Silent Enemy and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $25.95
  • Save: $15.57 (60%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 10 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by owlsbooks
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Book is used, fast shipping and great customer service.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Silent Enemy Hardcover – Bargain Price, August 4, 2011


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, Bargain Price
"Please retry"
$10.38
$3.05 $1.51

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details


Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Silent Enemy + The Renegades + The Warriors
Price for all three: $40.69

Buy the selected items together
  • The Renegades $10.78
  • The Warriors $19.53

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

New Adult Fiction by Rainbow Rowell
Acclaimed author Rainbow Rowell's latest book, Landline, offers a poignant, humorous look at relationships and marriage. Learn more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Putnam Adult (August 4, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0399157794
  • ASIN: B007BWA6E0
  • Product Dimensions: 8.9 x 6.2 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (44 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #418,928 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

 “One of the most exciting new thriller talents in years!”
(Vince Flynn, #1 New York Times bestselling author)

 “There are writers, and there are fighters—readers are lucky that Tom Young is both.”
(Alex Berenson, #1 New York Times bestselling author)

 “Fans of Clancy, Coonts, and Dale Brown need to add Young to their must reads lists.”
(Booklist)

 “Young is an excellent storyteller, creating memorable characters with Hemingway-like understatement and precision.”
(Kirkus Reviews) --This text refers to the Mass Market Paperback edition.

About the Author

Tom Young has logged nearly 4,000 hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Bosnia, Kosovo, and elsewhere, including Latin America, the Horn of Africa, and the Far East. Military honors include two Air Medals, three Aerial Achievement Medals, and the Air Force Combat Action Medal. He continues to serve with the Air National Guard as a Senior Master Sergeant.

He holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and studied writing there and at the Sewanee Writers' Conference, among other places. He is also the author of the oral history The Speed of Heat: An Airlift Wing at War in Iraq and Afghanistan, and contributed to the anthology Operation Homecoming, edited by Andrew Carroll. Young lives in Alexandria, Virginia.


More About the Author

Thomas W. Young has logged nearly 4,000 hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Bosnia, Kosovo, and elsewhere, including Latin America, the Horn of Africa, and the Far East. Military honors include two Air Medals, three Aerial Achievement Medals, and the Air Force Combat Action Medal. He continues to serve with the Air National Guard as a Senior Master Sergeant.
He holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and studied writing there and at the Sewanee Writers' Conference, among other places. He is also the author of the oral history The Speed of Heat: An Airlift Wing at War in Iraq and Afghanistan, and contributed to the anthology Operation Homecoming, edited by Andrew Carroll.

Customer Reviews

Secondary characters were well done.
J. Larson
Very suspensful, leaves on the edge of your seat and at the end of each chapter wanting to read more.
RS
I would have liked to see a bit more character development in the secondary characters.
Ronald T. Roseborough

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Bookreporter on August 31, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Thomas W. Young wrote one of last year's best thrillers, an edge-of-your-seat tome titled THE MULLAH'S STORM. The best way to describe protagonist Michael Parson is to say that if you were to look up the phrase "the right stuff," it would be illustrated with his picture. Parson is the modern-day equivalent of Bill Mauldin's "Willie and Joe" characters, notwithstanding the fact that he is an officer. As was illustrated in the previous book and again, very dramatically, in SILENT ENEMY, Major Parson will not send a subordinate into a situation to perform a task that he would not do himself.

"The story is as lean and mean as they come; it jumps from one disaster to another, leaving bodies and parts of bodies along the way."
Young's latest takes place approximately four years after the events of THE MULLAH'S STORM. We learn early on that Parson, though he left parts of himself in the Hindu Kush mountains, has obtained a medical waiver to go into pilot training and done what he needed to do to earn his wings. As SILENT ENEMY opens, Parson is about to leave Kabul, flying a giant, Vietnam-era C-5 Galaxy to Germany. His mission, though, is quickly changed when Islamic jihadists unleash a bomb attack on the Afghan National Police training center, resulting in a great number of casualties. The wounded are put aboard a number of nearby planes, including Parson's, for medical treatment in Germany.

Army translator Sophia Gold is among those to be transported. Gold, now a Sergeant Major, played an important role in THE MULLAH'S STORM with Parson, and the two shared a decoration ceremony in recognition of their brave and valiant actions under fire. But Gold and Parson barely have time to become reacquainted after departure when the crew receives some horrific news.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Ronald T. Roseborough VINE VOICE on August 4, 2011
Format: Hardcover
This book is a fitting tribute to the men and woman of our armed services, who face danger throughout the world in an effort to bring peace and stability to people here and abroad. Told from the viewpoint of one who knows. No this isn't the first book about a bomb on an airplane. The uniqueness lies in the fact that the aircraft is a U.S. military aircraft. Terrorist bombs have supposedly been placed on this and other aircraft while they were at a secure base in Afghanistan. If you can get past this and allow the story to unfold, you will get a real thrill ride. The main characters are Air Force Major Michael Parson and Army Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, who met in Young's first novel, The Mullah's Storm,The Mullah's Storm while transporting a terrorist for interrogation. This time they are trapped on a C-5, the U.S. Air Force's largest transport aircraft, with a load of critically wounded victims of an Afghan terrorist's attack. Major Parson doesn't know until after takeoff that terrorists have possibly planted bombs on many of the aircraft from his base of departure. When his worst fears are confirmed, he finds himself, his crew, and passengers trapped miles above the earth unable to land for fear the aircraft's descent will trigger the bomb. Add to this the mechanical failures of an aircraft built before any of it's crew were even born, as well as the creeping fear that any of the wounded on board may be another terrorist and you have a volatile situation ready to explode at any time. I would have liked to see a bit more character development in the secondary characters. This book was provide for review by the well read folks at Library Thing and G.P. Putnam's Sons.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Jo R. Gilbert on August 7, 2011
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
To begin with, I was greatly impressed with The Mullah's Storm - as I had traveled in Afghanistan, I was familiar with the terrain. Young's style of writing is clear and concise. So I looked forward to the second book, Silent Enemy - and was not disappointed. This is a bomb-on-the-aircraft plot but what makes it exciting is how crew and passengers react. Returning with the two main protagonists from The Mullah's Storm is brilliant, for we can see how they've grown and changed but, essentially, remained true to themselves. I am glad Young resisted a romantic attachment, but showed them as emotionally caring buddies. You know that, somehow, they will survive but the journey is gripping. Using the two points of view, Major Parsons and Master Sergeant Gold, really makes the story more than a cut above the average adventure yarn. And I leaned a hellava lot about the operation of a C-5. Recommended!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Silent Enemy is an incredibly detailed, yet fast paced thriller that truly puts the reader in the cockpit of the USAFs largest transport plane. Young writes a harrowing tale that made it difficult to put down and kept me asking myself, "what would I do of I were on a medevc flight with a hidden bomb?". I thought that all the terminology used was very authentic ( and as Young himself has military and flight experience, it makes sense) but I do wish there was a bit more of an explanation what some terms meant...I found myself using Google a bit to decypher things. Over all I was a fan of this book and I would recommend it to anyone who wants an exciting and authentic story.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Old Cop on March 4, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the story but as I got into the ending chapters I found a technical glitch that really amused me. Once the bomb had been removed from the airplane there would be no need to fly to a remote island to land. They should have landed in Texas or California
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?