Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great alternative to extend the reach of your Sigma telephoto lens
I get the Sigma Teleconverter 1.4X especially for outdor sport games. I have Nikon D700 & D90 and Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 HSM. I feel that 70-200mm f/2.8 is too short on D700 (full frame) and D90 (1.5x crop), therefore i get this teleconverter. It is a good alternative because it is much cheaper than buying 300mm f/2.8 or 100-300mm f4 lens.
Build quality...
Published on November 2, 2009 by Enche Tjin

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says. Limited lens compatibility. Manual Focus only for many.
First off, if you are considering a teleconverter, you are doing so to extend the focal length or reach of a telephoto lens. NOTHING ELSE. This does not help macros or do much for most mid- or wide-angle zooms.

Second, before you even THINK of buying....GO TO THE MANUFACTURER'S WEBSITE AND CHECK THEIR COMPATIBILITY TABLES. For YOUR mount. For YOUR lenses...
Published on June 13, 2012 by rtrski


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great alternative to extend the reach of your Sigma telephoto lens, November 2, 2009
By 
Enche Tjin (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sigma APO Teleconverter 1.4x EX DG for Nikon Mount Lenses (Electronics)
I get the Sigma Teleconverter 1.4X especially for outdor sport games. I have Nikon D700 & D90 and Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 HSM. I feel that 70-200mm f/2.8 is too short on D700 (full frame) and D90 (1.5x crop), therefore i get this teleconverter. It is a good alternative because it is much cheaper than buying 300mm f/2.8 or 100-300mm f4 lens.
Build quality

Build quality is the same as typical Sigma EX (professional line lens) and very well match with Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 HSM.

COMPATIBILITY

Sigma teleconverter 1.4 only works with Sigma lenses. There are about a dozen compatible lens, but only a few retain auto focus function. There are: Sigma 180mm macro f/3.5 EX HSM, Sigma 300mm f/2.8 EX HSM, and Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX HSM.

AUTO FOCUS PERFORMANCE

I don't feel any difference in auto focus performance, so it remain excellent.

IMAGE QUALITY

It loses a bit of contrast and sharpness, but generally still very good. Check out sample images from my web blog. You can get the address from my Amazon profile.

CONCLUSION

Sigma teleconverter 1.4x is a great affordable alternative for Sigma telephoto lens' user, especially for those who need extra reach. It does not sacrifice auto focus performance and only degrade a little bit of image quality. But remember that the maximum aperture will be smaller by one stop. So it might not be very good alternative if you shooting in low light like night sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great match-up with the Sigma 70-200, f2.8 that gives you a 100-300, f4 zoom, July 14, 2007
By 
Paul Johnson "pfjbaldwin" (Baldwin, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Optically outstanding when combined with the Sigma 70-200 f2.8 EX DG. This new Sigma EX DG lens and converter is super sharp and great color that stacks up to the famed Canon L series at about 60% of the cost. I see incredible clarity at 800% magnification doing touch ups in Photoshop.

I've used both and wouldn't hesitate a second buying the Sigma DG series again.

Advanced amateur who loves Canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lens compatibility, December 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigma APO Teleconverter 1.4x EX DG for Nikon Mount Lenses (Electronics)
Be sure to check Sigma's web site for lens compatibility. Amazon shows a "buy it with a Sigma 150-500", which I already own. However the auto focus does not work with this lens. The mount is not as tight as the Nikon TC and there is also a pronounced internal rattle on the Sigma TC. I'm seriously considering returning this for a refund. I already got a replacement and it's no better than the first. Now the good things I've seen about the Sigma TC. Comparatively cheap, relatively sharp, small in size, if the auto focus worked on the Sigma 150-500 I would not hesitate to keep it. So... how important is auto focusing??? I'm still debating! Double the price and buy the Nikon??
On Amazon's returns. AWSOME. I ordered and replacement and it was here in 2 days, no problem. And as for return shipping their postage was less than what I ended up paying at USPS.

Sigam's lens compatibility chart;

LENS Converter Effective
Focal length Effective
Aperture Maximum
Macro
Ratio for SIGMA for SONY Serial Numbers lower than 5000001 for SONY Serial Numbers higher than 5000001 for NIKON for PENTAX for CANON
150mm F2.8 EX DG Macro 1.4X 210mm f/4 1:4.1 AF*2 - - AF*2 - AF*2
150mm F2.8 EX DG Macro 2.0X 300mm f/5.6 2:1 MF - - MF - MF
180mm f/3.5 Macro *4 1.4X 252mm f/4.9 1.4:1 AF*3 MF MF AF*3 AF*3 AF*3
180mm f/3.5 Macro *4 2.0X 360mm f/7 2:1 MF MF MF MF MF MF
300mm f/2.8 EX 1.4X 420mm f/4 1:5.4 AF AF MF AF AF AF
300mm f/2.8 EX 2.0X 600mm f/5.6 1:3.8 AF AF MF AF AF AF
500mm f/4.5 EX *5 1.4X 700mm f/6.3 1:5.5 MF MF MF MF MF MF
500mm f/4.5 EX *5 2.0X 1000mm f/9 1:3.9 MF MF MF MF MF MF
800mm f/5.6 EX 1.4X 1120mm f/8 1:6.3 MF MF MF MF MF MF
800mm f/5.6 EX 2.0X 1600mm f/11 1:4.4 MF MF MF MF MF MF
50-150mm F2.8 II EX DC HSM 1.4X 70-210mm f/4 1:3.8 AF MF AF AF - AF
50-150mm F2.8 II EX DC HSM 2.0X 100-300mm f/5.6 1:2.7 AF MF AF AF - AF
50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX *6 1.4X 140-700mm f/7.3-8.8 1:3.7 MF*1 MF*1 MF*1 MF*1 MF MF*1
50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX *6 2.0X 200-1000mm f/10.4-12.6 1:2.6 MF*1 MF*1 MF*1 MF*1 MF MF*1
50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM 1.4x 140-700mm f/6.3-8.8 MF MF MF MF - MF
50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM 2.0x 200-1000m f/9-11 MF MF MF MF - MF
70-200mm F2.8 II EX DG MACRO HSM 1.4X 98-280mm f/4 1:5.6 AF MF AF AF - AF
70-200mm F2.8 II EX DG MACRO HSM 2.0X 140-400mm f/5.6 1:3.9 AF MF AF AF - AF
70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO OS HSM 1.4x 98-280mm f/4 AF MF AF AF - AF
70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO OS HSM 2.0x 140-400mm f5.6 AF MF AF AF - AF
80-400mm f4.5-5.6 EX OS 1.4X 112-560mm f/6.3-7.84 1:3.6
80-400mm f4.5-5.6 EX OS 2.0X 160-800mm f/9-11.2 1:2.5
100-300mm f/4 EX DG/ HSM *5 1.4X 140-420mm f/5.6 1:3.6 AF AF MF AF AF AF
100-300mm f/4 EX DG/ HSM *5 2.0X 200-600mm f/8 1:2.5 MF MF MF MF MF MF
120-300mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM 1.4X 168-420mm f/4 1:6.1 AF - - AF - AF
120-300mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM 2.0X 240-600mm f/5.6 1:4.3 AF - - AF - AF
120-400mm f4.5-5.6 DG OS 1.4X 168-560mm f/6.3-8 1:3 MF MF MF MF - MF
120-400mm f4.5-5.6 DG OS 2.0X 240-800mm f/9-11 1:2.1 MF MF MF MF - MF
150-500mm F5-6.3 DG OS 1.4X 210-700mm f/7-8.8 1:3.7 MF MF MF MF - MF
150-500mm F5-6.3 DG OS 2.0X 300-1000mm f/10-11 1:2.6 MF MF MF MF - MF
300-800mm f/5.6 EX 1.4X 420-1120mm f/7.8 1:4.9 MF - - MF - MF
300-800mm f/5.6 EX 2.0X 600-1600mm f/11.2 1:3.5 MF - - MF - MF
*4 For Canon, Nikon and Sigma AF cameras, Autofocus operates from 47" to Infinity, Manual focus must be used from 47" to 18"; for Minolta and Pentax AF cameras, Manual focus only can be used.

*5 MF for all cameras, except Canon EOS 3 and EOS 1v, which can autofocus with this combination.

*6 Zoom control range is limited to 100-500mm, when the teleconverters are used with this lens.

Corrected effective aperture will be displayed on the camera's digital display, and TTL exposure will be normal, when these teleconverters are used with the lenses listed above.

USABLE LENS AND COMBINATIONS

Sigma APO Tele Converter 1.4x and 2x are dedicated to Tele Converter lenses, which should be used with only listed lenses.
AF function of Pentax mounts cannot be used with SFX/SF7 cameras.
Do not use the APO Tele Converter EX on top of another APO Tele Converter, or any other kinds of converters.
ATTACHING THE TELECONVERTER TO THE LENS

First, attach the APO Tele Converter EX to the master lens. Then, attach the lens and the Tele Converter to the camera body. If you attach the Tele Converter to the camera body first it may cause a malfunction.
For Sony mount, when attaching the APO TELE CONVERTER with a serial number lower than 5000001 to the camera body, it will prevent the AF mechanism from working.
Exposure

Using the APO Tele Converter EX decreases the effective aperture by one F-stop (with 1.4x Tele Converter) or by two F-stops (with 2x Tele Converter).Regardless of exposure mode, correct exposure can be obtained.
If using a lens which has in the list, the camera's display will indicate the converted exposure information. If using a lens which does not have in the list while using a hand-held exposure meter, you should increase the exposure reading by 1-stop for the APO 1.4x Tele Converter EX or by 2-stops for the APO 2x Tele Converter EX.
Focusing

On the lists, the lenses marked "AF" will retain auto focus operation when used with a Tele Converter. The lenses marked "MF can only be used for manual focus.
Some lenses will be operated AF even the list of SONY AF, NIKON, PENTAX mentioned "MF", however, be aware that these lenses cannot focus precisely by auto focusing. Therefore, please use such lenses in MF mode when teleconverter is attached.
*1 With 1.4x APO Tele Converter, AF can operate between infinity and 1.2m. If the subject is closer than 1.2m, only MF is available.
*2 With 1.4x APO Tele Converter, AF can operate between infinity and 0.52m. If the subject is closer than 0.52m, only MF is available.
*3 When the Tele Converter is attached, the zoom range will be restricted to between 100mm to 500mm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Well - Not much of a hit on image quality, January 31, 2009
By 
Allan Thornton (Royal Oak, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigma APO Teleconverter 1.4x EX DG for Nikon Mount Lenses (Electronics)
I have used this with a Sigma 150-500mm lens. Since the Sigma lens is relatively slow I lose autofocus -- but shots I haven't had this long but shots that I have taken of squirrels and birds in the back yard remain sharp. This is a good purchase for those with compatible Sigma lenses looking for more reach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent add on, May 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigma APO Teleconverter 1.4x EX DG for Nikon Mount Lenses (Electronics)
For the past year I have used mine on a regular basis with my Sigma 150 macro lens. This creates a 210 F4 macro that is amazing. It is not possible to tell, by looking at the pictures, which were taken with or without this TC. Buying this gives you a second lens of equal quality for a little bit of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sigma's Best So Far, January 13, 2010
This review is from: Sigma APO Teleconverter 1.4x EX DG for Nikon Mount Lenses (Electronics)
I've been using this converter for a couple of years now, on my sigma 100-300mm f4, 120-400mm 4.5/5.6, and recently on my new Nikon AF-S 300mm f4. Works great on all of them. Fast auto focus (maunal on the 400mm sigma) sharp as the original lens.
The only downside is on the Nikon AF-s the readout says f4 when it should say 5.6 and the data says 300mm focal length instead of 420mm.(its not designed for this lens but produces shots as sharp as the 300mm without the converter) It auto focuses accurately and light meters correctly . Considering you can pick these up for less than half the price of a nikon tc its a steal, Just make sure you get the DG model which is optimized for long telephotos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great teleconverter, December 3, 2009
By 
Z. Wagner (Albuquerque, NM USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been using this teleconverter with my Sigma 70-200 2.8 lens, and it works like a charm, exactly as advertised with, as far as I can tell so far, no degradation in image quality. I'm sure there is some (don't think you could get it to zero), but it's not noticeable to my eye, and I've been known to do some pixel peeping. The build quality is solid, as with all my other Sigma lenses.
Just don't forget that this adds a stop to your lens, so my 2.8 is a 4 with it on. Also, be SURE to check compatibility charts at Sigma before you buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, April 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this teleconverter for use with the Sigma 150mm f/2.8 macro. Using it bumps me up to a 210mm. It performs nicely, gives me a little more reach and with the f/2.8 of the lens I'm using it with the loss of a stop is not really that bad. It seems so far to be a solid piece of equipment that functions as advertised. I have no complaints.

After well over a year of use I am still very happy with the teleconverter. It seems so far to be none the worse for wear and still performs very nicely with my 150mm f/2.8. I am very happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works just as described, May 13, 2007
Great addition to the 50-500mm sigma. Manual focus only, but really gets close to your subject from a distance. Very well built, solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, December 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigma APO Teleconverter 1.4x EX DG for Nikon Mount Lenses (Electronics)
Well, I read a lot of reviews about this 1.4 SIGMA TELECONVERTER, and I wasnt sure to buy it since I have the SIGMA 150-500 lens and I tought that the zoom that the sigma 150-500 offers was enough, I was thinking and finally I came up with the good idea of having 200mm extra, so I ordered and I can say that it works awesome, the picture quality its the same with or without this Teleconverter on the sigma 150-500.

NOTE. This Teleconverter locks the AF (AUTO FOCUS), so manual focus must be used when using it, I was gonna give 4 STARS to this item because of that, but if u think about it AF its new and professionals dont use AF, Im not proffessional so thats why I was gonna give 4 STARS to it, but with this NIKON D300 and a few great lenses that I already own, Im gonna be professional soon.

Good luck with this item and u can be sure that it works exellent when using the MF right..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.