Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metalli-who? Check Out Testament!
Signs of Chaos- The Best of Testament(1997). The First Compilation For Testament.

In the 80's, Thrash bands like Metallica, Megadeth, Slayerand Anthrax(The Big 4) are generally what you think of, yet other bands, like Testament, Overkill, and Metal Church, were as good, if not better than those bands. Testament amazed many with their underground and critically...
Published on September 14, 2004 by Will Culp

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor production quality.
As other reviewers have noted, Testament is not only one of the most overlooked of all thrash metal bands, they are also one of the very best. They are one of my absolute favorite bands and I have every album they've ever released.

Regrettably, I cannot recommend this compilation disc. That has nothing to do with the content or the selection of songs, but...
Published on January 17, 2012 by CWS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metalli-who? Check Out Testament!, September 14, 2004
By 
Will Culp (Greenville, South Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (Audio CD)
Signs of Chaos- The Best of Testament(1997). The First Compilation For Testament.

In the 80's, Thrash bands like Metallica, Megadeth, Slayerand Anthrax(The Big 4) are generally what you think of, yet other bands, like Testament, Overkill, and Metal Church, were as good, if not better than those bands. Testament amazed many with their underground and critically acclaimed albums 'The Legacy', 'The New Order', and 'Practice What You Preach'. Although they are best remembered for their 80's material, Testament's 90's albums are excellent, and they are still making music today! Needless to say, any fan of Heavy Metal or Thrash should know of Testament, and, in my opinion, they are equal to Metallica. That's actually quite surprising if you know me, since Metallica's 80's albums are some of my favorite albums. So, is Testament's compilation a winner or a bomb? Read on to find out!

PROS-

-CONTAINS SONGS FROM EVERY TESTAMENT ALBUM- Signs of Chaos contains songs from 'The Legacy', 'The New Order', 'Practice What You Preach', 'Souls of Black', 'The Gathering', 'Low', and 'Demonic'.

-ALMOST 80 MINUTES LONG!- Many compilations fail to get anywhere near the 80 minute limit, but Testament's 'Signs of Chaos' is remarkably close, getting more bank for your buck!

-CHEAP!- Although it costs $16 on Amazon, most stores have clearanced this album, so, instead of paying more money for imports, you can get 'Signs of Chaos' for a low price, and it's very easy to find.

-TWO EXTRA TRACKS!- Signs of Chaos contains two extra tracks, "Sails of Charon" and the Aerosmith cover "Draw The Line". These tracks are excellent, and fans of the band may want to pick this album up for them.

- GREAT LINER NOTES!- Signs Of Chaos gives an informative and interesting read on the development and history of Testament, and this is always a plus for me.

CONS-

"DEMONIC REFUSAL"- For the albums 'Low' and 'Demonic', Testament experimented with Death Metal, and the two Death Metal tracks here are "Dog Faced Dogs" and "Demonic Refusal". While the instruments are just too good on "Dog Faced Dogs" to not like the song, "Demonic Refusal" has nothing appealing, and the vocals make me sick. Definitely the album's low point.

Overall, Signs of Chaos is a great introduction to Testament, and a great addition to fans who've only purchased their first three albums. Testament, while not being as popular as other Thrash bands, retains the same amount of talent and emotion, and anybody who picks up this album will immediately notice this. Really, there's nothing wrong with this compilation, except for the mediocre song "Demonic Refusal", and even then, you can always skip it. If you already have all of Testament's albums, you may want to pick this up for the extra tracks, as they are very good.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO FANS OF HEAVY METAL, THRASH, TESTAMENT, AND ALICE IN CHAINS(THEY BEAR A RESEMBLANCE(ETC. "THE BALLAD"). IF YOU LIKE METALLICA AND MEGADETH, DEFINITELY MAKE A NOTE TO CHECK OUT TESTAMENT AND THIS GREAT COMPILATION!

Also Recommended-

Rust In Peace- Megadeth

The New Order- Testament

Master of Puppets- Metallica

Thanks For Reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best "Best of" Album EVER!, October 10, 2004
This review is from: Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (Audio CD)
I have to say, back when I was first into heavy metal I had heard the song "Alone In The Dark" which sent me into the CD stores searching high and low for Testament CDs. And what did they have? The Legacy, The Gathering, Low, Practice What You Preach, and this compilation album - Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament. At a price of $15 for 17 songs, I really couldn't pass it up. And I am freaking glad I didn't!

The CD starts off with "Signs of Chaos", a very cool guitar-only intro to one of my now favorite Testament songs "Electric Crown". Alex Skolnick tears up the solo on that song with some awesome melody. He has to be one of the best metal guitarists ever.

Then there's "The New Order" which is insanely fast and is a very good song. Then there's the song that got me into Testament in the first place "Alone In The Dark". Really an all around good song, probably one of their finest moments.

Next of note would be the song "Souls of Black"... The song begins with a lightning clash and a very fast arpeggio... And then bam, you get hit with an ultimate thrash riff. Heavy and forceful. The lyrics to this song are really great in my opinion too.

Then there's "Trial By Fire", "Low", and "Practice What You Preach". These guys are really good at playing their instruments and singing. Awesome songs that never get old.

Next is "Over The Wall" with the most amazing intro riff and one of the best solos of all time; followed by "The Legacy".

But my most absolute favorite Testament song ever is "Return To Serenity". From their album THE RITUAL from 1992 I believe, just before Alex left the band, they made this jewel of a song. A neat accoustic intro, with a very melodic and speedy solo... It almost sounds like a ballad, but it's probably one of the best I've ever heard. This song alone makes this album worth buying.

Finally, one more song of note, and it is the previously unreleased track "Sails of Charon". A bit of wah and harmony action in this song, and it is fairly heavy to boot.

If you do buy this album, you will not be disappointed. Testament has to be the best thrash band to ever exist. Alex Skolnick, Chuck Billy, Eric Peterson, and all the others have made this band into the best Bay Area Thrash band ever... And more. This CD is definitely a 5 stars out of 5; and worth every penny of what it costs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compilation, March 21, 2005
This review is from: Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (Audio CD)
Testament was probably the most overlooked thrash band of the 80's and 90's with none of their albums ever reaching a platinum status. Their guitarist, Alex Skolnick, was taught by guitar wizard Joe Satriani and was probably the most talented guitarist in the genre. He, along with Eric Peterson, formed one of the best guitar teams in all of thrash (if not the best). Their singer Chuck Billy was an excellent vocalist (especially compared to some of the other singers of that time), even though he never really broke new ground. They combined all of these elements and released several excellent albums before turning to death metal in the mid-90's. This album only goes up to 1997 so there isn't that much from that death metal period. Here's how the songs rate:

1+2. Sign of Chaos/Electric Crown 9/10- The first is a thirty-second guitar solo which has a neo-classical sound to it. The second part is a so-so metal song, but a good song to start off the album.
3. The New Order 7/10- Decent song off of their second album.
4. Alone in the Dark 8.5/10- The lyrics and chorus are kind of weak, but the guitar is excellent.
5. Dog Faced Gods 9/10- A death-metal song that is saved by an excellent chorus and instrumentation.
6. Demonic Refusal 5/10- I knew that this death metal song would be lame when it opened with a space shuttle countdown "10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 6, 6,..." This does have good guitar work but that is about it.
7. The Ballad 9/10- The first half is pretty much a rip-off of Metallica's "Fade to Black." Even though Testament was never known for its lyrics, these are terrible. The song isn't even about anything (I guess that's why they named it "The Ballad"). But of course, there are excellent guitar parts that make this song so good, but I dock a point because it is so much like "Fade to Black."
8. Souls of Black 9/10- The setup of the song, as well as the main riff, seems taken directly from Metallica's "For Whom The Bell Tolls." That being said, this is still a memorable song, and the riff is terrific. Minus one point for being like Metallica though.
9. Trial by Fire 10/10- At first I didn't like this song, but it grew on me. It has one of the greatest riffs I've ever heard, and has a specatacular solo.
10. Low 9/10- That chorus sticks in your head and while it is from their death-metal period, this is still a good song.
11. Practice What You Preach 10/10- Great song off of the album with the same name. Try not to yell "Preach!" every time that the chorus comes up.
12. Over the Wall 10/10- Another excellent song (noticing a pattern?), but what makes this song so great is the memorable drumming and the brilliant Skolnick solo in the middle.
13. The Legacy 10/10- An exceptional ballad from "Souls of Black." Of course, there is an excellent chorus and solo. Builds up and up, and by the end you wish it could still go on.
14. Return of Serenity 10/10- Testament's greatest contribution to metal is this outstanding ballad with a passionate, heartfelt guitar solo in the middle by Skolnick. Possibly Testament's best song.
15. Perilous Nation 6/10- Unremarkable song. Not really anything bad, but nothing good either.
16. Sails of Charon 6/10- One of two previously unreleased songs on the album. Good riff, but I would've liked to hear a solo from Skolnick.
17. Draw the Line 4/10- So-so cover of the great Aerosmith song. Chuck Billy is no Steven Tyler which is what makes this song not worth your while.

Testament somehow managed to have excellent production on every one of their albums. This is great because none of them are hurt because they sound poor. My only complaint is that for some reason, the songs were mixed very low. This would not really matter that much, but I have to turn it up louder whenever this CD is playing and turn it down again after it is done, but still this is a small complaint. This is an excellent buy because this disc is almost 70 minutes long, and filled with excellent songs. I've actually found where Alex Skolnick went after Testament. After a bief stint with Savatage, he went back to school and is now a jazz guitarist. He currently is the leader of the Alex Skolnick Trio, as well as a member of the Trans Siberian Orchestra. I actually saw him play with the TSO and it was a shame. Even though he was the lead gutarist, he sat in a corner and just played his songs. There was no jumping around, no movement, and no passion. While the rhythm guitarist and the bassist where doing their pyrotechnics, he did nothing. It's a shame because he was just nineteen when The Legacy was released. He could have been up with the ranks of Slash and Jimmy Page had he stayed on purpose, or maybe not considering the sad state of music these days. Anyway, this is an excellent buy. Testament was heavy, but is much more accessible than, say, Slayer. Pick it up just to hear Skolnick play, he's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor production quality., January 17, 2012
This review is from: Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (Audio CD)
As other reviewers have noted, Testament is not only one of the most overlooked of all thrash metal bands, they are also one of the very best. They are one of my absolute favorite bands and I have every album they've ever released.

Regrettably, I cannot recommend this compilation disc. That has nothing to do with the content or the selection of songs, but simply the production quality of the disc itself.

Usually, when a band releases a "greatest hits" or compilation CD, you can expect the selections on it to have been remastered from the original recordings to measure up to more modern standards. In some cases, certain bands will go so far as to create entirely new recordings of their old material. But for some reason neither of those things happened here. The production and sound quality on this CD is actually WORSE -- much worse -- than the original recordings, and that's even true for the earliest selections. I have no idea how this could have happened, maybe this compilation was recorded from cassette tapes or something, because that's what it sounds like.

So bottom line: great material and a great selection of songs which is unfortunately ruined by the terrible sound quality of this CD. If you want a Testament sampler disc, avoid this one and get "First Strike Still Deadly", where the band actually DID go back and re-record a bunch of their early material. And did a spectacular job of it, I might add.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal fans rejoice!, October 19, 2001
By 
J. Seifert (Indianapolis, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (Audio CD)
Testament represents some of the best of the 80's metal scene; unlike they're "hair band" brethren, they kept an edgy sound and image through the mid-80's to mid-90's. Like any other "best of" album, it represents a good mixer of their catchy riffs and melodic ballads.
Possibly the best reason to buy this album, however, is to get the last two tracks, Sails of Charon and Draw the Line, both previously unreleased. Usually, "best of" albums will contain one or two such songs just to get the fans who already bought all their albums to break down to buy the compilation album, an insidious scheme. When you finally listen to those "unreleased" tracks, you find out why they were never released before. However, the two tracks here are possibly the strongest songs on the album! Sails of Charon is great stuff, and their cover of Aerosmith's Draw the Line smokes the original version, a rarity for a cover version to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!!, October 19, 2000
This review is from: Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (Audio CD)
This is the one and only Testament CD that I own, and lemme tell you this, this CD has all their best songs packed in one CD! But, many other good songs have been left out, such as "Trail of Tears" and many others...! But, this album delivers the goods! Some of my fave songs off this album are, Electric Crown, Alone in the Dark, Ballad, The Legacy, and Return to Serenity. "Sails of Charon" is a new addition, and its awesome! It has an excellent intro, and outro! The other new track is "Draw the line".
Signs of Chaos - Best of Testament is a great title for any Heavy Metal fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of One of the best., May 6, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (Audio CD)
Well, I remember clearly when Testament first released "The Legacy". The album was monumental in developing the 80's metal scene. At the time Metallica was recording "Ride The Lightning" and legacy showed that in a darker corner, something wicked was on its way. While I was an avid metal fan in my youth(including such bands as Slayer, Death Angel, Wrathchild America, Sacred Reich, Cro-Mags, Metal Church, Sepultura, Coroner, etc) I now will occasionally throw in the Old "classics" of my collection. I must say that this would be a noble "Best Of" album. Testament was one of those bands who just always struck the right spot it seemed. Not too radical, Yet Very talented. I had the pleasure of seeing Testament Live for almost all of there first Four albums and was impressed. For all of those younger metal fans...You have no Idea what you had missed during the peak of the genre. The Shows, the Tours...it was so amazing. Seeing Testament Open for Slayer, along with Suicidal Tendencies, then the next week it would be Exodus, Death Angel, Flotsam and Jetsam, Pro-Pain and so forth, it was an awsome time in music. This album takes me back to that time for the most part. Although I had gotten away from the Genre while attending college, the tracks from "Low" and the later albums may sound out of place, but it is all showing the progression of one of the most influential metal bands ever. And although I may have to go to the office every day, it is still kick[in] to crank up on the drive home.
Message to any new fans: If you like any tunes on this album, go out and buy "the Legacy", "New Order", and "Practice", because so many great tunes were left out. Then try to imagine disordered youth gathering to let Testament help them release any emotions which may be pent up inside them. May everyone Keep Rockin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of One of the best., May 6, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (Audio CD)
Well, I remeber clearly when Testament first released "The Legacy". The album was monumental in developing the 80's metal scene. At the time Metallica was recording "Ride The Lightning" and legacy showed that in a darker corner, something wicked was on its way. While I was an avid metal fan in my youth(including such bands as Slayer, Death Angel, Wrathchild America, Sacred Reich, Cro-Mags, Metal Church, Sepultura, Coroner, etc) I now will occasionally throw in the Old "classics" of my collection. I must say that this would be a noble "Best Of" album. Testament was one of those bands who just always struck the right spot it seemed. Not too radical, Yet Very talented. I had the pleasure of seeing Testament Live for almost all of there first Four albums and was impressed. For all of those younger metal fans...You have no Idea what you had missed during the peak of the genre. The Shows, the Tours...it was so amazing. Seeing Testament Open for Slayer, along with Suicidal Tendencies, then the next tour would be Exodus, Testament, Vio-lence and so forth, it was an awsome time in music. This album takes me back to that time for the most part. Although I had gotten away from the Genre while attending college, the tracks from "Low" and the later albums may sound out of place, but it is all showing the progression of one of the most influential metal bands ever. And although I may have to go to the office every day, it is still [great] to crank up on the drive home.
Message to any new fans: If you like any tunes on this album, go out and buy "the Legacy", "New Order", and "Practice" and try to imagine disordered youth gathering to let Testament help them release any emotions which may be pent up inside them. May everyone Keep Rockin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, June 30, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (Audio CD)
This cd shows testament's changing style from beginning to now. It is a great cd, musically and lyrically. If you've ever listened to testament, or want to, this is their "must-have" cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mix of Classic Testament Except For....., May 18, 2001
By 
This review is from: Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (Audio CD)
I really like this compilation. They did a good job putting it together. Most of my faves are on here, like The Ritual, Greenhouse Effect and Souls of Black. Songs I think belong on here that are not, are Apocalyptic City and The Preacher. If you have just been recommended to hear some Testament and never heard there music before, this is definitely a great place to start. This is also a great CD for those of you who have kept up with these guys through all their changes and are looking for a trip down memory lane. For all those in between, just get the CD, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.