Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Baby Sale
Silent Enemy (A Parson and Gold Novel Book 2) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $25.95
  • Save: $15.57 (60%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Silent Enemy has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Item qualifies for FREE shipping and Prime! This item is used.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Silent Enemy Hardcover – Bargain Price, August 4, 2011

50 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, Bargain Price
"Please retry"
$10.38
$2.99 $1.35

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details

Best Books of the Year So Far
Best Books of the Year So Far
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2015's Best Books of the Year So Far in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
$10.38 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 2 left in stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Silent Enemy + Sand and Fire (A Parson and Gold Novel)
Price for both: $28.60

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Review

 “One of the most exciting new thriller talents in years!” — Vince Flynn, #1 New York Times bestselling author

 “There are writers, and there are fighters—readers are lucky that Tom Young is both.” — Alex Berenson, #1 New York Times bestselling author

 “Fans of Clancy, Coonts, and Dale Brown need to add Young to their must reads lists.” — Booklist

 “Young is an excellent storyteller, creating memorable characters with Hemingway-like understatement and precision.” — Kirkus Reviews --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Tom Young has logged nearly 4,000 hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Bosnia, Kosovo, and elsewhere, including Latin America, the Horn of Africa, and the Far East. Military honors include two Air Medals, three Aerial Achievement Medals, and the Air Force Combat Action Medal. He continues to serve with the Air National Guard as a Senior Master Sergeant.

He holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and studied writing there and at the Sewanee Writers' Conference, among other places. He is also the author of the oral history The Speed of Heat: An Airlift Wing at War in Iraq and Afghanistan, and contributed to the anthology Operation Homecoming, edited by Andrew Carroll. Young lives in Alexandria, Virginia.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Putnam Adult (August 4, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0399157794
  • ASIN: B007BWA6E0
  • Product Dimensions: 6.3 x 1.1 x 9.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (50 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #450,654 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Thomas W. Young has logged nearly 4,000 hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Bosnia, Kosovo, and elsewhere, including Latin America, the Horn of Africa, and the Far East. Military honors include two Air Medals, three Aerial Achievement Medals, and the Air Force Combat Action Medal. He continues to serve with the Air National Guard as a Senior Master Sergeant.
He holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and studied writing there and at the Sewanee Writers' Conference, among other places. He is also the author of the oral history The Speed of Heat: An Airlift Wing at War in Iraq and Afghanistan, and contributed to the anthology Operation Homecoming, edited by Andrew Carroll.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Bookreporter on August 31, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Thomas W. Young wrote one of last year's best thrillers, an edge-of-your-seat tome titled THE MULLAH'S STORM. The best way to describe protagonist Michael Parson is to say that if you were to look up the phrase "the right stuff," it would be illustrated with his picture. Parson is the modern-day equivalent of Bill Mauldin's "Willie and Joe" characters, notwithstanding the fact that he is an officer. As was illustrated in the previous book and again, very dramatically, in SILENT ENEMY, Major Parson will not send a subordinate into a situation to perform a task that he would not do himself.

"The story is as lean and mean as they come; it jumps from one disaster to another, leaving bodies and parts of bodies along the way."
Young's latest takes place approximately four years after the events of THE MULLAH'S STORM. We learn early on that Parson, though he left parts of himself in the Hindu Kush mountains, has obtained a medical waiver to go into pilot training and done what he needed to do to earn his wings. As SILENT ENEMY opens, Parson is about to leave Kabul, flying a giant, Vietnam-era C-5 Galaxy to Germany. His mission, though, is quickly changed when Islamic jihadists unleash a bomb attack on the Afghan National Police training center, resulting in a great number of casualties. The wounded are put aboard a number of nearby planes, including Parson's, for medical treatment in Germany.

Army translator Sophia Gold is among those to be transported. Gold, now a Sergeant Major, played an important role in THE MULLAH'S STORM with Parson, and the two shared a decoration ceremony in recognition of their brave and valiant actions under fire. But Gold and Parson barely have time to become reacquainted after departure when the crew receives some horrific news.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Ronald T. Roseborough VINE VOICE on August 4, 2011
Format: Hardcover
This book is a fitting tribute to the men and woman of our armed services, who face danger throughout the world in an effort to bring peace and stability to people here and abroad. Told from the viewpoint of one who knows. No this isn't the first book about a bomb on an airplane. The uniqueness lies in the fact that the aircraft is a U.S. military aircraft. Terrorist bombs have supposedly been placed on this and other aircraft while they were at a secure base in Afghanistan. If you can get past this and allow the story to unfold, you will get a real thrill ride. The main characters are Air Force Major Michael Parson and Army Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, who met in Young's first novel, The Mullah's Storm,The Mullah's Storm while transporting a terrorist for interrogation. This time they are trapped on a C-5, the U.S. Air Force's largest transport aircraft, with a load of critically wounded victims of an Afghan terrorist's attack. Major Parson doesn't know until after takeoff that terrorists have possibly planted bombs on many of the aircraft from his base of departure. When his worst fears are confirmed, he finds himself, his crew, and passengers trapped miles above the earth unable to land for fear the aircraft's descent will trigger the bomb. Add to this the mechanical failures of an aircraft built before any of it's crew were even born, as well as the creeping fear that any of the wounded on board may be another terrorist and you have a volatile situation ready to explode at any time. I would have liked to see a bit more character development in the secondary characters. This book was provide for review by the well read folks at Library Thing and G.P. Putnam's Sons.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
As a former C-5 flight engineer myself, I enjoyed this book immensely. I read The Mullah's Storm (also a riveting tale) before I read Silent Enemy because I thought the latter would make more sense after having read the former. Although both books involve the same two protagonists, the author did a great job of laying out two entirely separate plots.
Having accumulated nearly 3600 flight hours (and one hit from an SA-16 SAM) as a C-5 Instructor FE, it immediately became obvious to me when I read the sample pages before buying the book that the author was intimately involved with the C-5. I often found myself, in my mind, helping Parson and his crew troubleshoot and work each system malfunction. It brought back fond memories of my flying days, especially my simulator training! (I'm retired now.) I was impressed with the technical accuracy of the problems encountered by the aircrew as well as their solutions, although there were a few things I might have done differently had I been on Parson's crew. The author's superior writing ability makes these situations easily understood, yet still suspenseful, thrilling, and entertaining for the layperson unfamiliar with aircraft systems. The one thing I liked most about this book is there is no need for far-fetched, ridiculous situations like the Delta Force climbing down the interior of the air-refueling boom into the C-5 to save the day, no F-117s launching out of the aft cargo doors at altitude, or any nonsense like that. This book is a thrilling page-turner that shows tremendous respect for the world-class men and women who selflessly and proudly serve in all branches of America's military. I look forward to Mr. Young's next book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Silent Enemy
This item: Silent Enemy
Price: $10.38
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?