Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing break from the tedium of typical RPGs.
Sigma Star Saga may not win any "game of the year" awards, but it is an experimental amalgamation of a "shmup" (shoot-em-up) and RPG, and as such is a refreshing break from the typical and stale console-RPG formula. The random battles take place in a side-scrolling, ship-shooting "mini-game" of sorts. While the "shmup" portion of the game is generally not difficult...
Published on August 27, 2005 by Glubert Heiligschleppen

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, but fun!
This game deserves some credit for pushing for a creative blend of two genres: Action RPG and Shoot'em-up. It executes both styles of play decently, but in the end misses a few opportunities to make the gameplay a truly unique experience. Mainly it lacks the polish and balance that would have come with another month or two of development. The weapon system is fun to play...
Published on September 6, 2005 by Ryan Bailey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, but fun!, September 6, 2005
By 
Ryan Bailey (Ellicott City, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sigma Star Saga (Video Game)
This game deserves some credit for pushing for a creative blend of two genres: Action RPG and Shoot'em-up. It executes both styles of play decently, but in the end misses a few opportunities to make the gameplay a truly unique experience. Mainly it lacks the polish and balance that would have come with another month or two of development. The weapon system is fun to play around with, but once you find an effective gun combination, it doesn't make much sense to switch it around.

The game does sport beautiful graphics and smooth animation (with the exception of the random-encounter shooter stages, which are dark and bland, even from planet to planet to planet), and the story has some surprising depth and is very enjoyable to play. The game has some nice artwork too. Good to see this level of quality coming from an american developer.

Plus, it's fun to have a shooter to play on my GBA. Wish there were more. Sigma Star is a fun play, not great, but defenitely a fun original GBA game with good production values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing break from the tedium of typical RPGs., August 27, 2005
By 
Glubert Heiligschleppen (Turks and Caicos Islands) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sigma Star Saga (Video Game)
Sigma Star Saga may not win any "game of the year" awards, but it is an experimental amalgamation of a "shmup" (shoot-em-up) and RPG, and as such is a refreshing break from the typical and stale console-RPG formula. The random battles take place in a side-scrolling, ship-shooting "mini-game" of sorts. While the "shmup" portion of the game is generally not difficult ("boss" battles are a notable exception, although even they do not approach the challenge of, say, Ikaruga), it's a far cry better than navigating menus in the repetetive, turn-based tedium present in most console RPGs.

The various ships that they often make randomly available during the "shmup" often add or subtract to the difficulty level as well. Slower ships can be more difficult to maneuver, especially through narrow passages. Furthermore, the ability to completely customize your weapon with add-ons discovered during exploration adds an intriguing level of strategy to the "shmup" levels.

Sigma Star Saga is a worthwhile experiment in the area of console RPGs as a whole. It is also far better than most of the licensed / sequel games released on the GBA, and as an original concept it is well-executed and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sigma Star Saga....., January 9, 2006
By 
blackaciddevil (in the USA somewhere.....) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sigma Star Saga (Video Game)
Taking a break from all the kart racers and platformers I've been playing on the GBA as of late, I decided to play an RPG recommended by a friend of mine. That game was WayForward's Sigma Star Saga. Little did I know this wasn't your typical RPG. You know, the kind with turn-based battles and whatnot(i.e., Golden Sun, Breath of Fire, Final Fantasy). This game mixes together an RPG with an R-Type style space shooter. Sigma Star Saga is an adventure that tells the tale of two warring factions and the human that tries to bridge that gap between them. The story, itself, is rather entertaining, engaging, and humorous at times. As far as the game is concerned; it's full of exploring, solving puzzles, advancing the storyline, picking up items and blasting through levels of enemies. I commend WayForward & Namco for taking a risk and trying something new with the RPG genre.

For the most part, Sigma Star Saga's gameplay works. While I'll go on record as saying it's a good RPG worth spending some time on; I will warn you that, at times, the battles get pretty monotonous and repetitive. When you'd like to do more exploring instead of battling, you can't because the game practically forces you to see the battle through to the end. That is my biggest gripe with the game. Course, I'm making leeway into the meat of story now(Patience is the key, I guess) but it is rather annoying at times.

Looking past that, Sigma Star Saga is a lengthy RPG with a very entertaining story. While it's no Final Fantasy or Golden Sun, it's still an original concept that should be commended. If you're into RPGs but are looking for a little something new and fresh, then Sigma Star Saga is right for you. While this particular type of game really isn't my cup of tea, as I'm into more traditonal style turn-based RPGs & Strategy RPGs, it is entertaining enough to me to see it through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An interesting idea but it fails to work, August 26, 2005
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sigma Star Saga (Video Game)
Sigma Star Saga is a rather interesting RPG. The level design and gameplay is generally acceptable. It's rather nice that you can fight in real time on the overworld map against very basic enemies. The boss levels are reasonably entertaining.

The fundamental flaw in this game is in the random encounters. In a traditional RPG, the random encounters are usually much easier than boss encounters. This helps to make up for the fact that there are a lot of them. Sigma Star Saga follows the "many easy random encounters" model. The random encounters are little space shooter games instead of RPG combat. Unfortunately, pitifully easy space shooters are not actually fun. Also, they all seem the same. Finally, they take too long. An attempt to make the shooter more entertaining by making the user ship randomized was unsuccessful. The idea of having enemy kills allow your ship to level up would have been exciting but for the fact that the level-ups only impact defense/offense; nothing exciting happens.

This game tries to succeed as both a space shooter and an RPG and fails at both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Concept - but Not Great in Practice, July 1, 2006
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sigma Star Saga (Video Game)
Sigma Star Saga is an unusual mixture of space combat side-scrolling shooting and RPG action. Unfortunately, you are stuck doing whatever the plot says you must at any given moment.

I generally enjoy side scrolling space games - I can think of several that I would play for hours and hours. I also *love* RPG games and can play those for months on end. However, they are two completely different types of games, and it depends on what sort of a mood I'm in. If I have 1/2 hr to kill before it's time to go somewhere, then sitting down to a space blaster is perfect. You aren't bored and you have some fun. If I have all night long to play, then an RPG is more my game, where I get lost in the in depth character development.

With this game, you start out in a side scroller. You don't even get any sense that an RPG is waiting for you in there somewhere. Eventually after blasting your way through combinations of completely invincible enemies and others that die with a single bullet, you get to the RPG part. Back and forth you go.

You could be really interested in a long, relaxing RPG exploration - but get stuck in a mindless shooting battle that drives you completely insane. There are times I feel awake and ready for that. There are other times I'm feeling laid back, relaxed, and don't feel like having to worry about split-second shooting timing.

I really do appreciate the thought behind this - to mix genres and have some fun. I appreciate that it was an interesting concept. However, I think if they'd done more testing, they would have found that people needed to be able to choose when to do which. If they'd just set things up differently, it could have been a pairing that worked really well - level up your spaceships, work on your RPGs, all based on what you felt like doing. They just didn't do that.

For now, I'll personally stick with two different sets of games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 5/5 I like this game because it's battle system is not like ..., July 6, 2014
This review is from: Sigma Star Saga (Video Game)
Premise:
5/5
I like this game because it's battle system is not like other RPGs. Rather than encountering the enemy out of nowhere, you're summoned by you space ship to combat other spaceships in a side scrolling SHMUP. when you've defeated enough bogies, the ship will calm down and send you back to your regular duties.

Art:
3/5
The art was ok at best. It seemed as if they were going for some sort of ecchi anime artstyle but it kinda looks alot like something blizzard would design. Not bad, just not my favorite.

Music:
4/5
The music is occasionally brilliant. When I first started up the game, I had to shut it off and turn it back on again just to listen to that intro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but interesting, September 30, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigma Star Saga (Video Game)
I really like the graphical style and the wacky 1950s-style sci-fi plot, but it could have been better. A combo of top-down planetary exploration sequences and random encounter sidescrolling SHMUP segments, it is the closest thing I have ever seen to that oddball NES classic, The Guardian Legend. It doesn't, however, attain the wild dynamism of that flickery old gem. I think Sigma could have used . . . well, more of everything -- faster, better-designed SHMUP bits and more of them, more planet-specific enemies in the land segments, more world-building (not that Guardian had any of that).

It was a fun and interesting game, though, and it's sad to see the franchise languish. Since Sigma Star Story has attained a kind of cult status, perhaps WayForward will make an even better version when they are done with the fancy new Risky's Revenge title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Games, February 22, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigma Star Saga (Video Game)
Got this for my 6 year old grandson, since he was always taking his older brother's gameboy. Got him a Gameboy from Amazon (used) also, so he was all set to go and the big brother did not have to worry about his "stuff". Now they are both happy and can switch games when they want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sigma Star Saga
Sigma Star Saga by Namco (Game Boy Advance)
$29.99 $13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.