Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$5.28
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Item qualifies for FREE shipping and Prime! This item is used.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Silent Enemy Hardcover – Bargain Price, August 4, 2011

4.3 out of 5 stars 52 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, Bargain Price, August 4, 2011
$2.49 $0.93

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details

Youngblood: A Novel by Matt Gallagher
"Youngblood" by Matt Gallagher
A brilliant first novel about a young American soldier finding his purpose during the final, murky days of the war in Iraq, from US army veteran and Columbia MFA grad Matt Gallagher. Learn more | See related books

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Editorial Reviews

Review

 “One of the most exciting new thriller talents in years!” — Vince Flynn, #1 New York Times bestselling author

 “There are writers, and there are fighters—readers are lucky that Tom Young is both.” — Alex Berenson, #1 New York Times bestselling author

 “Fans of Clancy, Coonts, and Dale Brown need to add Young to their must reads lists.” — Booklist

 “Young is an excellent storyteller, creating memorable characters with Hemingway-like understatement and precision.” — Kirkus Reviews --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Tom Young has logged nearly 4,000 hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Bosnia, Kosovo, and elsewhere, including Latin America, the Horn of Africa, and the Far East. Military honors include two Air Medals, three Aerial Achievement Medals, and the Air Force Combat Action Medal. He continues to serve with the Air National Guard as a Senior Master Sergeant.

He holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and studied writing there and at the Sewanee Writers' Conference, among other places. He is also the author of the oral history The Speed of Heat: An Airlift Wing at War in Iraq and Afghanistan, and contributed to the anthology Operation Homecoming, edited by Andrew Carroll. Young lives in Alexandria, Virginia.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Putnam Adult (August 4, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0399157794
  • ASIN: B007BWA6E0
  • Product Dimensions: 6.3 x 1.1 x 9.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (52 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,342,456 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Thomas W. Young has logged nearly 4,000 hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Bosnia, Kosovo, and elsewhere, including Latin America, the Horn of Africa, and the Far East. Military honors include two Air Medals, three Aerial Achievement Medals, and the Air Force Combat Action Medal. He continues to serve with the Air National Guard as a Senior Master Sergeant.
He holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and studied writing there and at the Sewanee Writers' Conference, among other places. He is also the author of the oral history The Speed of Heat: An Airlift Wing at War in Iraq and Afghanistan, and contributed to the anthology Operation Homecoming, edited by Andrew Carroll.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Thomas W. Young wrote one of last year's best thrillers, an edge-of-your-seat tome titled THE MULLAH'S STORM. The best way to describe protagonist Michael Parson is to say that if you were to look up the phrase "the right stuff," it would be illustrated with his picture. Parson is the modern-day equivalent of Bill Mauldin's "Willie and Joe" characters, notwithstanding the fact that he is an officer. As was illustrated in the previous book and again, very dramatically, in SILENT ENEMY, Major Parson will not send a subordinate into a situation to perform a task that he would not do himself.

"The story is as lean and mean as they come; it jumps from one disaster to another, leaving bodies and parts of bodies along the way."
Young's latest takes place approximately four years after the events of THE MULLAH'S STORM. We learn early on that Parson, though he left parts of himself in the Hindu Kush mountains, has obtained a medical waiver to go into pilot training and done what he needed to do to earn his wings. As SILENT ENEMY opens, Parson is about to leave Kabul, flying a giant, Vietnam-era C-5 Galaxy to Germany. His mission, though, is quickly changed when Islamic jihadists unleash a bomb attack on the Afghan National Police training center, resulting in a great number of casualties. The wounded are put aboard a number of nearby planes, including Parson's, for medical treatment in Germany.

Army translator Sophia Gold is among those to be transported. Gold, now a Sergeant Major, played an important role in THE MULLAH'S STORM with Parson, and the two shared a decoration ceremony in recognition of their brave and valiant actions under fire. But Gold and Parson barely have time to become reacquainted after departure when the crew receives some horrific news.
Read more ›
Comment 10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
This book is a fitting tribute to the men and woman of our armed services, who face danger throughout the world in an effort to bring peace and stability to people here and abroad. Told from the viewpoint of one who knows. No this isn't the first book about a bomb on an airplane. The uniqueness lies in the fact that the aircraft is a U.S. military aircraft. Terrorist bombs have supposedly been placed on this and other aircraft while they were at a secure base in Afghanistan. If you can get past this and allow the story to unfold, you will get a real thrill ride. The main characters are Air Force Major Michael Parson and Army Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, who met in Young's first novel, The Mullah's Storm,The Mullah's Storm while transporting a terrorist for interrogation. This time they are trapped on a C-5, the U.S. Air Force's largest transport aircraft, with a load of critically wounded victims of an Afghan terrorist's attack. Major Parson doesn't know until after takeoff that terrorists have possibly planted bombs on many of the aircraft from his base of departure. When his worst fears are confirmed, he finds himself, his crew, and passengers trapped miles above the earth unable to land for fear the aircraft's descent will trigger the bomb. Add to this the mechanical failures of an aircraft built before any of it's crew were even born, as well as the creeping fear that any of the wounded on board may be another terrorist and you have a volatile situation ready to explode at any time. I would have liked to see a bit more character development in the secondary characters. This book was provide for review by the well read folks at Library Thing and G.P. Putnam's Sons.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
When we last met the central characters of this story, Major Michael Parson and Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, it was in Tom Young’s previous book, The Mullah's Storm (A Parson and Gold Novel), set several years previous in Afghanistan. At that time, Parson was the navigator aboard a C-130 transport carrying a high-value Taliban prisoner and translator Gold that is shot down over the Hindu Kush. Parson and Gold survive the crash of the transport, but the latter is captured and tortured by the Taliban. Parson, a survivalist and a crack shot, goes to her rescue.

Here in SILENT ENEMY, which again begins in Afghanistan, Gold, now an English language instructor of Afghan police personnel, sustains cracked ribs when the police HQ is Kabul is devastated by an explosion. Along with several severely injured Afghanis, she’s placed aboard a C-5 Globemaster, the U.S. military’s largest air transporter, for evacuation to a medical facility in Germany. The plane is piloted by Parson, who’s upgraded his skill set and job description since we first met.

Shortly after achieving level flight, the C-5 receives a cryptic radio message from ground control not to descend under any circumstances. They later learn that the Taliban has claimed that all aircraft leaving Bagram air base that day had bombs placed aboard. Parson and his crew are told that at least one other transport has gone down, presumably from a bomb activated by a barometric trigger.

A search of their own aircraft reveals a bomb secreted in the tail assembly with an apparent tilt-activated trigger attached externally (in addition to the presumed internal barometric trigger).
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?