Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sigma APO Teleconverter 1.4x EX DG for Pentax Mount Lenses
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Style: Pentax Mount Lenses|Change
Price:$249.00 - $249.01
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 2, 2009
I get the Sigma Teleconverter 1.4X especially for outdor sport games. I have Nikon D700 & D90 and Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 HSM. I feel that 70-200mm f/2.8 is too short on D700 (full frame) and D90 (1.5x crop), therefore i get this teleconverter. It is a good alternative because it is much cheaper than buying 300mm f/2.8 or 100-300mm f4 lens.
Build quality

Build quality is the same as typical Sigma EX (professional line lens) and very well match with Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 HSM.

COMPATIBILITY

Sigma teleconverter 1.4 only works with Sigma lenses. There are about a dozen compatible lens, but only a few retain auto focus function. There are: Sigma 180mm macro f/3.5 EX HSM, Sigma 300mm f/2.8 EX HSM, and Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX HSM.

AUTO FOCUS PERFORMANCE

I don't feel any difference in auto focus performance, so it remain excellent.

IMAGE QUALITY

It loses a bit of contrast and sharpness, but generally still very good. Check out sample images from my web blog. You can get the address from my Amazon profile.

CONCLUSION

Sigma teleconverter 1.4x is a great affordable alternative for Sigma telephoto lens' user, especially for those who need extra reach. It does not sacrifice auto focus performance and only degrade a little bit of image quality. But remember that the maximum aperture will be smaller by one stop. So it might not be very good alternative if you shooting in low light like night sports.
22 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2007
Optically outstanding when combined with the Sigma 70-200 f2.8 EX DG. This new Sigma EX DG lens and converter is super sharp and great color that stacks up to the famed Canon L series at about 60% of the cost. I see incredible clarity at 800% magnification doing touch ups in Photoshop.

I've used both and wouldn't hesitate a second buying the Sigma DG series again.

Advanced amateur who loves Canon.
44 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2010
Be sure to check Sigma's web site for lens compatibility. Amazon shows a "buy it with a Sigma 150-500", which I already own. However the auto focus does not work with this lens. The mount is not as tight as the Nikon TC and there is also a pronounced internal rattle on the Sigma TC. I'm seriously considering returning this for a refund. I already got a replacement and it's no better than the first. Now the good things I've seen about the Sigma TC. Comparatively cheap, relatively sharp, small in size, if the auto focus worked on the Sigma 150-500 I would not hesitate to keep it. So... how important is auto focusing??? I'm still debating! Double the price and buy the Nikon??
On Amazon's returns. AWSOME. I ordered and replacement and it was here in 2 days, no problem. And as for return shipping their postage was less than what I ended up paying at USPS.

Sigam's lens compatibility chart;

LENS Converter Effective
Focal length Effective
Aperture Maximum
Macro
Ratio for SIGMA for SONY Serial Numbers lower than 5000001 for SONY Serial Numbers higher than 5000001 for NIKON for PENTAX for CANON
150mm F2.8 EX DG Macro 1.4X 210mm f/4 1:4.1 AF*2 - - AF*2 - AF*2
150mm F2.8 EX DG Macro 2.0X 300mm f/5.6 2:1 MF - - MF - MF
180mm f/3.5 Macro *4 1.4X 252mm f/4.9 1.4:1 AF*3 MF MF AF*3 AF*3 AF*3
180mm f/3.5 Macro *4 2.0X 360mm f/7 2:1 MF MF MF MF MF MF
300mm f/2.8 EX 1.4X 420mm f/4 1:5.4 AF AF MF AF AF AF
300mm f/2.8 EX 2.0X 600mm f/5.6 1:3.8 AF AF MF AF AF AF
500mm f/4.5 EX *5 1.4X 700mm f/6.3 1:5.5 MF MF MF MF MF MF
500mm f/4.5 EX *5 2.0X 1000mm f/9 1:3.9 MF MF MF MF MF MF
800mm f/5.6 EX 1.4X 1120mm f/8 1:6.3 MF MF MF MF MF MF
800mm f/5.6 EX 2.0X 1600mm f/11 1:4.4 MF MF MF MF MF MF
50-150mm F2.8 II EX DC HSM 1.4X 70-210mm f/4 1:3.8 AF MF AF AF - AF
50-150mm F2.8 II EX DC HSM 2.0X 100-300mm f/5.6 1:2.7 AF MF AF AF - AF
50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX *6 1.4X 140-700mm f/7.3-8.8 1:3.7 MF*1 MF*1 MF*1 MF*1 MF MF*1
50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX *6 2.0X 200-1000mm f/10.4-12.6 1:2.6 MF*1 MF*1 MF*1 MF*1 MF MF*1
50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM 1.4x 140-700mm f/6.3-8.8 MF MF MF MF - MF
50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM 2.0x 200-1000m f/9-11 MF MF MF MF - MF
70-200mm F2.8 II EX DG MACRO HSM 1.4X 98-280mm f/4 1:5.6 AF MF AF AF - AF
70-200mm F2.8 II EX DG MACRO HSM 2.0X 140-400mm f/5.6 1:3.9 AF MF AF AF - AF
70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO OS HSM 1.4x 98-280mm f/4 AF MF AF AF - AF
70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO OS HSM 2.0x 140-400mm f5.6 AF MF AF AF - AF
80-400mm f4.5-5.6 EX OS 1.4X 112-560mm f/6.3-7.84 1:3.6
80-400mm f4.5-5.6 EX OS 2.0X 160-800mm f/9-11.2 1:2.5
100-300mm f/4 EX DG/ HSM *5 1.4X 140-420mm f/5.6 1:3.6 AF AF MF AF AF AF
100-300mm f/4 EX DG/ HSM *5 2.0X 200-600mm f/8 1:2.5 MF MF MF MF MF MF
120-300mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM 1.4X 168-420mm f/4 1:6.1 AF - - AF - AF
120-300mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM 2.0X 240-600mm f/5.6 1:4.3 AF - - AF - AF
120-400mm f4.5-5.6 DG OS 1.4X 168-560mm f/6.3-8 1:3 MF MF MF MF - MF
120-400mm f4.5-5.6 DG OS 2.0X 240-800mm f/9-11 1:2.1 MF MF MF MF - MF
150-500mm F5-6.3 DG OS 1.4X 210-700mm f/7-8.8 1:3.7 MF MF MF MF - MF
150-500mm F5-6.3 DG OS 2.0X 300-1000mm f/10-11 1:2.6 MF MF MF MF - MF
300-800mm f/5.6 EX 1.4X 420-1120mm f/7.8 1:4.9 MF - - MF - MF
300-800mm f/5.6 EX 2.0X 600-1600mm f/11.2 1:3.5 MF - - MF - MF
*4 For Canon, Nikon and Sigma AF cameras, Autofocus operates from 47" to Infinity, Manual focus must be used from 47" to 18"; for Minolta and Pentax AF cameras, Manual focus only can be used.

*5 MF for all cameras, except Canon EOS 3 and EOS 1v, which can autofocus with this combination.

*6 Zoom control range is limited to 100-500mm, when the teleconverters are used with this lens.

Corrected effective aperture will be displayed on the camera's digital display, and TTL exposure will be normal, when these teleconverters are used with the lenses listed above.

USABLE LENS AND COMBINATIONS

Sigma APO Tele Converter 1.4x and 2x are dedicated to Tele Converter lenses, which should be used with only listed lenses.
AF function of Pentax mounts cannot be used with SFX/SF7 cameras.
Do not use the APO Tele Converter EX on top of another APO Tele Converter, or any other kinds of converters.
ATTACHING THE TELECONVERTER TO THE LENS

First, attach the APO Tele Converter EX to the master lens. Then, attach the lens and the Tele Converter to the camera body. If you attach the Tele Converter to the camera body first it may cause a malfunction.
For Sony mount, when attaching the APO TELE CONVERTER with a serial number lower than 5000001 to the camera body, it will prevent the AF mechanism from working.
Exposure

Using the APO Tele Converter EX decreases the effective aperture by one F-stop (with 1.4x Tele Converter) or by two F-stops (with 2x Tele Converter).Regardless of exposure mode, correct exposure can be obtained.
If using a lens which has in the list, the camera's display will indicate the converted exposure information. If using a lens which does not have in the list while using a hand-held exposure meter, you should increase the exposure reading by 1-stop for the APO 1.4x Tele Converter EX or by 2-stops for the APO 2x Tele Converter EX.
Focusing

On the lists, the lenses marked "AF" will retain auto focus operation when used with a Tele Converter. The lenses marked "MF can only be used for manual focus.
Some lenses will be operated AF even the list of SONY AF, NIKON, PENTAX mentioned "MF", however, be aware that these lenses cannot focus precisely by auto focusing. Therefore, please use such lenses in MF mode when teleconverter is attached.
*1 With 1.4x APO Tele Converter, AF can operate between infinity and 1.2m. If the subject is closer than 1.2m, only MF is available.
*2 With 1.4x APO Tele Converter, AF can operate between infinity and 0.52m. If the subject is closer than 0.52m, only MF is available.
*3 When the Tele Converter is attached, the zoom range will be restricted to between 100mm to 500mm.
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2009
I have used this with a Sigma 150-500mm lens. Since the Sigma lens is relatively slow I lose autofocus -- but shots I haven't had this long but shots that I have taken of squirrels and birds in the back yard remain sharp. This is a good purchase for those with compatible Sigma lenses looking for more reach.
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2008
For the past year I have used mine on a regular basis with my Sigma 150 macro lens. This creates a 210 F4 macro that is amazing. It is not possible to tell, by looking at the pictures, which were taken with or without this TC. Buying this gives you a second lens of equal quality for a little bit of money.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2010
I've been using this converter for a couple of years now, on my sigma 100-300mm f4, 120-400mm 4.5/5.6, and recently on my new Nikon AF-S 300mm f4. Works great on all of them. Fast auto focus (maunal on the 400mm sigma) sharp as the original lens.
The only downside is on the Nikon AF-s the readout says f4 when it should say 5.6 and the data says 300mm focal length instead of 420mm.(its not designed for this lens but produces shots as sharp as the 300mm without the converter) It auto focuses accurately and light meters correctly . Considering you can pick these up for less than half the price of a nikon tc its a steal, Just make sure you get the DG model which is optimized for long telephotos.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2009
I've been using this teleconverter with my Sigma 70-200 2.8 lens, and it works like a charm, exactly as advertised with, as far as I can tell so far, no degradation in image quality. I'm sure there is some (don't think you could get it to zero), but it's not noticeable to my eye, and I've been known to do some pixel peeping. The build quality is solid, as with all my other Sigma lenses.
Just don't forget that this adds a stop to your lens, so my 2.8 is a 4 with it on. Also, be SURE to check compatibility charts at Sigma before you buy it!
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2012
First off, if you are considering a teleconverter, you are doing so to extend the focal length or reach of a telephoto lens. NOTHING ELSE. This does not help macros or do much for most mid- or wide-angle zooms.

Second, before you even THINK of buying....GO TO THE MANUFACTURER'S WEBSITE AND CHECK THEIR COMPATIBILITY TABLES. For YOUR mount. For YOUR lenses which you'd like to use it for. THEN decide if it's worth the price.

Many of the other reviews here are complaining that it isn't compatible or doesn't work or won't allow autofocus...when an educated buyer would have found that out ahead of time. If the compatibility table says it will work but it doesn't...THEN complain.

That said, I still only give it 3 stars because even knowing all that, I am finding the usefulness is more limited than I thought. I'm using on a Sony A55, with a Sigma 150-500mm lens. On that lens this teleconverter works in manual focus only (which I knew), and the 1.4x TC costs you a stop of light (which I also knew). What I didn't really realize was exactly how bloody hard it can be to manual focus at an effective (35mm equivalent) 980mm focal length and a max aperture of 7. The lens to which it is attached is a 'focus by wire' so even trying to very softly feather the focus while shooting multiple frames on a tripod, it's pretty difficult to get the focal plane right where you want it, and you'll be shooting pretty high ISO to get the exposures down to where motion blur isn't also a problem (the lens has optical stabilization, but the TC multiplication factor does reduce the OS's ability to give your a couple stops of stability improvement) unless you're shooting on from a very stable platform (tripod), at a very still subject (e.g. birds on moving trees in the wind is an issue), or on very very sunny days.

It does what it says it should, so in that regard I have no real complaints. But I didn't really expect it to feel *this* limited at the long end, which is the primary purpose for which I bought it, so for the price the advantages seem kind of thin now.
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
I tried this with a Sigma 150-500mm on a Nikon D7100 DX and a D800 FX. Yes, you will get 40% magnification but the loss of image quality was higher. I could crop in post processing and get better detail without the TC 1.4 than with it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
I purchased this tele-converter to use with my Canon 7D and my Sigma 70-200 mm F/2.8 OS lens for shooting night time high school football games. The optics are very clear and It works great with both camera and lens. It does reduce the lens max aperture from f/2.8 to f/4 but I can live with that to get the additional focal length. At 1.4x with my 1.6 crop sensor Canon 7D this tele-converter offers me an equivalent focal length up to approximately 448 mm at f/4.0 which gets me nice sharp close up shots with night time shutter speeds up to 1/500 sec and higher depending on the lighting conditions of each field. It is a great combination of lens, tele-converter and camera for football games. I purchased the lens and tele-converter separately and both new for around $1300 and both perform very well. A great price for a fast focusing and optically stabilized 448 mm of equivalent focal length and f/4 aperture.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 30 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.