Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Travel Piece for Iceland and Common Men
What a great music dvd this is. I normally do not like music dvds, too often filled with preening and self-adoration. But this one is different, showing the geography and scope of Iceland and its people in a very fresh, low-key and brilliant way, as well as showing off the music and the relative humility and humanity (as well as talent) of the musicians. I bought my...
Published on December 4, 2007 by Oglach

versus
8 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware
As a Title, this 2 disc DVD is a great companion for Sigur Ros fans who have not seen live perfomances and might want to take a look at the band on their natural enviroment, the beatiful and desolates Icelandic landscapes. But don't belive the product description on the back cover because it offers subtitles for the documentary on at least six different languages,...
Published on July 19, 2008 by P. D.


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Travel Piece for Iceland and Common Men, December 4, 2007
By 
Oglach (Bun an Tabhairne, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sigur Ros: Heima (DVD)
What a great music dvd this is. I normally do not like music dvds, too often filled with preening and self-adoration. But this one is different, showing the geography and scope of Iceland and its people in a very fresh, low-key and brilliant way, as well as showing off the music and the relative humility and humanity (as well as talent) of the musicians. I bought my first Sigur Ros CD years ago, and hadn't any idea what any of them looked like. You get to see them here, but in such a humble, common man way it is really refreshing. You also see much of the ordinary people of Iceland and the massive, empty scenery of the place. Just beautiful at virtually every level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly made music doc and concert footage, December 9, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sigur Ros: Heima (DVD)
Beautifully filmed and expertly edited, this is one of the best music documentary/tour films I've seen. It delivers great performances in wonderful settings, and was made with clear affection towards the land and the people of Iceland.

The 2nd disk is a great bonus that may well end up getting more play than the main disk, as it presents all of the performances uninterrupted by snippets of interview, as they are in the main documentary, as well as some additional material that didn't make the main film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful documentary!, October 24, 2007
This review is from: Heima (DVD)
This documentary is absolutely gorgeous, both visually and aurally. The film consists of interviews with the band, concert footage in their homeland of Iceland, and breathtaking landscapes. The concert shown includes great backstage views, as well as a audience member's view of a very non-traditional concert.
If you're a fan of Sigur Ros, I highly recommend seeing this film. You will not be disappointed. Even if you're not a fan, it's worth seeing for the imagery alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, November 2, 2007
By 
J. Monsalvez (Los Angeles, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heima (DVD)
Heima screened last night in my neighborhood, and Sigur Ros played a small acoustic set before the film. Absolutely brilliant! A fine documentary that embraces all the ideals of the band's music, and shows the wonderous nature of their homeland and its people. I don't think there is anything more enjoyable to a music listener than seeing the origins of songs and the unique manner and settings in which they were recorded. Obviously I am a fan, so I think that Sigur Ros may very well be the pioneer of 21st century classical music, but if you have not yet given this band a listen, do yourself a favor and check out the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars... Outstanding "home" tour documentary, July 6, 2008
This review is from: Sigur Ros: Heima (DVD)
On the heels of Sigur Ros' 20052-2006 world tour in support of the "Takk" album, the band decided to do something quite unique: travel around their home country of Iceland, playing free (and unannounced) shows on various locations for whoever cared to show up. They then decided to film the whole thing, and in the Fall of 2007, this gorgeous DVD was finally released.

"Heima" consists of 2 DVDs. DVD 1 (97 min.) brings the 'official' movie, and what a great treat it is. The movie is a mix of National Geographic Channel-like images of the country side of Iceland, in all of its rugged beauty, as well as a look at the Icelandic people themselves. The performances from Sigur Ros are outstanding, whether they are in a traditional setting such as the Reykjavik show, or whether they are performing entirely unplugged (no electricity whatsoever) at a remote setting where the band wants to show its support to some protesters against the planned construction of a huge dam. There are a number of performances inside as well, including what looks to be someone's living room (literally), but also a now-abandoned fish-processing factory. The band members of Sigur Ros (and of Amiina) give their perspectives throughout the movie. I need to make a special mention of how outstanding not only the movie looks, but also sounds. If you have a home-style theatre set-up (as I do), it will bring out the best of the movie, in particular the accoustics.

CD2 (152 min.) brings the accumulation of the performances, without the interviews. Be aware: there are a number of repeat perfornances from DVD1 (not sure why they decided to include those again), and also a number of additional performances. For me, THE standout moment is the 15+ min. explosive performace of "Popplagid" from the Reykjavik show. I had the chance to see Sigur Ros twice on the "Takk" tour, and several times since then, most recently a couple of weeks ago at Bonnaroo in a spectecular 1 AM set. They continue to get better and better, in my opinion. Meanwhile, "Heima" is an absolute must for any Sigur Ros fan, period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Beautiful. Belive the hype!, May 8, 2008
This review is from: Sigur Ros: Heima (DVD)
A documentary following a band in another country, singing in a language I cannot understand? I'd normally have zero interest in a film like this. But you know what? wow Wow WOW!!

I was absolutely riveted. It's BEAUTIFUL. Every frame of this film is beautiful imagery and/or amazing composition. The way it's filmed, the way it's cut, the music - they all come together to create something that, at least for me, transcended the sum of its parts.

Ever been to Iceland? Do you speak their language? Do you have any idea who Sigur Ros is? No? Doesn't matter. Neither did I. But when this film ended, I was absolutely blown away by it.

If you've seen the Planet Earth DVDs - especially in HD - Heima will give you that exact same sense of wonder with its imagery and unique viewpoint as they intercut scenes of Iceland's wonders and her people into the film, but the addition of the music, and the creative shots and editing just puts it over the top for me. It's like nothing I've ever seen, and how often do you get to say that? About ANYTHING?

If you have even a passing interest in film, art, photography, or simply love being immersed in an incredible audio-visual experience, DO NOT MISS THIS FILM.

I haven't been so artistically inspired by *anything* in years, and I can't recommend this film enough. Wow. Great work to Dean and the gang.

PS: It's an absolute crime that there is not "making of" documentary included with this! Other than that, it's perfect. In fact, I'm going to go watch it again right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homeland, November 20, 2007
By 
This review is from: Heima (DVD)
I was fortunate enough to see this film last night at the showing in San Francisco. I am a big fan of Sigur Rós, and Icelandic music in general, but I am always a bit weary of tour documentaries due to the fact that they tend to fall a little flat and don't fully capture the energy of the performances. But Heima, Sigur Rós' documentary of their free summer tour in Iceland, tells an actual story rather than just editing together songs from a concert. You learn much more about the band, their culture and their beliefs. This film will not disappoint you, I promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful, November 5, 2007
This review is from: Heima (DVD)
I too saw a screening of this in Los Angeles on November 1st, 2007. The Sigur Ros 3-song acoustic set preceeding the screening incited in me emotions I haven't felt in a longtime. The footage of scenic Iceland coupled with the live music played by the band is awe inspiring. The film is simply beautiful, and if you are a fan of music, not just a fan of Sigur Ros, you need to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous land- and sound-scapes, December 27, 2007
By 
Jean E. Pouliot (Newburyport, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heima (DVD)
I know next to nothing about the Icelandic band Sigur Ros -- even how to pronounce their name. But thanks to my son, I have had a chance to watch an extraordinary musical and visual experience. The DVD shows the band playing its other-wordly tunes in out-of-the-way Icelandic locales. The music is played on a weird combination of rock instruments -- bowed guitars, bass, drums and keyboard -- along with strings, marching band instruments and the weirdest vocals this side of Nepalese throat singers. The music is gorgeous, evocative, soulful and rhythmic. The best way to describe it is George Winston meets Pink Floyd.

While the band plays, we see see shots of the crowd -- a melange of all ages and styles -- from toddlers to elders -- all grooving on the awesome sounds. We also see shots and still-lifes of the achingly-beautiful Icelandic summer landscape -- a boulder, a tuft of grass, a running stream.

Sigur Ros may not be your cup of tea, but it is a beautiful memento of a phenomenal group that is oh so different from the pre-packaged glop that makes billions this side of Vestmannaeyjar. Very much worth a long look and listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deep water, January 1, 2008
This review is from: Sigur Ros: Heima (DVD)
Upon just completed viewing the new Sigur Ros dvd film, 'Heima', one word comes to mind - stunning. Simply put, it is a timeless and transcendant work of art which seamessly marries sonic landscapes with visual ones.

The choice to present the material with great subtlety and beauty mirrors the reverence and quiet intensity of Sigur Ros' music (a rare feat indeed in generally capturing the essence of performed music).

I was particulary captivated by the absolute lack of ego seen on the faces of the people in Iceland. This was especially noticeable in the separate interview segments with the each band member. They really come off as being refreshingly humble and authentic. Considering the refined power of their expression, it is easy to understand that by being this way is how they are able to create such potent and haunting music.

If you have a soul (and know it) and can appreciate exquisite beauty, than this film is a necessity. I'd recommend seeing it uninterrupted and in a contemplative mood. Takk to Sigur Ros!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sigur Ros: Heima
Sigur Ros: Heima by Dean DeBlois (DVD - 2007)
$17.98 $15.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.