on his green, "hug a tree" rantings. He believes in something, can make a difference, and can entertain! And I guess make a living. Not Bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riotous!, February 6, 2000
By 
Sherrie Martin "sherchez" (Roanoke, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
Picture this cast of characters: Twilly Spree, a young millionaire who goes ballistic over litterbugs and eco-terrorists. Palmer Stoat, a ruthless lobbyist whose favorite past-time is "canned hunts" -- 'til the day he tries to blast an elderly, senile rhinoceros. Clinton "Skink" Tyree, former governor of Florida who's now a swamp-dwelling loner, whose culinary juices are stirred by roadkill, and whose wardrobe consists of a racing-flag kilt and a shower cap. Mix in beautiful Desie Stoat, Governor Dick Artemous, developer Bob Clapley and his Barbie-doll fetish, hit man Gash, and Boodle/McGuinn, the adorable young black Lab who must be considered the main and title character, and you are well on your way to a rousing frolic of a read.
Young Spree has gone ballistic over Palmer Stoat's littering, while Stoat is lobbying for a bridge which will allow the development of a lovely little barrier island into a golfer's paradise and, of course, destroy it at the same time. When Spree learns that the litterbug he's been tailing is also deeply involved in the destruction of ecosystems, to say nothing of a "great white hunter" in so-called private wildlife preserves, he kidnaps Stoat's wife, Desie, and his black Lab, Boodle. Desie is soon released, only to go back and freely spend time with the desperado and the dog, whom Spree has re-named McGuinn.
While on the run from Stoat and the hit man and various other miscreants looking for them, Spree and Desie fall in what is close enough to love. The novel, as it unfolds toward its hysterical conclusion, is one hilarious mishap after another, packed full of riotous scenes guaranteed to produce belly-laughs. You will shriek with glee at The Barbies and their quest for "rhino dust", laugh 'til you cry at the hit man's 911 call, and fall hopelessly in love with the dog.
If you're looking for an evening's feel-good entertainment, get this book. It's a novel of sophisticated, high spirited humor where everyone gets their just deserts, and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sick Puppy
Sick Puppy by Carl Hiaasen (Paperback - April 12, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.