Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have read this a million times and just gets funnier!
This book was first read to me in the first grade. I am now in 8th, and have read it at least a million times. It is a hillarious book that can help kids see how everyone is different. Besides that, it's just so darn funny. I have read many books by Louis Sachar, and in my opinion he is the best author ever.
Published on May 4, 1998

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Must Read!
Louis Sachar wrote a great book called Side ways stories from WaySide School. In this book are many interesting characters. Also had many interesting things. But there was this one teacher named Mrs. Gorf. She was an unusual teacher and did unusual things to her students. Mrs. Gorf was one reason why this story was great.
This book is a must read for many reasons...
Published on March 11, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have read this a million times and just gets funnier!, May 4, 1998
By A Customer
This book was first read to me in the first grade. I am now in 8th, and have read it at least a million times. It is a hillarious book that can help kids see how everyone is different. Besides that, it's just so darn funny. I have read many books by Louis Sachar, and in my opinion he is the best author ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Funny, November 6, 2006
This review is from: Sideways Stories from Wayside School (Paperback)
I am an adult and I really enjoyed this book. It is basically a quirky book with a very short story for each of the students in one particular class, plus the two teachers. (The first teacher is mean and comes to a funny demise.) So there are thirty short stories.

It is silly humor. For example, the mean teacher turns the students into apples, a girl tries to sell her toes (unsuccessfully), a dead rat disguises itself as a student, and so on.

Warning: The humor is black humor, but hilarious. So you may want to pre-read this book to see if it is appropriate for your child. But despite being black humor, everything ends well and for the best, sort of like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory or Junie B. Jones. This is not a "sweet" book, but it is fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Funny..., July 4, 2001
This review is from: Sideways Stories from Wayside School (Paperback)
It opens with children-turned apples turning their teacher, Mrs. Gorf, into an apple and giving her to their gym teacher, Louis (the author) to eat.
Need I say more?
This book is hilarious. I could just see kids I know going to a school thirty stories tall, with a classroom on each side, struggling through torturous mosquito bites, a teacher who thinks you're a monkey, and all sorts of kooky and downright hilarious characters. I could read this over and over. It is so realistic, yet oh so spacy.
I first read this book when I was about seven or eight. I have read it over and over with each of my five younger siblings and it gets funnier each time. Sachar has a way of appealing to all audiences.
Parents, the Wayside school series is the easiest way to get boob-tube obsessed kids to read a good book for a change.
And it is a good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny, modivational collection..., July 8, 2004
This review is from: Sideways Stories from Wayside School (Paperback)
I recently dug this book out from beneath a lot of my childhood stuff. My dad read it to me when I was just a little kid; at 18, I just reread it, and enjoyed it as much, if not more so--because now I could read between the lines.
Thirty chapters. Each one is like a fable--an entertaining story, a nugget of truth woven into the fabric of each one. Peer pressure, politeness, standing up for yourself...sometimes the lessons are direct, sometimes they are subtle. Maybe kids won't understand them exactly, but they'll certainly remember the stories and remember the lessons thus.
The story:
There is something very wrong with Wayside School. It was built sideways--instead of one story with 30 rooms, is has 30 stories and one room per story. No nineteenth story, though, meaning that Miss Zarves, who teaches there, doesn't exist, either.
At Wayside, students have the tendency to get turned into apples; those pesky dead rats, who live in the basement, are always trying to get into class; sleeping through class is considered educational; turning the lights on and off is a task not just anyone can do; you can help yourself to ice cream with the flavor of your fellow students, but please refrain from biting your classmates; the lunch lady just can't ruin milk, no matter how hard she tries; mosquito bites are great for counting purposes; your two missing teeth are the best in the whole world, as are the hat you aren't wearing and the joke you didn't tell; only being able to read upside down ain't much of a problem, after all; where toes cost a nickel apiece, unless they're little runts; trading names consists of spinning around really fast until you don't know who's who; if two plus two doesn't equal four, watch out; and where you need a reason to be sad, but not to be happy.
"Sideways Stories From Wayside School" by Lous Sachar is a classic. Buy it, for your kid, your sibling, your niece/nephew, or yourself. It's entertaing for all ages, and just might help its reader become a better person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like funny books with strange characters read this book!, February 20, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Sideways Stories from Wayside School (Paperback)
In this book you will read about many strange characters. All the kids have one thing in common, they all hate Mrs.Gorf. Mrs.Gorf is the first character you will read about,but you will here of her again. Wayside school was built wrong. Instead of having thirty classrooms all together on one floor, it has thirty stories with one classroom on each floor. Plus, There is no ninteenth floor. Mrs.Zarves teaches on the ninteenth floor. There is no Mrs.Zarves. Never go in the basement. And never go to school on a sunday. I recomend this book to people how like funny stories with no main characters. This book is the first in the series. There is...

1. Sideways Stories from Wayside School

2. Wayside School is falling Down

3. Wayside School gets a Little Stranger and

4. Sideways Arithmetic from Wayside School

I loved them all. I hope you do too!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sideways Stories from Wayside School, May 8, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Sideways Stories from Wayside School (Paperback)
Do you like laughing? If you do this is the book for you! Louis Sachar did a fabulous job writing this book. He must have one crazy imagination. All the characters in the book all have one special "trait." Like for example a boy named Sam, who was new to the class came in on his first day with 25 jackets on! As the teacher, Ms. Jewls kept taking off each jacket he got smellier and smellier n you have to read the book to find out what happens when she takes of the last jacket.

Wayside School is a crazy school which was supposed to be built as one story with 30 classes but when they were done it turned out they made it as 30 stories high and 1 class on each story. The book only talked about the class on the 30th floor, which is at first is Mrs. Gorf class. Something special happens to Mrs. Gorf so they get another teacher named Mrs. Jewls.

Each chapter is based on one student in the class. It is like a day in the life of what ever the boy or girls name is. They all have a problem that goes on and it mostly ends up with Louis, the Yard Duty helping them their problem. So if you like silly books that you can luah to, this is the perfect book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy-funny, April 21, 2001
By 
Nasus Elrheow (University of Minnesota) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sideways Stories from Wayside School (Paperback)
Um, I liked SSFWS, all right, but I found the book to be very odd. Not purple-people-eater odd, but a-little-too-true odd. The book isn't just random silliness (although it does seem like it at times), but also very carefully disguised social commentary. I would liken it to Shel Silverstein or Dr. Seuss, in that, what at first seems like kooky insanity begins to morph into something much more, not sinister, but just a little too close to home. What really struck me about this book was that, despite the strangeness of his tales, Sancar obviously has an insiders eye when it comes to children, or a really good memory. The tales of the school tells about not only the students, but the teachers as well, with remarkable insight into the bizarre, rarely accurately observed world of elementary school in American suburbia. Oh sure, there are millions of stories about it, but few dare tread where this author goes with his story, and the results are, well, creepy-funny in a good way. It's like the anti-children's book, unrepentantly ammoral and without a tidy "happy ending" for each story. Oh yes, and, by the way, there's a story of the book for each story of the school. Few seem to notice that. The strangest thing about the book is not how the school is built, but how close the author consistantly gets to the things that make grade-schoolers tick. Few adults could understand how important it is for kids to get outside to recess fast enough to get the "good playgroud balls", or remember the strange kind of guilt that comes from stealing another kid's lunch. If you haven't read it, I would reccommend trying it at least once, if only to see how much you find yourself vividly remembering random episodes of your childhood in frightening detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars totaly cool book, December 16, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Sideways Stories from Wayside School (Paperback)
Sideways Stories From Wayside School
This book talks about a school that was made wrong so all kinds of bad things are happening. The main character is well there isn't a main character. Because there are 31 kids and every chapter there is a character. This story is set in a school that was made wrong. This book's genre is fiction because it is so non-believing. The author did a pretty good job because he made it so funny and so entertaining. The author's style is to entertain and to be funny.
What I felt about the book is excitement and surprising and felt like reading more. I would recommend this book to every one of my friends. And also to my mother my sister and maybe to every cousin I have. Truly I would like every one to read it. I think that people would love to buy this book for their kids so just try it. Your kids will love it guaranteed. Or also see more Luis Sachar just like "Holes". That's another book by Luis Sachar. No other book can possibly be better than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure fun, March 14, 2005
This review is from: Sideways Stories from Wayside School (Paperback)
A loosely connected set of stories about the classroom on the top of Wayside School, which is peculiar in that the building was accidentally constructed sideways, with thirty small floors instead of one sprawling level. Each chapter bears the name of a particular student, who is generally the focus of the story. The stories themselves are whimsical, ranging from a boy who is tempted to pull the pigtails of the girl sitting in front of him to a rat attempting to pose as a student.

The Good and the Bad:

I like that Sachar has written a new kind of children's book, which can occasionally teach a lesson or thread a coherent story, but is mostly focused on entertaining the reader. The stories are loosely connected, but work as stand-alones, making it ideal for a nightly bedtime story. That some of the stories fall flat doesn't matter so much, since there is always the next story to rescue the moment. Unlike Holes, which I would have to describe as his masterpiece, there is very little that is touching or asks for emotional investment. Instead, we get pure silliness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is a great book for all ages, March 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Sideways Stories from Wayside School (Paperback)
It is very funny. I like this book because it is funny and it is about people that are weird.One of my favorite is Mrs.jewles. Mrs.jewles is the new teacher because Mrs.gorf mysteriously dissipears.Well she thought the kids where talking monkeys.The werds wernt hard and the chapters wer very easy.Another funny chapter is calven. Calven gets a note from mrs.jewels to give to mrs. Zarves but there is no Mrs. Zarves so he wanders up and down the stairs.There is a chapter called marica. It is very funny. I recomend you read this book soon. It is very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sideways Stories from Wayside School
Sideways Stories from Wayside School by Louis Sachar (Paperback - December 28, 2004)
$6.99 $4.48
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.